Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that TruGreen meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for TruGreen include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on TruGreen
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 17, 1990 Business started: 03/01/1968 Business started locally: 03/01/1968 Business incorporated 06/12/2009 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 952990.

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00774548.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Aaron Bogrow, General manager Mr. James Santilli, Management
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Aaron Bogrow, General manager
Principal: Mr. James Santilli, Management
Business Category

Landscape Maintenance

Alternate Business Names
TruGreen Limited Partnership
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 1700 N Market Blvd Ste 103

    Sacramento, CA 95834


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have faithfully paid for trugreens services for 10 years on my rental property. my tenants recently vacated so i went to prep for new tenants. i was appalled at the state of my lawn. it is ruined, it will take a great deal of money to salvage it if that is even possible. truegreen takes no responsibility for the state of my lawn, even though i have paid for their lawn care services for a decade. The customer service i have received in trying to resolve this issue has been horrendous. not only do the not take responsibility for my lawn being ruined the have no intentions of rectifying the situation. i cold not be more disappointed. they have cost me thousands in their service fees, and now thousands to fix their damage.

Desired Settlement: remedy the situation, and repair my lawn at trugreens expense.

Business Response: Company states: We did multiple services for free. The tenant did not leave the water on. We have record of everything that we do. All the notes that we do. Unfortunately, the people renting the property did not water the lawn. Were are not moving forward to bringing him back on as a customer because he is requesting to replace the lawn. The lawn is not something we are responsible for. We do not put the fault on him but the tenants fault for not watering the lawn.

8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a happy user of tru-green chem lawn services for 11 years. I would pay for a year of service which includes 9 trips to fertilize our lawn. All of a sudden they stopped coming in spite of repeated phone calls from the office saying they were going to be there. I talked to the main office in Texas three times and kept waiting for them to resolve the issues with my lawn. In the mean time the lawn has yellowed and developed lots of weeds. I finally canceled service and expected a refund of $412, the amount of money I gave them at the beginning of the year. They came out twice, but the service they sell doesn't do any good with only two trips to the house. The package involves 9 trips and you need all nine to adequately treat the lawn. So the two trips they made were wasted since they did not, for what reason I cannot find, finish the applications. I made appointments with "supervisors" and they did not show. I received a check for $284.70. They are shy $127.30. Product_Or_Service: Lawn service Account_Number: XXXX-XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like them to issue a check for $127.30.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
After reviewing the account. Credit was issued to the account and a refund will be processed as of August 7, 2013, per the previous customer's request.

6/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: They broke standard policy as we have prepaid every year of many we have had service. We have never had Trugreen come to service before submitting a prepayment for all the year's service.

Desired Settlement: Remove $75 charge made for service without authorization

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Upon review of the account, TruGreen issued a credit in the amount of $73.55 to the account on May 17, 2013. The account is cancelled and has a zero balance.