BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Salen's Landscaping, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Salen's Landscaping, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Salen's Landscaping, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 21, 1991 Business started: 09/01/1987 Business started locally: 09/01/1987 Business incorporated: 02/03/1992 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Salendar Singh, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Salendar Singh, President
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Concrete Removal Concrete - Restoration, Sealing & Cleaning Contractor - Electrical Drainage Contractors Deck Builder Patio Cover Concrete - Stamped & Decorative Fence Contractors Water Gardens Fountains & Ponds Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems Hauling & Clean Up Services Contractors - Retaining Wall

Products & Services

Salen's Landscaping Inc. provides full landscaping and concrete services.

Industry Tips
BBB Tips for Hiring a Contractor in California

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 879-0300(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Within the 3 day cancellation period, I requested via email on April 21, 2014 at 11:24 am, a landscaping plan and layout description of the Landscaping to be installed in my backyard and sides of my home for my review. On April 21, 2014 at 11:30 Mr. ***** replied: "No worries, I can sketch something later this week and email it to you. By Mr.***** stating "later this week" he placed me in the position of being past the 3 day rule. A landscaping plan was never emailed to me. On April 24, 2014 at 10:14 am, I emailed Mr. ***** "Please have the plan for me -on line? Or your drawing".I never received a sketch or layout of the landscaping plan he was to send. Instead, I sent Mr. ***** another email on April 24,2014, at 7:34 am, asking for a weekend appointment at my home so that my daughter could be in the conversation and view the landscaping plan. The Saturday meeting proved to be nothing but a sketch on a piece of paper 6 x 6, without any descriptions of items to be installed, what type of drip system was to be installed, where exactly was the seating area was to be, etc. There was no clear description of the landscaping work to be done for the $15,00.00 so that I could make a decision to go forward or to cancel. I called Mr. ***** to cancel the job and he replied via email "I am sorry to say that the deposit is non-refndable after 3 business days. Please let me know if you want to cancel or move forward with the project."I was within the 3 days when I emailed Mr. ***** on April 21, 2014 asked for a plan and his reply never came until the Saturday morning visit and that was not a professional landscaping plan at all Please advise if you would like copies of the emails and the "drawing".Thank you,****** *********-********

Desired Settlement: A refund of my deposit in the form of a check in the amount of $1000.00

Business Response: Good morning 

We have a strict company policy of "notice of cancelation" which the customer signs when they sign the contract. She also signed one and has two copies if it. If says in bold letters that the deposit is non refundable after three business days. Up till today we still didn't get any signed copy of the notice of cancelation from her. So there will be no refunds 
Thanks 
Salen 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

 
Please see attached files.On April 21st, within the 3-day cancellation period, i emailed Mr. ***** the following: "Will you please email me your plan and layout description of the backyard and sides of my home. Too much form me to process without visual-"
 
 I was still waiting for Mr. ***** to deliver a landscaping for my review. Without a standard landscaping plan available for me to review, I would have no complete understanding of exactly what work was to be done for me and therefore, no ability to decide if I wold indeed pay Mr. ***** to landscape my home. If you review the dates of the emails, Mr. ***** chose not to send me a plan, because he had none in my opinion. He caused the delay in my decision himself by his email to me on April 21 at 11:30am "no worries I can sketch something later this week and email it to you" . Mr. ***** never sent an email showing me the plan he had.
 
 I did indeed contact him in a timely manner. Mr. ***** did no get back to me in a timely manner. As you can readily see, the plan was delayed until I insisted on a meeting. The plan surely was not professional, it was without footage description of location of where the patio began exactly, and lacked the professional information that should have been in the plan.   If there is any other information that you require, please let me know.
 
Thank you
****** ******

Business Response: There was no where in my contract that I was supposed to supply the drawings. She asked for it after the fact on which I agreed to sketch something for her at no cost. Now you tell me where is she indicating that she wants to cancel the contract ?? I did the sketch on my own time at no cost and went again to her house on a Saturday to meet with her daughter. Plus this sketch thing has nothing to do with our cancelation policy. If she really wanted to cancel, all she had to do is email me the cancellation notice within three business days rather then asking for a sketch. She again made a appointment with me after the three day deadline to meet with her daughter. I met with them after 9 days upon signing the contract with no indication that she wants to cancel. So as my company policy, deposits are non refundable after three business days. Simple !!! 

Thanks 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

I am writing in reference to ID ******** and responding to the message you received from Salen's Landscaping, Inc.
 
"By hiring a Landscape Contractor to design a residence a home owner is giving them the power to design to their strengths and profitability. For example, a Contractor is not going to design a project with pavers with a $3/sf profit margin when they can design the project using colored conrete with a $5/sf profit margin. While these numbers may vary this is just one possible example of "Profit Oriented Design". Secondly, a Landscape Contractor may also deliberately leave out certain details on the plan knowing that without the specifications the Contractor will have the ability to request change orders, often at twice the price, once the contract has been signed and the construction has begun.  Its a nasty trick, but one that is often used. Finally, a Landscape Contractor likely will not design unique site elements or complex details knowing such elements can be a greater risk for turning a profit."
 
The previous paragraph was copied directly from one of numerous available sources, detailing the unethical tricks that landscapers can play. As a consumer, it is my responsibility and right to protect myself against such things. The recommendation in all cases is to have a plan to go by while the contracting work is being completed. Mr. ***** states that, "There was no where in my contract that I was supposed to supply the drawings."OF COURSE, THERE IS NO WHERE IN THE CONTRACT STATING THAT I CANNOT ASK FOR A DETAILED PLAN. I am stating that I as the consumer, after reading the above quoted information, requested on April 3, 2014 at 11:24am via email, a landscaping plan and layout description. 
 
Within the 3 day cancellation period. Again, Mr. ***** did not respond. I am again attaching his pathetic drawing showing nothing and for me as the consumer, the above quote is true in this case. As you can see, Mr. ***** had no intention of providing anything close to resembling a landscaping plan. Mr. ***** states the "I did the sketch on my own time at no cost" 
 
I copied his sketch in 10 seconds and drew it better than he did. I will gladly pay him for 10 seconds of his time privided I have my deposit returned to me. For your review, I have attaced the "drawing done on his own time".
 
After placing several calls to local landscape contractors, I soon saw a trend of what most landscapers provide in terms of a plan.  Based on my communication with these landscapers, I should hqave r ightfully received several pages of detailed information regarding all aspects of a $15,000 landscape cost. 
 
Mr. ***** chose to deny me of a detailed plan needed for any homeowner to make a logical decision of going ahead or cancellling beyond the 3 day rescind date. He chose to sumbit to me a drawing that a landscape architect could not not make any sense of. He chose to remail vague in verbally describing to me exactly what it was he was doing. The question begs, is this Contractor taking advantage of the ederly who are unfamiliar with landscaping? Mr. ***** was aware of the fact the I lived in NYC and had no knowledge of landscaping "rules".
 
As the BBB, and your reputation, I appeal to your experience in these cases and have Salen's Landscaping return my $1000.00 deposit. I will gladly send Mr. ***** a check for the time he spent making the drawing.
 
Sincerely,
 
****** ******
 
 

Business Response: Listen Guys, I will explain this in a very sweet and simple manner so that you guys can understand this a final time. We signed a contract on 04-18-14 together with a NOTICE OF CANCELLATION (will email you as a separate document after this) where it clearly says that you have a right to cancel this transaction within three business days and if you do cancel then your deposit will be refunded within 10 days and it also says that the deposit is non-refundable if you cancel after that. Ms ****** called and canceled the contract on the morning of 04-29-14 which is way past the three business day deadline. So as per our contract documents, there is no refunds due. PERIOD.

Thanks
*****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

7/9/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1