Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hoover Horticultural Service

Phone: (916) 248-4847 Fax: (916) 992-8425 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 13962, Sacramento, CA 95853 http://www.hooverhorticultural.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hoover Horticultural Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hoover Horticultural Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hoover Horticultural Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 10, 1991 Business started: 04/26/1989 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 566188.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Michael Hoover, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Hoover, Owner
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Tree Service Tree Service - Pruning

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 13962

    Sacramento, CA 95853 (916) 372-8119 (916) 468-4393 (916) 468-4395 (916) 992-6990 (916) 248-4847

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This Company will not return a phone call to make an appointmento to return to the job site in order to repair damages done. Hoover Horticultural Services of Sacto,Ca. did over a $15,000 landscape job on frt/bk yards of my home. The sod laid is dying and I have not been able to get a return phone call from them to set up a time/date to inspect why the grass is dying in places. The owner now hangs up on me and told me he no longer wants me as a customer and to go to someone else as I am " bothering him" with repeated phone calls.

Desired Settlement: I either want the dead grass replaced and roots removed or compensated in total costs of someone else coming out and repairing these damages. This company seems to of taken a stance with me of no more contact........The landscape in question was done in October 2012 and after 3 weeks of trying to make an appt the owner now hangs up the phone everytime I call to make one.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
This job is over 8 months old. The sod was installed in proper condition, where it was green and lush. It is not warrantied, as it is up to the consumer to maintain their sod. We have helped this consumer in the past as a courtesy, but we will not be offering our services any longer.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Well of course the grass was green and lush when they installed it........that's a given. BUT, after only 6 months that green/lush lawn went brown and sparce BECAUSE of a lack of nutrients in the soil as was attested by third party Landscapers. They have NOT helped me in the past as a consumer..thus, the whole point of this submitted complaint. In my estimation their Customer Service is shown to be very poor as they will not come out and even take a look of what the the grass looks like 6 months later...This wasn't an over night development....it took 6 months for it to be in the condition that it currently is......I want it repaired or given a replacement cost for another Landscaper to correct this damage piece of the yard. Thank you. Sincerely, ***** *******

Business' Final Response
***** *******, We had a complaint from you about two months after we completed your job, regarding an area where a large stump was removed. This area was sinking because of the size of the hole we backfilled with soil, from Redi Grow. We came out and removed the grass in this area and replaced the soil and the sod. No problems since. Now you're contacting us about the grass turning brown. It has been eight months since we have installed your lawn and finished your project. You're not under warrantee any longer; we only warrantee lawn for two months. We aren't in control of what insects may attack your grass or how much water the homeowner gives his or her lawn. We have told you, and all customers to fertilize their lawn three to four times a year as listed on the label of fertilizer. We don't do lawn mowing or maintenance on yards, only plants and trees. You either have a fertilizer problem or insect problem. You say this wasn't an overnight problem, that it took six months. It also took you six months to call me about your problem. This third party landscaper should know that nutrients are removed from the soil when plants and grass grow. They are replaced by fertilizer not by removing soil, replacing soil or installing new lawn. Putting in new soil or a new lawn will not solve the problem. Fertilize your lawn or kill the insects attacking your lawn and you'll solve your problem. All my soil comes from Redi Grow, the best soil company in town. We don't cut corners or use cheap products.