Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Garrett Landscape Construction

Phone: (530) 753-7541 25361 Road 96, Davis, CA 95616

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Garrett Landscape Construction offers landscape design and installation services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Garrett Landscape Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Garrett Landscape Construction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Garrett Landscape Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 27, 1994 Business started: 04/20/1982 in CA Business incorporated 12/21/2004 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 421370.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Dan Garrett, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dan Garrett, Owner
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Outdoor Kitchens Patio & Deck Builders

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was billed for work and materials not provided. Work is substandard manifesting defects in design, construction and appearance. Illegal Billing. *** ******* contracted to provide landscape services for which he was paid over $50,000. He did not perform the contract work as specified. He stated he delivered and used materials and labor on my job which were never provided. He damaged my drainage system. There are construction flaws everywhere, and his negligence severely damaged the cosmetic finishes throughout the project. He failed to honor repeated written and verbal warranties. He claimed that verbal change orders were agreed upon, but they were not and oral change orders are not legal. He bills for work he was paid for, and engages in illegal billing practices.

Desired Settlement: $50,500 or repairs and refunds as necessary to address issues, omissions and the damage done to my property.

Business Response: Up until a month or two ago Mr. ********* and I had been exchanging email messages in an attempt to find common ground on the issues he has raised. At the time I agreed with him on some issues and disagreed on others. He ended our exchanges abruptly with no explanation. I had expressed to him my willingness to make repairs and honor warranties but first asked for a specific list of his concerns for discussion and to help me organize an efficient plan for the needed work. I have not received a list with enough detail to reply comprehensively. During our exchange of notes I stated that I did not agree with his conclusions on some of his concerns and suggested he get another professional opinion. I have no knowledge of that being done.
I remain willing to listen to Mr *********'s complaints and to do my best to satisfy his requests. I will complete my contractual obligations, following trade standards, as we have done our best to do for the last 29 years in business. I ask him to send me a specific list of things he feels need attention so we can continue our discussion.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have appealed to the BBB's assistance in resolving this dispute because previous efforts to seek redress outside this forum have been unsuccessful. Mr. *******'s proposed resolution is not acceptable as it delineates no action whatsoever on his part towards addressing any of the specific items detailed above. He states he is unclear as to what we are asking for. Specifically, we request reimbursed for omitted or diverted materials and labor charges for work never completed, replacement and repairs as required to wood arbor posts and patio structures, repair and replacement of items damaged due to Mr. *******'s employees' failure to properly protect our property including affected concrete, a stained and marred fire pit which is falling apart, stained seat wall masonry, missing and dead plants, repairs to a defectively installed switch and wall impacted by such, and addressing a main drain that was wrongfully covered by improper placement of a garden bed. *** ******* maintains he follows professional trade standards and adheres to the ethics of the BBB. I would *** ******* to state on the record whether he followed laws and regulations required of contractors in California in respect to billing, collection and use of funds, and documentation in respect to his dealings with me. Part of my complaint to the BBB pertains to such and I feel that I and the BBB require a clear statement in order to proceed toward a full resolution. So Mr. *******, please make a clear statement so as we can proceed to address this component of the complaint.