Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Five Star Landscape

Phone: (916) 735-1100 View Additional Phone Numbers 1000 River Rock Dr. Ste.220, Folsom, CA 95630 http://www.fivestarlandscape.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Five Star Landscape meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • The business's BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Five Star Landscape
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 24, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1980 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1980 Business incorporated 04/08/2010 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 952274.

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00502295. On 10/21/2011 BBB confirmed that Five Star Landscape had not obtained a necessary license from Contractor's State License Board.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tim Bell, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim Bell, General Manager
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Maintenance Landscape Contractors - Commercial Landscape Designers Water Gardens Fountains & Ponds Landscape Lighting

Alternate Business Names
Five Star Interests Inc.
Products & Services

Five Star Landscape offers services in Landscape Design, Installation, and Renovation, outdoor living spaces, lighting, and shade structures.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 1000 River Rock Dr. Ste.220

    Folsom, CA 95630 (916) 735-1100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When we hired Five Star Landscaping our backyard was a blank slate. Our house was approximately 1 year old, and the backyard was only dirt, and a couple veggies boxes off to the side of the yard. Among other tasks, they were to grade and complete drainage for the entire backyard. We paid over $18,000, plus interest, of course. A few months after the completion of the job, after we planted and dripped plants within the yard, we noticed we were having pooling of water at the edge of our grass line (next to our concrete), to a planting area within the same area, and an additional planting area next to our air conditioning unit (next to concrete, as well). We lost all of our plants, and two trees, within this area. We called Five Star out to assess our issue, and were told the pooling of water was due to a clogged drainage pipe, which they claimed once unclogged would fix the issue. There was a small amount of clogging within the drainage pipe, which temporarily fixed the issue, although the area was still wetter than the rest of our yard, and when we replanted, those died as well. Once winter came, and the rain hit, the area flooded. We attempted to unclog the drain (which was not clogged), however, it did not fix the problem. Once again we called Five Star out to the property. It took a month to get someone to return our daily phone calls, and once we were able to talk to an actual person, it took another month to get them out to our home. When they finally came out, after a lot of arguing back and forth about the actual problem, and the fact that we were no longer within our warranty period, he agreed to have someone come out to install a French drain, dividing the grass and concrete, which would tie into our existing drainage. He said we would have someone to the house within two weeks... a month and a half later, the job was finally complete. We bought the materials, and paid him $340 to perform the work. Two days later, the area was, once again, sopping wet.

Desired Settlement: I have no desire to have anyone from this company on my property, let alone perform any more work. I would like to be refunded for the labor of installing the French drain, $290. I would also like Five Star Landscape to pay for the regrading, and installation of proper drainage to fix the problem they created. This job, which I bid through a different company, would cost $2670.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

FiveStar Landscape completed their project on 05/11/2010.   On June 24, 2014 our client contacted us on a warranty call for drainage issues, our warranty desk explained to them according to the contract they signed on 4/19/2010 that irrigation and drainage under contract are guaranteed for a period of 1 year from completion of project.  Since this warranty expired 3 years ago, we stated that we would come out and look at the work and it would be billed at our standard $65 per hour plus materials.  The client requested that we come out and give them a quote for the job. 

Our estimator came to the house as requested by client and offered as a courtesy to them that FiveStar would send out a Warranty Technician to provide the Labor at a reduced rate and the client agreed that they would purchase all the materials for the job and pay the Technician directly at a discounted ($290) rate.  On, July 23 our Technician completed the work and was paid for his time.  The following day the client texted that work had been completed and looked great.

As a small business we must adhere to our contracted warranty periods as stated on the contract.

We do strive to give good customer service to all our clients so we would like to offer a refund of the $290 labor paid to the Technician.

Sincerely,

FiveStar Landscape

Consumer Response: Dear BBB,

 
I am rejecting this response because:
 
What Five Star failed to mention was that they DID come out to our property, while we were still in warranty, and told us our issue was a clogged drain.  This was a temporary "fix" to our problem, however, once the rain hit the "unclogged drain" was no longer enough to drain the excess water from our backyard.  The problem has always been a faulty grading of our backyard, and inadequate amounts of catch basins.  Had they fixed this issue the first time we called them out to our property, we wouldn't have spent close to $2000, in addition to the $18,000 we originally paid to Five Star, in lost plants and "repairs".  
 
Also, the day after I filed this complaint we received a call from ****, the owner of Five Star Landscape, and he very rudely expressed we were "lucky" to have the company come back out to our property to "fix" our problem because we were no longer within our warranty (even though we paid for the so-called repair, and it didn't work).  After arguing back and forth, my husband mentioned he too was in customer service, and the way **** was speaking to him was inappropriate and extremely unprofessional.  **** then began to question my husband about where he worked, including the specific branch, including the address and phone number.  At that point my husband explained he was not going to be harassed and threatened, and that if he wanted to meet with us we could schedule something the following week.  ****, abruptly, hung up the phone.  

Business Response:

We always strive for exceptional customer service, even when our customer is many years out of warranty. I sincerely appologize for any perceived dissatisfaction with our communication or warranty policies.

 

As noted before, we still stand ready as a good faith gesture to refund the $290.00 labor recently paid to the technician.

 

Sincerely,

 

FiveSTAR Landscape

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

 
If Five Star was focused on customer service, they would have fixed our drainage issue the first time I called (when we were still in warranty), and not passed it off as a mere clogged drain.  Words on a computer screen are one thing, but how you treat customers over the phone and in person is quite another.  Threatening customers is a clear sign of bad customer service, and we certainly don't deserve to be treated that way.  We have spent over $18,000 with Five Star, in addition to over $1000 in lost plants, due to the drainage issue they created.  A $290 refund does not represent a good faith gesture, and is surely not sufficient for what we have been put through. 

Business Response:

Our firm corrected the drainage issue in year (1) as per our contract. During year (2) and (3) substantial rain years, we had no contact from client. In year (4) we were contacted by client. We made very clear to client that they were (3) years out of warranty. Again, as a small business we must stay within our contracted warranty periods. Again, our offer to reimburse client the $290.00 recently paid stands.

 

Sincerely,

 

FiveSTAR Landscape

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

 
Five Star did not correct our drainage issue during the year 1 visit.  If they had, we would not have had an ongoing drainage issue the last 4 years.  Five Star intentionally masked our issue as a product of a clogged drain, during year 1, instead of their poor job of grading.  Per our contract, we paid for "catch basins with drain grates installed where necessary to ensure proper water runoff."  This was not done.  We would like a $290 refund for the french drain installation that did nothing to fix our issue, as well as $2670 to have another company fix the poor grading Five Star created. Thank you.

7/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Non-compliance of contract terms; did not provide workable landscape design with irrigation/drainage design. In July 2012 we contracted Five Start to design our new home landscaping for $1200. Our assigned designer ***** ******* met with us to draft a plan for front/rear landscaping with irrigation/drainage. We made (3) payments: deposit, phase 2 review and phase 3 completion. However, the phase 3 started in November 2012 when the rains came - we were not prepared to go back to the site during these conditions and asked the designer if we could finish the plans in early 2013. She indicated that she would make sure that we did get our final plans and suggested that we make the final payment - which we did. During the period of the final payment and prior to the early part of 2013, the designer left her position at Five Star. It took us a bit of work to figure this out; once we did she was amiable to contacting Five Start to complete the plans. We met with *** ****, General Manager who agreed to complete the plans. He came to the site said he would complete them. He went out of town and once again time past; we contact him to let him know that we needed the plans for HOA approval; he then assigned a new designer to us to complete plans. We waited and finally received a single paper with a drawing - no irrigation/drainage plans. We purchased a 5 acre land parcel, built a new home and planned to only landscape around the front/sides and rear of the house. The property requires deer tolerant plants; the original designer understood this but did not communicate this we ended up with a plan list that had 3-4 deer resistant plants. When I called to ask to have this updated we never received a new plant list. It also seemed that Five Star could not even find our contract - I subsequently sent it to them with all the canceled checks and requested a full refund. Not surprisingly, it was declined by Five Star stating that we had paid for the plans. At this point I reminded them that they agreed to work with us to finalize the plans which had yet to be delivered.

Desired Settlement: We paid $1200 for a full set of landscape plans with irrigation/drainage. We received a artist drawing, not even to scale. When I told *** **** this he indicated that any landscaper could come up with a irrigation/drainage plan. The contract: Options $1000.00 Irrigation/Drainage $200.00 Total Design fees $1200.00 Payment Schedule: 10% Deposit 50% at Phase 2, Review 40% at Phase 3, Completion All monies were paid in full.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Dear BBB, Design was initially done last year, and paid for by our client. In the interest of good customer service the client and our firm have agreed on a refund of $450.00 to settle all matters completely. Sincerely, FiveSTAR Customer Service