Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Capital Landscape

Phone: (916) 783-5080 1380 Lead Hill Blvd Ste 106, Roseville, CA 95661

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Capital Landscape meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Capital Landscape include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Capital Landscape
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 16, 2002 Business started: 10/01/1982 in CA Business incorporated 10/12/2001 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 910353.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Mark Chester, President Ms. Ann Tong, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Chester, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Ann Tong, General Manager
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Maintenance Landscape Contractors - Commercial Landscape Designers Outdoor Kitchens Gazebos Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas Water Gardens Fountains & Ponds Landscape Lighting

Alternate Business Names
Capital Ventures, Inc.
Products & Services

Capital Landscape offers landscaping and landscaping design services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 1380 Lead Hill Blvd Ste 106

    Roseville, CA 95661


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Landscape job not complete. Es***ate was for 2 weeks. Project manager states 1 month. 5 months later job still not complete. Multiple calls and emails stating they will come out and complete the job. Do not show up. Extensive damage to property. Constantly told they will be out to finish the job,but have not finished****** and ******,I am aware of all of these issues, I have also contacted the pool company and currently waiting to hear back about repair costs. We could have fixed, but I did not want your pool warranty voided ( I think it is better for them to fix and bill me). I understand your frustration and I am extremely apologetic for the length of ***e this has taken, irrigation should be complete by today. The box, which has been an extreme frustration, I have now been told I can pour in place and add a grate; which I would like to get done by Thursday. The other items I would be happy to discuss at a ***e that is convenient for either or both of you. Additionally, **** *** is no longer with the firm so you can delete him from further correspondence.Thank you,*** **********,Im not a tremendous fan of walking away from a project but I understand you need to get on with your lives and our performance has been spotty at best. I can release you from the contract with this understanding: Total contract with change order $21,040.25, you have paid to date. $10,160.25 Balalance Owed $10,880.00My actual costs on job (Design services $1,000.00, tree removal $1,100.00, pipe, catch basins irrigation drain rock etc. $6,900.00, labor to date $9,965.00 total $18,965.00)The concrete box and grate Ive had quotes on the high end of $1,500.00 Ill make it $2,000.00 so you are covered. $300.00 for pool equipment, $200 for the fence post, 2 12 basins $450.00, $50.00 for fence boards. That totals $3,000.00. I would still like to repair the concrete when the ***e is approand lay sod and if there is any clean-up. That leaves a remaining balance of $7,880.00 to terminate the contract, Ill deduct another $1,000.00 for the suffering but I would have to get a check for the balance of $6,880.00.Thank you*** ****

Desired Settlement: Job not complete, extensive damage to property that needs to be repaired. We have to move on and hire another company to finish the job as building permits will expire and are very expensive. We do not agree with the offer above to pay an additional 6.880 and have them walk away form the contract. We have to repair our fence in multiple places, repair our driveway, replace our sod, complete the grading and complete the drainage work required by Sacramento County and Water Resources department.

Business Response: We have been in email discussions and currently resolving the issue amicably by early next week.

Thank you,


Consumer Response:

We have reached a resolution between Capital landscape and *** ***** ***. We consider the project closed.

8/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have "posted" my property with "No Trespassing" signs !On Saturday 3 AUG 2013, I found a door hanger advertisement hanging on my front door. I also found footsteps through my flower bed.By doing the above, I find that his company has "no respect" for private property of others!There is such a thing as attraction rather than promotion!!His company already has several strikes against themselves by not respecting other people's private property and causing damage to it.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like a sign statement from the Owner of this company that he will never do this again to me. In this statement, I want him to say if he ever does it again, I will have him arrested for Trespassing but leaving garbage on my doorstep.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We have hired a canvassing company to distribute door hangers. Mr. ******** contacted our office on Monday, August 5, 2013, complaining about a door hanger being left on his door. He was called and apologized to. Further, we have contacted the canvasing company and instructed them to redouble their efforts to not put out door hangers when there is a no solicitation or no trespassing sign posted. Sincerely, *** Capital Landscape

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They Do Not Say in their response that they "will Never Do it Again".