This business is not BBB accredited.

Steven Lawrence

Phone: (916) 868-7259 601 20th St, Sacramento, CA 95811 ! Steven Lawrence is Believed to Be Out of Business !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Additional Complaint Information

Consumers generally allege that the company is unresponsive after they are paid for supplies and materials, and fails to provide a definite timeline to complete the work. Complainants also report that the company does incomplete and substandard work. Some consumers who inquired about completion of their projects were informed that the company had closed down.

The company has not responded to complaints.


Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Steven Lawrence
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 18, 2012 Business started: 02/20/2010 in CA Business started locally: 02/20/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 955774. On 7/21/2015 BBB confirmed that Contractor's State License Board revoked the license of Steven Lawrence.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Steven Lawrence, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Lawrence, Owner
Business Category

Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Contractors - General Home Improvements - Additions Window Coverings Contractors - Flooring

Alternate Business Names
Folsomkitchenremodeling.com Modern Design Modern Design of Northern California My Perfect Shutters
Products & Services

This company offers Kitchen and Bath remodeling services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    601 20th St

    Sacramento, CA 95811 (916) 868-7259

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had contracted for a kitchen and bath remodel which was never completed. Steve Lawrence never returned calls and never communicated by any oter method. He closed his business and claims health issues.

Desired Settlement: Payment for unfinished contractual issues

3/7/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We entered into contract for a kitchen remodel with ***** ******** in October 2013. He promised completion of the job by Christmas 2013. The total quote for the remodel was $30,000. He required $1,000.00 at signing of the contract. The contract required $10,000 to move forward with the contract. Then another $10,000 at the beginning of construction. ***** got right on the demolition of the kitchen and required another $10,000 at that time. We were thinking that this would come due when the cabinets were being installed. During demolition, his crew damaged our DCS gas range. ***** said that he would have it repaired. With $21,000 in ***** ********'s hands, our kitchen was demolished. Then we heard nothing from ***** unless we called and threatened - once his son came out and spent two hours toying around with wiring. Then weeks passed with promises to deliver, stories that his cabinet guy was out of town for a funeral, and stories that he was having labor problems. In January 2014, we told ***** that we wanted a timeline and detailed work order before we engaged him further because we felt we were being placated only when we complained or threatened legal action. ***** sent his son to the house the next morning without a timeline or detailed work order. We refused him entry to our house and have pursued legal action. He has not responded to a letter to perform. To date, we are still living in a house with no kitchen and not contact from ***** ********. He has $21,000 of our money and we have nothing but a demolished kitchen, a damaged range, and 2 hours of electrical fiddling to show for it.

Desired Settlement: Return of our $21,000 with an additional $1,500 for legal fees and to repair our DCS range.

1/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******** is a fraud. he measured for blinds, took $546 of my money and never came back or called again. my money is GONE! and I want it back. Purchase date of 7/18/13 2 checks for $109 and $437 totalling $546.

Desired Settlement: $546 paid to ******** in 7/18/13.

1/30/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to be refunded $2000 for the money I gave as a deposit for shutters that were ordered In Aug and Sept that are still not here On August 23rd,2013 I ordered shutters (Norman Shutters, a brand) for bedroom and family room. I wrote a check to Steve Lawrence for $1250, the order was due to be completed by October 6th. On September 5th I placed an additional order for (Norman Shutters) and wrote a check for $750, that order to be completed by November 5th. I have not received either order. I have been calling since Oct 6th and every week Steve Lawrence kept telling me that they were taking a longer time.(They were coming from China). Every week it was a different story. On November 7th I spoke to Steve Lawrence he said he would place another order for Hunter Douglas and would get me my shutters sooner.I haved called leaving messages on Nov 15, 18, 22, 25, 26, 27 and Dec 2nd, On December 9th I called and I was unable to leave a message because the mailbox is full.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking my deposit of $2000 for Shutters that I ordered that are still not here. The dates promised October 5 and Nov 5th. I have been unable to get ahold of Steve Lawrence. I do not believe he ever ordered my shutters. I feel that he used my $2000 to fulfill other orders before mine. I want my money back. I no longer want the product since I have been waiting 4 months and the contract says 60 days from the promise date. the contract is no longer valid since he did not fulfill the product that was promised.

1/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contractor entered our agreement on 3/25/13 with a $5,000 deposit and estimated his 2-week job would be completed by 4/30/13. He did not begin until 4 months later on 7/26/13 when he demolished a kitchen and then did not return to finish. On 9/29/13 we fired him to complete the job ourselves. The job (kitchen remodel) involved re-working existing Cherry wood cabinets and re-installing appliances we provided. He stole our Cherry wood cabinets and replaced them with cheap pre-fabricated ones which were not properly designed for the space. He also stole our stove and damaged our fridge and dishwasher. He left a new door opening un-finished and did not complete electric work promised in contract. After delaying his start for 3 months past estimated completion date - there was no functional kitchen for about 90 days! All in all - a totally HORRIBLE experience! Product_Or_Service: Kitchen Remodel

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Written Demand has been made for monetary compensation. Would like Contractor to make full payment of Demand.