BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Plastaket Manufacturing Company, Inc.

Phone: (209) 369-4638 Fax: (209) 369-7455 View Additional Phone Numbers 6220 E Highway 12, Lodi, CA 95240 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.championjuicer.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Plastaket Manufacturing Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Plastaket Manufacturing Company, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Plastaket Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 25, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1955 Business started locally: 01/01/1955 Business incorporated: 02/09/1962 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Russell Trovinger, President Mr. Richard Radulovich, general manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Richard Radulovich, general manager
Principal: Mr. Russell Trovinger, President
Business Category

Juice Extractors Online Retailer Appliances - Small - Wholesale & Manufacturers

Alternate Business Names
Big Valley Molds Plastaket Mfg. Co., Inc.
Products & Services

Plastaket Manufacturing Company specializes in plastic injection molding and mold making for most industries, including electronics, electrical, automotive, packaging, sporting ghoods, medical agriculture, appliances, food processing, comuter and office supply.


Additional Locations

  • 6220 E Highway 12

    Lodi, CA 95240 (866) 935-8423 (209) 369-2154

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (209) 369-2154(Phone)
  • (866) 935-8423(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently placed an order by check regarding a special promotional offer for the Champion Juicer manufactured by the Plastaket Mfg. Co. Inc. located in Calif. I wrote a letter clearly stating the items I was ordering & the promotion they were connected with,I also enclosed a check for the required order amount. I just received the order today & much to our surprise, the order was incomplete and was missing any form of an invoice or proof of purchase. I was unable to order online due to the fact that our computer had failed and was temporarily unavailable. Next,I contacted customer service by phone & explained my situation. I was met with a very curt and redundant response. The individual I spoke with had a very arrogant & unconcerned attitude about what had transpired in my situation. Basically they took my check & did not honor the promotion and made an executive decision to go ahead and place an incomplete order without contacting me for my permission to do so. They then went on to try to blame me for not ordering on line in order to get the promotion that they offered. I repeated that it was not an option due to not having a computer at the time. I was told about the offer thru another family member. I told her that if I was told that in the first place, when I called earlier prior to sending my check, I never would have placed the order to begin with. They then transferred me to a manager who was abrupt and talked in circles never addressing the fact that they processed an order for something different from my original order. She then curtly said "if your so unhappy send it back & we will refund you" I then asked for a return label & they said "no, that is your expense not ours!" How it that legal or ethical??? I have a copy of my written order with the promotional details,parts to be included,free shipping & total amount. The promotion was unfulfilled & my money should have been sent back or the order rejected in writing & it was not. I want a full refund & a free shg. label.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a full & complete refund of my enclosed check for $270.00 & a free return shipping label. I was very hopeful about this company based on their years in business but after seeing their unethical ways of doing business & their unwillingness to listen to a customers circumstances ,I have lost "all desire" to have anything to do with this company in the future. My requests were fair & reasonable, their response was unjust & unethical. I will be sincerely grateful for your help.

Business Response: CUSTOMER SENT IN A CHECK FOR A PROMOTIONAL OFFERED ONLY ON OUR WEBSITE. THE PROMO WAS GOOD THRU 3/31/14. SHE DID NOT PROVIDE A PHONE NUMBER SO WE COULD CONTACT HER. SHE ALSO SENT IN A CHECK IN THE AMOUNT OF $270.00 THAT WAS RECEIVED IN OUR OFFICE 4/8/2014. OUR PRICE FOR THIS JUICER WAS $295.00 EFFECTIVE 4/1/14. WE OFFERED THE PROMOTIONAL PACKAGE ON OUR WEBSITE THAT CLEARLY STATED FOR ONLINE ORDERS ONLY AND SINCE WE DID NOT HAVE A PHONE NUMBER AND ALSO COULDN'T FIND A PHONE NUMBER TO CONTACT THE CUSTOMER WE WENT AHEAD AND FILLED THE ORDER WITHOUT THE BUNDLE FOR THE LOWER PRICE RATHER THAN HOLD UP HER ORDER FOR SNAIL MAIL RESPONSE. CUSTOMER PHONED OUR OFFICE ON 4/14/14 COMPLAINING ABOUT NOT GETTING HER BUNDLE. WE EXPLAINED THE SITUATION TO HER BUT SHE CONTINUED TO COMPLAIN ABOUT NOT BEING CONTACTED AND THAT SHE WAS TOLD BY A FAMILY MEMBER REGARDING THE SPECIAL. WE TOLD HER IF SHE WANTED TO SEND THE JUICER BACK SHE WOULD BE GIVEN A REFUND PER OUR POLICY. AT THAT POINT (WHERE SHE HAD TO PAY TO RETURN THE PRODUCT) SHE SAID SHE WOULD TALK TO HER HUSBAND AND LET US KNOW WHAT SHE DECIDED. WE DIDN'T HEAR FROM HER AGAIN UNTIL SHE SENT A LETTER STATING SHE WOULD TAKE LEGAL ACTION IF THE JUICER WASN'T ISSUED A RETURN LABEL AND SHE WANTED A FULL REFUND. WE ISSUED THE CALL TAG AND ISSUED A CHECK ONCE THE JUICER WAS BACK IN OUR FACTORY. SHE CASHED OUR CHECK ON 5/12/14. WE FELT WE WENT OVER AND ABOVE JUST BY NOT SENDING BACK HER CHECK AND ASKING FOR THE FULL PRICE OF $295.00. THE PROMO SHE WAS TRYING TO BUY HAD ALSO ALREADY EXPIRED ON 3/31/14 ON OUR WEBSITE BY THE TIME THE CHECK ARRIVED IN OUR OFFICE 4/8/14.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

They are not giving all the details of what transpired, and they are coloring the details to make their company look and sound forthright. My major issue was the fact that they made the assumption that I wanted the juicer at a price that was never agreed upon. They also made the assumption that I wanted their juicer unconditionally (which was not true). I stated this multiple times in our phone conversations. When I was speaking, they spoke over me, and refused to agnowlege what I was saying. They had no right to make an assumption for a purchase that was diffrent at full price. I only wanted the promotion. Period. When I told them that, they seamed shocked, and put off. Therefore, they should have made contact, in any way, shape, or form needed. Snail mail is a judgement. They assumed, like everything else, that we were in such a rush to get their product, they sent it without our authorization, or approval. Then, when I received it, and called them, they told me return shipping was my responsibility. I concidered this whole experience to be a blessing, for it allowed me to see deep within the personnel infrastructure of the company. This was not the type of people I had hoped would be backing a product that was such a long-term investment. Their buisness practices and interpersonal capacities were extremely unprofessional and lacked any form of inegrity. It is my most sincere hope that in some way, shape or form, other consumers will learn from my experience and avoid these problems for themselves.
Caveat emptor/Buyer beware
My gratitude and appreciation to the Better Buisness Bureau for your intercession and help in this matter. No matter how many responses they give, you will never see them speak of, nor document the fact that they made a dicision on a purchase diffrent from our request that we never ever gave approval. There is an amazing fact about truth. No matter how many ways you color it, or deny it, it still exists. Don't just take my word for it, ask them for proof of approval, or contact... There was none. They made a poor dicision, and then expected us to pay for it. That is the plain, simple and undeniable truth.
Read their responses closely. The truth lies in between their flowery vague and side-skirting explanations. They think very highly of themselves, and assume smoke and mirrors will deceive the Better Buisness Bureau, as they did with us.
Truth is truth, and it will remain, regardless of how they fail to agnowlege the fact that they made a dicision that lacked integrity.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The juicer stopped working properly, I contacted the Plastaket company by email and I was told to mail the juicer in for service. Order Number:XXXXX Order Date: August 30, 2010 Order Paid: credit card: $255.00 When the juicer stopped working, I contacted ************ at the Plastaket company. He asked me a few questions about the juicer and finally asked me to mail it in for service. If I had known that when they received the machine that they would decide not to repair it because it was "irreparable", then I wouldn't have spent all that time to package and mail it for $30.00. They are refusing to reimburse me even for the mailing of this product. I also got an email asking if I wanted the product mailed back, and that it would cost me a shipping FEE to mail back to me. Not only did I waste time and energy, I lost $30.00 in the shipping, and I don't have a juicer anymore. In order to get it back, I'd have to pay. I just don't think this is right. Not only that, when I asked about it, the customer service lady that answered the phone, gave me an attitude when I asked if it was possible to get a reimbursement. I have enough problems as it is. I only purchased the Champion Juicer because I started a Vegan Juicing diet in order to better my health. I've been fighting cancer for the last 4 years and my natural doctor suggested purchasing a juicer. I wanted to buy the best. Apparently, I was wrong in choosing to buy from Champion Juicer.

Desired Settlement: All I ask is a replacement of the Juicer or at the very least, a compensation for the mailing fees.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response Yes, she was told to return the machine to us for inspection but we were not told that this machine had been dropped. Yes we do have a 10 year limited warranty but the warranty does not cover damage caused by dropping the machine.It covers only manufacture defects. Also we do not cover shipping charges on machines that are more than 1 year old. The damage to this machine was beyond repair.It is clearly stated on our warranty that we cover shipping for a period of 1 year only.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service