Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Devon's Jewelers Inc. - All Area Locations?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Devon's Jewelers Inc. - All Area Locations meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Devon's Jewelers Inc. - All Area Locations include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Devon's Jewelers Inc. - All Area Locations
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 05, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1939 Business started locally: 01/01/1939 Business incorporated: 07/19/1946 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike Butcoff, Sales Supervisor Mr. Gerald Merksamer, Vice President Mr. Jon Merksamer, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Butcoff, Sales Supervisor
Business Category

Jewelers - Retail

Alternate Business Names
De Vons De Vons Jewelers Devons Jeweler

Additional Locations

  • 1125 C Colusa Avenue

    Yuba City, CA 95991 (530) 674-2375

  • 1151 Galleria Blvd Ste 105

    Roseville, CA 95678 (916) 788-4150

  • 1689 Arden Way

    Sacramento, CA 95815 (916) 929-3991

  • 1910 29th St

    Sacramento, CA 95816 (916) 451-6583 (209) 951-9610

  • 1950 E. 20th St.

    Chico, CA 95928

  • 220 Lincoln Ctr

    Stockton, CA 95207

  • 3200 Naglee Rd

    Tracy, CA 95304

  • 3401 Dale Rd Ste 315

    Modesto, CA 95356

  • 5916 Sunrise Mall

    Citrus Heights, CA 95610

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    635 Merced Mall

    Merced, CA 95348

  • 900 Dana Dr.

    Redding, CA 96003 (530) 223-2071

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We weren't sold what we asked for and were never informed of any problems with our diamond. When complained to manager they didn't care we are unhappy We purchased a diamond back in June 2012. We had requested a diamond that was .9 or higher carats. They never shared with us any information about the diamond they were selling us, like what the quality was or coloring, they also sold us a diamond that was only .7 carats which isn't what we wanted. The guy who dealt with us was creepy and was trying to hit on me in front of my fiancé. They were unprofessional and didn't handle their customer service in a way that should be expected. When we went back to management to complain about the ring because we noticed some major flaws they said there was nothing they could do unless we are willing to spend 50% more. We weren't given what we asked for and the quality is beyond disappointing so why would we want to buy more from them? I feel that us being happy should be their priority.

Desired Settlement: At this point I would like a refund for our purchase. The manager told us that they don't even keep quality diamonds in their store anymore because they can't compete with the businesses around them because they have lower quality and cheaper prices. So Devon's lowered their standards to keep business coming in. But now that customer is unhappy with product. I feel it is unfair to expect me to buy an upgrade when this was their fault. If they had been informative and given us what we asked for then we wouldn't be so disappointed in the ring we received.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
First, let me thank-you for being a DeVons Customer, we appreciate your business and value you as a customer. Mr. ***********'s solitaire engagement ring, ******, a .77ct princess cut diamond was purchased on 07-10-12. The grade of this diamond is I-1; the retail price was $2995 and was discounted to $2246 + tax. The ring guard, D0306 was also purchased on 7-10-12, it retailed for $1295 and was discounted to $1061.90 + tax. Attached you will find a copy of the original sales receipt which clearly shows the size and quality they had picked out. The solitaire and ring guard were selected previously and the information was placed on a wish card for future reference. Mr. M came in on 7-10-12 and purchased the same items they had previously looked at. DeVons (loose diamonds only) trade in policy reads: "full purchase price, less any tax, as a credit toward another diamond at least 50% higher than the value of the original diamond," additionally DeVons provides a 7-day full refund policy and a 30-day exchange policy, which is clearly written on Mr. ***********'s sales receipt. Because approximately 9 months have passed since the original purchase, this sale no longer qualifies for our exchange policy. DeVons would be happy to waive our trade-in policy, allowing an even exchange on any other diamond they choose for another diamond equal to or more than the original purchase price of the solitaire. Customer would be responsible for any increase in price for a higher quality diamond and any additional labor required. DeVons carries any conceivable diamond quality that is available. Again, we appreciate you as customers and look forward to finding a diamond in a quality and size that makes you happy! If you would like to contact me personally please feel free to call me anytime. Sincerely, ******* ****** Sales Manager XXX-XXX-XXXX

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I find the employee who helped us negligent if we specifically said we wanted a diamond that was .9 and he wrote something different on our customer card. What kind of customer service is that? We tell you we want one thing and you write down something completely different? I also find it CONVENIENT that none of your employees remember Mr. M coming in to complain about the ring. Both of us remember it distinctly and also remember being told nothing could be done. I also find it absurd that you expect us to be forced to stay Devons customers. What kind of customer service is it when you are forcing someone to stay your customer? Especially when that customer was even told by your management that you don't have good quality diamonds to offer. We have gone into a few jewelers since this occurred and haven't seen the same level of incompetence with them. They offer to educate you and make sure you are happy with your purchase. We are willing to make a different offer for compromise since it appears the business is unwilling to give us what we originally asked for. WE do NOT want the ring and we DONT want to be forced to stay a customer. Therefore, we are willing to give the ring back as well as let Devons keep the money that we have already paid toward it, which is over $1100. All we ask in return is that the financing is taken off our credit report and we don't have to pay the balance owed. We do not want to have to take this any further than we already have. This is the final offer we are going to give the company to work with us and to save their name. No one should be forced to stay a customer. Allowing the business to keep the money we have already paid and take the ring back is offering them the opportunity to make things right and still make plenty of money off of the purchase.

Business' Final Response
Devons Jewelers has accepted Mr. M's offer of compromise. Mr. M's offer was, "Return both rings to DeVons, in return Mr. M would receive a full refund for bot h rings, less any monies paid, approx $1100." Mr. M's account through GE will be paid off by DeVons.