Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

PacificHost

Phone: (800) 491-6590 View Additional Phone Numbers 9245 Laguna Springs Dr Ste 200, Elk Grove, CA 95758 http://www.pacifichost.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for PacificHost include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on PacificHost
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 22, 2010 Business started: 05/01/2009 Business started locally: 05/01/2009 Business incorporated 06/01/2009 in WA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. George Natzic, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George Natzic, CEO
Business Category

Internet Services


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9245 Laguna Springs Dr Ste 200

    Elk Grove, CA 95758 (916) 627-2049 (800) 491-6590

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi, My complaint involves a hold on my web site and accusations of me spamming and getting blocked by ********. To date I don't know why I am blocked? Hi, I have had a journey from **** with these two companies. I am contacting the BBB regarding their business practice and rude staff and them placing my account on suspension, which is hurting my hard earned google rank and customer reputation immeasurably, not to mention caused me great stress and heartbreak. I feel there has been a breach of normal acceptable internet protocol, to the point that it has left me stressed and will also be hitting my pocket, as this is just another delay I don't need. Dispensing with all the in between failures with passwords etc, I will cut to the chase. The problem involves my web site backstagauditions.com being logged with ******** for what they term 'spamming'. This is incorrect. ******** web site showed my web site as being blocked and this is where the problems started. I complained to Pacific Host and they in no uncertain terms backed up ******** and had no ear for my plight at all. Since then, I understand that ******** is already under review for doing this to millions all over the world and I understand many countries are now taking ******** to court and suing them, as well as the FTC. Good. That, I can not do anything about and it will take its due course. However,we are given an emailing platform with our script when we join and are not warned by Pacific Host to NOT use it, or risk suspension. So, despite my protests I agreed to find a bulk email service outside of Pacific Host to use instead. Since then, I have not broken protocol, or what their idea of protocol is, since. This was a couple of months ago. Now, the same day that I am due to migrate my accounts from them to another host provider, because I am tired of their antics, I find my account has been suspended. One might think, why don't you just use the ticket support and find out what the problem is. I have not been able to get the pacifichost.com web site up in any of my browsers nor their chat support. Also, an email from my admin area fails to reach them and gets blocked. They have provided NO reason for my suspension. They have not emailed me, and if they did I can not access it because of the block on my account. They have in my opinion exceeded what would normally just be an email complaint to the BBB. I have spent many late night hours and many months building this web site and it was just about to be my lively hood. In my opinion they have broken every rule in the book for what is normally acceptable treatment of an individual and this has compounded my already over stressed state, so the damage is considerable. I hope you can see how important this is to me and why I am contacting you. It is NOT illegal to email even someone who has not requested information from you, so long as there is an unsubscribe link in the email you sent. However, this does not apply to me here anyway, because each one of the clients I emailed (about 1,000 at the time), is a client of mine who has joined my web site. I have read other entries on the internet, where even a Priest and government departments have not been able to email their own internal contacts. This practice of over-exemplifying the situation should be investigated I feel. In the mean time I am left without a web site that I spent many hours building, as you can appreciate my heart is broken right now and I have lost faith in these host providers. If you could investigate why Pacifichost has done this, not just to me but others as well, for no reason, it would be much appreciated. ******** has to be stopped too, these two are destroying consumers chances of making a legitimate income. I am not & will never be a spammer. I am a professional. I just want my web site unblocked so I can migrate to the new company. I have already paid them but now can't migrate. I have 6,500 clients to think about here. They have no right to do this and gave me no warning. I've not sent a single email to any of my clients. I share a server so perhaps it is someone else. Thank you for your time!

Desired Settlement: I would like to see my account unsuspended immediately. I trust these people with my clients data, so if anything were to happen to a business that I worked hard to build up or data was lost I would have no option but to sue this company. They should realize that this could get messy for them if they do not comply. I just want to migrate my site away from them and get on with my life. That is the cheapest option and the right one for them right now. I hope they are more sensible than they have been so far and I have read from others too how rude their support staff are. Also, they treat you like you are stupid. They won't listen to your complaints and as another person said they shut you down, rather than resolve the issue. Their passwords are always failing and I have to change them. They offer little to no support, depending on the situation and they are backers of the notorious SPAMHAUS and were proud in letting me know that. When I got blocked the first time, it was by accident because they didn't warn me about not using the newsletter facility that is provided in the script and warned I would be suspended if I used it again. BUT I haven't even emailed one client!! They need to release both access to my site and also the C-Panel so I can migrate. Is not migration better than litigation? Thanks.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Hello ******, Opening a BBB dispute is generally something best left reserved when you have an issue that is unresolved with the company you are dealing with. In this case your account was suspended because of heavy resource abuse and instead of replying back asking what we can do to resolve the issue you instead go and open a BBB dispute. It is not our intention to disrupt your business, however we cannot allow individual customers to affect our level of service we provide to the other 200+ customers on the same server as yourself. I don't see any mention in the ticket where you were suspended for spamming, it was solely related to resource abuse which is a violation of our Terms of Service - adn again we have resource limits to protect every one of our customers including yourself. Specifically the reasons related to your service suspension were mentioned in ticket DFY-XXX-XXXXX and that was sent to you on the day of your website suspension. The heavy resource usage was related to the mysql database ********_moti623 and the script at /home
public_html/blogs.php - If you would be willing to stop whatever is occuring with the script on your website from occurring again or disable the script related to blog.php and then we can unsuspend your website. Opening a BBB dispute though is not right the course of action, especially after you haven't even attempted to contact us which is actually one of the requirements that you must do before opening a dispute. Otherwise it appeared that your last Ip was blocked by our firewall, it is not because our service was down however you triggered an event in our firewall that caused it to block your IP. I hav forwarded a copy of your IP entry in the firewall to our senior admin who will see what he can do to prevent that from occurring again with a legitimate IP. Otherwise I would highly recommend that you call us at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX or email *****@pacifichost.com and we can sort this out.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Hello Pacifichost.com I am one of the many who have complained about the rudeness of your staff and your inability to run the company in a professional and mature manner. Just check through Google if you doubt me. Now...you add to that lies and attempt to fool the public into believing your story. Let's get this straight once and for all. By the way, before I start...you failed to convince me to upgrade to a more efficient server and due to your poor level of performance and that of your servers I have migrated happily to another provider. This was accomplished after many many emails and requests and heavy pressure, such as responsibly using BBB's platform, as well as complaining to the FTC. Only AFTER this, were you willing to release my account for migration. You chose instead to hold me to ransom for several days, while my company paid the cost, which if I wanted to I could recover through a court of law as I have a solid case, and then try to get me to invest more wasted money in your company, by upgrading a service, that not due to my abuse but due to your inadequate servers was unable to deliver what I expected it should. Further to this, many many emails explained all of the facts. Your staff chooses to ignore the important details of our tickets and this brings me to the next point. I explained this to you numerous times. Now, instead of being able to cover it over by dealing with it, you have chosen to make me post this publicly to warn others to not use your services because you are reckless in the way that you serve your clients. IN fact, in the 11 years I have been on the internet, your company is the worst performer to date, by far. It should be noted that I have been with a host provider for 11 years and never once have they abused, threatened (non physically just commercially) nor suspended my accounts. When a problem has occurred, which is far and few between, instead they have chosen to work with me to resolve the issue. In stark contrast here is the order of events with Pacifichost.com 1) I constantly bring to your attention that my IP keeps getting blocked, within the first 2 weeks of service, with a site that has literally nothing on it. NO matter how many times I complain you do nothing to fix the issue. 2) Your password platform then begins to fail. I have to constantly get you to help me to get it to work again or change the passwords myself and even then the platform fails sometimes. 3) You fail to ask the client NOT to use the in-built Newsletter platform. Anyone with a working brain would just use it thinking they were safe. Suddenly I get blocked and don't know why. After even more stress of trying to find out why, you eventually tell me that ****** has blocked it. Another lie from you....check your comments and you will see why. 4) I do some investigative work and find out that someone in the industry has gone to great lengths and even put his own money into taking this German guy to court over his blocking of normal bulk emailing, not SPAM. You try to back down on this issue. WHY? You vehemently defended his actions and said if I was caught spamming again that you would suspend my account. You did not listen to my tickets again. This guy lives on a 130 ft yacht and has in his staff, contracted or not, criminals. It is claimed by the man that is suing him for bad business practice that one man has convictions for sexual offenses. What a great org. ****** is, and you DEFEND them?? What?? Do you guys ever do your homework?? I supplied excerpt after excerpt about this guy and you chose again to ignore all of that and prattle on as your staff does in pride and arrogance, in defense of your company and it's so called reputation. I, in good faith, tried to perform professionally and wanted to keep in touch with my clients. That is all. ******, with your backing, calls this spamming! How can spamming be keeping in touch with your own opt-in clients? You tell me. I asked you and you agreed with ******. I had no option but to not keep in touch with my clients and have now found a bulk emailing service which can avoid ****** so long as I don't spam. It is not illegal to even contact by email someone who has not asked for your email, so long as there is a opt-out link in the email. That's what makes it SPAM, if it doesn't have this. Your own staff seems uninformed, unprofessional, don't know what they are doing and incapable of providing us with a bulk emailing service or even putting us in touch with one, so that we can avoid being blocked unwittingly by ******. By the way, pretty much every country in the world now, as well as the FTC is taking him and his company to court to put an end to his company practices once and for all. Chose to continue backing renegades and you deserve to go there with him. 5). You say on the same day you blocked my site, and all of its related links and my IP by the way, that you ticketed me. I told you at least 6 times and I will tell you again, a shining example that you don't listen to us. I could not get your web site in my browser. I could not get your ticket support system in my browser, even though I tried different browsers. I could not get into my email platform. I could not get into C-panel either. You honestly expect me to return your ticket with a reply? Again, I submit that you like to block your clients first and ask questions later. You say you have 200 others on that server. Seems excessive to me, given that you would know already that PHP motion is a major blogging script. In fact I came across a site recently that has a quarter of a million blogs. Mine had hardly a fraction of this when you blocked me. Perhaps there was an indication that something was amiss when I tried placing a banner script within the blog page. I soon discovered that, probably due to the way the script is written and performs or possibly because your servers were incapable, that one is still in the air. However, it produced some minor 404 issues and forbidden perhaps from memory. I very quickly worked to resolve this and placed the banners instead, which was only Javascript, somewhere else on the page. Now, the responsible action as a company you should have taken, if it was even this that you blocked me for, would have been to give me a chance to explain myself. I am, of course, assuming this is what the issue was. I don't know and will never know, because I have left your company. Your company let me down in a bad way. It caused much nerve stress from an already overstressed work load. I had put many many hours into building the site up and expected way more from Pacifichost. How would you like it, if you turned up for work had been working on a project for months. Then, not only do you find the workplace sealed shut with a warning to stay out but you are losing your clients faith and your company's reputation for 3 to 4 days. How many web sites are ever down for 3 to 4 days. If I were not so stressed right now and in need of a holiday I would make a move to sue you for what you have done. But, you're lucky. I will let it go with this BBB statement, which I am entitled to do, despite your arrogant warnings. Stop blaming your clients for things out of their control and/or things they are unaware of. Give your clients the benefit of the doubt. Instead of being paranoid and making out that we are deliberately compromising the integrity of your servers. Stop backing ****** when the rest of the world is moving to destroy them forever. Give your clients more alternatives. Stop abusing the ticket support system and use it to work with us not against us. Stop ignoring things we tell you in our tickets. Separate the ticketing platform and our ability to contact you from your main IP address. Get more intelligent staff. I could quote from numerous tickets stupid things they have said when I have told them something. Also, you told me you couldn't answer any of my tickets because there was 'no account associated' with that ticketing email address. This was because I couldn't get the original service platform to work. Again, the passwords were failing. SO I started a new one. SO, as per your request I got the original one working again. Then, after several attempts to resolve the issue from a library, where I could chat with you again, following the emails I sent from my private account with another provider, I started to get somewhere. I did what you said and changed back to the original email address. What did you guys do? You told me to disassociate my account from that address so that I could keep in touch with you and also do the migration. WHAT? You guys are fresh indeed. Take a note of all of this. Because, as i stand today, I am a professional in this business, at least going there this year. I have been in the top 10% of my countries income earners already and my site is now rated 767 in New Zealand out of 155,000. WHY? Because I stick to the rules, so should you! Regards Bret

Business' Final Response
On december 7th, your account was unsuspended to allow you to gain access to your data and complete a migration to another provider. The ticket has since been on hold as we have not heard back from you. The ticket ID is BHG-XXX-XXXXX and was sent to *****@**********.ws - I am not sure what other kind of resolution you would like since the account was unsuspended and instructions were sent to you detailing how to gain access to your data.

12/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are working with Pacifichost since Agust 2011 without problems. Always the same way (uploading video files) 3 days ago, we can´t upload any files. I repeat, always upload video viles more than 100MB. Now, they say that is not possible, and they are forcing to change plan (upgrade to a more expensive plan). They never warning us about file size, recurse abuse in your server, or anything like that.

Desired Settlement: We want the service returns like the beginning. We need to upload this kind of files (this is the reason by we contract Pacifichost last year).

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
This customer has a $6/month hosting plan and is expecting to use that to upload 100mb+ videos to his website and display on his website in a fashion similar to youtube. While we do support ffmpeg hosting, we do not support high IO and Resource intensive websites. This customer's website has started to affect our other customers on the server is affecting the overall performance of our service to the other 200+ customers on the server. As part of our Terms of Service with the customer, the customer is not allowed to exceed more than 25% of system resources for longer than 90 seconds, or run resoruce intensive applications that have a negative impact on other customers. That is exactly what the issue is here and the customer does not seem to acknowledge any potential whatsoever that his website is causing load or affecting our other customers. The customer does not understand that he cannot continue to upload the huge files he has been uploading, especially on a shared hosting service. We have advised the customer that there is no host out there who is going to offer him what he wants for $6 a month as the resources required to sustain his website activity go far beyond $6/month. The terms of service that the customer agreed to has provisions that protects us and our customers from resource intensive websites such as ******'s website. Since this is a TOS violation we do not offer refunds, however the customer can continue to run his website as long as it does not continue to violate our system resource provision.

10/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Website suspended and deleted, LOST! On Sept 9, 2012 I notce my website and email address were no longer functioning, I contacted my hosting company PacificHost and was told that it had been suspended and that I needed to email Rex Boyd via email. Rex told me that the website had been suspended due to a credit card chargeback dispute. I explained to him that the credit card had been stolen by a ex-employee and all transactions were halted. He ask me to fax him a copy of a replacement card and a copy of my drivers license which I did. He then sent me a email telling me that my website was reactivated. My website is now "blank" and all data, uploads, etc... has been lost. I have spent thousands of dollars and man hours to create this website and all has been lost.

Desired Settlement: I want my website to be reactived exactly the way it was prior to suspension. NO NOTICE was ever issued.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
This customers account was terminated after we received a chargeback from him. Per our Terms of Service it is a violation to file a chargeback and can allow us to terminate your account which is what happened in this case. It later turned out that the clients accountant per emails he had with us explained that his accountant is the one who filed the chargeback because he/she did not recognize the PacificHost charge on their credit card. The client later was able to send us the requested documents to verify the account and confirm that it was in fact not a fraudulent account. We then requested our server administrator to restore the customers account, however we did not have complete backups for the account and thus was only able to offer a partial restoration of the account. We advised the customer that there isn't much more we can do for him unless he has his own backup of which we would be happy to help restore for him. While we do offer backups on our shared hosting service we do not guarantee the integrity of the backups and they are only there for emergency purposes only, such as a server failure. We advise all of our customers to create and maintain their own backups not only in our Terms of Service but also in the Login Information email that our customers receive. To summarize, the client's account was terminated because he or his associates filed a chargeback which is a violation of our Terms of Service, and we were unable to restore a complete backup of the account when the client verified his account.