Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Unique Writers, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Unique Writers, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Unique Writers, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 29, 2012 Business started: 05/31/2011 in CA Business started locally: 05/31/2011 Business incorporated 05/31/2011 in NV
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Insurance
CA 94105
Phone Number: (800) 927-4357
The number is 0H45163.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Michael Passaglia, President Mr. Daniel Newton, Chief Operating Officer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Daniel Newton, Chief Operating Officer
Principal: Mr. Michael Passaglia, President
Business Category

Insurance - Life Annuities

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Alternate Business Names
Legacy Life Insurance Solutions
Products & Services

This company offers life insurance, annuities, and life planning services.

Additional Locations

  • 950 Tharp Road  Suite 800

    Yuba City, CA 95993


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted by ******* *********, after calling a solicitation to inquire about Mortgage insurance for my home Mortgage. I specifically asked her for a product that would pay off my mortgage in the event of my death. She came to my home and sold me a policy that was not Mortgage Insurance. She informed me that this was in fact Mortgage insurance, and the policy would fully cover my mortgage. She signed me up for automatic deductions every month. When I signed the contract, it was much different than the copy she mailed me. She took the original with her and then mailed me a copy much later. When I reviewed the copy it was not what we discussed. When my daughter caught her lying, she said that Life insurance is mortgage insurance and they are one in the same. She also said that I purchased life insurance for which she was taking out of my account monthly. I asked her to cancel and she continued to cancel. She came to my home to solicit my business then when I attempt to cancel she does not respond or help. She continues to fraudulently withdraw funds from my account monthly.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund however I don't see this as happening because she won't even return my calls. So I would be so thankful if this matter can be fully investigated. She took advantage of me financially and committed fraud. My daughter is planning on notifying Adult Protective Services to ensure she never takes advantage of other seniors. We are living on limited income and when we reach out to Agents they should never take advantage of us. Everyone will be senior citizen one day.

Business Response: Unique Writers is a National Insurance Marketing Organization. We work with hundreds of independent agents nationally. These agents run their own businesses and operate independently. Unique Writers provides training and contracting for agents to allow them to represent a number of leading insurance carriers. Agents that work with unique Writers have the option to operate under the name of Legacy Life Insurance Solutions. They are not employed by this entity or Unique Writers.

Regardless, we are very concerned when a complaint, although rare, such as this comes to our attention. This is the first we have heard of this matter and will work diligently to resolve it with the consumer.

A couple of noteworthy points. The agent mentioned in the complaint is no longer associated with us. She may or may not be working in the insurance industry currently. She has had no dealings with us for many, may months now and is believed to have moved on to another line of work.

The consumer indicates that they were sold a product which was not mortgage insurance. Agents working with us draw upon a number of carriers and products to meet a customer's needs. A number of different life insurance carriers and policies may serve to provide valuable protection to consumers including mortgage protection. As the complaint does not list the insurance carrier information, it will take some investigation to determine which carrier and product was used. When the consumer received the policy and found that it was not what they wanted, they could have returned it without any financial responsibility at all.  A "Free Look" period provides them at least 30 days to decide if the policy is right for them or not, and they may return it during that time frame for a full refund of any monies that may have been collected. It appears that now more than a year and a half has gone by since the consumer purchased the policy. A simple call to the insurance carrier at any time since then would have resolved the situation right away. Note that the agent does not and cannot withdraw funds from the consumer's bank account. The insurance carrier is the only one that does that.

We will reach out to the consumer and help them determine exactly what policy they have, the carrier, and how to easily cancel the policy if they still desire to do so. We apologize for the consumer's inability to reach the agent who, as previously mentioned, was an independent contractor and we have no control over their business or activities. Had we received a call from the consumer we would have likewise worked to resolved this with them.

We strive to work with the best agents in the industry and constantly emphasize to them in our training and dealings of the importance of always doing the right thing for the consumer. Our goal is to help agents provide superior service to their clients so that they create long, lasting relationships that are to the benefit of all parties involved.


Unique Writers dba Legacy Life Insurance Solutions