Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McGee & Thielen Insurance Brokers, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for McGee & Thielen Insurance Brokers, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on McGee & Thielen Insurance Brokers, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 16, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1920 Business started locally: 01/01/1920 Business incorporated 08/17/1982 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Insurance
CA 94105
www.insurance.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 927-4357
The number is 0633187.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Bradford, VP of Finance
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Bradford, VP of Finance
Business Category

Insurance Companies Insurance - Accident & Health Insurance - Auto Insurance - Fire & Flood Specialists Insurance - Health Insurance - Homeowners Insurance - Life Insurance - Senior Products Insurance - Dental Insurance - Disability Insurance - Property Insurance - Workers Compensation

Products & Services

McGee & Thielen Insurance Brokers Inc provide a variety insurance services.


Additional Locations

  • 3780 Rosin Ct Ste 120

    Sacramento, CA 95834

  • 3840 Rosin Ct STE 245

    Sacramento, CA 95834

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/29/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: failed to add daughter on insurance after I call.and drop comp and collition After my daughter recieved her lisence I immeditaly called and informed my insurance broker and reminded them to please drop my Comp and Collition on my policy which they had not done before. My agent was not in she was on vacation" ****" so another agent took the information down. 6 months Later I recieved a notice to pay for the insurance change with a substantial increase in rate and a warning that if I did not pay I would be taken to collections!!. I called the agent she said I never called ."****" . I had and told her I had called.I told her that if the rate had gone up that much I would have changed my insurance. They have not bugded till till day. I have gone to the Dept of Insurance and the Corperate Office for Mercury insurance. They all say I did not sent a letter. Of coarse I did not .One never does you call your agent and make the changes. My agent had made a few mistakes in the past and I realize she might be disorganized. But not admitting to the mistake is wrong! Especially if it affects a person. I have figured out how much my insurance should have been billed and sent a letter to them, if they had dropped my Comp and Collition and It amounts to few dollars. they have not responded on this amount. I do not trust this Broker and have dropped my Auto policy and gone with another major brand that was cheeper. please help!

Desired Settlement: billed the correct amount. with the Comp and Collition removed and refunded for the last year.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
There is no record of any communication regarding what this former client is alleging. We have supplied all documentation regarding this issue to the Department of Insurance as well as to Mercury Insurance. The agent that he has referenced was not on vacation at any time during the month that the former client has referenced. Our system permanently records / archives all email and phone messages. There is no supporting evidence of any correspondence to support his assertion. We consider this issue to have already been resolved both with the Department of Insurance as well as with Mercury Insurance. We believe in taking care of good clients, but every client is not a good client, we are happy that he has found the cheap insurance that he was seeking.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The information was given to the dept. of insurance .yes but . A record of a personal coversation between us would not be on a email and phone recording messege. So the statement about the conversation was not answered correctly since it was a personal conversation. The Agent said the original ****** was gone and would not be back for a few days. I would check to see if she had any personal time off was sick. When I talked to ****** personally she said she had in her notes I called.? I have had not resultes . I am asking to pay the difference from the non-removal of comp and collition and amount owed. please resond. thanks ******

Business' Final Response
As I stated originally we have had our records reviewed and cleared by both the Department of Insurance, as well as Mercury Insurance (who we have the appointment with for the policy he had) both of them cleared us. Aside from that the agent on his account was in the office for the entire month that he is claiming that he could not talk to her also verified by time and attendance system.From my position this complaint is resolved, I will not be responding any further on this issue.What I will not do is retreat from the basic principle that when someone is wrong then they are just wrong. I will not reward wrong- headed thinking, there are times when the customer is wrong.