BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Firm Foundations Insurance & Benefits Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Firm Foundations Insurance & Benefits Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Firm Foundations Insurance & Benefits Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 16, 2011 Business started: 01/31/2003 Business started locally: 01/31/2003 Business incorporated: 01/31/2003 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Insurance
CA 94105
www.insurance.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 927-4357

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dale Penne, Agent
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dale Penne, Agent
Business Category

Insurance Companies Insurance - Accident & Health Insurance - Life Insurance - Property

Alternate Business Names
A Firm Foundation, Inc.
Products & Services

Firm Foundations Insurance & Benefits Center provides a variety of insurance services.


Additional Locations

  • 1530 Humboldt Rd Ste 5

    Chico, CA 95928 (530) 891-4673

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cancelled my insurance without my approval per employer request 3 days before my scheduled surgery. Then apologized for the mistake and never fixed it 01/01/13 thru 01/31/13.I got sick from work and went to the doctor. I was told not to work because I had an umbilical hernia and needed surgery. I informed my employer of my surgery date of 01/14/13, 3 days prior to that, my employer called to have my insurance cancelled without my knowledge.When I went to get my meds after surgery the pharmacy said I was not covered.I immediately called ******* of Firm Foundations and she apologized and said it was her mistake and she would reinstate my insurance,rescinded on the first with no lapse in coverage.Now her and her office are denying this. I have proof my premium was paid and a letter from my employer that I needed to come in to her office to set up a payment plan after she had called to have it cancelled.On 01/16/13 I went back to pharmacy and filled prescriptions with my insurance card.I have never heard of an insurance company giving a customer insurance for ONE day.

Desired Settlement: I want my coverage to be paid from 01/01/13 until 03/01/13 with proof of coverage sent Both by email and certified letter.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@mybesthealthplan.com The facts in this case do not support Mr. ******'s his contentions. Our office did confirm that his coverage was reinstated as of 12/1/2012, not 1/1/2013, as he claims. This is evidenced by our confirmation email to him on 1/16/2013. This initial cancellation occurred due to a misunderstanding as to Mr. ******'s employment status during the open enrollment process, and his coverage was inadvertently cancelled as of 12/1/2012. This was corrected immediately when it was brought to our attention. His employer made multiple attempts to meet with him in early January, and when they finally did meet, they informed him of his need to pay the January premium while on leave of absence. In addition, they sent him letters in this regard, even giving him until January 25th to pay his January premiums. Instead, he chose not to pay the premiums, and therefore was appropriately cancelled as of 1/1/2013 for non-payment of dues. No deductions for the January, 2013 major medical insurance premium were made from any of his paychecks. Per California law, he was offered an opportunity to continue his medical coverage under Cal-Cobra, but he chose not to elect that coverage in the sixty days he was given to do so. After he called our office in mid-March complaining about his coverage cancellation, we worked with Blue Shield to see if they would offer an extension of time for him to enroll in Cal-Cobra, and they agreed to do this if he acted immediately. We informed him of this time-sensitive option, suggesting that he at least enroll and pay for January to cover his surgery, but he apparently has again made the personal decision not to pay for the insurance he wants to use. Due to his delay in pursuing this option, I fear that his opportunity to enroll in Cal-Cobra may have passed. Unfortunately, his failure to do so may prove to be a costly decision, especially when he knew he had major medical expenses that would have been covered. Mr. ****** states that on 1/15/2013 he called our office to get his coverage reinstated. At the time he requested to be reinstated, he had not been working since 12/22/2012, and he received his final paycheck on 12/28/2012. He failed to disclose the fact that he was not actively at work, and furthermore, he did not disclose that he had no intention of paying the premiums for the insurance for which he was trying to benefit. Now he is demanding that we pay his insurance premiums for two months, for what reason, I am not sure. Given his actions and his demands, it appears that Mr. ****** is attempting to commit insurance fraud. I would hope that he rethink his actions and demands accordingly. I believe that Mr. ****** would be best served by attempting to enroll in Cal-Cobra, if that option is still available to him. At this point, if he does get enrolled, it will only be by the grace afforded to him by Blue Shield, since he has already missed the statutory deadline to submit his application and pay his premium. We wish him all the best.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved