BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ASUREA Wholesale Insurance Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ASUREA Wholesale Insurance Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 8
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on ASUREA Wholesale Insurance Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 11, 1994 Business started: 10/05/1994 Business started locally: 10/05/1994 Business incorporated: 03/23/2009 in
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Insurance
CA 94105
www.insurance.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 927-4357

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Pope, CEO
Business Category

Insurance Companies Insurance - Accident & Health Insurance - Fire & Flood Specialists Insurance - Health Insurance - Homeowners Insurance - Life Insurance - Senior Products Insurance - Disability Insurance - Property Mortgage Brokers

Alternate Business Names
Insurance Wholesalers Insurance Services, Inc. Mortgage Protection Insurance Services QuotePath Insurance Marketing
Products & Services

ASUREA Wholesale Insurance Services Inc provides comprehensive marketing and administrative services that includes contracting, direct mail leads, case management, and systems support, to insurance agents, agencies and independent brokers.


Additional Locations

  • 3010 Lava Ridge Ct Ste 200

    Roseville, CA 95661 (916) 888-1800

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 888-1800(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Violation of privacy. Their mailing envelope showed amt of "loan" and name of our bank just about our mailing address. Visible for all to see. We received unsolicited offer for loan insurance. We have no such loan only an equity line of credit which has not been drawn. Their mailing envelope clearly displayed this "loan" amount and the name of our financial institution just above our names and mailing address. Clearly visible for all to see. This violates our right to privacy.

Desired Settlement: Company needs to cease use of this mailer. They need to modify it to preclude disclosure of private financial details. If it happened to us, it is happening to everyone they solicit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Dear Mr. *******, I have received your BBB complaint referencing the mailer you received offering Mortgage Protection Insurance from our company. We apologize for any inconvenience and can inform you that our printing house mistakenly printed some of our letters with the name and loan amount showing in the window. This was an error and has been corrected. We have removed your name from our mailing lists so that you will not receive any more solicitations, this process can take up to 60 days. Sincerely, ********* ***** Director of Administration ASUREA Insurance Services, Inc.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company will not stop sending me unsolicited letters to sign up for their program, nor will they provide me with a contact to do so. Received multiple unsolicited letters regarding their service, and agent would not remove me from their mailing list, nor provide me with an appropriate contact to do so.

Desired Settlement: Stop sending letters.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
To Whom It May Concern: We have received your letter regarding the complaint filed by *********** ****** and appreciate their concerns regarding the various product solicitations we send out to prospective clients. The information used to send such mailers is obtained through the county recorder's office and is public information which is used to send out materials all over the United States. We apologize for any inconvenience and we are happy to remove Mr. ****** from our database in order to prevent them from getting further solicitations from us, this process can take up to 60 days. Sincerely, ********* ***** Director of Administration ASUREA Wholesale Insurance Services, Inc. DBA: Mortgage Protection Insurance Services

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: am on the do not mail lists and am receiving offers of solicitation for insurance, burial expenses after twice contacting the company to stop sending. I have on several occasions asked ASUREA INSURANCE BENEFITS DIVISION to stop all mailings to the following mailing address: XXXXX SE HWY 212, IRONWOOD-4. I am on the National Do Not Mail Lists. They are not only sending mail to me but enclosed in the envelope is a mailer enclosed for a **** ******* who does not exist or reside at this address. This person is unknown to me. On June 12, 2012 & on 6 September 2012, I sent letters to ASSUREA Insurance requesting them to stop sending mailers-offers of solicitation for insurance, burial expenses or any thing else as I was not interested. I have the hard copies of the letters that were sent to them. I have filed complaints with the Justice Department. Under advice of an attorney I am sending to ASSUREA INSURANCE a Certified Letter to Cease & Desist any further mailings to either me personally or to my address. I have not done any business in the past with this company. I have not asked for any material from this company. I have not contacted them either by phone, email, fax or wire services requesting any services or information from them. I have even gone so far to put a block on my credit report to stop inquires & offers about insurance, burial benefits etc. This company has no reason to contact me for anything. I have all the insurance I need and am very happy with the companies that I do business with. I do not need these people bothering me. I am disabled and am a senior citizen and just leave me alone. What part of do not want don't they understand?

Desired Settlement: Request for the umpteenth time just remove me from your mailing list. Quit sending offers of solicitation to me, I am not interested. Honor the do not mail lists.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
To Whom It May Concern: We have received your letter regarding the complaint filed by ****** ****** and appreciate his concerns regarding the product solicitations we send out to prospective clients. This is the first communication we have received from Mr. ****** and are more than happy to remove him from our database in order to prevent him from getting further solicitations from us, this process can take up to 60 days. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Sincerely, ****** ****** Director of Administration ASUREA Insurance Services, inc. DBA: Mortgage Protection Insurance Services

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) These people can say what they want but I have the copies of the letters that were sent to them. Fortunately, I know they are lying and so do they even if they do not want to admit it. 12 June 2012 & 6 Sept 2012 were the dates the letters were sent to them. I have the copies. Copies do not lie.

Business' Final Response
Unfortunately, we do not have any records of your letters or calls until the last one sent via certified mail. We have remove your name and address from our mailing ists, this process can take up to 60 days. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Sincerely, ****** ****** Director of Administration ASUREA Insurance Services, Inc.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a notice in the mail that was important for California Citizens. It is misleading. THis company mailer can lead someone to think they were getting a benefit that may be free. I would hate for an older person to be taken for granted because of this. There mailers are misleading!

Desired Settlement: Stop their mailings and misleading people!

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
To Whom It May Concern: We have received your letter regarding the complaint filed by ****** ****** and appreciate her concerns regarding the Final Expense product solicitations we send out to prospective clients. The information used to send such mailers is obtained through the county recorder's office and is public information which is used to send out materials all over the United States. We apologize for any inconvenience and we are happy to remove Ms. ****** from our database in order to prevent her from getting further solicitations from us, this process can take up to 60 days. Sincerely, ****** ****** Director of Administration ASUREA Insurance Services, Inc. DBA: Mortgage Protection Insurance Services

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/29/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/5/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/23/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1