BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

This Business is not BBB accredited

OWMM Tech Support of USA, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (916) 473-7978 340 Lyman Cir, Sacramento, CA 95835 http://www.owmm.com ! OWMM Tech Support of USA, Inc. is Believed to Be Out of Business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 17
Total Closed Complaints 21

Additional Complaint Information

BBB files indicate that this business has a pattern of consumer complainants alleging that they sign-up for long term tech-support contracts, but are unable to reach the company by telephone or email when services are required. Complainants allege that when they spoke to technicians, they believed they were speaking directly to the original manufacturers because the technicians made no efforts to clarify that they were a third party. Additional allegations indicate that when consumers allowed technicians remote access  to their computers, files and documents would be removed or copied without their consent.

The company has not responded to complaints.

We wrote the business on August 25, 2014, September 04, 2014, and September 10, 2014, requesting the company provide to us steps that it is taking to eliminate the underlying cause of complaints, if any. As of today, we have not received a reply to our correspondence.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on OWMM Tech Support of USA, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 22, 2013 Business started: 01/03/2012 Business started locally: 01/03/2012 Business incorporated: 01/03/2012 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Imtiaz Ahmad, Corp Agent Mr. Prashant Bhatnagar, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Imtiaz Ahmad, Corp Agent
Principal: Mr. Prashant Bhatnagar, Owner
Business Category

Information Technology Services

Alternate Business Names
Oxygen for Windows and Mac Machines
Products & Services

This company offers online technical support.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    340 Lyman Cir

    Sacramento, CA 95835

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4700 Northgate Blvd Ste 157

    Sacramento, CA 95834 (916) 473-7978 (855) 669-6966 (916) 604-9629

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

According to information in BBB files, it appears that this business is no longer in business.


Complaint Detail(s)

1/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At the recommendation of Apple Computer, I entered into a one-year support contract with this company at a prepaid cost of $299.99. The contract began on July23, 2013. I've learned that this company is now out of business after trying to reach them today by telephone.Apple has said they have no responsibility on the matter of the unused contract amount.I do not know if OWMM has filed bankruptcy, or if they just walked away.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed for the unused time left in this contract--approximately 7 mos.

12/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: their phone no.'s do not work, i can't get a hold of them months ago, i paid for a year of tech support. they were great in the beginning. but lately, none of their numbers work, i can't get a hold of them. have i been scammed?

Desired Settlement: just that i can get tech support from them.

12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They say support is available by phone, but I haven't been able to contact them for weeks. I paid for a one year contract. Product_Or_Service: One year contract

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: No settlement requested - for Would like to get Macintosh support

12/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the telephone has been disconnected, the email attempts don't show a company. I used them once and it seemed to work, but I have no way of contacting I paid for premium service by credit card. don't have the purchase date. have they gone out of business or doing business under another name?

Desired Settlement: I want my money back

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Initially obtained OWMM service to remedy problems on my MAC computer. Charged $349.99 for a promise of 1yr. service by cust. relat. person, ******* Spoke with an agent tech. who charged me $349.99 for a service contract up to 3 months on 8/16/13. The problem was corrected on my computer following my acceptance of our agreement to procure OWMM Tech Support! On 10/9/13, I experienced additional problems with my computer and asked, "what happens now, and what if I have additional problems beyond the 3 month period. Do I have to pay a large amount of money once again.?" I was directed to a customer relations person, ********** who assured me I won't need to worry and she would allow the contract to be honored up to Oct 14, 2014. I was happy to hear that promise. Now! I'm experiencing another problem, tried to reach OWMM via phone and both telephone numbers are not in service? The company appears to be very unreliable and in my opinion, they stole my money by not living up to their agreement.

Desired Settlement: Complete refund of my money. If the company does not live up to the contract and they haven't, then I am entitled to a full refund of my money.

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unable to contact for tech support I have been calling to get tech support that I paid for and no one answers the phone. I contracted with them in April of 2013 for one year of service. It was very difficult to get in contact with them by phone previously. I noticed that they no longer have a web site and the phone calls aren't answered. I did get satisfactory service from them before when I could finally get in contact with them.

Desired Settlement: If they are no longer in business, I would like the remainder of my contract refunded.

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: paid for 6 months technical support. company is non-responsive to phone and e-mail requests. On May 21, 2013, I contacted OWMM for technical support for my Dell desktop computer. I bought 6 months of unlimited tech support for $249.99. Transaction ID is XXXXXXXXXXXX. Company then fixed my computer remotely. I developed technical trouble this month (September, 2013) and began to try and contact the company around 9/28/13. I waited for periods of time on the phone for an assistant and got no answer. I left messages as requested by the company. I e-mailed the company. The company has not responded leading me to look elsewhere for help.

Desired Settlement: The settlement would be the amount of money I will have to pay the replacement technical service provider for repair.

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My contract with OwMM is still valid form purchase 8/19/13 for 90 days. I cannot reach this company via phone or their email from their site. I was referred by a Canon Printer rep on 8/19/13 when they thought i needed apple support. I was charged 299.99 on my credit card by OWMM oxygen for windows and mac machines for 90 days of unlimited computer tech support 24/7 as of 8/19/13. They took over my computer from their site and resolved my issue. Then I called about a week later with another issue and again my problem was resolved. Last week on 10/29 and 30 I attempted to call the number they gave me 1-855-662 1083. It rang 2 times then silence for over a minute so I hung up and called again and got a busy signal then third try a recording this number is not in service. I went to the web site and noticed a different number and dialed 1-855-669-6966 and again rang 2 times then silence, second attempt busy, third attempt not in service. I tried twice to send a service request via their email and both times I got the warning "Failed to send." so now that I've tried to contact them after 5 days with no success, I am wondering if they are no longer in service. I have time on my contract. Apple believes they may have created a problem with my iphone because of the way they set up my mail server. Please BBB let me know if this company is still in service and if they have complaints for not honoring their service contracts. I want to be reimbursed 299.99 since they did not honor my contract.

Desired Settlement: 299.99 for not honoring my contract for 90 days of unlimited tech support 24/7.

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: OWMM support charged me $699.99 to access my computer and solve my problem. The problem is not solved and they will not answer their phones or email. On 8/23/2013 I lost all my photos from my hard drive. I call mac customer support and was somehow connect to OWMM. I was panicked and they offered to solve my problem. I trusted them and paid $699.99 for them to protect my mac computers with their virus software and to "clean them up". My computer has a virus problem now and so their efforts were ineffective and they are not responding to any of their phone numbers or their email. I checked them with the BBB before I paid the money and they were an accredited company, so I trusted them and now I feel totally scammed.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a full refund of $699.99.

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on sep 5th I called about a Email problem I was having on my computer. They fixed the problem bu the problem reacured approx 2 weeks later They charged me 99.99 I whould like to get my money back I have several times tryed to call them on this matter butt they will not answer my calls

Desired Settlement: I just wont my money back bottom line

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Subscribed to this service Jan, 2013. Am now not able to contact this company. I paid $300 to this company Jan., 2013. In Oct., 2013, attempted to contact them by telephone and email. Was unable to reach them and got no response to numerous messages. Appears they have "disappeared".

Desired Settlement: $300

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: email account blocked, tech cleared it, said i was ok. wouldn't happen again. happened 3 hrs. later. cleared again. now blocked again. all in 3 days reported email account had been blocked/tech siad i'd been hacked/$109 & i'd be ok/cleared it/ same thing happened 3 hours later/second tech said i had NOT been hacked, gave another reason, cleared it, siad i would be okay/just now, for third time in 3 days, account has been blocked and i left a message for them because all techs are busy. i am an invalid and a writer earning her living at home using my computer at emails. they have lied to me, charged me for something and never fixed the problem, have cost me lost revenue these past three days and added to the stress level of a sick woman.

Desired Settlement: i want this problem fixed once and for all and if they can't, they must be investigated for making fraudulent claims. they do not deserve to be in business, they are either incompetent or cheats. i want the money they charged me returned and compensation made to me for lost income and undue mental and physical suffering.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Customer Advocacy Team` Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****************@owmm.com Dear **** ******, Thank you for notifying us of the complaint with the assigned ID XXXXXXXX. We take any complaint with reference to our service or employees very seriously. With regards to the complaint ID XXXXXXXX. Ms. ****** paid us $109.99 Instance support on August 6th 2013, technician helped on the same day after she paid and took permission to close the case as resolved and Ms. ****** agreed to it. Ms. ****** called again on the next day August 7th 2013 with a different issue, we again helped her and took permission to close the case, Ms. ****** agreed to that again. Ms. ****** called again on August 8th 2013 with an email issue that she initially called for, we again fixed it for her. After all this support sessions, Ms. ****** called us on August 12th 2013 and requested for refund and stated that my prmiary issue was not resolved, and we promised a refund of complete amount just to not putting her in trouble. After we promised a refund, Ms. ****** again called us on August 13th 2013 for email issue, we still fixed it though we had processed her refund. The isea was just to give 100% resolution to Ms. ****** and we did that. We apologize to Ms. **** ****** for any sort of inconvenience caused to her from our end. We have already refunded her the complete amount. We would like to inform the customer that she can call us anytime with regards to the computer issue and we will be more than happy to assist her. We thank you for keeping us informed on real customer issues through the Better Business Bureau. Sincerely, **** Customer Advocacy Team OWMM Tech Support of USA Inc.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I had one issue and one issue only, and that involved the temporary blocking of my email account, followed by the refusal to accept my password. each time they supposedly fixed it, it happened again and again and again, forcing me to call them again and again and again. i never gave my permission to close the case because the problem was never fixed!!!!! AND someone on their end deleted by RECYCLE BIN, thereby erasing a year of vital work which i still referred to!!!!! one technician said i was hacked by foreign interests. one said no. each one had a different excuse and a different way to fix the problem. one said never to change my password. one kept having me change it. this went on for two weeks, costing me dozens of man hours of lost working time and lost revenues, causing me untold and undue physical and mental stress and suffering (i have a chronic pain syndrome and deteriorating spinal disc disease). the problem was ONLY resolved when i contacted a REAL Microsoft tech site who erected a firewall, installed a special virus detection program and had me change my password **** hopefully, the last time. This bogus company has had numerous run-ins with BBB in the past, and they should be shut down!! i am also seeking compensation for the time lost, money lost and pain and suffering this ordeal caused me. thank you.

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This letter is written to address problems that I have encountered with the tech support services provided by OWMM. Recent contacts with your firm have disturbed me and caused great concern. My initial interaction, via the phone with your company representative, resulted in a personal loss of $654.48. As a 68-year-old retiree, I can hardly absorb such forfeiture nor should I have to do so. The misrepresentations made by your staff regarding the supposed non-delivery of services by a previous service provider, Itech Acharya, was unprofessional and unethical. Your representative made an unfounded allegation that the competitor had not performed the services for which it had been paid and to have purported this without proof was unconscionable. I contacted Apple technical support around 3:00pm on July 8, 2013, as I had lost a category on my "bookmark bar" and didn't know how to add items to the bar. ******* the technician, who answered the call was extremely cordial and requested remote control access to my computer. She indicated that there was no protection or security on my computer and that may have caused the loss of the category. I explained that was not possible, as I recently had purchased protection and security on June 5, 2013 for $725.99 after my computer had been hacked. ****** appeared to become agitated and indicated that, in her opinion, the charge was exorbitant. She further stated that the previous services had not been installed and that currently I had no security protection on my computer. She also indicated that ***** ******* did not exist. I explained that the $725.99 was coverage for three years. I don't believe she heard or understood me, but continued on about how I had paid for products that were not received and/or installed. In order to get the problem remedied, I was told that I needed to sign up for a one-year support package offered by your company, at the cost of $349.99. ****** explained what was included in the services and obtained my American Express information. ****** connected me with ******* a technical support person, who was tasked to correct the problem. I explained to ****** that I needed documentation of what was not performed by the ***** ******** He indicated that he would "help with everything". As an aside, I have a transcript of the entire chat session with ******* which ran from 3:08pm to 4:57pm. During the chat session, ****** called me on the telephone and advised me not to call ***** ******* with my issue of its non-performance. I indicated that I had planned to go through American Express to try and get a refund and that response seemed to address her issue. I explained that I was in the middle of the chat with ****** and requested that she call me back. ****** indicated that she would. After the chat support was over, I called ******* as she had not called me back. I learned that she had left for the day, and asked when she would be in on July 9 and was advised that she would be in around 9:00am (New Jersey, USA time). I went to the American Express website to initiate a refund request. As I worked through the screens, I was advised to work with the provider prior to working through American Express. I sent an email to ****** at the Customer Advocacy email, advising what I had learned from the American Express website and reiterating my need for documentation. Just as your company would request documentation for a requested refund or adjustment others in business would require the same. Around 9:15 on July 9, I contacted ****** and asked if she had received my email. She responded in the affirmative and immediately transferred my call to *** in the Customer Relations Unit. I explained my dilemma and she asked for the telephone number of the provider. I indicated to *** that I could handle the dialogue with the original provider, but I needed documentation that ***** ******* had not provided the services for which I had paid. *** ignored that request and called the provider, leaving me on hold. Eventually, she reconnected with me and indicated that I should not indicate to the provider that she was going to be on the line while the call was ongoing. I spoke with a very professional gentleman, *********** ****** at ***** ******* and requested a refund. He indicated that was not possible, as it had been more than 14 days since the purchase. Mr. ***** asked why I was making the request. Since I had no documentation to support my appeal, and was not about to compound the slander that was being perpetrated by OWMM personnel, I advised that as a retiree, I was trying to control expenses. Mr. ***** understood and indicated that he could authorize a 25 percent refund of my original payment of $725.99, which amounts to $181.50 ($725.99 times 0.25). I thanked Mr. ***** and continued my conversation with **** I had a commitment at 10:00 and advised *** that I would call her back. I went to the Apple Store at the Cherry Hill Mall in New Jersey and explained my situation to ***** a service representative. My question was did I need the protection and security on my Mac. **** asked about the hacking and explained that it was an email issue, and not a computer issue. I thanked him realizing that I didn't need the protection. My next call was to *** of OWMM. My concern was about the unethical behavior and slanderous comments made regarding another technical support organization. I explained that I wanted to cancel my order, as it was not essential, based on what I learned at the Apple Store. *** stated that she could refund $240, as there was a $109.99 fee for servicing the computer and for teaching me how to create a bookmark. At no point did anyone indicate that there was a $109.99 fee for instructional training services. It is my strong recommendation that your company reviews the customer service procedures that are currently in place, as, it is my opinion, these processes are unethical. One should not have to be confronted by and have to deal with one company making slanderous statements regarding a competitor and then have them not be able to substantiate the allegations. One phone call, resulting in the loss of $654.48, is troublesome, but I consider it to be valuable, albeit costly, lesson. However, please remember that the reputation of a business or company grows faster by word of mouth and recommendations. Clearly, this customer is not satisfied and would think seriously about any future positive referral for your firm and the services that it renders. If you or a member of your staff would like to discuss, I can be reached on my mobile phone ***-***-****.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: Customer Advocacy Team Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****************@owmm.com Dear ******** ***** ******, Thank you for notifying us of the complaint with the assigned ID XXXXXXXX. We take any complaint with reference to our service or employees very seriously. With regards to the complaint ID XXXXXXXX, we first of all would like to apologize to Ms. ******** ***** ****** for any sort of inconvenience caused. OWMM is an independent third party remote tech service provider which is not affiliated to any brand or organization. We clearly mention this fact on our websites and other customer touch points. We don't practice or encourage any form of fraudulent business to take place from our end. We have already processed the complete refund of the amount that the customer had paid us. We take feedback very seriously and would definitely like to investigate this matter. We will take action as per the findings and make sure that nothing of this sort gets repeated again. We thank you for keeping us informed on real customer issues through the Better Business Bureau. Sincerely Customer Advocacy Team OWMM Tech Support of USA Inc.

Consumer's Final Response
Case# XXXXXXXX Attached is confirmation from American Express that $109.99 has been credited to my account. As such, please close the above referenced claim. Thank you for your support and diligence in resolving this matter.

9/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is a scam. They take your cc information, charge you and never clean up your computer. Then no one will call you back. I was online and saw this company that claims to be able to clean up your computer. They start operating your computer by remote. Take your credit card information, tell you you will get an email with your agreement. You never get an email and when you try to contact them all you get is a recording. I am disputing my charges and having my bank reverse the money.

Desired Settlement: I want my full refund and I want this company to pay for any or all damage done to my computer.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We are very sorry to hear about the issues you are having, and would be happy to resolve your issues and refund your money if that is what you would like. The only issue that many don't realize is that once you file a dispute with the bank, we have no option of refunding you left. This is because the bank has already filed a claim and we must now provide the documentation required to prove that we were authorized to charge your card. And if you would like a refund then it is important that you call our dedicated customer service helpline at 855.662.1083, and allow us to work with you and the bank to reverse the charge. But a reversal and a dispute are unfortunately two separate claims and actions and we would be more than willing to help in any way that we can.

8/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company leads people to believe that they are dealing with authorized support staff from their computer manufacturer such as Sony, Apple, etc . I wanted to contact Apple Customer Support and did a Google search. This was last Friday, Aug. 9, 2013. When I entered Mac Mini Customer Service, this site was #2 on the list: Online Technical Support1 (877) 967 6920 apple-imac-support.owmm.com/ Call Toll Free 1 855 584 6184. Expert Technicians Available 24 / 7 I clicked this site and was connected with OWMM, thinking that this was an official Apple Customer Service site. In reality they are not affiliated with Apple at all. I then connected to a chat service to address my computer problems - in my case web browsers were not loading or working properly. The OWMM agent that I talked to, named ****** **** convinced me that I needed to allow them remote control of my computer to assess the problems. I was skeptical and reluctant to do so but as I continued to talk, he convinced me that they were a ligitemate servicer of Apple and recommended by the BBB - he showed me the BBB site, etc. Then as we continued, OWMM gained all my debit card information including the security code number, also I gave him my Apple password. I also talked to other agents, I believe, but don't have their names. By their accents they all seemed from India. They convinced me that my computer had essentially been hijacked that it was a VERY serious issue and that I needed to have them charge me $149.99 to resolve the issues and install two programs on my computer - CCleaner and Sophos Anti Virus. They took remote control of my computer giving them access to all my files. We further checked my web browsers when they had finished so that I would formally state that my problem was resolved. I agreed to the payment and stated that the problem was resolved. They ended their remote control and I terminated the session. Following this, I went to browse again on my computer and found that the same problems were recurring. I realized that I had been scammed and then made sure I was contacting an official Apple site. I worked with Apple tech support to remove the problems with my web browsers free of charge. They also recommended that I remove the two programs installed by OWMM, which I did. I then changed my Apple password and my security questions and password for my bank account, fearing that I would be further defrauded by this company and possibly vulnerable to unauthorized bank account withdrawals or debit card purchases. I am monitoring my bank to make sure this does not happen. In the meantime I have contacted OWMM to demand a refund, but they insist they need "time to resolve the issue and they will call me back in an hour." The hour has passed with no contact. They also told me when I used their service that they had sent me an email confirmation - this email was never received. I will continue to contact them regarding the refund. I have also submitted a complaint to the National Consumer League's Fraud Center. This company is scamming perhaps thousands of clients and charging them up to $399.99 according to other complaints on the BBB site. Clients are almost always convinced they are dealing with actual Apple, MSN, or Sony support staff and are therefore talked into accepting services. They use very high pressure tactics. The services they do supply are useless and ineffective. THIS IS A SCAM.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund of my $149.99.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
We are first of all extremely sorry to ***** ****** for the inconvenience caused to her. We would though want to make this point clear that OWMM Tech Support is an independent third party tech service provider. We are not associated with any third party brand or entities. It is clearly mentioned on all of our websites and other customer touch points. We take stringent measures to clarify this to our callers. We possess a BBB rating of A-. We certainly don't practice misrepresentation. We do take feedback seriously though and would definitely be investigating this matter and then action as per the findings. Also to start with we have refunded the complete amount to customers account. We would like to reiterate the fact that we will be actioning this case. We don't practice misrepresentation or fradulent way of dealing business. We have a zero tolerance towards anything of this sort and if anyone is found guilty, he /she will be dealt with in accordance to our company policies. We thank you for keeping us informed on real customer issues through the Better Business Bureau. Regard's Customer Advocacy OWMM Tech Support Inc

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) OWMM has given me a full refund, which is what I indicated I wanted to resolve this issue. I appreciate that this was done, and do feel that they are a legitimate business, not just a scamming operation. However, I had to spend a LOT of time contacting you and exerting pressure on them to return all of my money. At first they said they could only refund $50 of the $149.99. Then after I told them I was writing a complaint with the BBB, they became more accommodating. I would not use their services again. They charge exorbitant fees for installing programs of dubious value. I also still feel they use very high pressure tactics to convince people that they need these services.

Final Business Response
We are very sorry for the issues you are having and want to make sure Miss ****** is aware that a a full refund was processed as per her request and an additional receipt from our banking system has been sent to her email address listed above in an effort to rectify this situation and clear up any misunderstanding that might have happened. We also are doing a full review on the case presented by ***** ****** and will take full action on any employee that is found to have been misrepresenting our company. And we thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to rectify the situation. Regard's Customer Advocacy OWMM Tech Support Inc

8/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered tech support from this company. The following morning I contacted ******* and they informed me that the service that I ordered were already installed on my computer. I called OWMM in less than 24 hours and informed them that I wanted to cancel their service. the rep told me that they could not give me a complete refund because they had to pay the tech that I spoke with, I told them that I thought they were not being fair. About two days later a rep did call me I told her what my issue was and I have not gotten my refund (I want a complete refund) or heard from them since that time. I have called them at this number XXX XXX XXXX and it goes to the voice mail and the mail box is full, than I'm given this number XXX XXX XXXX. Product_Or_Service: computer anti viris service Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like for the full refund to be placed on my debit card or a valid check with the full amount refunded to me. thank you.

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response
The company gave me a complete refund. Thank you for your help in helping me to solve this issue.

8/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They posed at a MSN & logged onto my computer to get a password. Then they came back to my computer after I told them NOT to and started copying my fi 6-28-2013 They logged on to my computer, took files, and said I had a virus and then sai I needed to pay 100. to have it secured. All I wanted was to get my MSN password. They got mad when I said I did not want their services and hung up. Then they came back to my computer and took control of my computer, mouse. They started copying files, including pictures. She asked me if I did banking on line I told her I did not.

Desired Settlement: I want my computer looked at by a third party, and i want it to me cleaned out, and I want all my personal files back, then I want to charge them for MY time.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We are sorry for any misunderstanding that may have occurred between this customer and our staff. We were contacted by Mrs. ****** because she was having trouble recovering her password on a specific account, and needed some assistance. Our process is always the same. We begin by giving each customer the location and URL of our remote support site, which is among the most popularly used sites of its kind, and asked her to provide us with the password that would allow us access to remotely work with her on her device. Mrs. ****** agreed and provided the necessary information, and we followed our standard procedure of ensuring that we are working with two very important measures in place. The first is that we are working on a secure network, especially considering the sensitive nature of password recovery, and the tendency to have to answer security questions, etc. And the second is that we ensure that there aren't any corrupt files, malicious software's running, etc. that may already exist on the customers computer before we begin. This is a service that we perform as a courtesy to our customers, and as stated by Mrs. ******, this was done with the customer and while she was informed step by step about what was being done and why. After completing our preliminary work, we were attempting to explain to Mrs. ****** what the final charge would end up being for our staff to spend the time with her completing the password recovery, (which would fall under our "instant one-time" support package, and would cost her $109.99), and the customer was not willing to pay for our services. Unfortunately this is where our dealings ended. We are just now hearing in this complaint how the customer feels about what transpired between us. We apologize for any misunderstanding that may have happened during this process. But I can assure you that we have no use for any copied files from the customers computer, can guarantee that nothing was done maliciously to Mrs. ******, and that all of our sessions with each customer are recorded and securely stored for these exact instances, where we can be sure to review them if needed, and confidently know that our staff acted appropriately and within all ethical boundaries that they have been trained to exhibit while working for our company. Again, we apologize for any misunderstanding, but are confident that we acted professionally and would be happy to explain this in greater detail to Mrs. ****** if given the chance. Also, with regard to the asking about a customers online banking, we do ask at times to ensure that if this is something that they do, that they understand the steps they should take to make sure they are not leaving themselves open to and having that information leaked online.... But this was not something the customer started she did, so we did not go into it further.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My first complaint: When you Google MSN passwords, OWMM comes up first. I thought this was MSN Support. They didn't instruct me any different. When they first get on the phone they begin asking questions, like my security question, which is my daughter's middle name. I should know it, but they said the information I gave them was wrong, and the ONLY way they can help me is to log onto my computer. I agreed, still thinking they were MSN. The person I spoke with was hard to understand. She started in about, "I can't believe you didn't see this program running on your computer. It is someone who can take your information." I told I would have my friend, a computer tech, look into it. She became speaking quickly and with an accent. She said I had to be careful because if I let someone try to fix it besides them, I could run into trouble. At that point I knew they were selling something. They had already ask me if I did banking online. I told her no. She said, then they can destroy your pictures. I didn't think anything of it until later. At this point, I told her I did not want her to do anything to my computer, nor had I asked her to. She just logged on and began going into files. When I told her I did not want any services, but simply wanted my password, she said that I may as well take the services because they would be charging me one hundred dollars. I told her I did not want their assistance. She hung up on me. At that point, I went online and did some work, but first, I started deleting the files that she had left on my computer, with their name on it. I hand wrote the name of the company because I just didn't feel everything was right. About fifteen minutes later, after I had hung u the phone and deleted their files, my mouse started working without my assistance. Something took control and starting moving back and forth. It did it several times. I realized something else was in control. I thought, I suppose they put a virus in my computer. Then once I had no control of my mouse, I just watched the computer. It grabbed a few files, moved them, and then went to my picture files. It did not bother any decorating picture, but went for the faces, the head shots, and began grabbing each one separately. It was obvious they were being copied and downloaded. This went on for about five minutes. When I finally was able to take control of my computer again, I looked up OWMM's phone number and called to report them. This is not the first they heard of my complaint. I explained my concerns to a woman, I think in the billing department. She asked about the person and time I had talked to. She got off of the phone and when she returned she said she had spoken to the person. She said she had forgotten to take their files off of my computer, so she logged on later. She said that she accidently grabbed my picture files. Later I discussed this at work. I was warned that she could have implanted a virus and that I should be concerned with what she will do with my photographs, i.e. use them to make fake IDs. I notified BBB and want to warn people of OWMM. It has only been a very short time, and I do not know yet if this computer is ok. I wanted the BBB to have them have a third party inspect my computer to verify they have not entered my computer again or taken any more information. I believe they went after the picture because I told her I did not do banking. Can you imagine if I told them I did banking? So these are my complaints. They have not been solved. They said this is the first they heard of this. It is not. I do not know what they are doing with my personal pictures, and if they took anything else, or put anything else into my computer. I also want to warn everyone of doing business with them. They do not want to find your password, they want to charge one hundred dollars for a fake virus that is NOT in your computer, or that they put in your computer, so they can take it out for one hundred dollars.

Business' Final Response
We appreciate all customer feedback both positive and negative as well. The combination of the two are equally important so that we can improve in some areas and capitalize on others. As a new and growing organization we are not flawless, nor are we hiding behind a pr rep when these complaints are filed, and approach each one individually and look into them in detail as well. So to be sure that we were being non-bias I did google "MSN passwords", and the first search result was something from Microsoft where I could reset my password. And after that there even a site that claimed to help you hack your own password from MSN- but not a thing that was from us. And as much as I do try to listen to every complaint equally, I can't help but feel like the fact that my agent may have had an accent seemed to be among the top offenses we committed as well as that we were talking fast. But the truth is that we do not access your computer without permission, and at any point, any customer can simply revoke our access and end things right there. We are using Logmein123 which is a very reputable company and widely used by many vendors. It is unfortunate that someone would loosely throws around accusations of wrongdoing that can ruin a small business before even verifying if it is accurate or not or even possible altogether in the first place. We hope that Mrs. ****** will appear back now that some time has passed and verify that indeed nothing was done to harm her computer and clear us of these inaccurate statements of wrongdoing that we absolutely did not do anything to earn.

6/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Wednesday morning, 17 April 2013, as Mrs. ********* was unable to send an email from her GMail account (reneelandeggermail.com), she logged onto Apple Customer Service Support for assistance and viewed an advertisement by OWMM Tech Support. Dialing the phone number on that advertisement, she was connected with one of your agents/employees who claimed that Mrs. ************ computer had been infected with a virus that needed to be "cleansed" immediately so that her computer would not "crash" and, further, that the cost would be $349.99 for your firm's "annual plan". Surprised by the amount quoted to her, Mrs. ********* replied that she neither needed nor wanted an "annual plan", but she was told she had no alternative in order to cleanse her computer from a virus. Mrs. ********* subsequently acquiesced, provided details of her coordinates and her MASTERCARD credit card, and received your firms Tech Support Authorization Receipt, copy enclosed, which included the phrase ". . .this authorization will not result in a charge unless your issue has been resolved." As of 18 April 2013 and because Mrs. ********* continued to be unable to send an email from her aforementioned GMail account, we undertook an investigation and learned that: a) a "Google outage" on 4/17 affected all GMail accounts and had nothing to do with either her computer or a virus; and b) your website indicates your firms "Service Plans" are as follows: $110.00 one'-time tech support $170.00 quarterly tech support $250.00 6-month tech support $350.00 yearly tech support Mrs. ********* dialed the phone numbers indicated on your firms aforementioned advertisement but was unable to speak.with anyone and was not contacted at the number she left.

Desired Settlement: On 19 April 2013, Mrs. ********* contacted MASTERCARD) Customer Service, was told that the amount of $349.99 had not been posted to her account, and she requested MASTERCARD) not to accept that charge on the grounds not only that the aforementioned "Goggle outage" of 4/17 and not a virus as alleged by your agent/employee affected Mrs. *********s GMail account, but also that your firms charge of $349.99 for an "Annual Plan" was outrageous, over- reaching, and completely misleading in light of the extent of "Service Plans" indicated on your website. Further and subject to whatever action(s) your firm undertook with Mrs *********s GMail account, her complete "Outlook File" containing the record of relevant addresses has disappeared, perhaps inadvertently removed by your firm, and I respectfully request the immediate return thereof to Mrs. *********s GMail account.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I would be happy to clear up any issues that this customer has with us, but the above complaint only reinforces the following: - ************* was correctly made aware of the cost and length of time of our service plan and made a conscious decision to allow us the opportunity to fix her problem. - The invoice we sent stating that we do not charge for service until after we resolved the issue was exactly what we did, and as stated above and confirmed by Mastercard My only question to the real party that is "overreaching and completely misleading" in their efforts to investigate a free consultation that resulted in nothing except our time and effort spent, free of charge, to find out that we could not help Mrs. ********* with her email and therefore we did not activate the service plan, as per the invoice says. * Had this been some kind of effort to mislead ************** and "sales practice Issues" were a concern worth filing a case over, why then was there no charge for our service in the end? Mr.****** has clearly stated that ************* did not reach us to express her concerns, so then why would we have never charged her for the "virus" we supposedly insisted was there that "needed to be cleaned out for her system not to crash", especially since we had her payment information and authorization already, and this was supposedly the exact reason we were charging her in the first place? I am not really sure what Mr.****** is attempting to make a case out of. I can only hope that our policy of not charging a customer when you can not find any issues, is one that his firm believes in themselves. ** And on a last note Mr. ******, I would like to understand exactly why if this email issue was related to an "outage that affected all gmail users on 4/17", was ************* still not able to use her gmail account on 4/18, like you clearly stated was the case above??

6/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Misrepresented their company OWMM (Oxygen for Windows and Mac Machines) as an outsourcing agency for Apple. I called what I thought was Apple Tech Support 1.855.669.6966. A foreigner named ****** was on the line. I told her I was having trouble with my computer not recognizing my printer. She accessed my computer. She told me I needed a secure firewall and that I needed to upgrade my firewall and that I had a foreign address on my computer: ************* ******************************** **************************** close-wait. She accessed my computer serial number and looked to see if my firewall was on which it was. She then proceeded to tell me that she could get rid of the foreign address, upgrade/secure my firewall, and get my printer working all for $349.99. She left the Apple site and took me to OWMM (oxygen for Windows and Mac machines), secureezic.com. It redireted me to a credit card page and I typed in all my data. ****** put someone by the name of ****** ******, also a foreigner, on the line. He wanted me to verify that I approved the charge. I told him I didn't feel good about it and that I was not going to do it. ****** got back on the line and asked "what happened." I said I didn't feel good about it and we were disconnected shortly thereafter. I called my credit card company and so far my card has not been charged but I will continue to check. I then called an Apple Store in Southlake, Texas that I am familiar with and **** in Tech Support told me that they do not outsource their tech support. And also that my firewall is secure and upgraded each time I upgrade my software. I feel that they were using scare tactics (foreign address on computer) and fraud in trying to charge me $349.99 for something that is not necessary on my imac. I feel that this company is fraudulent and is making money off of unsuspecting customers. Date of Problem 5.31.2013 Sales Rep: ****** and ****** ****** Credit card info given but no $$$ have changed hands as of today. I will continue to check my credit card.

Desired Settlement: I feel this is a fraudulent company and this company should be investigated.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I apologize that you got the impression that we were working for Apple, but my employee seemed to not be misleading in who we are, and being that we were already aware of your issue, the sales agent simply was making some observations before transferring you to our technician. Please note that the $349.99 was for one year of support, and not for a printer issue alone. We are sorry for the misunderstanding, and for the accents that some of our staff seemed to have. I hope you can see that we meant no harm and unfortunately we did not have the opportunity to get you to tech support, and that it never got out of sales. Sorry for the misunderstanding.

6/3/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had them fix computer. Now NO phone #s available. Just a CON... like all the rest. I am 70 on fixed income. I am sick of cheats! Bought new Sony Vaio... can it was "taken over"... contacted Sony... and these people came on and I paid them to fix my computer wiwth 6 mo guarantee. Not 6 months yet, problems, can't contact the crooks. NO PHONE NUMER IS ANSWERED... the the BBB shows the REPUTABLE. I WANT MY.....MY.....MONEY BACK. SCAMMERS, LIARS, CHEATS, FRAUDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11

Desired Settlement: I want my money back. PURE AND SIMPLE. I CANNOT AFFORD THIS. Can't really afford the computer. So, I guess I'll just turn it off and put it in the trash. THE GREAT USA.....USED TO BE AT LEAST 90% HONEST. NOW...NOTHING BUT CHEATS, FRAUDS, AND LIARS. I AM DONE.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I am responding to this complaint by one of our active customers on behalf of my company, OWMM Tech Support. The customer that filed the complaint, had purchased a semi-annual service plan from us back on November 12th, 2012 after we initially helped her with the technical support issues she was having at the time. And since starting with us last year, we have absolutely no record on file, or in any of our notes, recorded phone calls, and/or CRM data stating that there were ever any complaints, and/or requests made for a refund. Ironically, we even provided support for this customer on the 18th of March, which was one day before this complaint was filed with the BBB. We helped her with some technical support issues she was having, and also discussed renewing her plan because her service was set to expire in the next month or so. And not once was there anything mentioned during that call that would have led us to believe she was having trouble reaching us, or that there was any issues with our service that needed to be addressed. The agent handling the call even documented into his notes that the customer was planning on contacting us to renew her plan in April, when she would have the money to do so. So naturally we were very surprised to find out that we were never informed of the issues that this customer was having, and our dedicated Customer Relations Team is there specifically to deal with any existing customer issues and/or concerns, and would be happy to take the time to try and help get to the bottom of this. Our Customer Relations Team can be reached at *****@owmm.com or by phone at either our main phone line, which is 855.669.6966, or at the dedicated Customer Relations Help Desk at 855.662.1083. We hope that this helps and look forward to hearing from you soon!!

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The complaint may have registered a day after I worked with the company. However, it WAS TYPED AND FILED BEFORE----LET ME REPEAT----B-E-F-O-R-E---- I spoke with them specifically because the phone numbers on the net weren't active. They DID help me ONCE I FINALLY FOUND A PHONE NUMBER THAT WORKED, but did not solve the problem. I sent the computer back to the factory for a reset last week. Reinterating, I am SICK AND TIRED of paying for something... a computer or whatever... that DOES NOT FUNCTION! Reinterating, I am SICK AND TIRED of contacting the company... SONY OR ANY OTHER... and being segued to some other subcontractor... AND HAVING TO PAY FOR WHAT WAS PROMISED IN THE BEGINNING AT PURCHASE!!!!!!!!!!!!! ***** ALL OF YOU!!!!!!!!!!! I AM 70 YEARS OLD. I AM SICK AND TIRED OF LIES, COMPANIES THAT CAN'T BE DEPENDED ON, AND HAVING TO PAY FOR SOMETHING THAT WAS A "GIVEN" AT TIME OF PURCHASE. I WANT A REFUND! THEY NEVER FIXED THE PROBLEM, AND I'M WITHOUT A COMPUTER FOR TWO ---- YES, T-W-O WEEKS! I DON'T LIKE BEING SO UPSET. IT'S NOT THE WAY I LIKE TO LIVE. AND, SHOULD I HAVE CONTACTED THEM AGAIN... AND HAD THEM BADGER ME TO PAY FOR ANOTHER CONTRACT IN WHICH THEY AGAIN ACCOMPLISHED N-O-T-H-I-N-G? I SINCERELY THINK NOT, NOT, NOT!!!!!!!! AS FAR AS NO RECORDINGS, NOTES, ETC... I DID TRY TO CONTACT THEM... NEVER COULD. ONLY ON THE DAY I FINALLY MADE CONTACT DID I FIND A NUMBER THAT WORKED. REFUND, PLEASE. WON'T EVER BUY ANOTHER SONY PRODUCT! WILL HAVE MY GRANDSON WITH HIS MASTERS IN INFO SYSTEMS BUILD ME ONE THAT WORKS FROM THE GET-GO.

Business' Final Response
In an effort to help the situation as best that we can, we have provided Ms. Oliver with a full refund for the services we provided both when the plan was originally taken, and on the 19th of March as well. I just wish that at some point we would have been more aware of the issues Mrs. Oliver was having with Sony so that we could have made more of an impact in explaining that we are not the manufacturer, nor the seller of this computer, and are in no way affiliated with any of these parties whatsoever. We independently provided support on issues where our efforts were successful, and so I just hope that at some point Ms. Oliver can appreciate that, and understand that we really are not the source of her frustration. And if there is anything we can do to further help her out, then we would be more than happy to do what we can. For what it's worth, we are sorry for what you are going through with Sony and hope that you can yield the same attention from them that you did from us, and that they will help you in any way that they can. Best of luck!

5/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged $99.99 by OWMM TECH SERVICES Thinking I was dealing with Apple Computer and never had my problem resolved. I contacted OWMM Tech support 01/30/13 thinking I was contacting Apple with a problem I was having with my I pad and their APP STORE. I was told by their representative that before they could help me I would have to pay a charge of $99.00. I gave him my credit card information and we tried to resolve my problems. After 4 to 5 hours on the phone I became frustrated and told their rep I didn't need their service. I then went to the Apple store and had my problem resolved immediately. I then received my credit card statement in Feb

Desired Settlement: I couldn't finish my statement, however, I would like to have my credit card refunded the $99.99 I was charged or at least let you people know of my problems so you may advise future clients of OWMM of their business practices.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I apologize for the late response, as I did not know that an issue existed in the first place. So again, I apologize to the consumer, and would be happy to address this issue as well. It is important to note that we have no record of any complaint by this customer, and have sent the consumer several emails to confirm their issue was resolved, and to provide a receipt as well. On January 30th, 2013 the consumer contacted us because they were having several issues that ranged across multiple different platforms, and hired us as a 3rd party technical support company, to help sort through them and resolve the issues one by one. All of which we did in full. For this service provided, the customer paid us $99.99 and our technicians were able to help him sort through his issues, put into prospective exactly what could be done to solve them, and ultimately we handled all the labor that went into creating the new profiles, logins, passwords, security questions, etc. that were necessary so that the customer could move forward as before. All of this service was completely fulfilled. Many customers call us because they need help sorting through the multiple issues they are having simultaneously, and don't know where to begin. And because of the time they have already spent unsuccessfully trying to resolve it themselves, they are willing to pay a company to assist in resolving these issues. And that is exactly what we are here to do. Our service as a 3rd party provider allows us to assist with several service provider issues, and put into prospective exactly what needs to be done, and take on the labor and time it takes to get these issues resolved, so that the customer can continue on as before. And we always make sure to resolve the issues first, before applying any charge to a customers card. Before that confirmation, we simply authorize the card to ensure that the customer has the funds available, for when we do complete the job. In the end, we provided this customer all the new information needed, and a clear path of how to move forward. We also provided a log with all information needed so the customer could log on to all sites and services as if nothing had been wrong before that point. We have chat records to show our conversation with this consumer, and documented our entire interaction with him as well. And at the end of the chat, the customer had no complaints with the services we provided, or anything having to do with the cost of our service either. We did provide a service, but also have a 30 day warranty on all work we perform, and a customer satisfaction guarantee. So this was something that we could have easily resolved had we known of the issue existed. This complaint was not filed until almost 2 months after the work had been completed. This creates a challenge for us because as I stated before, we sent several confirmation emails and receipts to this customer, and gave him a clear path to contact us in the event something was wrong. But unfortunately, the customer did not make any attempt to contact us directly. We make every attempt to make sure that every customer is happy with the services we provide and take several measures to ensure that if they have a problem of any sort, they know how to reach us anytime. And we would be happy to work something out with the customer who filed this complaint, and are very eager to understand exactly what went wrong after our interaction was finished. So please let us know how we can clear this up in the end?

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Frankly I know I'll never get my $99.99 credited to my account, however, I want the BB bureau to know these people never solved my problem and were not helpful when I complained. The reason it took so long to get back to them was I had to wait for the credit card statement from the bank. When I told the company this they could have cared less. Please leave my complaint open and warn any future clients of their total disregard for customer relations. Thank you, **** M ******

Business' Final Response
Mr. ****** was provided a full refund and hopefully this satisfies his idea that we were looking to gain from his loss. We are here to provide third party support for customers that need our assistance, as our refund % is less than 5% and our dispute % is less than 1%. And we do provide our contact info for a refund request in our emailed receipts and our website clearly lists our 100% guarantee refund policy if we do not satisfy our customers requests. I hope that this issue is resolved and apologize for any miscommunication or misunderstanding as well.