BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that K Hovnanian Homes meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for K Hovnanian Homes include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on K Hovnanian Homes
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 10, 2000 Business started: 03/24/1988 in CA Business started locally: 03/24/1988 Business incorporated: 04/18/1994 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joe Killinger, President Mr. Mike Kelterborn, Director of Construction Services Mr. Fred Sears, Control
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Killinger, President
Business Category

Home Builders Home Design & Planning Real Estate

Alternate Business Names
K Hovnanian Companies of California Inc.
Products & Services

K Hovnanian Homes specializes in new home building services.


Additional Locations

  • 1375 Exposition Blvd Ste 300

    Sacramento, CA 95815

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dampness and moisture has caused damage to the wood frame at the bottom of the front door entrance. I am the second homeowner of the property at **** ****** *** Ln., Sacramento, CA, XXXXX. The home was built in March, 2009. I moved in my home in March, 2012. On December 11, 2012, I called the Hovnanian office to make arrangements for someone to come out and look at water damage to the bottom frame of the front door entrance. I had to call three times before hearing from the Service Manager, *** *****. On December 14, 2012 he came to my home. He stated that the first homeowners of the property did not have any problems with water damage. Then he continued and said he believed the water damage came about because of an act of God. He said the recent rainy weather and the wind blowing in a southern direction is what caused the moisture and damage to the wood of the door frame. He was not sure of how extensive the damage may be as far as mold or wood rotting. He took pictures of the damage and said he would show them to his supervisor to determine if they would take responsibility to fix the problem. By December 18, 2012, I had not heard anything from *** ***** and decided to call the home office. I talked with Peter and explained my concern and issue with *** *****. I said that I had not heard from *** about the issue of repairing the water damaged bottom door frame or any other course of action. I heard from *** ***** on December 26, 2012 and he said his supervisor too said the damage was an act of God therefore they would not take care of the problem because it was not covered under the warranty. I became upset about their conclusion and at some point during our conversation *** abruptly hung-up his phone in my face. I called the corporate office once more and reported the incident to Debra Lubber. She too informed that my warranty will not be honored to fix the water damage at the bottom of the front door. She said that an email was sent to the Vice President of Hovnanian yet I have not received a phone call from anybody concerning this matter. On December 26, 2012, I left a message for *** ***** to please put in writing his findings about the water damage at the bottom of the front door and mail it to my home. I asked that in the letter they include where in the warranty it states such damage is not covered. I do not agree with their findings and plan to look into what other recourse I may have as a homeowner of property that was built in 2009 and I purchased just nine months ago.

Desired Settlement: Simply fix the front door frame where the water damage is noticeable. My biggest fear is mold and rotting settling in especially with being able to clearly see water marks outlined on the bottom of the door frame.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We visually inspected the door after the homeowner turned in the service request and determined there is no defect in the construction or installation of the door, and therefore the item is not covered by our structural warranty. The weatherstripping is intact and installed properly as is the door and the threshold. The recent rains and high winds associated with the large storms back in December forced rain water past the weatherstripping and caused a mild swelling and staining on the door jamb and the adjacent baseboard. The winds associated with the December storms were in excess of 40mph which is within the definition of "gale Force" winds. Our 10 year structural warranty excludes damages from gale force winds and acts of nature. The door performed as designed but the unusually high winds during the December storms exceeded the design limits of the weather stripping. This type of damage is not covered under our warranty because the damage is not the result of a construction defect. The homeowner may submit a claim to their insurance company or hire a contractor to complete the minor repairs associated with the leak.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/4/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1