BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Ten years ago, A Main
Hobbies embarked on a mission to build the greatest RC hobby store on
the planet, pairing the widest selection of RC Planes, RC Helicopters,
RC Cars, and Multi Rotor Drones in the world, with industry leading
service and support.
The mission of the  all-new AMain.com is to be the destination for all your Performance
Sports and Hobby needs. We are proud to announce our expansion into road
bicycles, mountain bikes and cyclocross. Whether you’re new to the
hobby or an extreme enthusiast, a downhill junky or pain loving
triathlete, you can rest assured our team of passionate experts and
professionals will check, double-check and triple-check your order, and
provide the best before- and after-sale support in the industry.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AMain.com, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AMain.com, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AMain.com, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 17, 2007 Business started: 05/01/2004 in CA Business started locally: 05/01/2004 Business incorporated: 02/03/2006 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tim Allen , COO Mrs. Kelly Bennett, CPO Mr. Kendall Bennett, CEO Mr. Kevin Kiser, CFO Mr. Leif Ostber, VP of Customer Service
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Leif Ostber, VP of Customer Service
Business Category

Hobby & Model Construction Supplies - Retail Online Retailer Retail Stores Sports & Recreation Bicycle - Dealers Bicycles - Repair

Products & Services

AMain.com, Inc. offers the following product(s): remote control airplanes, remote control cars, remote control helicopters, remote control trucks

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, Mastercard, Discover, AMEX, Paypal
Refund and Exchange Policy
AMain.com wants you to be completely
satisfied with your shopping experience. If, for any reason, you don't
like or change your mind about an item you purchased from AMain.com, you
may return New and Unused merchandise (with original
contents and packaging) within 30 days of the original purchase for
store credit or a refund to the original payment method; refunds to the
original payment method will be charged a restocking fee of 15% of the
purchase price.
NOTE: AMain.com
is not responsible for return shipping, nor any fees associated with
return shipping, unless the item is found to be damaged, defective, or
incorrect.
Products & Services

AMain.com, Inc. offers the following product(s): Bicycle frames, Bicycle components, Bicycle Gear and Apparel, Drones, Radio Control Cars and Trucks, Helicopters, Airplanes, Parts and AccessoriesMethod(s) of PaymentVisa, Mastercard, Discover, AMEX, Paypal

Industry Tips
Shopping Online, By Catalog, Mail, or Telephone

Additional Locations

  • 2065 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Pkwy.

    Chico, CA 95928

  • 424 Otterson Dr. Ste. 160

    Chico, CA 95928 (530) 894-0797 (800) 705-2215

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 705-2215(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2-12-2014 I ordered a rc car from A-Main Hobbies order # *******. It arrived on 2-19-2014. I charged the battery with the charger (both came with the car ) and ran the car in the living room for about 10 minutes. The car stopped I recharged the battery and tried to run the car the next day. It would not work, I contacted A-Main Hobbies and asked for a refund. They said they would check the car and refund if it didnt work. I said I just wanted a refund because if it stopped working in the first 10 minutes then it might do the same once I got it back. The car was not damaged and its in the box it came in. Im a first time buyer from this company and feel they were giving me the run around on a refund. Iam sending the car back to them this morning 2-21-2014. I talked to a Adam Smith first then asked to speak to his supervisor which was a Alica. After explaining to her my concern that the car could stop working again if replaced I just wanted a refund she insisted they would not give me a refund. I asked several times to speak to her supervisor or Boss but she would not let me speak to anyone else. She asked me to send the car back which I am very glad to do and said they would check it. I only want a refund because a hobby grade rc car should not stop working in the first 10 minutes, I have been around hobby grade cars for several years and know how they work. I feel Alica should have let me speak to someone else. I have the conversation in email if you need it. I dont want the part replaced or the car replaced . After this problem with the car I have found out on the web the car has been discontinued so that tells me there is a problem with this brand of model.They should have the rc car back in their hands within a week from ups. Thank you for any help you can give me. Ricky Bohannon

Desired Settlement: Once they have the rc car back I would like a refund to my visa or pay-pal account.

Consumer Response: I just received a phone call from A Main hobbies and they are giving me a full refund. I would like to close the case  # *******  I had against them and would like to thank you for your help.
Thanks again Ricky

Consumer Response: I just received a phone call from A Main hobbies and they are giving me a full refund. I would like to close the case  # *******  I had against them and would like to thank you for your help.
Thanks again Ricky

Consumer Response: I just received a phone call from A Main hobbies and they are giving me a full refund. I would like to close the case  # *******  I had against them and would like to thank you for your help.
Thanks again Ricky

12/13/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Never received the item, wasn't resolved despite numerous attempts to resolve the issue of non receipt of the items. I ordered some parts for my RC Heli which shipped on Nov 17, Order #XXXXXXX for the amount of $27.81, and chose the free shipping from this company which gave me an estimated Nov26 arrival date. I tracked the item on Nov22 and said it was delivered on NOV19 but I never got the package. I asked my neighbors if they accidentally received it to no avail. I contacted customer service right after and was told to go to the USPS, which I did and still no package. I contacted the amain's customer service again and was told they were going to open an inquiry with USPS, I contacted again on NOV26 and asked the status. Contacted again on DEC 3 and was given the same run around that USPS advices to look everywhere.

Desired Settlement: I just want my products which I paid for

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Hello ****, It's a pleasure to meet you. My name is **** and I am the VP of the Customer Service Department for A-Main Hobbies. I received a letter from the BBB, describing the delivery issue that occurred with order ID: XXXXXXX. I would like to start by acknowledging that the process took longer than it should have for you and I apologize that we made the process an unpleasant experience. Reading the notes on the order, I see that you spoke to a few people about the situation, none of which were proactive with your situation and forthcoming with your information. In the end, the blame falls on me since the team us under my leadership and I agree we could have expedited the solution and not be so redundant with our interaction. Moving forward, I see that we reimbursed you for Order ID: XXXXXXX in the form of product replacement (new order: XXXXXXX). The replacement order was created on 12/6/2013 and should have arrived by now. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to correct the situation and I apologize for the inconvenience you had to endure with waiting. Our goal is to create the best quality customer experience, not tarnish business relationships. Hopefully we'll have the privilege of working with you again in the future. I appreciate your business and if there is anything I can do to be of service, please don't hesitate to contact me. Take care and I wish you a Happy Holidays. Best Regards, **** ******** V.P. of Customer Service http://www.AMainHobbies.com 1-800-705-2215 (Toll Free) Ext. ***** 1-530-894-0797 (Local) 1-530-267-8268 (Fax)

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I received the package. Thanks for takingnaction

1/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recently A Main Hobbies listed a Eco Quad Charger on sale for $24.99. It never went on sale and the product was pulled from the website. Recently, A Main Hobbies made a big deal over their Black Friday Specials and one of those products was an Eco Power Quad Charger. It normally sells for $120, they were going to sell it for $24.99 for Black Friday. The sale was supposed to start at 5AM PST. Iam in CST so it would be 7AM for me. So, I woke up at 6:30 just to make sure I did not miss it. At 7AM my time I refreshed the page and tried to find the charger, it was not even on the website! When I opened my email they sent me with all the products that were on sale, I tried clicking through the email to find the charger. It stated "Product not found". The problem date is 11/23/12. The model number of the charger is Electron 65 Quad.

Desired Settlement: I want the ability to purchase the charger at $24.99.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, CEO Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@amainhobbies.com For some reason I never saw the initial complaint until now? None of us received the email version of the complaint until the email from today. Anyway, as unfortunate as it is for this customer to not get this item on special, we did in fact have it on sale during Black Friday. We had 350 of this charger unit we wanted to sell below cost on Black Friday as it was a close out item we no longer stock, so we priced it very aggressively. We fully expected the item to sell well, but last the entire weekend. So we had plenty of Advertsing surrounding the sale of this item. Alas we also decided to feature the item for the pre-black Friday special on Thursday starting at 5am. What happened is the sales demand for the item was way higher than expected and the last one was sold at 7:12am on Thursday. By the time we realized what had happened it was too late to change the advertising campaign as it was already scheduled and everyone was home for Thanksgiving, so on Friday customers could not find the item. But we really did have if available. We leant some things from this year to change for next year, and two of those relate directly to this item. In the future we will only allow a limited quantity to be sold in the pre-sale to make sure we have them for the official sale, and we also plan to make sure items that are sold out remain on the web site and will be listed as 'sold out' so customers will know what happened.

Consumer's Final Response
I would also like it to reflect that the Protek IS NOT THE SAME as the Ecopower charger. I am familiar with the brand as I have owned numerous lipo batteries as well. Ecopower charger is an established model with a following. The Protek Prodigy is a new addition with very few on the market. There are next to no reviews on the Protek charger... However, there are an abundant amount of review of the Ecopower that praise it. Again, while I appreciate the offer for a quad charger, I will not accept some unknown 3rd party brand that no one has reviewed. I personally have not even heard of Protek and neither has anyone in our racing club. We have (2) EcoPower Electron 65's, Hitec X4 Plus, and (4) Traxxas EZ-Peak Plus. We do not own any Protek products, and I am not willing to purchase from a company with whom I have done little business with. AMainHobbies is considered to have one of the best customer service departments, but clearly that is not the case. I for one will definitely be informing those whom I know to avoid AMainHobbies as it is clear to me of te deceitful marketing strategies.

Business' Final Response
At this time we wish to discontinue addressing the complaint. We have made numerous attempts to satisfy the complainant for an error on our part, an error we admit to have made. At no time were we trying to deceive anyone, as he has suggested, as we pride ourselves for providing an exceptional customer experience. We have apologized to Mr. ****** both in this forum and privately several times for the misunderstanding and hope that in the future we may have another opportunity to earn his business.

5/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service