BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Viking Heating & Air Conditioning?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Viking Heating & Air Conditioning

Phone: (916) 966-2665 PO Box 1130, Carmichael, CA 95609

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Viking Heating & Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Viking Heating & Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Viking Heating & Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 14, 1999 Business started: 02/01/1998 Business started locally: 02/01/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 745508.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mrs. Stacy Pounds, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Stacy Pounds, Manager
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Viking Heating & Air Conditioning has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 1130

    Carmichael, CA 95609 (916) 966-2665

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In October I had a different HVAC company come out and clean out all the ducts and check the system. They mentioned the two heaters were not operational. November 6th 2013 I had yet another HVAC company come over for their regular maintenance appt(they come twice a year to check and maintain the hvac system). They said the two systems were not operational. The lower unit needed the hot surface igniter replaced(which cost me $268) and the upstairs system had a cracked heat exchanger. They advised me to call my home warranty company(old republic) because a cracked heat exchanger was a major safety concern. They refused to turn on the furnace. I called Old Republic and they sent out Viking heating and air conditioning on november 7th 2013. **** came out and checked both systems said they were ok. He did a carbon monoxide test and said that it was ok. He said that everything was ok and that both systems were operational. When i tried to ask him questions he was rude and left immediately without answering any questions. I was very disappointed with his service so i wrote a comment on yelp. But i was relieved that i didn't have to buy a new system and i assumed that Beutler had made a mistake. Then my regular HVAC company came back for a spring checkup for the Hvac systems and again they mentioned that the cracked heat exchanger was a serious concern and that they would not renew my maintenance plan because it was too dangerous and they did not want to be responsible.I called Old Republic, I asked to speak to a supervisor and she said that Viking heating and air said the system was ok because the cracked heat exchanger was not actively leaking carbon monoxide they were not responsible for repairs or replacing when i called them in november. I have two separate companies that verified the heat exchanger was cracked in november and needs immediate repair. But Viking says that a cracked heat exchanger is okay???

Desired Settlement: I would like Old Republic and VikingHeating&Air to work together to either replace or repair my HVAC so that it is safe for my family.

Business Response:

We were dispatched by Old Republic Home Protection to look at the heater for the property located at 2799 Fair Oaks Blvd., Sacramento 95864. An appointment was set for November 7,2013,  between the hours of 10-2.  We were dispatched to look at only one heater and I did only inspect one heater for the upstairs which is a Carrier 160kbtu horizonital left attic furnace model #58CH160302 serial #244116009. During the inspection no visible cracks were found and there was no flame distortion which would indicate a crack in the heat exchanger. I also performed a C.O. test with zero results. Nothing I saw at the time of my inspection indicated a cracked heat exchanger.The only failure I found was the pilot was not lit.  I did not inspect any other system in the customers home that day so I cannot say the other unit in her home was in good working condition contrary to the customers statement. I do not know what else I could have done at the time of service because I did not find any thing that would indicate a crack in the heat exchanger that day and the furnace was working after the pilot light was relit. If a crack was found I would have turned the gas off to the unit and recommended replacement to Old Republic at the time. The report that was given to Old Republic and the customer at time of service did NOT state there was a crack in the system that was not "actively" leaking C.O., the report simply stated the pilot was relit, no flame distortion, and performed C.O. test with zero results. I would never risk anyones safety by knowingly leaving them with an unsafe system. I have been in business for over 15 years and take pride in my workmanship and my honesty. I feel I did my job to the best of my ability that day and stand by my diagnosis.

**** ******

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

I have documentation from two different companies prior to Viking Heating and Air coming out to my home that the furnance is not working and that there is a cracked heat exchanger. And I have another document for the cracked heat exchanger from the company that came out to do my regular maintenance on the systems this spring.  I was shocked b/c when **** came out he made me feel like an idiot. he said that there was nothing wrong with the furnace.  I had taken ****s words and thought maybe the system was actually ok and thought it was an error on the other companies part..... but after this spring maintence when i spoke with the company, they explained why a cracked heat exchanger was so dangerous and why they did not ignite the system when they checked in November 2013 and then they showed me the documentation from them in November when they first diagnosed it.  Why would the these companies lie?  They wrote specifically that i need to contact my home warranty and have the furnace repaired/replaced.  Also, ****'s recollection of the visit is incorrect.  He came and reignited the system and was about to leave when I asked him about the cracked heat exchanger.  He then did a carbon monoxide test and said there was no active leaking of carbon monoxide.  When i tried to talk to him to get more details b/c I told him I'm 8 months pregnant and i have 2 kids under the age of 3 so i wanted to make sure everyone was safe, he said that if I have carbon monoxide detectors I will be fine.  I remember he was very rude and I hade written him up online on YELP.... and to my dismay there are many more reports online of ****'s dishonesty when working with other clients that have home warranty with Old Republic.... also the only reason why **** did the carbon monoxide test was because I specifially told him of my concern about the cracked heat exchanger and my concerns regarding it.  I can attach the documents from the other companies if you would like and I can get all the original documents and further from my regular maintenance company regarding the cracked heat exchanger which was originally diagnosed by them during the first few days of November 2013.

Thank you,

*******

Business Response: I stand by my original response.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  this is not a resolution. It's called denial.

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service repairman was extremely rude to my pregnant wife and myself. Left abruptly with no service provided and no recommendation on how to proceed. Took morning of 6/17/13 off of work, to have service done to AC unit at my house. Viking Heating and AC (assigned to us through our home warranty company) arrived at my home around 8:15 am. Service repairman spoke to my 8 ½ month pregnant wife, since I had stepped out to grab breakfast for us. While I was out service repairman and my wife went to AC unit located in our back yard. Service repairman asked if she knew what the problem was, she mentioned the dual capacitor had blown (we knew this from having ****** plumbing, heating, & air come out on our own dollar) and service repairman mentioned that was a common problem. Service repairman opened service panel on AC unit and asked in an accusatory tone "WHO ripped out all the wires?!" my wife told him no one. ****** had simply taken one look inside the unit and determined it irreparable because the dual capacitor had exploded, it had blown apart the wires and blew oil all over the inside of the unit, plus if someone did replace the capacitor, the unit could catch fire! Shortly after this conversation I arrived home to find my wife upset and waiting for me. I said hello to the service repairman and my wife pulled me aside to explain the situation. I went into the backyard to speak with the service repairman, I asked "are you just going to replace the capacitor?" He replied "yes I am going to replace the capacitor." I mentioned that there was oil all over the inside of the unit and that there could be a chance of fire from all the electricity running through the unit. He shrugged it off like it was no big deal. I asked "shouldn't the oil be cleaned up?" He replied "your warranty doesn't include maintenance". I mentioned that this was the second time capacitor had been replaced in less than two years and we would like to look into the unit being replaced. He then proceeded to tell me "Well then I'm not going to touch it." He put the service panel back on the unit, I asked if there was any paperwork to fill out and a he indicated no and left abruptly with no recommendation of how to proceed. This is probably the worst customer service I have ever had in my life, service repairman was extremely rude and short to both my wife and myself.

Desired Settlement: Improvement in customer service.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We truly apologize for the experience you had with our technician and can assure you that immediate action was taken to ensure this does not happen again. Viking Heating & Air prides ourselves on providing the best customer service possible, and your experience is not the norm and certaintly not how we would like our customers to be treated.Thank you for taking the time to bring your experience to our attention, and please know that your complaint has not fallen on deaf ears and will be used to improve our customer service training. I sincerely apologize again for the undesirable customer service you experienced.