BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

This Business is not BBB accredited

One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning

Phone: (916) 442-5542 Fax: (916) 435-4687 View Additional Phone Numbers 3845 Atherton Rd Ste 4, Rocklin, CA 95765 http://www.onehourheatandair.com/franchises/ca/rancho-cordova.aspx View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning include:

  • 3 serious complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 12

Additional Complaint Information

Some consumers allege that the company's service personnel use high pressure tactics to sell replacement units. Complainants indicate that they had other contractors inspect the units, who found their existing units were functioning and there was no need for a replacement. Several complainants allege that these diagnoses were given during routine maintenance checks under contract with the company - and in one case the company showed for the maintenance check with three service personnel who installed a replacement air conditioning unit at the time of the maintenance appointment.

The company responds to complaints by issuing refunds for service fees or offering discounts on installation charges.

On September 13, 2013, BBB wrote this company requesting that they address the pattern of complaints described above. On September 17, 2013 the company responded indicating that any issues reported by customers are reviewed with their employees and a follow-up plan is addressed at that time. They also stated they have implemented a stronger follow up with customers, including a scorecard that customers can use to provide feedback regarding the services they received.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 15, 2001 Business started: 03/01/2001 Business started locally: 03/01/2001 Business incorporated: 03/18/2009 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Sonya Flores, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sonya Flores, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
Climate Select, Inc
Products & Services

One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning offers heating and air conditioning repair, installation and service.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3845 Atherton Rd Ste 4

    Rocklin, CA 95765 (800) 574-1725

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 574-1725(Phone)
  • (916) 635-5423 (Fax)
  • (916) 635-5426 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.onehourair.com
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: One Hour Heating came to our new address in Elk Grove and after inspecting our furnace, said we had cracks in the heat exchanger. They said carbon monoxide was getting in the house which was dangerous. They then tried to sell us a new system for $6000.00. I had another heating company check the system and they found no trouble with our heater! I then had PG&E come over and after a check of our heater they found the heater to be working extremely well. There was no trace of carbon monoxide in the house! It is a scam to sell new furnaces. My wife and I are in our seventies.

Desired Settlement: They need to stop scaring people about carbon monoxide in their home because of a faulty furnace! When in reality there is nothing wrong with the heating system.

Business Response: Doing a thorough check of our clients heating and air system is part of our checklist and we would be doing the customer a disservice if we never checked the heat exchanger. Cracks will eventually cause CO to be present in the home its just a matter of time. Since once we touch the unit we are responsible for it, should there be any concerns we always stick to a "complete" check. This customer says he was told CO was present but it is not on his paperwork and the tech said he did not tell him it was present now but could be in the future. The customer has a warranty on his home and hopefully got it checked by a licensed HVAC contractor. The customer did speak with us about the concern in November and a full review was done to insure we are handling these situations correctly. Our apologies for any issues this caused the customer.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bull-dozed a 94yr old man out of more money than was verbally quoted, and that was too much(!) & lead to believe it included a maint. plan. On 4/24/2013, Upon having a routine maintenance check, I was told that the A/C needed to be replaced, and I agreed. They also told me that the new heat system was illegally installed and needed to be removed (not really sure if that was true). My daughter (by phone call from ******* and I were told the cost would be $11,000 and it came with a 5 yr maintenance plan. They didn't seem to care that if we wanted to sell the mobile home we couldn't get half that amount, but ****** pressed on. Two of his co-wkrs enter the premises and hovered around me and kept me busy w/polite conversation while ****** was writing up the order interjecting questions regarding my finances and asked me to sign a couple of documents, with no explanation & break down of costs, my head reeling, feeling pressured, I signed. Before the ink was dry from my signature and $14,000 later, they began installing the systems. My daughter and I have called them about the prices and a break down of them, we were told someone would call us back and no one has, They just took the money and ran, and probably laughed all the way to the bank. This wreaks of "elderly (financial) abuse". (I am ******** ******* and I am submitting this complaint for my father, we were both lied to by ******* I feel like they were "buzzards" circling the "prey", my father, I was not there and they took advantage of that).

Desired Settlement: $675 for the so-called maintenance club. And at the very least $2,242 what was charged over the already to high quote of $11,000. Or we can gather estimates from 3 other companies and see just how much we were over charged to begin with.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The client and his daughter were "both" involved in the entire process of the new unit for Mr. ********** home and knew completely how much it was when they decided to go with a new comfort system. We have offered to give them a 1500.00 off coupon and send them back a refund of 1500.00 but the client is not wanting to do so. They have come up with an amount that is not feasible for the unit they got and the offer of 1500.00 is more than fair. We stand behind our warranties and guarantees 100% and are a great company! If they were not sure then they should have not went with our company and got other estimates at that time. We were sure to get all decision makers involved so that all questions or concerns could be addressed and to avoid any issues like this happening. The offer for the 1500.00 refund toward the unit still stands.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I well accept the $1,500 offer.

Business' Final Response
Request has been submitted to our accounting dept for a 1500.00 refund to the client. Thank you.

Business Response
Request has been submitted to our accounting dept for a 1500.00 refund to the client. Thank you.

Business Response
This case should have been closed due to the 1500.00 resolution with the client, check request was sent to be printed and mailed to the client already. I don't see any outstanding replies on the site here so if there is anything else needing my attn. please let me know - thank you!

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) A check has never been received from One Hour Heating and Air Cond. by me or my daughter.

Business Response
We have already issued the request to have a 1500.00 (agreed upon amount) check cut to the customer. Any other questions please let me know.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As of Friday 11/1/13 we have not received a check for $1,500.

Consumer Response
We finally received a check from One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning. Thank you BBB for your help!

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service technician purposely lied/exaggerated the cause of the problems with my air conditioner/heating units. Service tech came to my home on July 3, 2013 to assess problem with my a/c units. I was in Washington DC and I had received a call from friend staying in house that the a/c was blowing hot air on one side of house. The bedroom side a/c unit cont'd. to put out cold air. ****** called me via cell phone after having been at home for very short time to tell me that BOTH units had compressors that were not working and both units needed to be replaced immediately. I was not going to return home until July 8, 2013 and was not comfortable spending over 25,000.00 on a system when I could not be present. ****** exerted a tremendous amount of pressure to get me to agree to replacing the units. I asked about the ducting system and ****** stated that he had not even checked it. I asked to speak to my friend and she stated that the one unit was actually working. ****** replied that it was going out as we spoke and would not be working much longer. I continued to state that I wanted to be home when the work was done. He called me at least 4 times and stated the problems at the house were getting worse. He continued to state that both COMPRESSORS WERE NOT WORKING. ****** attempted to sell me 2 new units. Initially I agreed because I had thought that both units were out and the temperature was well over 100 degrees. After ****** had left my home I was able to talk to my house sitter who told me that ****** was lying and that the situation was not as dire as he had stated. Later that day I called the office and cancelled the installation. When I returned to my home I had 3 other a/c - heating companies come to assess my problems. ALL 3 companies adamantly stated that NEITHER COMPRESSOR WAS OUT. Both fans were turning and providing cool air thru the inside vents. I also was told by the house sitter that ****** appeared to be "casing" my house, wandering into the rooms and out to the garage. She stated she felt uneasy. She also stated that "******" repeatedly stated that "the owner" of the home must be "RICH". It also should be noted that while I was in Washington DC, "******" attempted to get me to place a down payment on the units via credit card. What is disconcerting and worrisome about this situation is that the 2 package units are on the side of my house. They have minimal clearance from the fence. There is a MAJOR issue regarding the placement of new units and the COUNTY REGULATIONS AND CODE. "******" did not even address these issues. He did not inspect the ducting or airflow from the vents. He never discussed rebates with me and initially stated a price of $31,000.00 to complete the work.

Desired Settlement: I am extremely concerned about the business practices of this company and this individual. The service technician lied about the severity of the problem in an attempt to sell me expensive new units. I was out-of-town and attempting to handle this over the phone. He made my house sitter extremely uneasy with his actions. He made me extremely worried as I had animals who were in a house that I was being told had NO working air conditioning units. And I had friends who were also staying in a house with malfunctioning units. This technician caused a tremendous amount of anxiety and I felt a tremendous amount of pressure from him to replace the units as soon as possible. Something needs to be done with companies and sales rep/technicians that function in this manner.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Her concerns will be addressed with the employees and management and the importance of making sure a customer is happy and would refer us to others when leaving the home. We called to make sure they were happy with the service with multiple hang ups on 7/25/13 then never called us back re: msg left 7/26/13. The client had us out to her home to evaluate units that were broken down, decided to get new units with us then cancelled the contract and never paid for the services we did. Wish we knew about this sooner and would have if the client would have called us back, as we dont want customers unhappy with our services.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is incorrect. I was not even in the same state when I had them out. I only agreed to replace the units because their employee lied about the conditions of both units. He stated that neither unit was functioning. When I contacted my housesitter after ****** had left the home I found out the truth. I then cancelled the replacement of all units. He also pressured me and made 5 calls to me in a period of 5 minutes. I received NO follow-up calls from anyone. I have checked all incoming calls on my VERIZON bill. There were NONE from this company. As for charges, there were NONE on the receipt which I have in my possession. I also recorded all conversations with the employee from this company. I have had 4 OTHER A/C COMPANIES to my home to evaluate the situation. My a/c unit to this day 8/29/13 is functioning. This is the same unit which ****** said had a nonfunctioning COMPRESSOR. I did an internet search of this company and found complaints about them and this same employee. I received NO BILL from them so they have no reason to complain. As for services, this employee had no idea what he was even doing as evidenced by what I was told by my house sitter. He did not check the duct work. He had NO idea about the county code which would not support the installation of the units he tried to sell me. Their statement is full of lies.

Business' Final Response
This client never paid for the agreed upon services because she decided to buy a new unit instead and then cancelled. Like stated in prior, this concern was addressed. Proper action was taken to prevent any issues Re: our company's service to our clients so that we have complete satisfaction on every call.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told it would cost a certain amount and they would guarantee fixing my problem. First i was told they would come out and have a fully equipped truck to handle any problem my air had so it could be fixed and that was not the case. I was told by the service man it could be fixed within days and that was not the case.After receiving my money for the service charge they stopped giving me answers to when my part would even come in. 6 days latter i finally went with another company who came right out and had the problem fixed by the next day. Also i was quoted over 9 hundred dollars by one hour and the actual price it cost to fix was under 5 hundred. Every time i called one hour i had to speak to another representative who could only apologize for there mistakes but not offer me an explanation as to why they could not get the part to fix my air or why they were trying to charge me so much more. Bad business ethics when u tell a customer 20 things and try and over charge and never come back with the part or even an answer when it will come. i sat with no air for almost a week until i got really sick and had to call another company who actually told me the truth about what it would take to fix it and how much it would be. It was a trane air conditioning unit that needed a fan motor On july 3rd it went out and on july 9th i had it fixed

Desired Settlement: I would like them to refund the service charge based on in adequate information giving false advertising basically.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I just left a VM for Ms ****** telling her we will gladly refund the $ 99.00 back to her for the full system evaluation that we did at her home. We have a 100% Money Back Guarantee on services like this, I just wish she would have called us before it getting this far to warrant a complaint. I would have given her back the $ 99.00 with no concerns if she was unhappy and let us know.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: All "ducks" were not install as contract agreed. Feb. 14, 2005 I contact Heating and one inform them the "Phenix Unit" wasn't operating proper it wasn't making hot water and heating and cooling system were not working proper one of their contractor came out said. "I can make temporary repairs but in one or two years you will have the same problem because we are unable to get parts for this equipment therefore if I was you I would replace it". I signed the contract (CCL #XXXXXX) Feb. 14, 2005 total cost was $16,183.90, down payment, $1618.39 balance due, $14,565.51 company approved by: Jacob, G. He said "we will start the work February 21, 2005 and it will take 3 to 4 days to complete the work". February 25, 2005 they completed the work and I was inform I should purchase insurance and I did. The system was inspected twice each year without any problems. However, the inspection conducted April, 19, 2013 I was inform I need new ducks I ask him why because we agreed to install new ducks because both of us were aware that moving from air condition to heat pump it was necessary because one will not work with other system. He said. "Maybe some of them look good that why they did not replace them" I ask him why they didn't tell me and why they charge me for something they didn't do. I told him I was not going to pay over $6,000.00 for work they should have done when they installed the system. I ask them to finance the balance for one (1) year however I paid it off before that time frame

Desired Settlement: I want them to compete the work we were in contract to accomplish.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We have contacted the client so that we can go out to the home and inspect what may or may not have been done in 2005 when the work was to be performed. The contracted work was done by a company that we acquired and the scope of work on the contract is very vague describing what was to be done at that time. Should we find there were NO ducts done at that time then we will resolve however it has been 8 yrs too and may be hard to tell once out to the home. Will know more after this week once we have a chance to send one of our field supervisors out to the home. Thank you.

Consumer's Final Response
First instillation starting date February 21, 2005 completed job February 25, 2005 at 7:25PM, /work agreed to accomplish remove old system and install heat pump remove and replace complete new duck warranties for ten (10) years at a cost of $16,183.90. agreement signed February 2, 2005 by my wife Mrs. **** ****** and *****, G. from One Hour Air Conditioning & Heating. I discussed at length what I wanted accomplished with their representative before contract was signed. I wasn't aware there was a breach of contract until April 19, 2013. April 19, 2013 One Hour Heating and Air came out to conduct one year scheduled inspection his finding was I needed my ducks replace at a cost of $ 6,160.00 I inform the inspector that his company and I agreed to accomplish this work in February 2005 I wanted to know why is it necessary to change ducks less than ten (10) years after installing? Do you know what kind of business I am in, I have been in real estate for over forty years and I have never heard of this before. Ducks are made to last the life of a dwelling. The cost you quoted plus initial payment 22,34390 that is total unacceptable. Repairs made: Replace a 6" duct runs 10 ft. long, 4" duct funs 10 ft. long, replace 8" duct 20 ft. long this one is the worst one with big yip, & crushed. He inform my wife we can expect problems with our large ducts in the further. I really have a problem trying to understanding what they did on their first visit we are both in our eighties perhaps they saw where they could make an easy dollar. I don't think they repaired all items they omitted during their first trip out.

Business' Final Response
We have offered to the client to replace 2-3 of his ducts that look questionable but other items that we have inspected were definitely replaced back in 2005. The contract they had with the company we acquired was very vague and listed items with the zoning to only be changed. Not all systems get new ductwork every time a system is changed. It is only upon recommendation for top performance or code reqs, and if the client wants to do it. Again we will replace the few ducts found that are questiosnable at no charge and that is goin above required and contracted with the customer. Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They used high pressure to sell/install a new furnace and air conditioner when the old one was operating fine. I'm filing this complaint on behalf of my elderly parents. The company, One Hour, used high pressure sales and scare tactics to coerce them into buying a new furnace and air conditioner even though the current one was functioning fine. My parents have had a service contract with this company for a number of years. Twice a year a technician will come to service the unit and spend an hour making sure it is ready for the next season. On May 22, 2013, 3 technicians and one supervisor showed for the scheduled bi-annual service. A short time into the service call, they pulled my parents outside and explained the AC was worn out and needed to be replaced. This needed to be done ASAP before the weather got hot and before all the AC companies get busy. They were aware my father was totally opposed to this job, but continued their high pressure sales. They rushed to install the system and worked into the late evening to complete the job that day. Just the mere fact that 3 technicians and a supervisor showed up for a routine service call leads one to believe they planned on selling and installing a complete system on the same day. Their primary motive in rushing this job was to eliminate any possibility of my parents reconsidering this deal or discovering how badly they were being overcharged. The Amana system, work order # XXXXX, they installed consisted of furnace model AMVCXXXXXBX, Coil Model CE36AXXXXXL004, and Condenser model ASXXXXXXX. This 80% efficient furnace with 14 seer 3 ton coil is nothing fancy and for that complete install, they charged them a horrendous $12,377.00. I don't think this was a misunderstanding or onetime occurrence. I believe this is a willful practice that One Hour engages in with elderly folks. They used this same strategy just last January with another elderly customer. My parents were long time customers and One Hour took advantage of their trusting nature. Their behavior is appalling. My parents are in their 80's and their logic and memory skills are somewhat diminished. Had they been given time to consider the proposal and not put under stress, they would have contacted their children for advice. Had we known of this situation, this deal never would have happened. It is very difficult to protect elderly parents who are living alone against this type of abuse. I have been unsuccessful in contacting the president, ***** ******, by either mail or phone. I have placed a stop payment on both checks until this matter is resolved.

Desired Settlement: We want the contract voided and a new one renegotiated.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Spoke with our clients son, *** ****** and came to a resolve to discount the job to an amount he feels is fair. Will send the client an addendum stating the new amount due in full and payable immediately. Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Making a complaint against their guarantee the company is entirely unresponsive. They promised a 30% energy savings and it has been more expensive. We bought a new air conditioner from them when they came to perform routine service our old (still working). The new unit was supposed to keep the house cooler and there was a written guarantee promising 30% energy savings. After months of using the new unit and having them come out to repair it several times (There was a problem with connecting ducts to the unit. We realized our electric bills were higher than before, not lower. Certainly nowhere near the 30% they guaranteed in writing. We contacted them by phone 3 times and spoke with 2 different people who said they would look into it. Finially we sent a letter requesting compensation, it was ignored. We then called the corporate offices and received a call back from the local office saying we needed to wait one full year and then send them copies of our electric bills. We did this and sent them another letter with the bills enclosed. After two more calls they said they never got it and had us fax the information to them. Since then we have gotten no response. This week I will be sending the information again through we mail to make certain they cannot deny having gotten the information a third time. At the time of purchase we also paid for (upfront) 10 years of regular service to maintain the warranty on the unit. We are coming up on 2 years of owning a product that was supposed to help offset its cost through energy savings and has ended up costing us the full price of the unit to replace one that was working (and working on less energy). We were lied to and even when put in writing they continue to try to dodge the fact they sold us a product that does not do what it says it does.

Desired Settlement: We would like them to honor their 30% savings guarantee, for not only the first year as described on the contract but for at least the life of the 10 year service plan we purchased at the time. The unit is warranted for that time period and they already have a service agreement with us (paid in full) for that time period.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We are in receipt of all utility bills from this customer. Have explained to them that they will have a savings on the AC and Heater portion of their bill and will do a full analysis of their utility consumption to see if our guarantee warrants any type of refund. Client is okay with us following up with him next week once the review is done. Thank you!

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I asked for an AC tune up. I got a 1 1/2 sales pitch for new AC and tech left the AC valve open to release freon. On June 4, 2013, tech ****** checked AC wires and freon level with a meter. He said there was a slow leak. He recommended a system replacement as this leak would cost $5,000 to fix and his new system would cost $10,000. He refused to give me details of his new system but pressured me to agree to purchase it because his company has the best warranty. After his 1 1/2 hour sales pitch, he was angry and returned to the AC unit to replace the cover and opened the freon valve. I went out to check the AC unit and the valve was soaked with oil. The valve cover was on but it was very loose - Not even finger tightened. There was no service performed on my unit. It wasn't cleaned or adjusted. Nothing was done to any filters, coils, fins, and nothing else was checked. I was with him the whole time before the 1 1/2 hour sales pitch. If releasing the freon was part of the service, then that was the only thing done. Why should I pay for a sales pitch and him leaving the valve open causing this leak? The AC unit had no visable signs of any leak before the tech came but it was certainly leaking when he left. Now I am stuck with trying to get an honest company to come to repair and service my AC. The license Number on the receipt is #XXXXXX. The phone number is (XXX)XXX-XXXX.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of my $59 charge to service the AC since no service was done.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
**** refund the client the 59.00 which is part of our satisfaction guarantee. Wish the client would have called us for resolution first though instead of resorting to filing a complaint with the BBB. Mailing 59.00 to the client next week. Thank you. - *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: new heating & air conditioning unit was installed at ****** ******'s house on october 1,2012,and has failed several times due to failures. on october 1, 2012, my mother had a new heating and air conditioning unit installed by one hour heating and air conditioning,at her home in sacramento california, after she was told by one hour heating & air technician who always serviced her old unit that was at least 10 years old, that it would need to be replaced. on october 1, 2012, a new 2.5 ton amana unit,model #APGXXXXXXXM41, serial #XXXXXXXXXX, work order #XXXXX, was installed on the roof,cost $8,473 paid in full with cash. on october 15,2012, the unit failed to produce heat and a technician came and said a roll out switch was tripped, and he reset it. on november 10, 2012, the unit failed to produce again, and on november 11, 2012,a technician came out again and found the same roll out switch had tripped,and reset it stating the switch may be defective,and will order and replace the switch.within an hour of being reset, the unit again failed to produce heat.on november 11, 2012, 2 technicians came out and replaced the roll out switch, and the switch failed again,with no heat being produced.the technicians then replaced an inducer motor. the unit has not failed since this last repair.one technician left his personal phone number in case the unit fails again, which leads us to believe it will fail again. the following day i spoke with a supervisor,no name given, about the failures and that ****** is wanting the entire unit replaced since she paid a lot of money for a new unit that constantly fails to produce heat and not knowing if it will fail to produce cold air in the summer. he stated that full replacement will not happen.i asked to speak with someone senior to him and left a message with no response yet. their website states 100% satifaction guaranteed with a "no lemon" guarantee which states if air conditioner fails within 5 years, and furnace fails within 10 years it will be replaced at no charge.my mother is wanting a full replacement.my mother who is elderly and speaks no english, has had to endure cold nights because of these failures. i am her son,richard ******, and i am writing this on behalf of my mother ****** ******,the home owner.

Desired Settlement: ****** ****** is wanting full replacement of the heating and air conditioning unit that was installed on october 1, 2012, with a new non- defective unit.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Our client has been fully taken care of with ALL warranties that were part of her purchase. There was a small part that failed and we took care of it immediately to get her comfortable and using her new system. The clients son wants a whole new system instead of just the failed part when we have done all to take care of her new unit per warranties promised and at no charge of course. The warranty covers all parts and labor and that is what we delivered. When a unit stops working it is an inconvenience we understand, yet that is why warranties are part of that peace of mind. She is happy with the service provided at this time and that we got the system up and running right away. Thank you.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) this unit has failed consistantly since it was installed for mrs. ****** on october 1, 2012, the most resent failure to produce heat, occurring on december 15, 2012. here are the unit failures to date. on october 15, 2012, a roll out switch was tripped and reset by one hour heating & air technician. on november 11, 2012, a roll out switch was found tripped and reset by technician who stated roll out switch may be defective and will order & replace switch.on november 12, 2012,roll out switch was replaced by technician, a hole was covered that was drawing air into the burner cabinet, cleaned orfice of metal shavings. the same problem happened again the same day and the unit failed to produce heat.the technician replaced inducer motor to see if that would solve the problem. on december 15, 2012, the roll out switch again was tripped and reset by technician. technician recommened a manufacturer representative to look into this problem & would mention it to his manager. no one has contacted mrs. ****** to this day. again, mrs. ****** wants nothing more than a full replacement of this defective heat & air conditioning unit. service has been consistant with their policy, but their "no lemon" guarantee, which is stated on their website,seems to apply here for full replacement of a defective unit...****** & richard ******

Business' Final Response
This matter has been resolved with the client and the manufacturers rep that went out to the clients home to inspect the unit last month. There was a part that failed and repaired immediately at nocost to the client. This unit is not a lemon and has run great since the part was replaced. The client is happy with her unit and the manufacturer will not replace something that does not fall in the "lemon" category. We as a company have honored the warranties promised and will continue to do so if ever needed again.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Technician came out and stated that the heater has too many wires and he don't know how to fix. It will need a new motor, said tech. He then said it would be $99.00 and that he had to go to another job. Called but the part store closed at 5:30. (Wrong diagnosis) Heater is less than 5 year old.

Desired Settlement: Return of $99.00 for service not render. DO NOT SEND OUT QUALIFIED PERSONNEL

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, GM Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@onehourair.com This client was charged 99.00 for a full system evaluation and paid for the service. They had us out to their home almost 2yrs ago and cancelled the repair of the motor we recommended to get their system running because Mr. and his sister went back and forth on which one should pay for the motor. We have not heard from them since, until this complaint. The 99.00 they paid was for the service they agreed to in order to have thier system completely diagnosed.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: High Pressure sales tactic led my husband to sign for a preventive maintenance contract that we do not want and is inappropriate for our unit. In August of 2012, our air conditioning unit was not cooling and so a call was placed to One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning. Our unit was installed in December 2003 and a ten year Extended Service Plan was purchased. A technician came to the house on August 17, 2012 and replaced the malfunctioning part, the same part that was covered and had been replaced August 11, 2010 when it previously malfunctioned. The technician, according to my husband proceeded to provide scenarios of unmaintained units and voided warranties and increased costs for the repair of units. He told my husband that we did not have a contract. This was not entirely true since we clearly had an extended service contract, but true in that we did not have a "Comfort Club" contract, a supposed preventive-type maintenance contract. In any case my husband had been talked into and signed for the 5 year "Comfort Club",paying $750.00 by personal check. (2 years beyond the longest available contract time of three years seen on the document). When my husband notified me of this I immediately called One Hour On August 17, 2012 at (916)XXX-XXXX and spoke to ********* who stated she was at an Arizona location. I expressed concern and displeasure and asked to have someone return my call. No one ever returned my call. (This tactic of selling the customer additional services during a stressful period is a common practice that I have experienced in other repairs performed by One Hour but had managed not to be talked into additional unwanted contracts. (When I call for a technician for repairs I expect a qualified technician not a salesman. I do not appreciate this business tactic during this somewhat vulnerable period.) After carefully reviewing the contract, it was clear that neither my husband nor I wanted to be part of the "Comfort Club". The "Comfort Club" is written for homeowners who have air conditioning units and furnaces, while we have a heat pump, something that should have been obvious to the technician. My husband then contacted One Hour on August 23, 2012 and spoke to Michael and informed him that we decided against the "Comfort Club" and wanted a refund. Michael stated that we would receive a refund but it would be less a $99.00 diagnostic charge, and should receive the refund within the week. No refund was received. On September 13, 2012 a certified letter was mailed to One Hour documenting the phone conversations and the request of refund. To date there has been no word from One Hour.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking a $750.00 refund.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@onehourair.com This client had a check request issued to them for the full 750.00 in August when they called our office wanting to get a full refund. Our notes state that when my CSR told them that maint on their unit is needed to keep the warranties in tact, they stated they would get back with us and did not. We should have followed up on our end and did not either. I personally am cutting the check request for them to get a refund for 750.00. Thank you, ****** ****** - GM

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: One Hour Heating and Air has failed to provide any solution in resolving my heating and air system problems in 10 months. I have been having issues with my Fujitsu 4 zone mini split Heating and air system since December 2011. One Hour Heating and Air has made over a dozen visits to my home in efforts to repair my system, due to their admitted lack of knowledge of this system in which they installed December 2007, they have been unable to successfully repair my system. I sent an email to Mr. ***** ***** on 10-7-2012, to this date I have not received a response, because of this I have asked another company referred to me by Fujitsu the manufacture to address my problems and I will be forwarding all invoices to One Hour Heating and Air for reimbursement.

Desired Settlement: Cover cost of all repairs and recommended services provided by the new company handling my fujitsu 4 zone mini split heating and air system until the system is back to proper working order or replaced.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@onehourair.com This customer has already been addressed and told that we will cover any costs for his system to be repaired. The manufacturer does not have any local reps to work on the unit and I told the customer if he finds someone to assist in the repair after we could not, that we will gladly cover any costs incurred. Thank you - ****** ******, GM

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1