BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gilmore Heating & Air meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gilmore Heating & Air include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gilmore Heating & Air
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 12, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1972 Business started locally: 01/01/1972 Business incorporated: 02/13/2003 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Valerie Barry, Administrative Manager / Bookkeeper Mr. John D. Gilmore, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Valerie Barry, Administrative Manager / Bookkeeper
Customer Contact: Mr. John D. Gilmore, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Solar Energy Products Service & Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Contractors - General Contractor - Electrical Electricians

Alternate Business Names
Gilmore Heat Air Solar Contractors
Products & Services

Gilmore Solar Heat & Air is a air conditioning,heating and solar contractor that can service and install complete heating,air conditioning and solar systems.

Industry Tips
BBB Tips for Hiring a Contractor in California

Additional Locations

  • 4429 Missouri Flat Rd

    Placerville, CA 95667 (916) 233-1450 (530) 344-4330 (209) 623-1375 (530) 344-4335

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (209) 223-5011(Phone)
  • (209) 623-1375(Phone)
  • (530) 344-4330(Phone)
  • (530) 344-4335(Phone)
  • (530) 626-3621(Phone)
  • (530) 626-3720(Phone)
  • (530) 626-3721(Phone)
  • (530) 626-3765(Phone)
  • (530) 626-3998(Phone)
  • (530) 626-3999(Phone)
  • (530) 626-4498(Phone)
  • (530) 626-4499(Phone)
  • (530) 677-0622(Phone)
  • (916) 233-1450(Phone)
  • (916) 635-0440(Phone)
  • (916) 635-0440(Phone)
  • (916) 784-6357(Phone)
  • (916) 933-0631(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Incorrect Unit Installed. Ongoing defects with Unit. Multiple parts replacements, only to have another part go out.Lennox Air Conditioning Unit 5 ton Unit installed in 2010 and immediately did not work. We are part time residents and every time we are at the residence for 2 weeks or more the unit stops working. Conden2er, circuit board, misc various other parts and many service calls. They repeatedly promise a Lennox rep will come out, but that has never happened. It is 112 and we have called them twice, no response. A new, rarely used unit, should not go out every time we come home. We want them to replace it. We have requested this many times before. They keep telling us this is the last issue, but it never is. We hsve spoken to other Lennox Dealers who tell us it is usually the Installer. They need to realize by now, this is a defective unit from the start and needs to be replaced.

Desired Settlement: We want a working unit we can depend on to be installed by one of their senior techs; This problem is a huge inconvenience and my wife has an autoimmune condition that could end her in the hospital with extreme heat or cold when the unit fails. They repeatedly tell us they have fixed it once and for all. The last time a tech came out here he couldn't figure it out and called Lennox only to find, this unit had defective circuit boards. Had to replace. Well, the circuit board has gone out again and they are not returning calls. It is 112 degrees

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
t this time Gilmore has reached an agreement with our client. Our company has ordered a complete replacement system for Mr. & Mrs *********. We have extended the courtesy of "upgrading" the model to address the energy star ratings that was of concern by the client. At this time we are waiting for our client to choose a convenient time for Gilmore to Install the new HVAC system. We are in touch with our clients & greatly anticipate concluding this transaction. Thank you *** ****** Office Manager for Gilmore Heating & Air.

Consumer's Final Response
The Company has agreed to replace the defective Unit with another Unit of our choice They are to be back in touch with us around July 8th for resolution. We will await the outcome.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Continuous misrepresentation of service provided with multiple individuals. Did not install all associated items, lied about service provided. At time of sale, sales rep was told we are in town for a limited time and needed installation of HVAC unit promptly. We waived the 3 day waiting period to begin process. This is finally completed over 10 weeks later. Different individuals, different sites all led to confusion and inattention to details. Never received itemized billing, but still know they did not install all associated products and was lied to about what was done. I may be old but I am not dumb. I read everything and knew what I was being told was incorrect. I had to DEMAND that the items paid for be completed. I even showed them in the contract what was to be included to PROVE that I knew what was ordered. I have a list of 20 items that will be sent to the owner of this business to show that they are shoddy in customer service. I looked at the company on line and it has an A+ rating with BBB, not deserved. They failed the building inspection times 2 and building inspector has told them repeatedly about one item and they still fail to comform to regulations. Basic failure number 2 is not installing support straps properly, I caught that the air return duct was not sealed properly twice before done properly. Was lied to and told that carbon monoxide detector was the second smoke detector not once but twice. I stated the booklet says it is not, install the second smoke detector I paid for. I was told that the thermostat was set for auto to change from air conditioning to heating as this is a second house and we are not there when temps change. This was a requirement for the thermostat from the time of sale. It was NOT set to auto as stated times two, it was set to an automatic sensing of how long it takes for the house to cool or heat to temp set and keeps the house from large temperature swings. A nice feature but not what I was speaking about. So this led me to believe that the installation person did not know what he should to be doing the job. Repeatedly calling sevice address phone number and not the cell phone as requested multiple times, sending reports to service address where there is no mail service inspite of repeatedly asking that the name, address and phone number be corrected. Duct testing technician did not carry extra batteries for his unit, tried to tell me only CA requires this testing when I watched it done at my mother's house in Texas. It may be a requirement in CA but it was done in Texas. I know what should be done as the installation at my mother's was only 2 years prior to the month. Comparison was not favorable, Texas was better, faster and cheaper. To continue, we told the technician when his instrument failed that maybe it was the batteries. OH NO it turns on. Called his counterpart and he told him it was the batteries. We had to supply batteries for him to finish the job. Do not think we are dumb because we are old. Did not send all the required forms for the building inspector, told us they would set up the appointment and we had to call the day of the inspection for the time. Called two days prior and set time. This town is very small and are on a first name basis with building inspector. He finally met our son who had to drive to Jackson to have the duct cleaning done and again for the inspection. A real inconvience for us when we told them at the beginning that this needed to be done promptly. I refuse to sign loan papers until all this was done. Why pay for a shoddy service. I believe that most units function well, it is installation and upkeep that lead to failure. I now wonder about the future of this unit. Our last one in this house lasted 24 years and the one at my mother's about the same. Keep it clean and check it out periodically, it will serve you well. This unit is more efficient and costs less to operate than the old unit, but will it last as long?

Desired Settlement: I do not want others to read the A+ rating and use this service. I also want them to provide itemized bllings to customers so that they can see what was ordered and paid for and to check this off as installed. There is a serious disconnect in this business, two separate offices kept calling to schedule appts. Took two days to call when the building inspector called them to fix one item and at that time I told them in no uncertain terms how dissatisfied I was with the service. I felt taken advantage of, lied to, total misrepresentation of quality they provide. And a big part of their business is to sell maintenance agreements. I now feel obligated to buy that so that they will be responsible for repairing anything that goes wrong. This is what I want, them to be responsible for mistakes I am sure were made in the installation that might impact the longevity of unit. What I do not know not will anyone else unless they tear the thing apart which would then lead ****** to state that the unit was damaged during this inspection. Researching the different brands I noticed either totally satisfied or compeltely disatisfied with brands. Not a bell curve that you would expect. Why, then a comment was made, the installation of the product has a major impact on the functioning of the unit. That is now my major concern. I even mentioned that to the sales rep and he agreed totally. Too bad his technicians and office staff did not back him up with quality service.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
NOTES INDICATE ****** ****** DID ATTEMPT TO CONTACT CLIENT TO RESOLVE ISSUE - 7/23/12 CALLED AND LM ON BOTH NUMBERS TO RESOLVE BBB COMPLAINT 7:13PM JS SUMMARY OF HISTORY: RICH SOLD UNIT: 5/8/12 - SOLD RUUD 2 T 14SEER GAS PACK AND DUCT CLEANING INSTALL DATE: 5/9/12 - INSTALL RUUD 2 T 14SEER GAS PACK AND DUCT CLEANING $11380 ENERBANK FINANCED ARI #XXXXXX DIAMOND CRANE TO ARRIVE BETWEEN 11:30 AND 12 KENNETH CALLED THEY DON'T NEED THE CRANE. CANCELLED AT 10:30AM ENERBANK APPROVAL #XXXXXXXXXX APPROVAL AMOUNT: $11,380 DUCT TEST PASSED: 5/17/12 INSTALLED SMOKE ALARMS, DELIVERED PERMIT, ENLARGED RETURN - 5/17/12 DUCT CLEANING: 2-5 PM FRI 6/22 - CALL CELL TO SEND XXX-XXX-XXXX DUCT CLEANING (NO CHARGE PER RICH) DID NOT HAVE THE BRUSHES WHEN WE WERE THERE FOR DUCT TESTING- CORRECTIONS: NEED TO SPRAY PAINT FIXTURES SO THEY DO NOT CORRODE WORK DONE: DUCT CLEANING ON 3 OUT OF 4 DUCTS (ONLY 3 DUCTS WERE ACCESSIBLE) FINAL INSPECTION: 7/18/12 - CORRECTION NOTICE POSTED 7/18/12 PER CALL IN FROM INSPECTOR HE WAS OUT AT THIS HOME TODAY AND HE SAID HE WILL FINALIZE THE PERMIT IF WE SEND SOMEONE OUT TODAY TO FASTEN THE BAND ON THE DUCTING THAT IS COMING OUT OF THE UNIT. IT NEEDS TO BE AROUND THE INNER HARD PIPE HE ALSO NEEDS ME TO FAX HIM TITLE 24 PPWK-AM CORRECTIONS COMPLETED: 7/18/12 WORK DONE: INSTALLED PANDUIT ON THE DUCT LOCATED UNDER THE HOUSE. TEST OUT W/ THE ENERGUY: 9/1/12 10/30/12 - **** WENT OUT - CLIENT CARE ISSUE: 10/30 From 10-1 for Jake **DO NOT RESCHEDULE, DO NOT MOVE TO ANOTHER TECH, DO NOT TOUCH THIS CALL UNLESS YOU SPEAK WITH JG OR JLH** 1. Meet with the customer and go over the entire installation contract and verify to the customer that the installation is complete. 2. Deliver and installal 1 Honeywell WiFi thermostat, at no charge(Per JS, Per ****** G) CUSTOMER WANTS TO CONTROL THERMOSTAT FROM HOME IN EUREKA 3. Please ensure customer complete satisfaction before leaving. WORK DONE: INSTALLED WIRELESS KIT WITH NEW GATEWAY. CUSTOMER IS SATISFIED **** WENT BACK OUT 11/7/12: Appt 11/7 from 10-1PM w/**** **PLEASE DO NOT RESCHEDULE. DO NOT MOVE TO ANOTHER TECH, DO NOT TOUCH THIS CALL** Customer still has outstanding balance. Customer has to sign off before our financing gets funded. 11/7/12 ****, Here's your task! 1. Meet with the customer and go over the entire installation contract and verify for the customer that the installation is complete. Take pictures, do whatever you've got to do so that she's satisfied. I've pasted it for you to read. Customer Email to ***** *****: I had to argue to get items installed that were listed, I need to know that the installation of items that I am unaware of being required are actually installed. This is a major issue with me when I have to DEMAND that things that I paid extra for are installed. This is a confidence issue. WORK DONE: Went through the entire contract for installation quality control. customer now feels secure in all aspects of this installation and is now secure that we've completed her installation.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/25/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1