BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that George Gudie Heating & Air Conditioning Services Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for George Gudie Heating & Air Conditioning Services Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on George Gudie Heating & Air Conditioning Services Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 18, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1967 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1967 Business incorporated: 08/01/1973 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Stumpf, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Stumpf, Owner
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
George Gudie Heating & Air Conditioning Service, Inc.
Products & Services

George Gudie Heating and Air Conditioning Service, Inc. provides heating and air conditioning services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2008 New installed H&A, cost $5,300. Started having problems in 5/03/13warranty has expired. ***** inspected it said, there was a leak, but could find it. got it to cool. cost to me $435. They said I needed a new coilat a cost of $2,000-$3,000. it didn't make sense to me the unit wasn't that old. told me to call Lenox. I spoke with a Mr. ***** he advised me to get a second opinion. I called Caltech after inspection Tech gave me written report stating the unit does not need a new coil and he spoke with Mr. *****. He said, how can they say there's a leak, but can't find it. written report by Caltech This 3 ton unit requires 1200 CRM a 10" duct will only deliver 300 CFM. This unit will work until it ices up then will fail to work. The unit installed was too big for the ducts. In the meantime I called ***** and was told I needed an new unit at a cost of $5,000-$6,000. I can not afford to buy another unit and I would like for ***** to install a unit that is appropriate for my home or put in the ducts that are right for the unit. I remember when the unit was installed Jeff telling me he was going to put in a unit bigger than the old one. When I went to the office to speak with him he got an inch from my face and yelled I'm not going there! He then walked into his office and slammed the door!! I left.

Desired Settlement: I expect ****** ***** to install the proper unit for my home or installducting that is approperate for the unit. Thank you and I appreciate any help you can give me regarding this matter.I am without air and it is almost unbearable on these hot days!

Business Response:

Service call completed 19 February 2008 for no heat on unit in place--found heating parts failed as well as visible crack/break in the heat exchanger. Unit was obsolete, parts were no longer available. Original unit Fraser Johnson model 80AW36-106, three (3) ton cooling capacity. No statement was ever made that we would install a unit capacity larger than the failed unit that had been providing comfort for the customer for many years. 
 
Contract forwarded for unit replacement 20 Feb 2008, accepted 21 Feb 2008 to replace the existing failed 3-ton unit with three (3) brands of equipment, all three (3) ton cooling tomatch the cooling capacity of the failed unit. After securing the appropriate building permit, the installation was scheduled and completed approximately March 7, 2008. We arranged to have the system ductwork tested and approved in order to enable a final inspection by the Sac City Building Department. The ductwork compliance could not have been completed without appropriate ductwork in place to handle the air volume created with the new unit. The customer was provided with the documentation.
 
No additional contact from the customer until April 2013, in response to the customer's request to check for no cooling, we found the unit running, not cooling adequately due to a combination of a totally plugged air filter and partial loss of refrigerant; the technician did report staining on the bottom of coil. The air filter was replaced and a small amount of refrigerant was added to restore operation and establish a baseline for subsequent failures (the customer was not charged for the refrigerant installed.) We had no previous reports of function or performance issues for more than 5 (five) years.  We returned several days later for an additional failure report and found a broken low voltage connector which was repaired. The customer had authorized us to leak-search the unit, refrigerant charge was recovered and a leak check was performed. We were unable to locate any leaks and a total weighted-in refrigerant charge of 7#13oz was weighed in as per the manufacturer's recommendations (customer was not charged for the total materials used on her behalf) it was our opinion the loss-of refrigerant occurred somewhere within the lower portion of the evaporator. We did check with the manufacturer who indicated that the coil was warranted for 5-years from the date of installation. 
 
Ms. **** visited our office to discuss her options; she she indicated to us that she had checked on-line same model unit as hers; we suggested she contact the manufacturer directly since there were multiple failure reports, nationwide, from the research she completed on-line.
 
On Ms. ****'s most recent visit she indicated we had installed an over-sized unit and we would take it off and install a different unit. We very much resent Ms. ****'s accusation and refused to further discuss her accusatory conversation. We sincerely doubt that Ms. **** would  have been comfortable in her home for the five-5 years she used the new unit we had installed in addition to the  many years usage of the unit that had failed and subsequently replaced. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/27/2011 Problems with Product/Service