BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Gallagher's Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gallagher's Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Gallagher's Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc include:

  • 17 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Gallagher's Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gallagher's Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 24, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1991 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1991 Business incorporated: 04/12/2002 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 935316.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tim E. Gallagher, President Mr. Alan Hardwick, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim E. Gallagher, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Sewer Cleaning Equipment & Supplies Water Heater - Tankless Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Water Filtration & Purification Equipment Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Products & Services

Gallagher's Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. provides heating and air, plumbing and water purification services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Additional Locations

  • 7808 Highway 99 E

    Los Molinos, CA 96055 (530) 384-2444 (530) 638-4884 (530) 247-7000

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (530) 247-7000(Phone)
  • (530) 638-4884(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid them to fix our heater in October. They won't return our calls now. My house is 55 degrees at night. I have a 1 hear old grandson and a pregnant granddaughter living with me now.

Desired Settlement: Just want them to fix what I paid for. If they can't then refund my money and I'll go somewhere else.

Business Response: on 10.17.14 Service Technician diagnosed heat above 150* in the attic tripping gas shut off valve. 11.7.14 Installed Gable fan to cool attic. Part ordered under warranty, 11.13.14 Customer informed that there was still a problem. Part did not arrive as of this date. 11.18.14 Customer called again to check status of part. 11.20.14 Part arrived, Technician installed new shut off valve. Heater has been fixed, problem resolved.

11/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently had a dissatisfying interaction with Gallagher in hiring the company to service my air conditioning unit. The employee was more interested in upselling me on a yearly service plan than in providing the service for which I paid, and didn’t return my thermostat to its original setting when he left. I was not surprised when a trusted neighbor related a similar but even more broadly dissatisfying experience with Gallagher. And now the other shoe has dropped. I made an appointment for a service call by ********** **********. They were able to service my unit with no problems. They reported that there was no problem with the valves that your service tech stated were broken and prevented from completing the service call for which I paid $79.00. Of course, they would have had to ‘repair’ the valves at an additional cost in order to complete the service. I made my living as a professional sales representative for over 35 years. I know for a fact that it is not necessary to lie in order to build a customer base. In fact, I found that my customer base grew at a much greater pace because people could trust me when I told people what they wanted to hear. I refuse to do business with a company that can’t be trusted. One of my pet peeves is the sheer volume of advertising that I receive in the mail on a daily basis. The only redeeming value is that I can discard most advertising by simply evaluating the envelope and knowing quickly that it is of no value to me. Then there are those advertisers that attempt to use subterfuge to make it seem that their advertising is being sent by some government or quasi-governmental organization, or from a recognized company like ** * *, that it is a REBATE including no visible company information on the envelope. This use of misrepresentation to promote a business leaves me absolutely certain that I don’t want to do business with that company. If a company is not truthful and open in their advertising, why would I expect them to treat me truthfully in person?

Desired Settlement: In reality I feel that I was cheated and I should be receiving at least a partial refund for the service call that wasn’t completed. I would greatly appreciate it if my name and address could be removed from company data list so as to not receive company advertising.

Business Response: Gallagher's technician was dispatched and preformed $79 A/C Tune Up which included removing dirt from the blocked coil and unclogging a drain heavily clogged with rust. Per our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee, a refund for $79 has been issued. As requested, there will be no more mailers sent to the customer.

Consumer Response: Customer states they have received their refund and no longer have received any mailers from the company.

Consumer Response: I don't believe that this second letter will accomplish anything either, but it's worth another try.

I recently had a dissatisfying interaction with Gallagher in hiring the company to service my air conditioning unit. The employee was more interested in upselling me on a yearly service plan than in providing the service for which I paid, and didn't return my thermostat to its original setting when he left. I was not surprised when a trusted neighbor related a similar but even more broadly dissatisfying experience with Gallagher.

And now the other shoe has dropped.

I made an appointment for a service call by Northstate Mechanical. They were able to service my unit with no problems. They reported that there was no problem with the valves that your service tech stated were broken and prevented them from completing the service call for which I paid $79.00. Of course, they would have had to 'repair' the valves at an additional cost in order to complete the service. In reality I feel that I was cheated and I should be receiving at least a partial refund for the service call that wasn't completed.

I made my living as a professional sales representative for over 35 years. I know for a fact that it is not necessary to lie in order to build a customer base. In fact, I found that my customer base grew at a much greater pace because people could trust me when I told people what they wanted to hear. I refuse to do business with a company that can't be trusted. Once again, I would greatly appreciate it if my name and address could be removed from company data lists so as to not receive company advertising or contact of any kind.

Regards

******* *******

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In December 2013 we called Gallagher's heating to come and fix our heater. On December 5, 2013 the technician came, took the heater apart, left it and returned a week later with some part that didn't fix it either. On the first visit, I paid $129 for the service call and joined the Shamrock Club membership for $176.40. On the "Agreement" that we both signed, it states "If for any reason, you aren't happy with your Club membership, you may cancel the agreement and get a 100% "no questions" refund. There's absolutely no risk to you. This is the "No Quibble" Guarantee." The technician did not fix the heater, he said I needed a new one, etc. and I said no and he left. I acquired another company to finish fixing the heater. I have written three letters and made one phone call requesting that the Shamrock Club membership be cancelled and that I receive a refund of $176.40. My first request was written to them on January 12, 2014. My second request was written on March 10, 2014. My phone call was made on May 1, 2014 and my most recent letter of request was written June 12, 2014. I don't know what more to do. I am a senior citizen and on a fixed income.

Desired Settlement: I request that Gallagher's Heating and Air refund to me, ****** ********, the amount of the Shamrock Club Membership agreement, per the agreement's own statement, $176.40 as soon as possible.

Business Response:

Hello I'm *** *********, I want to get you your refund AS YOU REQUESTED, in fact teh check is already cut and on my desk!
 
Although I believe you paid,  our records indicate you were not billed for the $176.40 for the "agreement'.
 
Please help me get you the refund you are requesting QUICKLY by providing the following:
 
Proof of billing to: **** *** *** *** ******* ********** ** **********************

2/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SUBJECT: Cancellation of Service Dear Mr. Gallagher, The purpose of this letter is to officially inform you that, because of your company's unbelievably terrible performance, we have stopped all service with you. Effective immediately, stop all of the following: our request for installation of a water softener, any requests for permits, and automatic payments for our Shamrock Club Membership. Remove from your computers all of our personal and financial information and return all associated paperwork to us not later than December 20, 2013. What follows is a summary of why we are dissatisfied and angry: July 31, 2012, we joined your Shamrock Club. We liked the idea of the priority service, scheduled maintenance, and reduced cost for members. At our last service check it was discovered that the heating unit circuit board needed to be replaced. Your cost to club member: $538.00 and non-club member: $673.00. Tomorrow we are having the circuit board replaced by another company. Their cost: $425.00. All of the men who serviced our heating and air conditioner were friendly, fast, and professional. They always told us about the benefits of installing a water softener. Last fall, my wife and I decided we might need to take their advice. On September 13, 2013, ***** ******* explained about the water softeners that you offer. He told about the advantages of the different units and the advantage of a reverse osmosis system. When we asked about costs, he quoted $4,330.00 for the water softener and over $20,000.00 for the reverse osmosis system. Yes, that's correct: $20,000.00! (As we have since learned, even $2,000.00 is way over-priced) We couldn't afford the reverse osmosis system but signed a contract for $4,330.00. The contract states "Date of Delivery/Completion: 9/16/13". We expected to receive a water softener on the l6th. ***** ******* said that since we live in a mobile home park, he would talk to the park manager and get the park approval. Also, your company would take care of any permits. On the September 6th, we waited all day and nothing happened. On the l8th I called your office (530-384-2444) and talked with a young lady. In the background, a woman was yelling so loud that I could not understand what the young lady was saying. I told her to please check into what was happening with our job and get back to me. She never called back. After several days, I called again and talked with a different lady. She said she would check into the situation and get back to me. She never returned the call. October lOth: I called your office and left a message for the manager to please call. No response. The same day I talked with our park manager who said your company had not contacted her. I thought that's interesting. Almost one month and they haven't even contacted the park. October 11th: I called and told the lady I talked with that we were extremely unhappy and that I wanted to talk to Mr. Gallagher to let him know what was going on - really what was not going on. She said he seldom came into the office. I was becoming upset and we were considering changing companies. I also told her that if things were not corrected by the first part of the week I was going to contact the BBB, Contractors State Licensing Board, and the State of California Consumer Affairs. I later decided to wait before contacting those agencies. October l8th: Spoke with ***** at Gallagher's. She said she would check out what was going on and keep us informed. She gave me her direct line telephone number. December 6th: After being patient for one and one-half months, and hearing nothing from *****, I called her. She said she was waiting for a reply from City of Chico Waste Water Treatment Management before she could send a request to HUD. December 9th: I called ***** and told her we had decided their service was so bad, and we had been told so many different things, we were cancelling our request for a water softener. She transferred me to **** and I left a message. **** returned my call. I told her to cancel om Shamrock Club membership and stop all requests for anything in our name and that I would be sending a letter notifying Gallagher's of our cancellation. I think it should be of interest to you, Mr. Gallagher, that December l0th we arranged to have a water softener installed by another company. We are also getting a reverse osmosis system for less than $1,000.00. Total cost of everything, by a reputable company that has been in business a long time, is slightly over $3,000.00. The system will be installed January 8th. They need less than one month, start to finish and over the holidays, to do a lot more for thousands of dollars less. We feel that, possibly because we are elderly, you and your representative assumed we could be overcharged, treated with disdain, and we would not complain or do anything about it. Let me assure you, one advantage about being old is it gives me lots of spare time to do everything in my power to caution others about using your company. We will be telling everybody we can about the poor performance and outrageous prices of your company. I am providing a copy of this letter to the agencies listed below. cc: Better Business Bureau State of California Contractors License Board

Desired Settlement: Effective immediately, stop all of the following: our request for installation of a water softener, any requests for permits, and automatic payments for our Shamrock Club Membership. Remove from your computers all of our personal and financial information and return all associated paperwork to us not later than December 20, 2013.

Business Response:  We have had several conversations with this owner and the situation has been resolved. No follow up is needed. 

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The business has not returned all personal financial information that pertains to me and my wife.  The request was made in the original letter that I sent them and has also been requested telephonically.  BBB has a copy of my original letter.  I also asked them to purge their computers to delete all of our information.  To date they have failed to comply, and it is of great concern that unauthorized people have access to our information. 

Sincerely,

**** *******

Business Response: Company rep. states they contacted the consumers on 02/01/14, and then mailed the requested information by certified mail on 02/03/14.

12/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repeated unauthorized payments taken out of my credit card. In the early part of June 2012 I signed up at a Home Depot to have Gallagher's Plumbing to come out to do an inspection of my air conditioner. On June 7,2012 a serviceman came and replaced a part on the air conditioner. He explained that if I join their Shamrock Club I would get a huge savings. I joined this club at this time. I never heard from them again and could not get a call answered. When I did get thru I told them I wanted to cancel my membership that was set up month by month, I could cancel at anytime. I was informed that I had to go to a web-site, Billing@comfortpeople.com, I could not get into the site to cancel so I wrote them a letter cancelling this membership on Jan 18,2013. Payments were still taken out I tried to call the company but never go pasted the receptionist who gave me phone numbers that went unanswered. I called my credit card company and they were able, after much running thru hoops, have the unauthorized payments returned to the card. This was in May of 2013. Again in July of 2013 unauthorized payments again was taken out. Again calling Gallagher's got me know where so I called the credit call company and they again were able to have the payments returned. Once again, in Oct, 2013 I find unauthorized payments to Gallagher's on my statement. I called Gallagher's again and did not get pass the receptionist, as usual she said there was no one there who could help me and then hung up on me, after I told her I was going to file a fraud complaint. I Called my credit card company again and they also got the same tale as I did but they did tell her that there was no account or information that they could find! They have to have something to be able to keep taking money out of my account. I do not take making this complaint lightly. I am doing so after the third time of them getting into my account. This appears not to be an isolated event.

Desired Settlement: I want all monies returned to my credit card account and that Gallagher's will be unable to again get into my credit card and remove any money. At this time that is all I am asking.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
I have had a thorough conversation with the above homeowner. I explained that we have no record of receiving the initial cancellation letter. I also addressed her concern with the continuous monthly charges being taken out, our accounting department has already started to process the refund check,it is expected to go out in today's mail. Mrs. ****** stated that due to our follow up and resolution to this issue she would continue to use our services. Both parties involved feel that there is no further follow up needed here.

12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: was sold ducting and attic insulation to save on my energy bill. duct work was done on 5-30-13 and insulation was done on 6-3-13. work not right contacted gallaghers on 9-17-13 as to what was sold didn't not save me any money on my energy bills and that they need to recheck. sent tech out on 9-19-13 to reinspect there work tech found that they had missed that the ac unit was pulling a high amp load when running and recommended that the unit be replaced, also look at insulation in attic and said it looked like it was tapperd off on the back of house and would have to have someone that knew that product better come out to inspect.talked with ******* on 10-18-13 since i had not recieved any phone calls from this company as to what they was to do to fix. ******* informed me that he was working on a replacement unit and it was at no charge to me on 10-21-13.had appointment for them to come out n fix insulation on 10-30-13 no show on appointment until I called them then was told they had some one coming out to inspect not fix and he would be there in a few hours. Marshall inspected insulation and stated that it was not up to what I was sold and that it was 11in at attic opening and at other end of house was 6in also staed that they would be out to fix that but also recommended that the whole house fan should be boxed and that the themostat on wall is to close to whole house fan opening and should be moved. he said he had talked to ******* and gallaghers would pay for those 2 things to be done .had a appoint with patrick on 11-6-13 to come out and go over things to make sure they was taking care of what they missed on why I sold this and didn't save me any money on energy bills. Had not heard from him or from company as to when there was going to fix as of this date. Talked with ******* again on the eve of 11-6-13, as to what was intent was to repair, it was for now move themostat and build box around whole house fan then reblow insulation to bring up to r49, then wait n see what my bills will be like next year. as of 11-9-13 have not heard from company as to when this will happen have given them more then enough time to fix the problems with no out come .So on that note I am requesting all my money be retunred and I will find another company to fix the problems

Desired Settlement: contract price for services 7025.00 and for my lost wages for when there was going to fix the problem of 1000.00 for a total of 8025.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response
We have had multiple conversations with the homeowner mentioned above. Our main concern was to address each issue listed in this complaint and come up with an efficient resolution. We feel that we have gone above and beyond to resolve this matter. Multiple repairs and upgrades have been made at the home, such as. An insulation box was built around the whole house fan, we removed the eagle shield, we blew in R60 insulation when the contract only called for R38. We also installed insulation markers(per customers request) and we analyzed his energy bills and saw a %21 decrease. After talking with the homeowner we feel that at this time the matter is resolved and no follow up is needed.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Postcard advertisement sent by this company contains blatantly false and deceptive statements that could be misleading to some consumers. Postcard advertisement received from Gallagher's Heating/Plumbing on 10-19-13 states that "our records indicate it is time for your furnace safety inspection and tune-up." I have never used this company, nor have I ever heard of them. The ad also implies the matter is urgent and has a time limit and a rebate mentioned. The ad is also labelled as a "Service Reminder". The contact person on the ad is *** *********. Phone number is 1-800-387-6223. California License #935316. This type of ad is very misleading to some consumers, is unethical for a legitimate business, and is just an outright lie and should be stopped.

Desired Settlement: I just want this company to stop their deceptive advertising.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
I Ashli, an employee for Gallagher's Plumbing, Heating and Air Conditioning have responded to the above complaint. I have had a thorough conversation with *** ******* and the situation has been resolved. I assured her it was never our intention to deceive the public, and that customer service is of upmost importance here at Gallagher's. Both parties involved feel that there is no further action needed. Thank You.

8/19/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hired them to install windows in my house. Window was defective, they are stalling on fixing it for 2+ years. A few years ago, (fewer than 5, I can't find the receipt at this moment) I hired Gallagher's to replace many of the windows in my house at **** ******* Avenue in ********* CA XXXXX. That winter, the window in the back of the house started leaking when it rained. I contacted Gallagher's, and after sending someone from the window manufacturer out to determine whether the window or the installation was defective, Gallagher's fixed the window. I don't know if they replaced the window, but they caulked around the window, fixing the problem for the time being. The next year, when the strong rain started, the window started leaking again. I contacted Gallagher's, and was told that they would look into it. After many months of calls back and forth, they finally sent someone to look at the installation. They determined that the installation was faulty. I contacted Gallagher's again and spoke to ****, who, although very nice, was ineffective in following through to resolve the problem. Call after call, I was given the run-around for over a year, and now **** won't even return my calls. I just want my window fixed! This was a HUGE expense for me; I had to take out a loan, and I have paid that loan off already and my windows STILL aren't installed correctly! What can I do?

Desired Settlement: Just fix the window installation!

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We here at Gallagher's Heating & Air Conditioning wanted to let you know we have been in constant contact with customer, we have discovered the issue of delay with manufacture that has been resolved. Customer is aware of resolution and new delivery date and is satisfied at this point.

Consumer's Final Response
I am emailing you to let you know that Gallagher's has contacted me and the lady I have been talking to (****) says that they are going to be reinstalling my window sometime in September. Should I keep in touch with you, in case they don't follow through? I am not sure how these things work, so I don't know if I should close the claim and re-open it if necessary.

8/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I talked to Gallagher's in April, May and June on phone and on line. April was to be paid only. May and June have been EFT'd incorrectly/unauthorized. Problem dates: May and June 2013 charged EFT...I was told these charges would not be taken from my account... that April was the last month I would be charged. I would have cancelled even sooner but I didn't receive a bill and they wouldn't honor my request for April but said they would stop charging me after that. This is for Gallagher's Club membership. The latest EFT was June 26, 2013 US Bank account # X XXX XXXX XXXX. REF # XXXXXXXXXXXXXXN. Purchase XXXXXXXXXX for $14.95. They owe me for two months technically, but for 3 months ethically. I believe they are scamming me.

Desired Settlement: I want three months refunded at $14.95 = $44.85, but I will accept two months at $14.95 = $29.90 as a minimum payment.

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response
I was refunded the amt for 3 months. I also notified my bank. Between the two the issue was resolved. Thanks.

8/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company failed to complete a repair that they promised as part of a $11,000 renovation of central air system. 3 years ago, our smart vent stopped working. We looked in the yellow pages and called the company and they sent out a technician. He told us our filters had not been changed often enough and the furnace could have cracks. He sold us a new furnace and heat exchanger for $11,000 and promised to repair the smart vent as part of the agreement. Looking back, I feel we were taken advantage of because they failed to fix the smart vent. We just wanted our smart vent fixed, but the technician used subtle sales tricks to get us to buy a new system without getting quotes from other companies. Now I feel we were overcharged for the units and feel we were manipulated by a company that doesn't stand by it's word. The company agreed to repair the smart vent feature of our central air system as part of the replacement of our furnace and heat exchanger. A technician attempted the repair but did not have the correct part. He took our old part promising to get the correct part and come back to repair the unit, but he never returned. Since then numerous attempts have been made by phone to get the company to make the repair. In April, the company sent a technician to look at the unit. He came and said he would look into it and call us back. He never called back. My phone call to him has not been returned. Since we have attempted numerous times to get this resolved and the company doesn't follow up, it seems the company has no interest in solving this problem, as my requests go unanswered. I am ready to take legal action, since the company claims to have excellent customer service, but has not provided any service in regard to their promise.

Desired Settlement: Either repair the smart vent as promised or pay to have another company repair the unit, if they are not capable of the repair.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I spoke with the customer several times. On Friday the 19th I let him know that I found the part and placed it on order, and will call him when it arrives. He believes that replacing this was part of our original sales contract from 2010. My records do not indicate that. I let him know that the part was on order and that he should pull his original documents and if it was part of the original sales contract we would honor that, but if it is not documented we will need to charge him for the part. I will let you know when this is completely resolved. Thanks.

6/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Continued debit charges for Shamrock Club after repeated calls to cancel service. On 3/19/2013 at 3:24 pm called left a message to cancel Shamrock Club no return call back. On 4/22/13 at 12:08 pm called again left a message to again cancel with no call back. Again on 4/24/2013 8:36 am called to cancel service with again no return call. Again on 5/21/13 7:43 am called once again left a message with no call back, I then called again on the same date at 3:18 pm and spoke to someone on the phone stating calls placed to cancel Shamrock Club was told he had no notes on my account and said I would have to send a written report to cancel as it was a contract, said I could send via email supplied me with email billing@comfortpeople.com. which I sent an email on 5/21/13 at 3:44 pm requesting to cancel Shamrock club and requesting reimbursement for March April and May debits deducted from my account $11.95 for each month. As of now 5/22/13 1:45 pm I still have not received a call from the message left on 5/21/13 or the email sent on 5/21/13.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement of the debit charges to my checking account via EFT for the charges for March, April, and May 2013 since I had called and canceled and left contact number for a return call which I never received.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We have reached out 2 times and stopped the charges (see below) but have not heard back from the customer. Just wanted to keep you updated. Thanks. -------------------------------------------------- From: **** ********* Sent: Monday, June 24, 2013 11:36 AM To: ***** ****** Subject: RE: BBB Complaint# ********* ****** ***** Hi ****** I have cancel ****** *****'s club so that there isn't any more with drawl from her account, I did call her also to let her know that I have a refund of 35.88 in to ***** I only left a message on her home #. I am now waiting for a call from her, just wanted to give you the update on her account. Hope you all are having a great day!!!!!!

Consumer's Final Response
I have called and spoke to ***** to let ******* know to mail the check. ****** R. *****

4/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After selling my home I cancelled my monthly service with the company. Six months later they began to withdraw the money again. Said it was my fault. After selling my home I cancelled my service contract to stop the auto debit from my bank account for their service. The charges ceased as I expected. Six months later they began to debit my account again. I called and ****** informs me that the reason that they began debits again is because they never received my "written" cancellation. After going back and forth with him he says he will process a refund check that I may receive in three to six weeks. I told him that they took it electronically and I insist that they refund it electronically so I would have the money immediately. He refused. The next day I get a cell phone message from *****, his superior, stating that he has a refund check for me that he will put in the mail immediately. Before I can return his call I receive notification that they have made another debit from my bank account again for the service money. I call again and neither ****** or ***** is in the office and the girl answering the phone tells me she will have Jake, the office manager, return my call. As of this time I still have not received a return call from anyone from ******'s Heating and Air. (Or a refund in the manner that I have demanded.) Their negligence has made those monies unavailable to me for payment of other necessary items of living expenses.

Desired Settlement: I am demanding that the company first of all cease and desist from making any further debits from my bank account as I have previously cancelled my contract with them. Also I am demanding that they electronically refund my money in the same manner that they took it. I should not be required to be without the money that they have no right to take in the first place.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I have spoken to ****** ****** and we have resolved the matter to his satisfaction. It turns out that the contract had never been cancelled and the reason for the sporadic charges was do to the card failing. The contract has now been cancelled and we were able to return this months charges back via EFT and sent a check for the other charge in January. We have mailed him all corresponding documentation.

10/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was mislead and feel manipulated. ******'s has left us with worse than when we started. On 8/11/12 ******'s sent out ***** ***** to find out why our air conditioner wasn't cooling. Diagnosis was we were low on freon and needed a cap replaced. ***** filled us with 2lbs of freon and new cap, it came to $267. After that the A/C still was not cooling and I could hear a hissing/spraying sound coming from the outdoor unit. I called ******'s, they were happy to send ***** back. 8/13/12 ***** came and said he had over filled the freon, he removed at least a half of a pound. We assumed that it was now fixed and ***** left. The A/C still wouldn't cool. I called ******'s that day, they said they would send ***** right back out. ***** did not make it back on the 13th, but he had left a message stateing that he would return first thing on the 14th. He did not show up or call on the 14th. I called ******'s that evening, they would send ***** on the 15th. On 8/15/12 ***** came and diagnosed the problem as a broken TXV piece. He did not know the cost of the part nor the time frame it would take to get it. On 8/23/12 ******'s dispatch center called to see if ***** could come put in our broken piece, I asked the young lady, ******, how much the piece would be. She did not know and said ***** would be able to tell me when he got here. I did state to ****** that I was worried about cost and that I couldn't have a part put in and be charged afterwards if it was out of my price. range. ****** said that wouldn't be a problem at all. When ***** arrived my husband was available to discuss what needed to take place and the costs involved. T In the afternoon when the job was complete ***** presented me with a bill for $538. I asked ***** if he had shown that $ amount to my husband and beten cleared to proceed. He said yes, but that my husband had to go to work. I wasn't prepared to pay that much so I had to borrow $ so I could right him a check. Th A/C still was not cooling. When I spoke to my husband as soon as he got home he said ***** never received his approval nor was he ever shown a $ amount. Still no A/C, $805 poorer, and I felt like ***** forced us to buy a part we couldn't afford, apparently didn't need, and lied to cover his mistake. My husband and I requested that Galagher's come remove their part and put our A/C back together. On 8/30/12 ***** removed the new TXV kit, but was unable to fully put our unit back together. So we have an unfunctional A/C unit know, that was never properly diagnosed and ******'s still got $267.

Desired Settlement: I want to have $267 and a A/C unit that is exactly how they found it on 8/11/12 or an equivalent to.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******** - Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX x217 Contact Email: *****@comfortpeople.com When we originally saw the ******* their system was inoperable. With the replacement of a capacitor (cap) the system started up again. We also added 2 pounds of refrigerant to improve its cooling ability. When we left the system was finally running and cooling effectively. We did have repeated visits after this due to poor cooling which is very typical of a failing txv. These types of failures cause intermittent issues and are certainly one of the hardest diagnoses in this industry. After repeated visits at no charge ****** did come to this conclusion and determined that the old piston driven txv was dying. He let them know that we were unsure of being able to find a suitable replacement for such an old part but that we would check with all our suppliers. Afterwards Mr. ****** called in and spoke with me about the cost of this replacement. I advised him that we were unsure at the moment because we didn't know if we could find one but that they typically cost $710 or a Level 7 in our pricing guide and ****** would share the actual cost with him if he is able to locate one. ****** was able to locate a compatible one and replaced it as a Level 6 at $538. A few days later Mr. ****** called in and spoke with me again. He let me know that the system wasn't working and he was done with ******'s. We spoke for a while and my understanding was that he wanted the txv removed and he would be having another company work on the unit. I did let him know that by removing this particular part the system would not run. I was sure to clarify this and the potential results because it sounded like a bad idea to me. I felt that we were in agreement that by removing this part and refunding the charges for it he would be satisfied and would have someone else come out to work on his system. When discussing the refund for the txv we did go over all charges up to this point and I thought we were in agreement that this initial repair of $267 for a capacitor and refrigerant that got the system to turn back on again was indeed needed regardless of which company would be working on the system in the future. If the ******* are unhappy with this repair now we will gladly return the $267 and let them retain the replacement parts.

8/27/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told that my hot water heater was in violation of code, was leaking and too old. To correct the code violation I needed to move it outside. ***** ******* did an agreed to plumbing/hot water heater etc. inspection. I was given an estimate to replace the hot water heater due to code violations and was told it was leaking and too old and needed to be replaced. I was also told that I needed to have my toilets replaced. I had a plumbing issue that weren't even addressed that I told them about and they didn't even take care of. The invoice I received was not itemized and included reference to costs for a building permit that at the time hadn't been issued or approved by the county. I asked several times for a fully itemized invoice to include actual time and materials spent on the work done at my home. I have never received them. My daughter and I met with ***** ******* to go over the details of the invoice. After almost an hour of discussion my daughter was not satisfied with the progression of the discussion, excused herself from the room to call my other daughter and while she was out ***** mislead me about signing off on the work as accepted. When my daughter returned she told ***** that we would have to delay any further discussion until the end of the month. ***** informed her that he had already gotten me to sign off on the paperwork so what did he need to do to make her happy. I am 77 years old and was taken advantage of, believing that I was in violation of a building code I agreed to have the work done and was coerced into signing off on the final without the knowledge of what I was signing. My daughter has filed a complaint with the Contractor's License Board.

Desired Settlement: I agree that work was done, but I was mislead into believing that I HAD to move the hot water heater. This was false information. I agree that I owe the company some compensation but the amount is way more than necessary. I would agree to pay half of what was charged.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The consumer asked for the hot water heater to be moved outside because she was it had leaked 8 or so years prior and done some damage and was leaking again. She was afraid that it might happen again in the future. Regarding the price; I have spoke to the son and daughter of Ms ****** to negotiate that. I have not heard back from them and would be more than happy to pick up our conversation where we left off.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My mother, ****** ******, DID NOT ask to have the water heater moved and she DID NOT say it was leaking. The salesman talked her into letting him check out her hot water heater, plumbing etc. and told her she was in violation of some building code, that he couldn't even cite, and that it was leaking and HAD to be moved OUTSIDE the house in order to comply. ******'s salesman took advantage of an elderly woman who trusted the inspection he had performed on her home. My brother has been talking with ****** at ******'s to get to an agreement as to what we will pay. ******'s has processed the loan paperwork for the work on my mother's home. What is our next step?

Business' Final Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Controller Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@comfortpeople.com I regret that your experience with our company has been unsatifactory and that the communication was confusing. Our primary objective is to service our customers needs and desires. With this objective in mind, we did quite a bit of work at Ms. ******'s home. I spoke with Ms. ******'s son in June and he indicated to me that he was unwilling to pay for the enclosure that was built but was willing to pay for the water heater. I agreed and let him know that our normal rate for that water heater was $2,000. He was surprised by that and said he would need to think about it. I asked him to call me back the following week. I have not heard from him since then. I am still willing to resolve this conflict by only charging for the water heater. Let it be known that we did not make any profit on this job and that the money that I would be refunding would come out of pocket. I await your response.

3/19/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/28/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues