BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Beutler Corporation?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Beutler Corporation

Additional Locations

Phone: (916) 646-2700 Fax: (916) 646-2718 PO Box 515015, Sacramento, CA 95851 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.beutlercorp.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Beutler Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Beutler Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Beutler Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 29, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1947 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1947 Business incorporated: 04/02/1956 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 162634.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rick Wylie, President Mr. Scott Sahota, Vice President of Construction Mr. Scot Williams, CFO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Scott Sahota, Vice President of Construction
Principal: Mr. Rick Wylie, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Engineering Contractors - General Fire Protection Contractor Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Security Control Equipment & System Monitors Solar Energy System Design & Installation Contractor - Low Voltage Systems Contractors - Flooring Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Contractor - Home Performance Contractor - Electrical Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Roofing Contractors

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Additional Locations

  • 4700 Lang Ave.

    McClellan, CA 95652

  • PO Box 515015

    Sacramento, CA 95851

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Soon after we moved into our new ****** home in Visalia Ca, we started having issues with the air conditioning unit, for some reason the house was not cooling properly. We called the beutler corporation since our unit is still under warranty informing them of the issue and they were "kind" enough to schedule a technician to arrive to our house in approximately one week. When the technician arrived to inspect our issue, he stated that a faulty "TXC" had to be changed out and that once the part was on order, it would take another week for the part to arrive and to be installed. After another week of waiting in 100+ degree heat, a new technician arrived and installed the faulty part, which was pretty uneventful, until he informed us that the dual zone system, the system that controls the upstairs air, and an option we had initially paid for, was not installed in the home and in addition the "flute pipes" on the heater side of the system were broken beyond repair. He agreed to install the dual system option and proceeded to order the new "flute pipes" and once again scheduled another appointment to have them changed. Well during our wait for the "flute pipes" replacement, we noticed the home was still not cooling. We called beutler once again and they informed us it was another faulty "TXC." Well, once again we had to wait another week for this part to be replaced, leaving us now three weeks without adequate air conditioning in 100+ degree weather. When the technician arrived to replace the second "TXC" he informed us that it wasn't the "TXC," but a "coil" that was freezing and had to be replaced. Once, again they had to call and place this part on order, with another long wait to get this part installed. Beutler service is sub-standard by far, after asking our neighbors if they were experiencing the same problems we found out that they too didn't have their dual zone system installed in their new home.

Desired Settlement: Beutler has been deceiving their customers by charging for systems that were never installed in the home. Me not being a air conditioning expert, I am worried that there may be other issues with the system. Issues that I might not be aware of. I would like a complete refund for my unit, a complete upgrade to a bigger unit or both. This issue is unsatisfactory! It has been over three weeks and we are still living in a warm home. The home is almost unlivable. Please help.

Business Response:

We contacted the homeowner ***** ******** at **** * ***** ** and made an appointment to do a site visit at no charge.  Once we arrived in the home, we repaired the zoning system and inspected the entire HVAC system to make sure it was functioning properly. 

We reviewed our records for all homes within this subdivision and found that this specific lot was loaded incorrectly in our job accounting system and the zoning option was not visible to the service technician at system start upWe found that no other options were missed in any other lots and have put a process in place to ensure this will not occur again.  We apologized to the customer for any inconveniences and assured them it is not our policy to sell options without completing the installation.  The customer seemed satisfied with our response.

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spent $9.000.00 on a new heating and air conditioning unit in May of 2012. In July of 2013 the condensor broke and had to be repaired. I had to fight for it to be fixed free of charge because I was one month past my warranty. One year later, July 14, 2014 we have the SAME problem and I was told it would be 3 weeks for a technician to come out.

Desired Settlement: I would like prompt service to have it repaired or replaced. I am wondering if it is a bad unit or if there was a problem with the installation. This should not have broken twice in two years.

Business Response:

We apologize for the difficulties the ******* Residence has experienced.  In order to clearly address this complaint, it should be noted that Beutler ARS Air Conditioning and Plumbing was the company that was contacted, not Beutler Corporation.  In 2010 Beutler Corporation sold their Retail Services Department to Beutler ARS Air Conditioning and Plumbing, and is no longer performing any service on homes out of their original 1 year warranty period.   ***** ******, V.P. of Beutler Corporation, contacted Beutler ARS Air Conditioning and Plumbing and asked that their management team to respond to this complaint.

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2008 we purchased a brand new home with what we thought was brand new products. I remember doing the walk-thru of the home before we signed all paperwork and they told us the AC had probably not been set to cool therefore that was why the house was a little hot. 1 year later we started having issues with the AC. Since the home was still under warranty the builders (Ranchwood Homes) came out and fixed it at no charge all covered under warranty. When asked what it was they told us that freon was leaking and therefore no cold air was being released. They informed us it was taken care of and we should have no more issues. The following year we had the same issues but this year we had to cover the expenses since house was out of warranty. When we asked what was the issue with the AC this time was they told us that there was another crack and the freon leaked again therefore no cold air was coming out. This was 2 years in a row. The 3rd summer again issues with the AC this time no freon again, and the whole motor went out and had to be replaced. We ran the risk of the house burning down the AC technican told us. At this time we have spent close to $3000.00+ with freon refills and now the motor and other repairs. This summer we are having issues again but this time we have to replace the coil and refill of freon. I thought that with the purchase of brand new homes we would be getting new home products which has not been the casein our home. I see no reason to be going though this with if the AC was new. I know AC's should be replaced but not this soon.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get a refund of all the work that has been done. It doesn't seem right that a new AC would be having so many issues when it should be new. And this has been a yearly issue. We are now in 2014 and this year I have been with no AC because I am getting to the point where I can no longer afford doing all the work needed.

Business Response: We have scheduled an appointment on 7/16/14 to inspect the issue and make a determination as to whether this is a field installation issue or a manufacturer's issue.  We will be providing the homeowner temporary cooling and providing this inspection at no charge.  We will make a final decision based on the inspection results.

2/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The City of Sacramento code enforcement department conducted a routine inspection of my property and informed me that the permit no. ******* which they ordered from the City of Sacramento for the installation of a new Heating and Air Conditioning unit in 2006 was not inspected and signed off. The code enforcement is requiring that this error be solved by January 29, 2014. I began contacting Beutler to have them correct this error on December 17, 2013. In the course of me trying to resolve this matter, I spoke with or attempted to speak with a list of people, including voice mails messages left for them, only to not be given a return courtesy call in some instances, incorrect/false information or blatant lack of concern. As mentioned from 12/17/2013 to last week, practically one month later I have no results to correct this matter. I feel as though I was given the run around and customers do not matter, this is the order of the contacts, *****, ******, ******'s voicemail, *****, *******, *****, *****, vm left for *** ******,who I was told was the CEO, which he is not, no call back, ******, ******, vm for CEO **** *****, **** *****, **** and lastly *****. I then received an email from ***** ********** on January 14, 2014 that made it clear that they (Beutler) were not going to take action and that the entire matter was to be resolved by me, the owner.My desired resolution will be restitution for all contracted costs incurred by me in resolving the permit matter outside of Beutlers participation, including but not limited to Permit costs, retrofit costs to bring the unit to current code as mentioned in Mr. **********s email, and any charges from City Code Enforcement inspection(s) and fines as well as any compensation for lost rents should this result in a habitability or otherclaim from Code Enforcement that affects the rentability of the property resulting from a delay caused by Buetlers slow response and refusal to correct their error.

Desired Settlement: My desired resolution will be restitution for all contracted costs incurred by me in resolving the permit matter outside of Beutlers participation, including but not limited to Permit costs, retrofit costs to bring the unit to current code as mentioned in Mr. **********s email, and any charges from City Code Enforcement inspection(s) and fines as well as any compensation for lost rents should this result in a habitability or otherclaim from Code Enforcement that affects the rentability of the property resulting from a delay caused by Buetlers slow response and refusal to correct their error.

Business Response: ***** has reached a satisfactory resolution with ******* *****, we have sent out a reimbursement check as requested.

9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repairs completed by Beutler have led to damaging my home and one employee accused us of sabotaging their repairs. My new construction home is under warranty through *********** Homes. They contract with Beutler Heating and Air Conditioning to service homes in our community. As of today, 9/3/2013 Beutler will be coming to my home to attempt to repair our primary condensation drain line on our HVAC system for the third time. The original repair was inferior and broke (repair was made on 7/3/2013). This led to the flooding of part of my attic and caused water damage on my ceiling on 7/18/2013 (which is being repaired by *********** Homes). When the repairmen came for the second repair, one of them implied that I and/or my husband had sabotaged the previous repair. In speaking with the company today, they refused to work with my schedule and treat the problem with my HVAC, which renders my air conditioner inoperable, as an emergency and will not come to fix it until late today. This is in spite of their multiple mistakes, the fact that I have a small child in the home, and the fact that the weather will be very warm, causing my house to heat up rapidly.

Desired Settlement: I would like potential customers to be aware of the problems with Beutler's inferior repairs and lack of professionalism. Also, I would like a guarantee from the company that any future HVAC emergencies will be treated as the highest priority and handled in the morning repair time block (8am-12pm).

Business Response: Initial Business Response
I contacted Mrs. ********** on 09/11/13 and spoke to her regarding her complaints against us. I feel that her concerns of our inferior repairs and lack of professionalism have been resolved. I explained we will honor our workmanship and we agreed there was a miscommunication regarding the modified (sabotaged) repair.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have no issue with Beutler's same day/next day service for standard calls. However, when the reason for my emergency repair is inferior and inadequate repairs done by their employees, multiple times, I believe they should work harder to rectify their mistakes by being more flexible in their scheduling.

Final Business Response
Our warranty commitment is "Same Day/Next Day Service Appointments" for Homeowners/Builders who are covered within Beutler Corporation's new home warranty period. A call reporting "no service" prior to 12:00pm will be scheduled for dispatch within the same day and call in reporting "no service" after 12:00pm will be scheduled for dispatch the next business day. Appointment confirmation calls are made each afternoon to customers who were scheduled for next day service. If a service request arises after that time, we will still provide next day service, with the exception of a water intrusion issue which will be scheduled the same day, but may be unable to commit to a specific time-frame due to prior appointment commitments. We endeavor to satisfy all warranty service needs and honor customer time frame requests to the best of our ability. If weekday timeframes are impossible for our customer, we are able to occasionally offer weekend scheduling.

8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Beutler AC workers replaced the part (Dual Zone AC Board) with substandard part which did not work and billed and paid for the original part. Beutler Air condition workers came out to our house on 6/25/13 and replaced Honeywell mini zone dual zone board (MC EMM-3) with a sub-standard part but told us that they replaced with the original part and received full payment. The air condition unit failed to work that day due to the wrong dual zone board later that day. We called that day to beutler and inform them of the problem and also let them know that the job should be place in a priority status due to my 14 years old daughter who is suffering from Asthma but they did not call until next day (Wed 6/26). They finally sent a worker out on 6/27 (Thursday). The worker immediately realized the zone board is not working and told my wife that he needs to order the correct part but he will rewired the system so our AC will work and left the house. When I came home that day the furnace was blowing hot air instead of cool air and I noticed that the air condition unit is not running. I immediately called the Beutler to notify them of this problem again but so far no-one from Beutler has contacted us as of today 6/28/13. Mean while we had to contact another AC company (*** ********** in *******) during this time due to my daughter's condition to had a diagnostic job for our AC unit which revealed that the AC unit is working fine but dual zone panel that they (Beutler) replaced is not comparable with our AC system. The *** AC system worker did not touch the dual zone panel due to the work warranty but my wife showed him the original work order from Beutler and our old dual zone board he informed my wife that the zone board that they installed is not the original part and it will not work with our AC system.

Desired Settlement: We are only requesting our AC unit and dual zone board which we have already paid for will be repaired with the original part and send someone with good moral standard and better technician (since its the third time) to repair our AC system as soon as possible please. Thank you. ******* ****

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
On 6/25/13 Beutler Corporation responded to a request, as a courtesy since the warranty had expired in August 2005, to determine if there was an installation issue regarding the Dual Zone Board. We repaired the system and replaced the existing Honeywell zone board with a ZTE Brand zone board and charged the homeowner the replacement fee. On 6/27/13, we responded to a call for no cooling and determined the ZTE zone board was not effective and scheduled a return visit for the next day to replace it, no fee was charged. On 6/28/13 we returned and replaced the ZTE zone board with an original Honeywell zone board and confirmed the system was operating correctly, no fee was charged. The homeowner called again to report no cooling and we returned on 7/10/13, no issues were found, system was operating correctly, no fee was charged. We have returned the system to normal operating standards and the homeowner is still not satisfied.

1/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Beutler install a heat and air unit on 5-19-07. I got the maintance service. My warranty was up 5-19-12. On X-XX-XX when a tech came out to do a service I told him that there was water behind my filter. He told me that I probably used my air to much and condensation built up. Then my rug started becoming wet. On X-XX-XX a tech came out and tried to unplug a drain. I filed a homeowners claim to take care of my rug. I had a $500.00 deduction with my homeowners. On X-XX-XX I called the service center again because my air was putting out warm air. A tech came out and said there was a pin hole in the line and it would be less expense to just fill it with refrigerant every few years. On X-XX-XX my air quit. A tech came out and said the blower motor went out because there was water dripping on it. **** the field supervisor called and told me sorry there is nothing we can do. I told him I felt it was installed wrong. I wanted someone to come out and check it from Beutler. On X-XX-XX **** called me back and said he was sorry put ther was still nothing they can do. I needed my air. So I called Imperial Heat and Air to come out and give me a second opinion. He told me both the coil and the furnace were leaning backwards and to the right, about an inch and a half. Due to the system being out of level, the coil had been leaking water over the internal drip pan and not out of the primary drain line on the front left side of the coil. I had Imperial install a new unit. I needed my air because I have lung problems. Beutler refuses to take responsabity. There was alot of rust on the unit Beutler put in and it had to have been leaking a long time.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like Beutler pay for my new unit and my deductable on my homeowners. The unit was $2800.00 and the deductable was $500.00. So a total of $3200.00.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Case has been resolved,sent consumer a refund with a signed release.

Consumer's Final Response
Beutler gave me a check for $3300.00. So the case has been settled. I signed a release. Todays date 1-21-13. Thank you ****** ******

10/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AC stopped working, this is the 10th it's broken in 6 years. They equipment used is very low quality. I need them to give me a working system. I moved into a ********* home 6 years ago that had a beutler system. The system has been plagued with problems since day one. Smart vent didn't work , then the dual zone didn't work, then Discovered that they did not properly install the ventation ducts. System was repaired after a great deal of arguing with customer service. Then my system broke again and I have finally had it. AC units don't have this many problems , this is an example of faulty equipment. The dual Zone has broken for the 5th time. I need a reliable system installed in my house.

Desired Settlement: I would like a new air conditioning unit and dual Zone installed in my house. It is unacceptable that the system keeps breaking down .

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I will review and make a determination on the approperate actions.The message re: The complaint was transfered from Beutler ARS as the issue is regarding services provided by them, is confusing.

Consumer's Final Response
I just wanted to let you know that this company has contacted me and has begun working on resolving these issues with my AC unit. At this time, I DO NOT consider this matter closed, but they are working to resolve the problems at the time. I will let you know once everything is cleared.

7/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have had a faulty Beutler heating and air system since we moved into our Elliott home six years ago.Every year has been serviced and still not func Every year a different repair man has been out to service it, with a different excuse. They have rerouted air ducts, cleaned air ducts, filled frion unit, checked and rechecked to make sure there are no leaks. I had *************** to come and said the unit is too small for the house, not sufficient to cool down. They also found a leak in frion. I had to pay them $150. I had also purchased the Confort Club for $500, nothing was repaired or replaced.

Desired Settlement: I would like repair and/or replacement of unit.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response Contact Name and Title: Eugene ****** Contact Email: *****@beutlercorp.com I am scheduled to review the complaint at the customers home today 6/5/2012. I scheduled this appointment over a week ago on this date at the homeowners request. I will provide more information once my service tech has evaluated the homeowners issues.

1/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service