BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bell Brother's Heating and Air, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bell Brother's Heating and Air, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Bell Brother's Heating and Air, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 30, 2000 Business started: 06/01/1991 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1992 Business incorporated: 04/04/1995 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jerry Bell, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerry Bell, President
Customer Contact: Mrs. Lauren Edvalson, Director of Marketing
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
Bell Brothers Heating & Air
Products & Services

Bell Brother's Heating and Air, Inc. specializes in heating and air conditioning for residential and commercial consumers.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bell Brother's Heating and Air, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10555 Norden Ave

    Mather, CA 95655

  • 1254 Dupont Road

    Manteca, CA 95336 (209) 234-4321

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on june 9 2014 a bell bros technician came to my residence to perform a summer inspection and tuneup on my airconditioning unit. when the technician left he assured me that everything looked in good shape and all in good shape. the next day i noticed water dripping from the ceiling ofthe bathroom directly below the attic unit. i called bell bros and was told someone would call meback shortly. tha was wednesday, june 11. i have yet to receive a return phone call to at leastto assess the validity of my concerns. there was no problem with leakage before the technician'svisit.mymy unit is only 6yrs old.

Desired Settlement: all i ask of bell brothers is to come out to see what happened. ihave no heating and air skillsso i do not know what to look for.

Consumer Response: Company came out and resolved the issue.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 20, 2014 my husband called Bell Brothers out for a service repair call on our heating that was not heating. On January 21, 2014 the Technician ***** came out to look at our unit. He stated that the unit came on and he did a safety inspection which he found to have two broken eyelets and two cracked chambers. He quoted us $1200 to repair and $4597 to replace. He set up a second opinion at that time for another Bell Brothers Technician. ** ***** came out for the second opinion and confirmed breach on heat exchanger and eyelet on bottom of chamber missing or cracked. He said the system is working but did not advise to use. He called my husband and said that we need to replace the furnace and it is a safety hazard to run it. On January 22, 2014 We called out another licensed HVAC company to check the furnace since we do not have a lot of funds to replace the unit. He reviewed Bell Brothers paperwork looked at the furnace and did not see any cracks at all. He stated the furnace is working correctly. I asked him to double check he went up and checked again and stated that he is in the business of making money but he does not charge people for something they do not need.

Desired Settlement: I would request my $49.95 Service Fee refunded and our Club Membership Agreement with Bell Brothers Terminated immediatley.

Business Response: Home owner ****** ******** was originally concerned that we found a possible breach in her heat exchanger which is an item in her furnace. After having another technician from another company look at the claimed damaged item (breach in heat exchanger) he reported that he could not locate the breach. I called homeowner (****** ********) and let her know that the level of training that our technicians receive here at Bell Brothers supersedes other contractors in the area therefore we are better equipped to locate such damages such as possible breaches in heat exchangers. Our Guarantee here at Bell Brothers is that if we claim there is a breach in a heat exchanger and other technician from another company can prove it does not exist we will buy and install a new furnace for that homeowner at no cost to the homeowner. ****** loves that guarantee and is currently locating the original technician that claimed there is no breach.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/30/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been receiving the amount of $42.00 from Feb of 2012. I do not owe any amount to this company ****** Bros. Heating & Air Conditioning. In Feb/2012 I did called but my smud and Pgne service was not on so I was not given any service and they started billing me ever since than for amount of $42.00.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Not applicable Stop billing me the amount $42.00. There was no service given to me because the smud/pgne service was not on and they couldnt service AC. This is a bad customer service falsely sending a bill and no service done since there was no electricity or gas on.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We came to the clients address at their request to perform a furnace tuneup. We performed the furnace tuneup, checked and cleaned all components and noticed a bad capacitor. However, the client did not have gas at the time so we could not test run the system. We informed the client we would return at no charge to test run the system when the gas was restored. The client refused to pay for the tuneup or sign the invoice. We have not heard back from the client in this matter. We will at this time adjust off the balance in good faith.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/28/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/25/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/20/2011 Problems with Product/Service