BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J & G Gunsmithing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for J & G Gunsmithing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on J & G Gunsmithing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 10, 1994 Business started: 05/09/2001 Business started locally: 05/09/2001 Business incorporated: 05/09/2001 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

ALCOHOL, TOBACCO & FIREARMS (FEDERAL)
801 K St, Sacramento CA 95814
Phone Number: (916) 498-5100

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jerry Pryde, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerry Pryde, Owner
Business Category

Guns & Gunsmiths Sports & Recreation

Alternate Business Names
J and G Gunsmithing

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 786-9200(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They can not find Marlin rifle that was left there on consignment,nor could any paperwork be found, was never sent compensation for said item. Help finding two rifles on consignment in your store. Put in 2 weapons on 10/15/2008 when moving overseas, called about a year later to check on them was told that I should have checked weekly as I would have to pick up any sales check, sounded odd? Then I had a change of address faxed it in on 11/17/2009, called again when I came back to US the following year 2010 and was told that the addresses were not updated ? Called again in october 2011 to see if weapons were sold and was told that the 22 standard was there but the marlin 30/30 was not on the self and no paperwork was found! The man ( should have got his name ) told me he would email me about the situation, that did not happen. So Iam back in the us for a while and would like to know if they were sold or what, never received any compensation, I can email you copies of my receipts via my other email. Pls check this out and let me know as I am in and out of the US often. Thanks for your help look forward to hearing from you. ******* ****** ******, also I now have a new address **** N ***** Street ********** ** XXXXX-XXXX 10/10/2013 sent to J and G Gunsmithing

Desired Settlement: Simply want communication on the whereabouts of the rifles and if they can not be located a monetary payment of $100 for the Marlin and $50 for the 22lr semi auto standard as my consignment agreement indicates. Thank you.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Company states that they were able to locate the paperwork and that the customer had moved a few times and this was a problem for them to locate the information. The company states that they have sent the customer $337.50 which is the amount owed to resolve the complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service