Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of TCK United Furniture Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

TCK United Furniture Inc

Phone: (209) 478-3027 Fax: (209) 478-1384 904 E Hammer Ln, Stockton, CA 95210 http://www.unitedfurniturestockton.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that TCK United Furniture Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for TCK United Furniture Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on TCK United Furniture Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 25, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1994 Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated: 01/01/1998 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Home Furnishings and Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct Ste D, Sacramento CA 95834
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
homeproducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 135708.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tom Mai, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Mai, Owner
Business Category

Furniture - Retail

Alternate Business Names
United Furniture
Products & Services

TCK United Furniture, Inc. specializes in bedroom, living room, and dining room furnishings.


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ON 1-6-15 I BOUGHT A COUCH & CHAIR FROM **** ** @ UNITED FURNITURE FOR $1375 INCLUDING TAX & DELIVERY TO MY MOBILE HOME IN LODI,CA. THE DELIVERY MEN DROPPED THE CHAIR OFF IN FRONT OF MY REFRIGERATOR & SAID REMOVING OLD FURNITURE WAS AN EXTRA $30, AS I AM A 79 YR. OLD WIDOW, THEY HAD ME @ THEIR MERCY, SO I PAID THE RANSOM. THEY HAD TO MOVE THE 2 ITEMS ABOUT 40FT. & IT TOOK LESS THAN 5 MIN.& AT THAT RATE, THEY CHARGED ME $360/HR. THIS WAS OUTRAGOUS. **** ** KNEW I WAS UNABLE TO CLEAN OUT THE OLD FURNITURE MYSELF & THE LEAST HE COULD HAVE DONE WAS TO LET ME KNOW THERE WOULD BE ADDITIONAL CHARGES, YET HE REMAINED SILENT. I THINK THIS WAS VERY UNETHICAL & FEEL UNITED FURNITURE WAS NOT UPFRONT OR OPEN ABOUT MY PURCHASE. *******

Desired Settlement: $30 AND AN APOLOGY FROM **** ** AND UNITED FURNITURE

Business Response: To whom it may concern,
Let me start by apologizing for your experience with our delivery men.
We at our location do NOT offer or in any way advertise rearrangement, removal or disposal of current furniture.
At the bottom of our receipts we state our store policy which clearly states this.

There are times when the delivery men will move furniture at a customers home, however that is arranged between the customer and service men at the time of delivery.
That is solely an arrangement between the 2 parties at that time for whatever fee that is agreed upon them.
We at our store have nothing to do with that agreement.

I'm sorry again this information was not communicated to you, however this is stated in our store policy at the bottom of your receipt which requires a signature from the consumer in every purchase we make.

Thank you,

United Furniture
?

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:      ON 1-15-2015 I FILED A COMPLAINT AGAINST UNITED FURNITURE STORE, ASKING FOR AN APOLOGY @ RETURN OF $30 THE DELIVERY MEN COLLECTED FROM ME WHILE UNDER DURESS.  I RECEIVED THE APOLOGY ON 2-10-2015, BUT NO $30, AS THEY CLAIMED THE $30 EXTRA WAS UP TO THE DELIVERY MEN.  
 
    1.  ON 1-6-15 I PAID $1375, INCLUDING SALES TAX & DELIVERY TO MY HOME, FOR A COUCH & RECLINER, TO BE DELIVERED ON 1-8-15.                                                
    2.  THE DELIVERY MEN DUMPED THE CHAIR IN FRONT OF MY REFER, & SAID THEY WANTED $30 TO TAKE MY OLD COUCH & CHAIR ABOUT 40 FEET OUT TO MY CARPORT.  THIS TOOK LESS THAN 5 MINUTES AND AT THAT OUTRAGEOUS RATE,  WOULD BE OVER $360/HOUR.  THEY HAD ME OVER A BARREL, SO I PAID THE $30.                                                              
    3.   THE FINE PRINT IN MY CONTRACT OR THE SMALL SIGN IN THE OFFICE, POINTING OUT THAT THEY DID NOT INCLUDE HANDLING OF OLD FURNITURE, WAS NOT POINTED OUT BY SALESMAN **** **, ESPECIALLY WHEN HE KNEW I WAS AN ELDERLY WIDOW.
    4.   THIS IS A FAIRLY MINOR MATTER, BUT I FEEL **** ** & UNITED FURNITURE WERE VERY UNETHICAL IN HANDLING THIS PROBLEM.


                    IF UNITED DOES NOT REIMBURSE ME WITHIN 14 DAYS, I WANT YOU TO PUBLISH MY 1-15-15 COMPLAINT ALONG WITH THIS RESPONSE.

                                                                                      ******* * ******


                    





















































































                                                               

2/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: in 2010 I bought a three piece sectional sofa set plus the ottoman. Since 2011 we have taken the ottoman back for repairs three times, had a service man out to our house two or three times to add pieces of wood to the main part of the sectional that he says were left out when it was made. He also had to adjust springs, and staple back together the largest part of the sectional that has since came undone again and has exposed staples that are sharp we also have had the cushions replaced because after only a few months most of them were very flat since the first problem we tried to get a refund but they refused even though we purchased the five year warranty. and since the last time we had the ottoman repaired in 2013 it has sunk in again just like every other time and although the new cushions are ok we still sink too low when sitting down.

Desired Settlement: full refund

Business Response:

Under the store policy which is stated in the bottom portion of every receipt we can exchange or refund the purchase within 3 days. These items were purchased in March of 2010. We cover parts and labor for the first year per the manufactures warranty, which I believe we did for this consumer. Mr. ********** did indeed purchase the extended warranty thru MFS. We have reprinted a copy of that information and mailed out the copy for him to read over what his extended warranty entitles and where to call. After the first year all complains go thru the extended warranty.

 

Thank you

United Furniture

Business Response:

Under the store policy which is stated in the bottom portion of every receipt we can exchange or refund the purchase within 3 days. These items were purchased in March of 2010. We cover parts and labor for the first year per the manufactures warranty, which I believe we did for this consumer. Mr. ********** did indeed purchase the extended warranty thru MFS. We have reprinted a copy of that information and mailed out the copy for him to read over what his extended warranty entitles and where to call. After the first year all complains go thru the extended warranty.

 

Thank you

United Furniture

7/23/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased furniture with a 5 year protection plan, after 2 years we had a problem and were told there was nothing they could do. We purchased our leather blend furniture in Feb. 2010. We noticed that our furniture was peeling,bubbling and cracking and that the finish was actually lifting in May 2012. We contacted the protection plan "MFS" as soon as we noticed the problem and were told that these problems were not covered. We called United Furniture and were told the same thing. We paid 199.00 for a service contract that states these exact problems would be addressed if they occurred.

Desired Settlement: Our protection plan states if it can't be repaired to our satisfaction it will be replaced. They haven't even tried to repair it.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response The protection plan purchased by the consumer is a coverage for unintentional and accidental damage of stains, puctures, rips or burns. The warranty doesn not cover peeling or cracking of bycast, bonded leather or leather. This is not considered a manufacture defect or accidental damage. Bonded leather as well as leather needs to be in an area where it can breathe and be conditioned once a year to prevent from cracking or peeling.

Consumer's Final Response (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We have a brochure from Montage stating exactly what its covers and the damage we discussed with them is listed as one of the covered conditions.

Business' Final Response Company states (JLS): We have looked into this matter from both Montage Furniture Services and Ashley Furniture. Ashley only has one year of warranty which is no longer in affect, Montage covers 5 years however it does not cover peeling or cracking of leather or bi-cast. Unfortunately, there is very little that we can do to help in this matter. Attached is the description of what the warranty covers and what is not covered. We can refer the customer to a furniture repair center. If any additional information is needed please contact me at the store phone number.