Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Evans' Furniture Galleries

Additional Locations

Phone: (530) 821-0192 379 Epley Dr, Yuba City, CA 95991 http://www.evans-furniture.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Evans' Furniture Galleries meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Evans' Furniture Galleries include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Evans' Furniture Galleries
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 20, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1966 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1966 Business incorporated 03/28/1984 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Home Furnishings and Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct Ste D, Sacramento CA 95834
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
homeproducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 85832.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ed Garcia, GM Mr. Chris Swinney, Owner Mr. Harry Swinney, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ed Garcia, GM
Customer Contact: Mr. Harry Swinney, CEO
Business Category

Furniture - Retail

Alternate Business Names
C & A Swinney, Inc.
Products & Services

Evans' Furniture Galleries sells new home furnishings.


Additional Locations

  • 1345 Churn Creek Rd

    Redding, CA 96003 (530) 222-9300

  • 2101 Dr Martin Luther King Junior Pkwy

    Chico, CA 95928 (530) 895-3000

  • 379 Epley Dr

    Yuba City, CA 95991 (530) 821-0192

  • 734 W Onstott Rd

    Yuba City, CA 95991 (530) 673-2745

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: bought and paid for couches and bought very expensive warranty and they wont honor warranty have sold out work to separate companies who wont fallow through on getting work we paid for done.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund if not on the entire purchase due to the fact that we choose to purchase from this company primarily because of the warranty that we are not getting.

Business Response: ******* is a 3-rd party accident insurance policy offered by Evans Furniture, that our customers may elect, at time of purchase, to add to their sale, covering the new furniture they are purchasing.
*******'s purpose is to provide peace of mind and security that, if by accident, any damage or loss of use is caused by the end user of the furniture, *******, will, at their expense & discretion, repair, replace, or credit a partial refund, and in some cases a full refund.
All of this is outlined in their policy of 'Covered Accidents' and 'Non-Covered Accidents', all of which have time limits as to how promptly a claim must be made following any covered incident.

Although the process of making a claim is direct between the insured and *******, ******* has allowed us information on this particular incident.

As Evans' understands, ******* made arrangements with customer to inspect claims of stains on both sofa and loveseat arms. Upon this 3rd party inspection, the technician notated that the stains were not the result of a 'coverable' accident. At the customers insistence, ******* made arrangements to send a second 3rd party technician to make another independent assessment. ******* explained to me over a phone call I made the day following BBB email to me Wednesday 12/10, that the second technician appointment was scheduled with customer for that following day (12/11).
I, as of yet, do not know the results of that second inspection, but my guess is they will result the same as the first technician.

12/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/21/2014 I went couch shopping with my friend as we have bought all the new furniture we needed. I went to Evans furniture gallery in chico ca. I found a couch and paid cash in full. With in 3 month's the furniture started to, fall a part. I was in one of the recliners when, i went back the head part pop and snap. I called evans, and was told a man would come out to see the damage and, the condition of the couch. His word's were, it's in perfect condition and it look's like it was caused due to, poor craftman ship. So we had a choice of, picking out another couch or have the one we had fix. We chose to get another couch. On 12/8/2014 My husband and i went and found a couch we like. The manager Bob Farmer said that, now the rest would go as store credit. I said to him when, i came here the first time and got a couch that is all i was in need of. He said store credit only. what will i do with store credit when everything we owne down to towels are brand new. So i have been forced to take them to, small claims court. I still have this pile of junk in my garage. And have called several times to have them com and pick it up, still in my garage.I think these people need to be put in their place. I paid CASH. I did not go shopping for a house full of furniture juat a couch.

Desired Settlement: I paid cash we pick out another couch by the way was a floor model. and was told by Bob farmer the rest of the cas will be store credit. are you kidding me. I want full refund.

Business Response: Thank you for reaching out to me.
I apologize for the problem you have had with this particular piece to
your sectional.
Although furniture design, materials, and production techniques have
evolved and improved over the years, they still are largely assembled by
hand using wood, laminates and other wood composites.
Every manufacturers goal is to produce a dependable, durable product
designed to meet their customers expectations throughout the life of the
product.
Having said this, rarely, on occasion, errors occur during assembly, and
some times, materials may contain a flaw.

After inspection of your recliner segment of your sectional, our service
technician came to the conclusion that it was indeed damaged as a result
of a manufacturer defect.

Per the manufacturer's product warranty, they outline and instruct us to
repair the furniture, provided the materials and parts are available,
and product is within 1 year old of delivery date.

However, of our own volition, we wanted to provide you other options in
an effort to proved a better customer service experience.
At your choice, Evans Furniture will:

A) Deliver, exchange, and replace (at no charge to you) the damaged
segment of your furniture.

-or-

B) Allow a full, in-store credit for the entire amount of the purchase
price of the sectional, including delivery & exchange at your
convenience.

Unfortunately, we are unable to extend any type of cash refund of monies
paid should there be a difference in price, and any balance above and
beyond would be due upon delivery.

Please contact me directly via email, I would like to resolve this for
you as quickly as possible, as I understand you wish to resolve this
prior to the Christmas Holiday.

-***** *******
Evans Furniture

Business Response: Business states that they have contacted consumer and the complaint issues have been settled.

Consumer Response: This case has been settled with, the owner and i as of,12/10/2014

3/18/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My customer service was horrible, it took numerous phone calls over a month & they still couldnt get the order correct. I spent $1,700 dollars on Jan 13th, 2013 at their store. They said one item would be on back order. As I picked up the items they then said 2 items would be on back order. I got home come to find out one of the items was labeled wrong & it did not belong to me, they had given me someone elses furniture. I called back next day & the lady I talked to said she would resolve the situation & call right back, 2 days went by so I called back again & spoke with the sales rep that sold me the furniture. He said the box was labeled wrong & to try them so I did. They were still the wrong bed side rails. So I called back again & he said he would look into & call me back the very next day at noon. The next day 2 o'clock rolls around no call, so I call him & he says he got busy, so I guess i'm not important anymore since they got my money. ***** ***** says he'll call me right back. 4 hours later no call, so I call ***** ***** again & he asks me oh what was the problem you had damaged furniture?, so right now it tells me he wasn't listening didnt care the first few times I called. So finally ***** says okay they will be in Jan 22nd, so I call to make sure my furiture is there & it was not. So I called back again & now speaking with someone new(*****) & she says okay we'll ship them & your bed side rails will be in Jan 29th & she'll have them delivered for free to my house Feb 9th. So I figured i'll just pick them up Jan 31 st. still no bed side rails when they were suppose to be at the warehouse. So Feb 9th rolls around the delivery crew is a hour & a half late & now finally get everything 1 month later. How freaking ridiculous!

Desired Settlement: I should be entitled to money off the $1700 dollars. $200 dollars off the purchase price seems reasonable.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
To whom it may concerm, I would like to appologize to Mr. ****** for the lack of customer service he has recieved. I have a copy of the sale wich totalled $1397.29 including tax. I am unsure of what transpired during the time it took us to complete his order. As I have never personally spoken to this customer and it appears that we completed his order including delivering the remaining merchandise at no charge (we charge $109)my knowledge about this particular sale is limited. We strive to provide excellent customer service and timely delivery. Occassionally things happen that prevent us from getting merchandise as quiclky we would like. I would like to offer the customer a $150 in store gift certificate for the frustration we put them through. Please let me know if this acceptable and we will mail the gift certificate to them.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I'm not going to step foot back in the store & use that gift card & go through the hassle of trying to get that merchandise too.

Business' Final Response
I am very sorry to see that Mr ****** has chosen not to accept our offer of a $150 in store gift certificate. I stand by our original offer in the hope that he might have given us another chance to prove to him that we value his business. Our goal is make sure every customer is serviced to the best of our ability. There are ocassionally circumstances beyond our control that may prevent this from happening. I again appologize for his past experience and any frustration he has epxperienced. Based on his response he has chosen not to continue to do business with us, as this is his decision I will consider the matter closed.

1/2/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Evans Furniture is failing to honor the guarantee of furniture replacement and repair made by a sales person at the time of purchase. The sofa I purhased on 2/17/2010 came with a five year protection plan. The mechanism holding the back up on the right side broke at the bolt 6/30/2012. The original purchase price for the sofa was $747.44, all together with tax it was 809.10. When I purchased the sofa from Evans, the sales person sold me on it by telling me that if there was any damage or problem with the product I could return it after five years, no questions asked or receive store credit for the original price of the sofa. Unfortunately when I made Evans aware of the product manufacturing problem, they gave me a number for the manufacturer to have them fix it. In my conversation with the manufacturer they informed me that I had to have called about the product damage within 30 days of the problem and they couldn't help me. So I called Evan's furniture to inform them of this and to ask for them to either fix the sofa or honor the store credit. In my conversation with ***** *****, store manager, today he told me that I would have to pay for the repair and labor. Mr. ***** ***** was also calling me a liar and accused me of breaking the product. I should not have been met with hostility when dealing with a problem I was informed atpurchase would be no issue for them. They sold me a product based on its ability to be fixed of manufacturing defects if ever it had any, without any hassle or addition cost to me.

Desired Settlement: I am hoping that they honor their salesman's pitch of a no hassle return or replacement of this sofa and it's manufacturing defect. I would have liked to have a store credit for the product if it could not be fixed, but I am disappointed in their service and would like the least amount of dealings with them in the future.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
With the customer information that was provided, we do not show this individual as a customer of ours. We will need the individuals Sale Number/Invoice in order to be of assistance.