This business is not BBB accredited.

EMS Home Furnishings, Inc.

Phone: (530) 243-4535 2350 Athens Ave, Redding, CA 96001 http://www.emshomefurnishings.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for EMS Home Furnishings, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 9
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 15

Additional Complaint Information

BBB files indicate that this business has a pattern of complaints. Consumers generally allege that it takes much longer than the stated shipping time for in-store purchases to be delivered, and they are unable to obtain updates on the status of deliveries or refunds. Some consumers indicate that they are told their refund is being processed or was sent in the mail but refunds are not received.

The company responds to complaints in most cases by offering refunds.

We wrote the business on September 24, 2014 and October 2, 2014, requesting the company provide to us steps that it is taking to eliminate the underlying cause of complaints, if any.  The company responded to our request on September 27, 2014, indicating that they fired their Store Manager in May 2014 because he was not properly responding to or helping their customers. They further explain that they now have an individual in place to address all customer concerns in a timely manner. 

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on EMS Home Furnishings, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 12, 2009 Business started: 02/09/2009 in CA Business incorporated 12/22/2008 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Home Furnishings and Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct Ste D, Sacramento CA 95834
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
homeproducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 155172.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. George Harmon, Owner / President Mr. Pete Kurz, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George Harmon, Owner / President
Customer Contact: Mr. Pete Kurz, Owner
Business Category

Furniture - Retail

Products & Services

EMS Home Furnishings, Inc. offers the following product(s): Company offers furniture sales.

Products & Services

EMS Home Furnishings offers consumers up to date home furnishings for living rooms, bedrooms & dining rooms.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2350 Athens Ave

    Redding, CA 96001 (530) 243-4535

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/13/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a sectional couch on January 13, 2014 for $1309. 35 and paid $660. We were told it would be 4-6 weeks for delivery. On February 25th we were told our couch was in and went to pick it up. We paid the balance of the purchase $649.35. When it was loaded into our pickup I saw it was the style of couch we ordered, but not in the fabric we had ordered. Ron, the manager told us to take it and he would put a rush order in for the right couch, should take 3 weeks. He would deliver it and pick up the wrong couch. It is April 21st now and we called 2 weeks ago asking about our couch. We were told it would be in Friday and they would schedule delivery the following week. No call! Called today and was told it would be in Friday!!! This seems to be the "pat" answer to put customers off. We have waited over 3 months for a couch that we have already paid for. We are ready to load up the one we have and dump it on EMS's front door and demand a refund!

Desired Settlement: We are tired of waiting for a couch that does not seem to exist. We want a full refund of $1309.35.

Business Response: Company states that they refunded the account.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: As of 4:30 p.m. Wednesday, May 14th, we have not had any refund credited to our account. In addition, we were told 19 days ago that were gettng a refund, but none came. ***, the store manager states he has reissued a refund on Monday, May 12, but until it is credited to my bank account, I do not consider this matter resolved!

Business Response: Thank you very much for bringing this matter  to my attention . I just researched this and found that this customer received a full refund on there bank card on 6/4 . If there is anything else you would like for me to do on this please let me know . Thanks again and have a good day. **** ****

Business Response: Here are copies of cust: ****** ****** (Case #********) of the credit to their credit card. Please let me know if you need anything else. Thanks, Ron.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau,

Please be advised that this business refunded our money ONLY after our banks Fraud Division
contacted them! And even then it too several attempts to secure our refunds! EMS was NOT forthcoming in making this refund. Without the banks intervention, we would not have received our refund!

5/14/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered couch on Feb. 9, 2014. I was told it would take 4 weeks for delivery. Every week since then I have tried calling to check on status and between no one answering the phone or excuses of delay of delivery truck, I am getting frustrated. It it now 6 weeks and there is no contact from them of status even though when I do call the person I need to talk is not there and they never call me back. I am tempted to cancel order if I don't hear or have couch delivered in a couple days when I have family coming to visit with no couch to sit on.

Desired Settlement: Deliver couch by Thursday, March 27 or I will ask for refund.

Business Response: Mrs. *****'s account was refunded on April 11th 2014. There was a delay in getting the item from the Manufacture. It was ready to ship but could not be here in time for Ms *****'s time frame so we cancelled the order with the manufacture.

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:
EMS Furniture is not telling the truth.  I have not received a refund and their explanation is completely false.  Here is the ch***o of events:

 

Feb 9, 2014 - Ordered couch and I was told it would be delivered in 4 weeks

Mar 8, 2014 - Called EMS Furniture to check on status and order is not ready and ***, the mgr will be getting a hold of mfr.  I never got a response.

Mar 24, 2014 - I called EMS Furniture and spoke to ***, the mgr, and told him that I really need couch as family were arrive on Mar 28th and I had no furniture.

Mar 29, 2014 - I called EMS Furniture at 10:02 am and I was told by ***, the mgr that couch was being loaded on the delivery truck for delivery that day.

Mar 29, 2014 - I called at 3:56 pm and spoke to *** the mgr calls and said that accident on hwy and could not make delivery and he could not call earlier because phone system went down.

Mar 30, 2014 - ***, the mgr called and said he could not get a hold of driver and I requested that they try to deliver that week.  Family had to sit on lawn furniture in my living room.  I also told him that if I did not receive the couch by Thursday, Apr 2nd I would cancel order.

Apr 2, 2014 - ***, the mgr called me and said they could meet my demand because they ran out of couch fabric and they would need more time to make couch.  I cancelled order and demanded refund.

Apr 5, 2014 - Called *** to say that I have not received credit on my account.  He asked for my debit card info to issue credit and it never posted.  In addition he would contact GE Finance Co to cancel finance arrangement I had with them for the furniture.

Apr 15, 2014 - I called ***, the mgr and again told him that the credit is stil not posted to my account nor does GE Finance Company have my order cancelled to credit my finance plan.  He said he just printed the cancellation with GE Finance and he would mail me a copy.  I never received a copy of cancellation.  THERE HAS BEEN NO REFUND. 

This business continues to lie and now I'm worred abou my credit standing with GE Finance Corp who financed the furniture purchase.  I have filed a dispute with them and hope to resolve that with them too.

Any help is greatly appreciated. 

******* *****

###-###-#### cell

 

 

 

 

Business Response: Company states that they did refund the consumer. Company sent over a copy of the credit voucher.

4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a couch from this facility and gave them $1500 down payment to start the process. I was told at the time that the couch would take 4 weeks to arrive. I also ordered another item of furniture from EMS. At the time I went to pick up the second item I ordered, I inquired on the eta of the couch (this was already 2 weeks into the process). I was told the man would look into it and call me back. It took several days when I received a call saying I hadn't been forgotten about but they were still looking into the eta of my couch. I received a call 1 week after the initial inquiry stating it should be available in 2 weeks. After 2 weeks past, we called several times to get updates and were promised several different dates of delivery. I was told that one man would even stay late on one saturday and ask his daughter to help deliver it but that we would definately have it that Saturday. Finally on Sunday, March 23 we asked for the couch to be delivered by 6pm or we wanted a refund of our deposit. We were told that the couch would still be a week or two out and we would get a refund within 7-10 days. Two weeks later still no refund or couch. Every time we have called this store we have been met with promises and overall run around. I work in a customer service field and all I wanted was good customer service (the truth told to me). I am a pretty resonable person. All they had to say in the begining was they were having issue with the manufacturer or something. They just kept going on with stories and untruths.

Desired Settlement: I already filed a claim with my bank (**** ** *******). Ems needs to refund my bank the money that **** ** ******* is temporarily issuing to me.

4/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: bought lift recliner on 4 / 15/ 13 due date apporx 4weeks after 6 months of waiting asked for a refund in oct.have been calling store weekly and told the manager was not in they would have him call back. still waiting for a phone call and a check that was to be sent to my home 12/18/2013 

Desired Settlement:  a check for full amount of $720.20

Business Response: The Customer came into the store and reselected to another item and recieved delivery of that merchandise on February 17th 2014

4/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: No promised refund after waiting over a year for a couch and dinette set. Refund request was made on 12/11/13. On 11/25/12, I purchased a sectional couch from the Redding EMS Home Furnishings Store, for the amount of $2344.95. This was to be delivered in 'approximately' 12 weeks. At the end of February 2013, my wife ******* ******, contacted the manager of the store, *** ********, and he said he would look into where our purchase was. After many phone calls and reasons given she was told our couch had been lost and a new one was going to be made. On 5/4/13, ******* went to the store and ordered a dinette set which was to be delivered in 3 weeks for the amount of $619.20. Again after many phone calls and visits to the store to personally see *** ********, none of the furniture was delivered. On 12/11/13, ******* sent an email to *** ******** requesting a full refund for the furniture I had purchased. *** responded on 12/13/13 to say that he would process the refund the following day and it would take 4-5 days to process. We did not not receive the check in the mail on 12/19/13 so once again contacted *** who said the check had been mailed out from Mt Shasta and we should be receiving it and he was surprised we had not already received it. On 12/30/13 when we still did not have the check, ******* went to the store to speak with *** and verify that he had the correct address. The address he had was ***** ***** ***** **** ** ***** ***** ****, so he felt that is why we have not received the check. As of today 1/6/14, we still do not have the refund and feel we have been extremely patient in this matter.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the total amount I have paid for the undelivered couch and dinette set. The amount is $2964.15

Business Response: The Customers Refund was recieved by customer on January 10th 2014

4/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I paid 1,887.70 cash for a sofa and a loveseat, that we were not going to get until mid-March anyway, on February 14, 2014. We changed our mind when we bought a sectional elsewhere and cancelled our order. Since then we have been given the run around about our money saying it was returned in the mail undeliverable to our address. The guy said he verified the address and they were gonna send it to the business itself and i would pick it up which is what i said in first place. These people are really incompetent! I just want my money back.

Desired Settlement: what i paid $1887.70 is what i want back no more, no less.

Business Response: The customer recieved his full refund on March 6th 2014. 

3/26/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Item not received after almost 26 weeks since ordering, calls are not returned. Given run around about item. On May 2, 2013 I ordered custom recliner to go with our living room set. (MFR 330 Stock# **** sku# 286, cover 183-14 graphite) Was given 10 week timeframe. Paid deposit of 264 on a total of $536.37 Contacted after 12 weeks and was told that it was still at manufacturer and going out on next shipment. At 18 weeks contacted the store 3x and left 3 messages which were not returned. At week 19 called Redding store and informed that Chico store was closed. Was told to talk to *** who was not in, left message. Call was not returned. Called again when he was "in the office" left message that wasn't returned. Called again and told item was in LA and shipping soon, delivery would be arranged ASAP. Contacted *** AGAIN during week 23, who was out of the office and left message. Call not returned. Called AGAIN during week 25, informed *** was not in office (big surprise, we are told that almost every time) left message telling him we are filing complaint with BBB.

Desired Settlement: Seeking full refund.

Business Response: The Customer recieved a full refund on February 11th 2014

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I had to contact the business' licensing department who then had to push the business in order to get the refund.  The only reason why they refunded was because they faced possible actions against their license.  I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ****** *****

11/15/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The furniture ordered on 7-14-13 has not been delivered as of 10-23-13. I ordered a chaise and loveseat, #XXXXXL and XXXXXR, on 7-14-13. As of 10-23-13, the items have not been delivered. Total price $1288.92, with interest-free financing through GE Financial. "Allow approx 8 wks" is written on my sales copy. on 9-10-13 I called the business, but the phone rang and rang with no answer. I tried to call three more times that week, but never an answer. On 9-17-13 I called the Redding store, but no answer. I called two more times, but no answer. On 9-19 someone answered and said that the Chico store had been closed and that *** was handling the open orders. The man said he would have *** call me back. After three days, no one called me back. I called again 9-23-13 and asked for ***. The man said *** wasn't there but he would have *** call me back. He did not call back. I called again several times, but no answer. I finally talked with *** and he said he would call the manufacturer and call me back. He did not call back. I called him and he said again he would talk to the manufacturer and call me back. He did not call back. Since this, it has been a series of missed calls and excuses involving trucks, manufacturers, and communication errors. I asked why EMS does not have an answering machine, voice mail, or a receptionist. "I don't know," the salesperson said, "we just never have." On 10-23-13 someone called with a rambling excuse of, "... the rep said he would talk to you, but he's out and I can't get in touch with him... get a truck... check the production of that piece." It was a completely nonsensical, chronologically unsound, rambling list of excuses. I called GE Financial and they are started a "Deceit Investigation."

Desired Settlement: I would like my couch delivered ASAP or a complete refund.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response
11-14 furniture was delivered and set up in our home. We're satisfied with the delivery and furniture.

9/23/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered my couch and loveseat on May 15, 2013. I have yet to receive my delivery. I have contacted the store by phone and in person. I have spoken with my salesman **** ******* and the owner/manager *** ********. I have saved multiple messages on my cell phone regarding when I will actually receive my order. On my receipt it stated approximately 4 weeks for delivery. It has been 9 weeks past that and I have gotten every excuse from "I was in surgery" "your order wasn't on the truck" "the truck driver had a family emergency" "the representatives for EMS that are in LA are at a furniture show in Las Vegas". I have been told multiple times that I will receive a phone call with information and details on when my order will be delivered and go days(up to over a week) before receiving a call, sometimes having to call back myself just to get any idea of the status of my order. Some of my messages saved on my phone include "contacted company involved... we are looking for compensations for you... how disappointed we are with them" "Paul and Gabby at a furniture show last week" "I've been talking to Paul all morning" "we are working on it" "Found it, it is on their dock... scrambling to see how quickly they can get it on a truck up here... scrambling to see what they can do.... Mike, that handles the freight has already been up here this week". The last message I received was on August 9, 2013. I have not received a call back or any information since. Today's date: August 15, 2013. Order/Purchase Date: May 15, 2013 MFR:300 Stock#: SeattleS and SeattleLS SKU: 1512 and 1513 Sales Rep: **** Payment Amount: $1359.80 (Sofa: $749.95, Loveseat: $729.95, 5yr product protection: $149, Haulaway old sofa: $10, Delivery: $70, Tax: $94.87) Payment Method: Visa

Desired Settlement: I just want my couch and loveseat. I special ordered these items because I WANT THEM. I have been very patient and have waited this long but I could have already received the same couch and loveseat from a different company. At this point it might be best to receive a refund, especially since I don't feel like my 5yr product protection will be worth it if anything needed to be replaced since they can't even uphold their deal to delivery the product.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We have been having trouble getting Mrs. ***** merchandise for mutiple reasons and cant seem to get it resolved. It has been very frustrating for Mrs. ***** as it is for us. On August 23rd we refunded Mrs. ***** Visa Card for the full amount of the purchase.

9/9/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid cash for couches on March 24, 2013 and have never received them. We are in the process of attempting to get our money back. $1,822.05 I ordered and paid for two couches on March 24, 2013 from EMS Home Furnishings in Redding CA. I paid $825.00 cash - $500.00 with a check and $497.05 with debit card. I was told they would arrive in approx. 10 weeks. On June 3rd I called EMS and was told they would call us when the couches came. 2 weeks later still no call from EMS - On June 17 I went to the store and was told they would be here in 7-10 days. 2 weeks later again no word from EMS. I called the manager *** ******** he first blamed the manufacturer. Then blamed the trucking company - On July 22, 2013 I was told by *** ******** there was a new trucking company and our couches would be delivered on July 27th. At 10am on the July 27th *** ******** called and said we were at his mercy and he would delivery any couch that was in his store. We said no as we have been lied to for 4 months and just want our money back. The following are the couches that we paid for and never received: 1 Rec Sofa MFR 330 Stock# XXXXX for $1099.95 1 Rec Loveseat MFR 330 Stock #XXXXX for $524.98 Delivery $70.00 The total paid was $1,822.05. On July 29th we went to EMS and inquired about getting our money returned. We have been told by *** ******** that our checking acct. has been credited $498.05; however as of 8/1/13 it has not shown up in our acct. *** stated that the balance $1,325.00 would be returned by check within a week. We have not received the check as of 8/2/13.

Desired Settlement: All we want is our money refunded - we saw an EMS Home Furnishing ad on our local TV station advertising going out of business sale.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The Customer picked up their refund check on Wednesday 8/14/13 and also stated that their bank account had also been credited when they came into the store to pick up there check.

Consumer's Final Response
Thank you, for your assistance in this matter. After filing this complaint and explaining to the store manager that if he didn't return our money by August 14th, 2013 we were going to filing a complaint with the Redding Police Department for defrauding us. Needless to say he had our money in the store on the 14th. Again thank you and I apologize for not responding sooner.

8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: have ****** ******* ltd-lifetime warranty, soon after purchase both chair, cushions on couch (all of them) cording is coming out throughout cushions, problem may 2010, purchase 7-3-09, 886-peyton, s,c, and h 13 $1363.78 discover., cording coming out went into store w. all my documents was told to push back into cushions or just cut off, 8 of them been pushing it back in. for almost 4 years, store said they could dome out and cut., very poor policy needs to b fixed or replaced now not at all happy with furniture

Desired Settlement: honor my lifetime warranty store said i had needed to pay extra, not according to my warranty This is not normal wear and tear. makes the furniture look really cheap, does not represent your company very well.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
In looking into Mrs. **** issue, I see that we were notified in February of 2010 that the cushion cores were needing replaced for the Sofa. We ordered replacement and took care of Mrs. **** on April 15th 2010. There is nothing noted regarding the issue that Mrs. **** is speaking of. The lifetime warraty covers that Sofa frame, springs and cushion cores. Fabric is covered for only one year which is common with most furniture manufactures. Unfortunately we are well past the one year time frame and would be unable to get cushion covers replaced without a cost to the customer. If they would like to do this I would be happy to find out how much the covers would cost and get them sent for the customer.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) nothing wrong w fabric company did replace cushions they were too soft , it is the cording around the cushions white plastic poking out did call them on this issue just not noted on the account at store Do not need new cushion covers not a thing wrong with material

Business' Final Response
Unfortunately the cording around the cushions is considered part of the cushion cover from the manufacture. The lifetime warranty only covers the wood Framing, the springs on which the cushions sit and the foam cushion cores. Again, I will be happy to find out what the manufacture would charge for the cushion covers and get them for the customer at that charge. If the customer would like to contact the Manufacture I would be happy to provide that information to them. We are just following the guidelines of the manufacture warranty.

7/9/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered 2 side chairs to go with a couch & love seat I purchased on March 18th 2013, was told they would be ready in 5 - 6 weeks. chairs have not been delivered as of 6-9-2013 was told several times they didn't have a full truck coming from southern CA yet. The last times I have contacted them they would say they we be in on Friday and delivered the following week, this has happened 3 times and the whole next week goes by without any contact.

Desired Settlement: Because the chairs were special ordered for color, I just want my chairs.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Mrs. ****** purchased a Sofa, Loveseat and a couple days later came in and ordered two Occasional Chairs from us. We delivered the Sofa and Loveseat right away, but the 2 chairs were in a special order fabric. Special orders normally take 6 to 8 weeks. We have run well over that time frame with Mrs. ******* chairs. We were told at one point the chairs were ready but went to have them picked up and they were not there. We have been having some issues with this particular manufacture but I believe have these resolved. I believe that the chairs are finished and will be ready for pick up next week. Unfortunately the factory is closed until Monday the 8th to verify. I would be happy to give Mrs. ****** a discount for the inconvience or if she chooses I can refund her money on the chair purchase. I would like to do whatever Mrs. ****** would see fit.

1/21/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A four-piece entertainment center order February 3, 2012. Console and left pier damaged. Reordered. Left pier not received as of November 28, 2012. On February 3, 2012 I ordered a four-piece Santana entertainment center in java stain at a cost of $1,714.92. At the end of March, 2012 the entertainment center was delivered. The console was damaged as was the left pier. Both were reordered. The replacement console was delivered in June. The left pier was not delivered. I have called Mr. ****** ****** to follow up on many occasions. Either he says it will be here within a week or the truck has broken down or an employee takes my message, which is more often the case, and says they will give him my message. He rarely returns my calls. So I call again and am given another "it will be here this Friday or in a week to ten days or..." I wait, no phone call to say the left pier has arrived and I call to follow up on the status of my order. I have spoken with ****, ***** and *******, all employees at EMS who have checked with Mr. ****** and relay messages similar to those previously stated or they attempt to determine the status of my order to no avail as Mr. ****** has the file for my order and it is not available for them to view. In September Mr. ****** informed me the left pier would be delivered the first part of the following week. The delivery time was set up and I waited again. One hour before the established delivery time, Mr. ****** called to inform me he had decided to check in the furniture box before delivery and discovered it was the wrong color. At that time, Mr. ****** said he would be sending a truck to San Diego to pick up the correct unit and deliver it to me within two weeks. No delivery or communication as of November 5, 2012 so I called again. I spoke with the employee named *******. She spoke with Mr. ****** directly and was informed by him "tell her the furniture will be here in a week to ten days." Again, I waited. On November 23, 2012 I called and left another message for Mr. ****** to call me with regard to the status of my order. No return phone call received. On November 25, 2012 I called again and spoke with *******. She made an effort to contact Mr. ****** for me and to locate the file with my ordering information to no avail. She left a message with him to return my call. No call received as of this complaint. I have called Mr. ****** at EMS no less than thiry times over the course of this situation. The percentage of return phone calls is less than 10 percent. From my experience, Mr. ****** ******'s actions reflect a business with poor customer service, i.e. poor follow through, poor communication and dishonest communication. Mr. ******' negligence in resolving this issue is appalling. I have been paying $180 monthly to GE Capital on a four piece entertainment center that is only one fourth useable. It remains partially assembled awaiting the left pier. The lighted bridge and glass shelves are in the original boxes, unopened, in my dining room. Honestly, I doubt Mr. ****** reordered the left pier. I had called the manufacturer, APA, located in San Diego, in September to verify the unit was still available and not discontinued. I was informed there were several in their warehouse. They could not tell me if my order had been shipped as I did not have the store order number. Pertinent Information: MFR: 105(APA) Stock #: Left Pier: ********** Financing: GE Capital Bank EMS Code: ***** Note: Called APA manufacturer at 9:30a.m. today. Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Spoke with ordering person, ******. She said the left pier is available in java in their warehouse. It would take approximately ten days to get here if ordered.

Desired Settlement: If I am assured the left pier will be delivered at least a week prior to Christmas that would be my first choice. However, my confidence in that possibility is minimal. Second choice: A full refund of the original purchase price of $1714.92 and all pieces picked up except the console unit. The prices of these units has gone up over this eight month time period. That is small compensation for the time I have had to endure this situation, make payments on goods not received, as well as lack of enjoyment of the whole unit and my living room and dining room in partial disarray.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Ms. ****** purchased a 4pc Wall unit from Ems on Feb 3rd 2012. We quoted Ms. ****** 3 to 6 weeks to recieve it in and deliver it to her. We delivered the unit March 2nd 4 weeks later. Unforntunatley upon delivery there was some slight damage discovered on the console piece.We told Ms. ****** we would reorder the unit and get it exchanged out as quickly as possible and that she could use this one until we did so. We recieved the new console in approx Aril 25th and left a message for Ms. ****** on the 2th and then again on May 3rd. We delivered the console on May 11th. Ms. ****** then notiied me that sh had noticed a small chip on the right back leg of the pier unit. I told her we would get that reordered and exchange as soon as we get the unit in. Unfortunately the manufacture was out of stock on that item in that particular finish and it is an import item and it took some time for them to get stock back in on this item. Once the manfacture recieved there stock back in they sent us the piece to exchange for Ms. ******. We scheduled Ms. ****** to excahnge the unit for her . The day of delivery our delivery truck had a lot of large deliveries and could not fit all there stops on the truck and would have to come back and pick up the last few remaiining deliveries. When we were unboxing the unit to get it ready to load onto the truck it was brought to my attention that the unit was the wrong color. The carton stated it was the right color and the paperwork we recieved it in on stated it twas the right color but it was not. I called Ms. ****** right away to let her know. She awas disappointed as was I because I wanted to get this resolved for her. I told her I would get a hold of the Manufacture and get the right color sent to us as quickly as possible. Unforntunately there was some communication issues between the office and the warehouse ant the manufature and the trucking company and it did not make it on our next couple shipments. Very Frustrating. We finalyy recieved the unit on Dec. 1th and delivered the correct unit on Dec. 15th. I understand her frustration because it was at both ends. I apologize for inconvience this caused Ms. ****** and hope that everything is to her satisfaction at this time.

12/28/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Put a down payment on two dining room sets in June of 2012, on 6/18/2012 spoke with salesman - delivery was to be 2nd week of July -no delivery I have phoned the store at least 25 times and spoke with either the owner (******) or ***** (my salesman) in which every time they say the furniture is in another part of the state waiting for a truck to deliver to there store, my order is from June of 2012 for two dining sets to be delivered. They are also suppose to be delivering two free replacement frames for two sofas that were delivered in the spring of this year and the frames were bent. I have received NOTHING! They never call to update me on the status, every time I call they are suppose to call back. ***** made a few attempts but seems as frustrated as I am. I am so fed up!!!! I suggested to the owner that he rent a truck and hire someone else to bring the furniture. I asked if he was having money problems at the store, because, for the life of me I do not understand why they can't get my furniture to me if it is sitting in a warehouse waiting to be delivered? Makes no sense. This is ridiculous!

Desired Settlement: Of course I should be entitled a steep discount for my time and anxiety. And I obviously should not be charged any delivery fee or any fee for the replacements of the two sofa bed frames to be delivered and installed. This should all occur immediately!

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
In response to Ms. ****** complaint. The purchase is for the Resort that she is employed with. We have had some issues with delivery due to inventory issues and changes that have been going on with this particular manufacture. I have offered Ms. ****** a discount as well as offering her her deposit back. She states that she would like to wait for the dining sets. We had delivery scheduled for today to fix the Sleeper sofas and deliver the dining sets. I found out last night that the dining sets would not be here in time for todays delivery yesterday and called the Resort to speak with Ms. ****** to find out that she is no longer there. I spoke to a Gentleman named **** and he informed me of this. I explained that the Dining Sets were not going to arrive in time for todays delivery but that we could still come out and repair the Sleepers. He said that would be great and to get the dining sets to him when they get here. Looking into the sale, we gave her a significant discount at the time of purchase and did not charge her for delivery which is a $100 fee to that area. We are anticipating delivery of the dining sets right after the holiday and I mentioned that to the gentlemen that I spoke with today and he said that would be fine.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I represent the Resort and this case for them. I actually went to the store a couple of weeks ago to inquire face to face with the owner, which I did speak with. He again stated that the furniture had been held up at a storage facility in another city in California for months, that he had received furniture in trucks from that storage but ours was never put on those trucks and he didn't have an answer as to why. He informed me that the Dining sets were actually physically already there at his storage at the store and they would be delivered on the following Monday along with the sofa frames. This was obviously untrue as they did not deliver them with when they came with the sofa frames last week. The discount was given during the sale due to a prior purchase being made with them of 4 sofa sleepers and 4 queen mattress sets with frames a few months prior to this order and I would assume they were at that point hoping for a long term relationship with our resort for further purchases. ****** the original salesman of this transaction had offered me a couple of months ago an additional discount due to all of the problem with this current order in which I agreed would need to happen. ****** did call the resort today and informed **** that the dining sets would be delivered after the holiday.

Business' Final Response
I had tried to get a hold of ****** regarding this matter several times and she is no longer at contact number and I am being told from a Gentleman named **** that she no longer works at this business. The merchandise was delivered and paid for on December 18th. I dont know how to go forward with this due to the fact the person that filed the compalint is no longer with the company that she help purchase the merchandise for and the Owner **** has told me that she is no longer there and back in Florida. I called the BBB and was instructed to email you directly. Please let meknow what I need to do at this end to get this cleared up. Thanks,

11/16/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a five year warranty for my chair and it broke down after only 2 years. The store refused to honor the warranty. April 8th of this year I noticed that my chair was poking me in the hips. I turned it over and noticed the the springs and frame are not wide enough to support the entire width of the chair. I immediately called EMS Home Furnishings who referred me MFS (the warranty company). They came out on June 28th at 10 am. The gentleman (who did not give his name) said that this chair is not made properly for a larger man such as myself. He left and said that someone would get back to me. A few weeks later I was informed by email that the warranty would not cover a repair for this chair as the damage was caused by a lack of resilience and therefor not a covered issue. I called ****** at EMS right away. I explained to him that this chair was sold to me as a chair for a larger big and tall person. There was even a sign on the chair when I bought it that stated that it was an extra large chair for a big and tall guy. The guy that came out to fix this problem specifically said that this is NOT a chair for a larger person. ****** said that he would talk to the manufacturer and get back to me. When the manufacturer would not help ****** had my chair picked up for repair on August 9th. When the chair was returned to me it was in worse shape than when I bought it. The cushion was new but it was a replacement cushion that was not as thick and sturdy as the original. The issue was still the same, the support system for the chair is not wide enough for the chair. The chair is now more uncomfortable than before. I have made several calls to ****** since then and he put me off time and time again. I have been trying to get this chair fixed now for almost 7 months. ****** finally told me this evening that they would not help us any further. I feel that this product was misrepresented by two separate salesmen, *** and **** who both told me that this chair is made for a larger person, and to compound the issue there was even a sigh on the chair stating this "fact". The the furniture repair man told me that this chair is NOT made for a larger person. I am so frustrated that it has taken 7 months to get to this point. Problem date:4/8/12. Purchase date:3/26/2010. Model:XXXXXX Sales rep ***/****. paid VISA/ATM for $418.88 for chair and $54.12 warranty. Invoice#XXXXXX RRN#XXXXXXXXXXXX. Auth# XXXXXX.

Desired Settlement: Since the failed repair left my chair in worse condition than when I purchased it I would like a full refund or replacement of the chair.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@emshf.com I spoke with the customer today. He is going to forward me the copy of the letter that he recieved from the warranty company. I explained to him that I would get with the Warranty companies representitive and see if there was another avenue that we can use to get this resolved. The manufacture warranty has expired but I believe that we will get this resolved through the warranty company. I explained this to the customer and he has agreed to let me attempt this to get to the resolution he would like.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Until everything is resolved my complaint is still valid . I believe Mr.****** is going to try but will have to wait and see. I have been working with someone else already sense April 2012 and this has been passed on for a while. I hope things will be resolved.

Business' Final Response
On Wednesday 11/14 I recieved confirmation by email from the Warranty company authorizing replacement of the customers chair. I callled at 9:15am this morning leaving a message with the customer to contact me so we can work out the details of the replacement.