BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

This Business is not BBB accredited

City Furniture Gallery, Inc.

Phone: (209) 833-3909 View Additional Phone Numbers 3262 N Tracy Blvd, Tracy, CA 95376

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for City Furniture Gallery, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on City Furniture Gallery, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 11, 2001 Business started: 01/01/2001 Business started locally: 01/01/2001 Business incorporated: 07/01/2013 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Home Furnishings and Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct Ste D, Sacramento CA 95834
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
homeproducts@dca.ca.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Thuy Huong, Owner Ms. Karen Mai, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thuy Huong, Owner
Business Category

Furniture - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Tracy Furniture

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3262 N Tracy Blvd

    Tracy, CA 95376 (209) 833-3909

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (209) 830-7088(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: product is not holding up after 3 days of purchase. I PURCHASED A SECTIONAL RECLINER ON 5/25/13 ON /5/28/13 I NOTICED ONE OF THE RECLINERS FOOTBOARD WAS BENT I TRIED CONTACTING THEM AND LEFT MESSAGES WITH SEVERAL SALES REP. FINALALLY ON 6/14/13 I SPOKE WITH AND EXPLAINED THE PROBLEM HE SAID HE WOULD CHECK IN TO IT AND CALL ME BACK. I DIDNT HEARFROM HIM SO I CALLED ON 6/26/13 AND SPOKE WITH HIM HE SAID HE WOULD SENT SOMEONE OUT TO LOOK AT THE SECTIONAL 2 MEN CAME OUT AND SAID LOOKED AT IT AND SAID THEY WOULD REPORT BACK TO **** . **** INFORMED ME THAT THEY WOULD ORDER A FRAME. ON 7/5/13 I NOTICED THE SECTIONAL LOOKS WORN AND DISCOLORED I CALLED 7/8/13 SPOKE TO **** WHO SAID ******* WAS THE OWNER AND HE WOULD HAVE HIM CALL ME NEVER HEARD FROM HIM I CALLED BACK 7/9/13 HE SAID ******* WAS THERE BUT BUSY AND THAT ******* WOULD CALL ME BACK NEVER DID. I CALLED 7/10/13******* ANSWERED THE PHONE I EXPLAINED MY ISSUE HE SAID I NEED TO TALK TO ***** HE IS NOT THE MANAGER I ASKED HIM TO HAVE ***** CALL ME WHEN SHE COMES IN ON 7/11/13.

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE MY 1800 BACK SO I CAN PURCHASE A BETTER SECTIONAL.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
RE: Case # 65032479: ***** ***** Response to complaint We, at Tracy Furniture, acknowledge the damaged frame on the sectional purchased by the customer. We sent out our technicians to look at the sectional and at the part that was damage to ensure we place the correct replacement order. On our store invoice policy which the customer signed and dated on the date of the delivery which states: "Merchandise received in good condition & customer satisfied"; indicating that when the customer receive the merchandise it was in good and satisfactory condition. We, at Tracy Furniture, try our best to provide as much assistance as we can. When the customer filed the complaint about the bent frame, we sent out our technicians on 6/26/13 and immediately place the order for the damage part the following day. The sales associate called the customer on 6/27/13 to let her know that the part was ordered and we will contact her as soon as we receive the part. The customer contacted us a week later about the part ordered and in return we contacted the manufacturer to get an ETA on the part. The manufacturer told us that it usually takes 3 weeks to have a part shipped out and that they were off for a week during the Fourth of July week. We, then called back the customer to tell her about the ETA on the part, and in turned she filed a complaint about the discoloration on the cushion. When our technicians came to inspect the sectional, the discoloration was not there, so we told the customer to send in pictures on the discoloration and to include a brief description of the issue. The customer wanted us to send our technician out to her house again to take the pictures for her, but we told her that it would take at least a week to have someone come out. The customer decided to come into the store on 7/11/13 and show the pictures to the customer service manager, *****. When ***** met with the customer, ***** explained that Tracy Furniture is a retail store, and that we do not have any in store warranty as explained in the store policy of the invoice in which the customer signed. ***** explained that we would need to send the pictures to the sales rep and manufacturer, so that they can decide if the damage is under warranty or not and what kind of solution they can offer to help the customer. On 7/11/13, ***** sent an email out to the sale rep and manufacturer with the photos of the customer provided. ***** informed the customer that the sale rep for the factory was on vacation and will not be back to work until 7/16/13 and that the response back from the rep and manufacturer will take at least a week or more. ***** also told the customer that we will keep her updated on any new information that we receive and will try our best to provide assistance with the manufacturer.

Consumer's Final Response
I have'nt heard a response as of 7/25/13 the last conversation I had with ***** customer service rep. at Tracy Funiture was on 7/17/13 she was waiting on a response from the manufacture, at this point I cant give you a response of satisfaction because no decision has been made.

Business' Final Response
On 7/25/13, ***** called customer and informed her that the manufacturer will issue a store credit for her sectional. ***** gave the option that the customer can either wait for the same sectional that was acknowledge by the manufacturer as a "defective item" or come into the store to find a different set. The same sectional will take about 4-8weeks to reorder and be shipped out. Usually, the manufacturer will not issue store credit, but would issue back the same sectional. We, at Tracy Furniture, was trying to find the best option for the customer and complained to the manufacturer that the customer did not want the same sectional. ***** informed the customer that Tracy Furniture was in the process of closing the store and the new company was in the process of remodeling and that the new management will have new merchandise in the store for her to pick from. ***** informed the customer that she is going on vacation but will write out a store credit slip for the customer as soon as the store receives the pink copy of her invoice. The pink copy of the receipt is basically a "proof of purchase" receipt. We need the receipt back for our safety because it signifies that the customer has purchase the merchandise and it is still in their possession and there have been no changes to the order. That is why we are requesting the receipt back from the customer before issuing the store credit. There has been incidents where customers did not return their receipt and we have credit them back their money and they have come back in and demanded their money. It is our store policy to have our invoice return to us if they would like a refund or store credit. It is for our safety and is part of our policy. If the customer would like, we can give her a copy of the invoice of the sectional purchased and refunded, but in order to issue a store credit, we need the original pink copy of her invoice. Tracy Furniture is currently out of business and referred the invoice and issues to the new store management. When the customer purchased the sectional, it was under an "all sales final", because we were closing. In our store policy which the customer has signed off on, it reads as: "3. No refunds/cancel/exchange on floor samples, as-is sales, out the door sale, close out sale, layaway, special order, and clearance items. 5. After 48 hours no merchandise can be returned / cancelled. A minimum 25% Restocking charge and service fee will be charged on all cancellation or returns. Also, further information is provided on our invoice, which states that "Warranties are limited and regulated by manufacturers. Tracy Furniture will assist customer in receiving proper attention pertaining to manufacturer's warranty service, but will not be held responsible for manufacture's decisions." We have talked to the new management about the customer's issue and the new management has agreed to issue her a store credit in the amount of her purchase which is $1800. On 8/16/13 and 8/17/13; *****, a store salesperson, called ***** ***** to tell her that the new store is open and has a lot of new merchandise on the sales floor. On Saturday, 8/17/13, ***** ***** came into the store and was interested in a sectional that is priced at $2200. She wanted us to give her the $2200 sectional for the total amount of $1800, her store credit amount. With tax, the $2200 would be a total value of $2404.37, which is a difference of $604.37. We are still in the process of talking and trying to negotiate with the new management, but $604.37 is a very big difference. We have a huge selection of furniture in our store. The store is a total of 30,000 sq. ft. We carry a variety of different manufactures at very reasonable prices. The sales of the sectional that the customer is interested in, is still in the process of being negotiated. Most likely, the customer will have to put more money in or we can give her the same sectional that she purchased.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1