Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sulcas Carpets

Additional Locations

Phone: (916) 686-1704 Fax: (916) 686-0440 View Additional Phone Numbers 9766 Waterman Rd. Ste. K, Elk Grove, CA 95624 http://www.sulcascarpets.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sulcas Carpets meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sulcas Carpets include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sulcas Carpets
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 11, 2004 Business started: 09/01/2003 Business started locally: 09/01/2003 Business incorporated 10/24/2003 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00841254.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rafael Sulca, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rafael Sulca, President
Business Category

Floor Coverings & Installation Floors - Laminate Cabinets Floors - Hardwood Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication

Alternate Business Names
Sulca's Carpets, Inc.
Products & Services

Sulcas Carpets specializes in the sale and installation services of hardwood floors, carpet, tile, natural stone, and laminate.


Additional Locations

  • 8835 Sheldon Rd Ste. 100

    Elk Grove, CA 95624

  • 9766 Waterman Rd. Ste. K

    Elk Grove, CA 95624 (916) 221-6766 (916) 688-8728

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/2/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a General Contractor where as Sulcas Flooring was hired to furnish and install laminate flooring on a remodel project. Prior to providing a quote and commencement the work, the owner of Sulcas flooring visited the site with me. I explained huge concerns of the known unevenness of the subflooring and that there was significant prep work required for proper install as was identified by several others. I was told the prep work was not a problem and that it would be done correctly to insure proper installation. After flooring was installed, it was immediately obvious the prep work was not done correctly and the flooring had many issues. I expressed this immediately to the owner of Sulcas flooring who told me he would have someone out to fix the issues. No one came out for over a month, the project was complete and tenants moved in. No floor repair was ever done. My customers the homeowners also visited the home and immediately challenged the flooring installation. At this point 2 separate flooring inspectors and Sulcas own insurance adjuster all agree with the lack of prep work done and immediate need for correction. The flooring issues are not resolved.

Desired Settlement: At this point, my customers the homeowners have withheld my final payment due to the flooring issues. I have suffered severe financial difficulties as I have not received final payment for work completed back in August 2014. I would like the issues remedied immediately. Both flooring inspection reports suggest removal of flooring product and properly performing subfloor prep as required by the manufacture as well as the laminate flooring industry standards. This unfortunately involves existing tenants of the home (7) whom not only have personal belongings that may need to be moved, stored, and moved back in, but potentially temporary housing of the occupants. The work should include removing baseboards, existing flooring, preparing the subfloor (may include plywood sheathing, leveling compound, and/or appropriate filler) adequately and per the manufacture specifications. Once the prep work is completed correctly the flooring may be reinstalled and add the required transitions. The base

Business Response: **** did contact me and i did met him at the job site to give him a bid on the flooring, cabinets, granite counter tops and other misc items. i was showed the floors and he was upset at his flooring installer of his, as he pointed out areas that needed to be fixed, and **** got upset with him and had me go out there. the major area that needed leveling was in one bedroom, which ****  put down some new plywood to level out the floor. the rest of the prep i was going  to do was to add some ***** leveling compound in some areas. when we were done with the installation, **** brought to my attention one area in front of the sink near the refrigerator that had to much movement. we were there the next couple of days to fix it and we did, but it still needed some more work. when the home owner went, he noticed an area in front of one of the bedrooms that he had a concern with where the new sub floor met the old sub floor, he didn't mention the area in front of the refrigerator until his flooring inspector went to look at the floors, the inspectors noted both those areas as i did when i went back. **** and I  have sent emails to the home owners so i can correct the flooring, i have not been allowed back in. i was paid for the installation about three week after we finished the floors. If the floors were that bad as described by ****, he would have not paid me. **** and I have tried numerous times to contact the home owners to let me get back in there and work  those two areas. We have sent emails the first one dating back in December 2014. as of this date i still want to get back to the property and work on the floors. The home owners major concern is the floors will fail and not perform as they should , as of today the floors have not failed and are in good condition. 

9/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After carpet install, I contacted Manager (****) to complain about the damages done by installer. He took info and never even returned calls. Carpet installer did major damage to stone floors. I contacted manager after install, but on the Monday after Fathers day as we were out of town. (prior to moving into home where carpet was installed.) Travertine Stone floor was polished prior to carpet install to remove scratches. Travertine is not only scratched but scratched in places that makes one wonder if installer did it with intent. Walls are also damaged from the install. I simply called the owner to come out and take a look. Manager/Owner (****) took info and chose not to respond from there. I called again with no luck of reaching him. I had a carpet cleaner for rest of house (the one who actually referred me to ******'s) and he was shocked at the damage and told me **** was a good guy and would have to fix it. Told me he couldn't refer those guys out anymore based on the damage. Carpet cleaners name is Scott Noble (in Sacramento/Elk Grove)

Desired Settlement: A. I would like the dignity of a phone call and an inspection. B. I would like to have them pay for fair damages to Stone Travertine. I paid 1,800 to have all the scratches removed just 3 days prior to carpet install. C. I would like to inform all future buyers of the poor customer service, and poor install done by ******'s Carpets.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We know from the painter ***** ***** that he (******) is the one who made the scratches. We have witnesses of the carpet cleaner ( ***** *****) who saw ****** painting afterwards dragging his ladder across the floors and the walls creating the damage. We are not responsible and we will not be paying for any repairs. We will be taking a statement from Mr. ***** verifying what we are saying is true. We will also have him call the BBB to give his statement as well.Most of the scratches are in the kitchen? We were not even in there.