Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Dobyns Rods Incorporated

Phone: (530) 671-1989 850 N George Washington Blvd, Yuba City, CA 95993 http://www.dobynsrods.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dobyns Rods Incorporated meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dobyns Rods Incorporated include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dobyns Rods Incorporated
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 07, 2011 Business started: 09/26/2008 Business started locally: 09/26/2008 Business incorporated 11/03/2008 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary Dobyns, CEO Ms. Miranda Calloway, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Dobyns, CEO
Business Category

Fishermens Supplies Sports & Recreation

Products & Services

Dobyns Rods Incorporated specializes three full lines of rods a Champion Series, Champion Extreme Series and the newest Savvy Series & fishermen supplies.


Additional Locations

  • 850 N George Washington Blvd

    Yuba City, CA 95993 (530) 671-1989

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dobyns rods does not honor their warranty. I owned a dx784c ml rod. The rod blew up on a hook set set into at least 6 pieces that I recovered. I was missing the pieces with the logo and model number on it because it ended up in the lake when the rod exploded on the hook set. Because I i couldn't retrieve the missing pieces because they went in the lake, dobyns would not warranty the rod. I connected dobnys twice and the I spoke with just said they would not not warranty it because I was missing the piece with the logo, I explained to her that the rod blew up and that the missing pieces ended up in the lake and there was no way of me recovering them, she didn't care and just said the rod would not be warrantied.

Desired Settlement: I own 20 plus dobyns rods and up until this point I hae been satisfied with the company. All I am asking for is that they honor their warranty and exchange the rod for a new one free of charge.

Business Response:

Our warranty policy specifically states that rods submitted without a logo section are void of warranty.  The logo section is the identifying portion of the rod model.  We allow customers participating in our No Hassle Warranty Program to cut out the logo section of their rod and submitted only that portion for a warranty claim.  When doing so, the customer agrees that the rod was not defective and they dispose of the remaining pieces themselves.  Due to this policy, we do not allow warranty claims on rods without the logo section. 

Further, the rod submitted for a warranty claim was not the model the customer stated in his complaint and the pieces submitted show evidence of being cut at the logo section. 

Our published warranty can be viewed at:  http://dobynsrods.com/warranty/

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: I could not provide the logo section of the rod because as I tried to explain to tgem. The rod blew up and pieces went into the lake because there was no guides to stop them. It is not my fault their product was defective and blew up in such a manner that I can not give them what they need. I, the customer, should not be held accountable for their product being defective in such a manner I cannot provide what they require. 

Business Response:

Please see the published warranty policy at:  http://dobynsrods.com/warranty/, which explicitly details rods without a logo section are void under our warranty program.  Further, defective rods typically break within the first couple uses. In addition to the obvious cut at the logo section, the customer's rod shows evidence of heavy use, indicating it was not defective. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: I know the warranty policy but as I stated I could not retrieve the piece because it ended in the lake. There was no cut on the rod that is how it blew right at the handle which is why the logo piece ended up in the lake because there was no guides to catch it like the rest of the rod. The rod hardly got used cause it was a 7 foot 8 rod which did not fit in my buddies rod locker, so I didn't start using it till I got my boat this year. I would be willing to pay the replacement fee even though it was a rod defect to settle this issue. The lady I spoke with on the phone admitted it was a dobyns rod. I don't see what the issue is if they admit it's their rod and offer a replacement option even if it's the rod owners fault. In this cause the rod malfunctioned but I would be willing to pay the replacement to settle this problem.