Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Borg Fence & Decks

Phone: (916) 984-4911 Fax: (916) 984-0270 View Additional Phone Numbers 6837 McComber St, Sacramento, CA 95828 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Borg Fence & Decks meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Borg Fence & Decks include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Borg Fence & Decks
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 30, 2003 Business started: 08/06/2002 Business started locally: 08/06/2002 Business incorporated 06/03/2004 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 811226.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Adrian Borg, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Adrian Borg, Owner
Business Category

Fence Contractors Gates Deck Builder Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas

Alternate Business Names
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Borg Fence & Decks has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6837 McComber St

    Sacramento, CA 95828 (916) 455-5280 (916) 797-8855


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Bord Fencing to remove my old fencing around my pool area. I also hired them to install my new fencing purchased through them. When they removed my old fencing they left all of the bolts sticking out of my stamped colored concrete and installed the new fencing. When they gave me the estimate they never mentioned the fact that they were planning on leaving in all of the bolts. This in a pool decking, with metal bolts sticking out. I contacted them and they sent some men over to cut off the bolts, in the process of sawing them off at the concrete surface they let cut marks & gouges in my concrete. My concrete now is marked up and the bolts are still showing and have sharp edges. They never even cut off all of the bolts. Had they disclosed they were going to leave the bolts in the concrete and exposed, I would have never went with this product or this company.

Desired Settlement: Since I appear to be stuck with this end product since removing the fence they installed would leave more bolts in my concrete, I am requesting a significant adjustment to the amount I was charged (Over $4200). I paid for a fence to be removed, without any disclosures or documentation of a partial removal.

Business Response: We have been in contact with this customer since she let us know of her concern with her fence. Per her request, she wanted the fence line moved 3-4' from the original fence line, which by doing so would leave old footings in the ground. We addressed the old footings like we normally would, by cutting them to grade, or below grade when possible. It is not possible for us to remove the footings completely without damaging her existing concrete. Customer was not satisfied with the way the old footings looked, and in an attempt to meet her expectations, we went out a second time to smooth out the footings - we buffed them out to make sure there were no rough or sharp edges sticking out. She is unhappy with the look of her concrete, which we informed her she would need to address that on her own, as she had requested to move the existing fence line in the first place. We've done our best to deliver the best service we can, but at this point, the customer's expectations are not aligned with what we can do. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  The company never disclosed they were going to leave exposed metal sticking out from my cement.  Yes, they came back and cut the screws that were sticking out 3inches, with the exception of two they missed.    However they NEVER sanded or smoothed anything.  They left an eye sore and a hazard behind.  I would have never signed for them to remove the fence and install a new fence had they disclosed this is what I would be left with.   At this point if it's not resolved here I will be forced to take it to court. 

Business Response: The customer contracted us to remove the existing fence and install a new fence at a different location. As we were contracted to do, we demoed the existing fence and cut the old bolts to grade. Borg had no knowledge that the bolts were embedded into the ground with epoxy and would not be able to be removed by unscrewing the bolts, as is normally the case with wedge anchors or red heads. At that point, our standard operation is to cut the bolts to grade or below grade. She was not happy with the results so we went out a second time to try do cut the bolts further, as much as possible. Again, the customer was not satisfied so we sent a crew out for the third time to buff out any sharp edges. 

Since the customer was contracted with Borg through **** *****, she opened a claim through **** *****. The District Service Manager, ******* ****** was assigned to the case to bring the matter to closure. She visited the project to inspect the installation and concluded that the customer’s expectations were beyond what the customer had contracted us for. The customer wanted the bolts removed which would compromise the integrity of the concrete and pool area – which is a large liability, and should have a cement contractor go out and take care of it. To help her out with the expense of her repairs, she offered the customer a 5% credit to her account and a $100 gift card. The customer did not accept the offer. Regardless, **** ***** credited her account the 5% as a sign of good faith. 

Under the scope of work that we contracted for, we have delivered the material and services per our agreement. I have included some pictures of her installation. We’ve made every effort to take care of our clients concerns, but the work she is demanding is beyond the scope of work that we contracted for and out of our license classification as a C13.  What she is asking to be done is the work of a General contractor, Mason or Concrete specialty license.  

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

The information that Borg is suppling is not truthful.  There are still bolts sticking out above grade.  They did NOT sand or buff anything.  **** ***** gave the 5% installer discount that was a part of out original contract that was being offered at the time.  I have emails from BORG acknowledging the "Installers discount"  prior to any work being done.  I have received NOTHING since this poor work was done.  **** ***** did offer $100 gift card I decline since this is FAR from what I signed a contract for.  I signed for the fence to be removed, not part of the fence, not bolts visible sticking up from the concrete or being a hazard to anyone walking barefoot.  This install and removal has seriously devalued the pool area of my home.  Please see the attached email correspondence starting March 3, 2015, there is the 5% Installers discount that they were suppose to give.  The discount was not apart of a botched job, it was a promotion **** ***** and Borg were running.  

8/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My neighbor and I sought a fence to be installed through Home Depot. Someone came from Borg Fence and gave a good presentation of options . My neighbor and I agreed to proceed with a fence for around $2000. This was to be split almost 50/50 (my side had a small extra fence). My neighbor and I gave our credit card information with installation May18. On May 13th, I was billed for the entire portion instead of my portion. I sent an email complaining for being charged twice my obligation, asking for them to refund the money, and asked them to cancel the fence. I also stated I would contact my credit card complaining that I was being charged twice what I had agreed to. Within 1 hour of sending this email, I received a call from "Mr Borg". He stated I was "way over the top" on my complaint. It was human error, and my response was excessive and unwarranted. In addition, I was under contract and they would hold me to it (but fix the billing). He said my "legal action" was uncalled for. I asked what "legal action"? He replied that me complaining to ******** ******* (for being charged double what I agree to) was the "legal action". I also told him it was they that had committed an error, not me and that as a customer I was upset and critical. He stated they had only committed a "human error" but I was more in error in reacting so excessively."Mr. Borg" then stated that he was going to file a complaint against me (to whom might I ask??) for - and I quote this exactly - for "leveraging my position" (because I am a physician??) in "filing a complaint" about Borg (to ******** ******* for charging me double what I owed?). To summarize, I realize "human errors" occur. As a consumer however if I am charged an extra $1000, it is my right to complain to my credit card company about the error. I don't enjoy what I felt was a bullying and harassing phone call for me having sent an email complaint about the charge.

Desired Settlement: I am complaining (first BBB complaint in my life) about an abusive, rude, and bullying phone call I received. There was a large billing error and I complained. Then I was threatened in a ridiculous manner and told I was going to have a complaint against me for "leveraging my position". I wish to formally complain. I wish an apology. I also wish clarification of what "complaint" could possibly be filed against a complaining consumer who was overcharged. Sincerely, ** ** ******* ***** *****

Business Response: ***** ******, administrative manager, spoke with customer this morning and agreed to refund the $910 that was mistakenly overcharge and continue with his scheduled installation for Monday May 18th. We have resolved the issues with customer as of Thursday May 14th. Please contact customer to confirm and close out this complaint. 

Feel free to contact ***** ****** ** ************ * *** 

thank you

7/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had Borg fence build a gate for us. It doesn't look right (we can still see the frame). The first gate they made is hard to open. I have called them 5 times and have not received a call back. This was done June. This was done in connection with a fence that was done in May and was added to Mark Shaffners job. This makes me very frustrated. This was started through **** *****

Desired Settlement: To have the gates fixed to our satisfacation.

Business Response: For the past couple of days, Operations Manager and Mr. **** have been in communication. Mr **** called called in today and spoke with *****; she explained to him that his repair will be scheduled for a repair crew and as of today, we are still working on routing his repair. Once we have an available crew, we will contact Mr **** to advise him on the date. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me providing they actually follow through with sending a repair person.  It took multiple attempts before they actually returned my phone calls.

2/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 17 2014 Borg Fences & Decks replaced fence and gate around the perimeter of our home. Unreported to us the workers severed a portion of the electrical wires supplying a portion of our outside sprinkler system. They did not communicate this breakage. They also encased the severed wires in the concrete they poured when they installed new fence posts. This they also failed to report. As a result of the breakage, no water was supplied to the rear sprinklers and this caused the yard to die. We have only this week discovered the breakage and fixed it. But the yard is unsalvageable and we are in the process of replacing it at a cost of approximately $1500.

Desired Settlement: We are currently selling our house and don't have time to wait for a leisurely resolution to this issue. We will have to replace the yard quickly. Therefore, I'm requesting Borg fence refund the cost of our yard that was destroyed by their negligence and lack of communication. This amounts to only a portion of what we payed for their services. As an alternative, if they can respond quickly, before we hire a gardener to do this work, I would accept Borg replacing the yard at their own expense.

Business Response: On January 17, 2014 – 13 months ago – ****** *******
contracted Borg Fence & Decks to replace 72’ of side fence that was to be
shared with her neighbor, along with two gates on each side of her house. We
quoted the 72’ side line at $3200 and that was split equally between the two
neighbors. Mrs. ****** ******* paid $1600 for that side of her fence.

Our contract and general terms and conditions specifically
state that Borg Fence & Decks is not responsible for any damages to
sprinklers/underground pipes or wires.  We advice our customers to move
their sprinkler line if it is against the fence line, or to cap off the
sprinkler heads. During any installation, if our crews make any damage to
pipes/sprinkler systems, out of good faith, they will try to repair it; if they
are unable to, the customer is informed about any damages. In most cases,
although we are not liable, Borg Fence & Decks will cover some if not all
of the repair costs in order to please our customers and continue to earn their

Our records do not indicate that there were any issues
during the installation of the fence. The customer signed off on our Customer
Approval Form, indicating that (#8) all underground utilities, irrigation
systems had been checked. Our normal workmanship warranty is valid for one year
of installation, and we did not receive one call from Ms. ****** *******
regarding her concerns. The first attempt she made to contact our office was on
2/09/2015 (same date of this complaint submission).


It is irrational to demand a $1500 compensation. If we had
been informed in a timely manner of her concern regarding the sprinklers, we
could have addressed the water supply to her sprinklers and agreed on a
solution. Unfortunately, we were not informed of such, our records and sign off
indicate that the installation was complete and to the customers satisfaction.
After 13 months of installation, now that the customer is considering selling
the home,  we cannot take responsibility for a damaged yard that died out
for lack of water supply.

If there are any issues with the fence that we originally
installed, we are glad to speak with the customer and discuss her options. 

11/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/9/2013 I purchased a vinyl fence from Borg Fence & Decks for $5450.00. On the back of the contract it states that the Installational Professionals will obtain any required permits. On October 15, 2014 I received a letter from the City of Sacramento that my fence was to tall 5'4 an it needed to be cut down. They told me if the contractor had filed a permit that he would have found out that we could only have a 4' fence on 5' fence. I contacted **** ******* and ******** **** from Borg Fence and Decks and they want to charge me for cutting the fence down. I purchase this fence from Home Depot on Howe Ave in Sacramento. This was the contractor they sent to build the fence. They should have known the laws regarding permits.

Desired Settlement: I would like the fence taken down to the 4' level at no charge as requested by the City of Sacramento or a completed refund on the fence so I may have another company put up wrought iron.

Consumer Response:

To whom it may concern,
I filed a complaint on 11/11/2014 with the Better Business Bureau regarding Borg Fence & Deck. I would like to let
you know that I have been in touch with Adrian Borg at Borg Fence & Deck and we are resolving the issue at this time.
Thank you for looking into this for me.

10/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We and our neighbor shared the cost of rebuilding a common fence. The contract is in my neighbor's name, ******* **** ** **** **** ******* *** ** *****. The date of the contract is Oct 15, 2013. There is a slight slope between our yards with our neighbor's being higher. As a result, the dirt from our neighbor's yard keeps coming through from the bottom of the fence. Our neighbor and us agreed that the new fence should be built into the dirt, creating a retaining "wall" section. However, the work with done with the fence built above the dirt. My neighbor contacted Borg Fence & Decks and one gentleman came and inspect the work and said that the work would be rectified. However, he did not have a crew in the nearby area. We cooperated with waiting for an available work crew who would be in the area. This did not happened. I contacted Borg subsequently but did not get any response. Unfortunately, I did not keep track of the dates of contacts. This time I contacted Borg on Sept 25, 2014 and spoke to ******** ****, who was supposed to respond did not. On Oct 6, I talked to ******* and explained the situation to her and also indicated that I would register a complaint if I did not get a response. I was also informed that the work done came out of the San Mateo Calif. office at * * **** ******* ****.

Desired Settlement: We like to have Borg Fence & Decks complete the work as contracted to do. An alternative would be for us to get another contractor to complete the work and Borg Fence & Decks pay for it.

Business Response: As a response to the complaint placed by ******* *****, we
would like to provide an update to this case. Back in October 2013, we were
contracted to do work for ******* **** in San Francisco. The neighbor, *******
*****, shared the cost to this fence; however, we were not part of the
agreements and terms of payments between the two neighbors. After the
installation took place, customer ******* **** was communicating with our Sales
Rep, ******* ****. The communication with our Sales Rep and the customer did
not reach our office and management was not informed of any outstanding issues
with this project. As of July 2014, ******* **** is no longer with the company.
We apologize to both our customer and their neighbor for the lack of communication
from the time ******* parted ways.

Since the date the complaint was filed, **** ******** has
spoken with Mr. ***** to discuss the issues with the fence. As of today,
October 15th 2014, Mr. ***** has sent an email with pictures of the
fence and the areas he needs addressed. Our operations manager is reviewing the
pictures and has been communicating with Mr. ***** via phone and email. Mr.
***** was provided with **** ********’s direct cell phone number so he can
reach him at any time during the day.

We will provide an update as soon as this matter has been

12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Neighbor says Borg reconnection of his to my fence is unworkmanlike/improper. I agree. **** declines to inspect in spite of >5 contacts over 3 months. Borg fence & decks was referred to me through Livermore home depot. The project at **** ******* *** ********** *** was estimated 6/21/13 by ** ***** ****** reconstruction of existing and installation of new redwood fence and gates. Work performed and paid in full July 25 for my neighbor *** **** **** ******* Ave) and myself. The order number on the estimate form is: X-XXXXXXXXXX. The completion notice was signed for the installer by **** ****** 7/25/13. I was notified approximately 8/15/13 by my other neighbor, *** ********* (who was out of town the day of work completion) of **** ******* **, that he was dissatisfied with the quality of the reconnection to his fence of a Borg-rebuilt section. Specifically, a faceboard was used for structural support where a 2x4 is standard, and where his panel rail was reattached to the misplaced faceboard the support for the rail is inadequate. I concur with his assessment. I have made numerous attempts through August, September and October by telephone (with ***** at ****: XXXXXXXXXX) and email (with Mr ****** to get a Borg representative to meet with Mr ********* and I to inspect the problem and settle on a remedy to the situation. In spite of numerous claims that 'someone will get back to you this week', noone from **** has been willing to schedule an appointment to handle this issue under their 1 year warranty. It is slightly unclear whether this issue should be handled by Home Depot, but there seems to be no contact path for resolving the issue via Home Depot in Livermore. Borg/Home Depot was paid at the time of service by credit cards $4775 plus some minor add-ons not estimated. None of the add-ons were in the portion of the fence shared with Mr **********

Desired Settlement: Ideally, Borg or appropriate alternate satisfactory to Home Depot and **** should come out and rebuild the fence connection to Mr ************ satisfaction. Failing that, refund $200 to me so that I can arrange repair by other means.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
We have contacted this customer and made arrangements to do a site visit on 11/22 to determine what needs to be done to address the issue to the customer's satisfaction.

Final Consumer Response
Borg came out yesterday and fixed the problem to my neighbors satisfaction. please close the case with satisfactory resolution.

12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern, We contacted Borg fence and Decks about installing a fence and gates. They sent their salesman ***** ****** out on 6-29-2013, We had concerns about where the front fence and gates were going to be. We wanted them built the same way and in the same spot. He said, not to worry it would be the same. So that was our oral agreement between the three of us. They broke the stucco on the house to the flower bed. **** ******* operations manager said it was wear and tear. The stucco isn't that old. ***** ****** jack hammered the cement under the gate to find the leak. She finally found the leak down by the post. The water followed the path of least resistance, they set the fence and gates out to far, now the grass is growing on the inside where we have cement. We didn't water so the fence would dry out for painting. In a week or so we watered, it poured out of the seam under the gate, on the inside of the gates all over the cement. They set the fence and gates out to far over a sprinkler line and broke the pipe. It cost $424.22 for ***** ****** to jack hammer the cement and fix the pipe. They couldn't help but see when they dug the post holes that they broke the pipe. I don't care about paragraph 2 in the contract, we had an oral agreement between my husband the salesman and myself to build the fence and gates in the same way and in the same spot. I have several witnesses: ***** ******** (XXX)XXXXXXX She took a video and faxed it to BF&D,they said they never received it. ***** ******** (XXX)XXXXXXX She mowes the back yard and is familiar with my property. ***** ******* (XXX)XXXXXXX She has mowed the back lawn and cleans up around the yard and house. ****** **** ******* (XXX)XXXXXXX Lic.# XXXXXX-XXXXXX Mowes and trims the front yard every week. He couldn't find the leak either. ***** ****** (XXX)XXX-XXXX Lic#XXXXXX She removed the cement under the gate and fixed the leak Called several times,left messages for Mr. ********* Called back again and finally got ahold of him once. He would talk to ****** ****. Contacted them several times and didn't hear back from them. Very disappointed in the customer service. Hope this doesn't happen to anyone else. There workmanship is poor. Thank you, Mr. and Mrs.****** *****

Desired Settlement: Pay the 424.22 that I had to pay out of my pocket.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to this client's concerns. When the client initially contacted us after her fence was built, it was to complain about chipped stucco and cracked concrete. Our Operations Manager did a site visit and determined that the damage she indicated was not caused by the fence installation. She has since indicated that we did not build the fence in exactly the same spot that it was before; and that we broke sprinkler pipe on the fence line when digging a post hole. We built the fence per the contract, which the customer signed. While there were specific instructions on height of the fence, and gate swing and latch information, there was no indication that the fence was to butt up against the concrete pad. As for the sprinkler pipe, our contract specifically limits our liability for broken sprinkler systems. We do require our crews to notify the customer if they are aware that a sprinkler pipe is damaged; and we work with the customer to affect the repair before filling the post hole with concrete. In this case, there was no water or other visible sign that the sprinkler was damaged, and therefore no notification was given to the customer. At the time that she communicated to us that there was a broken pipe under the post, she had already hired and paid someone else to fix the problem. Since the person she hired is a licensed painting contractor (C-33), not a general, landscaping or fencing contractor, the fact that she de-constructed and then re-constructed the fence we built also impacts the warranty on the fence. We were not given the opportunity to address the broken pipe prior to it being repaired by someone else; so we had no opportunity to mitigate the cost to the customer or to ourselves by handling it as a warranty concern. In good faith as an upstanding company, we have offered the client a credit of $100.00 which represents more than our cost to repair the pipe. We will be happy to provide the BBB with copies of our correspondence with this client.

8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Borg Fence is unresponsive to repair the 3 month old Gate that has split in half and fallen apart. We had Borg Replace our Fence in June (3 months) ago because of the relationship with ********* and ****** they had and warranty stated during the sales process. We had issues after the first installation with a retaining wall and fence posts. Repairs needed to be performed and we withheld payment to encourage Borg to complete the Job. It too several calls, email and pictures to even schedule. a month later they completed the repairs. We finalized payment Now the Side Gate has split in half and the hardware is not longer attached. This occurred on 7/26. 15 calls, several emails and we have been run around. Today is 8/2. I finally got through to **** at extension *** who is responsible for repairs. He promised to call back and send a repair crew. We have heard nothing. Currently our back yard is exposed and unable to lock, We have bricks holding the gate closed. Borg has not placed best effort into Repair or upholding the repair warranty. We would simply like our gate to be repaired so we can secure our back yard.

Desired Settlement: We would like the Gate repaired to a condition that will last the 5 years promised in the warranty.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to our client's concerns. Our records indicate that we signed a contract with the client on April 9th. We scheduled and installed the fence on April 30th, including a retailing wall on the left side of the property; which included a section at the front of the house with a gate and a section at the back of the house with a gate. On May 31st we returned to build the fence at the rear of the property, which included a gate. This build included a change order for an additional 14' of retaining wall at a location the client would indicate. At that time, the only issue was covering 4 life posts (metal posts) with fence boards. At this time the client had requested that we adjust the rear gate latch which we happily did do On July 3rd we took a repair report that the back gate latch was not installed properly, and there were issues with the old footer and the retaining wall. We went out on July 5th and addressed all existing issues. On July 26th we received a different repair ticket that indicated the front gate was not working. We requested pictures and received them on July 31st at 2pm. Even though the pictures indicate a splitting force on the 2x4 (most likely caused from a blunt force to the gate such as slamming) we agreed to fix it. On August 2nd our Operations manager had two conversations with the client regarding a new problem with the front gate.. In the 2nd conversation he confirmed a repair date for the gate of Wednesday, August 7th to replace a board on the gate that has split. Today August 6, 2013 we called to confirm our arrival for tomorrow between 11 and 12n and Ms. ********* was very concerned that this was her child's nap time and that the dogs are hard to control with people around the house and that would affect the child's ability to nap. We offered to reschedule for another day when it would be more conducive to her schedule and she said that we should proceed with our scheduled appointment. While we strive to complete a job to the customer's satisfaction on the date of install, we are aware that issues occasionally come up later that require repairs and it has always been our policy to stand behind our warranty and complete repairs in a timely manner. We are concerned that this client has not only filed a complaint with the BBB while we are in the process of rectifying the problem; but that he has also filed a very negative report on the social media site "Yelp!". We question the objective of the customers intent of such action but stand by our commitment to service our obligations under warranty.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Borg fence has serious internal issues that allowed a small issue to escalate. Hopefully we won't need to contact them. The construction of the fence is great.

3/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contracted for intall of property line fence and front gates. Underground sprinkler pipes were damaged and no attempt by contractor to repair. Fence and gates were installed on Jan X XXXX. About a month later I turned on the sprinklers to my back yard to water plant beds (lack of rain). I noticed water bubbling out from the gate fence posts. I had **** M. from ****** come out to look at the problem. He told me that he doubted if ****** would fix the damaged pipes which could have required removal and replacement of concrete walkways covering the underground pipes. His assessment was that ****** was not advised of underground pipes in the vicinity of their work. He advised me to discuss the matter with a Mr. ****** (may not have spelled this correctly) and to get an estimate for the repairs. Fortunately the repairs did not require removal and replacement of concrete walkways but the sprinkler repairman showed 2 cracked pipes in the vicinity of the gate posts. I took photos to show ****** if needed. Had had them repair the damage and paid $240. I called Mr. ****** and advised him that I felt ****** should pay the cost of my repairs He said he would review the matter and get back to me. It is now 2 weeks or more and I have still not received any call back from ****** or Mr. ******. I realize that I needed to provide ****** with location of underground pipes that would be affected by the project. All gas lines and water supply lines were marked and we noted a private gas line in the area which serviced a pool heater. There are four visible above ground sprinkler valves located within a foot and a half of the fence post. I presumed that the existing gate posts would be removed and replaced by new posts within the same holes. In that case, I expected no damage would occur. It looks like the pipes were broken by jack hammering or busting out the old concrete. Also, looks like one of the new gate posts was 4x6 and replaced the old smaller 4x4 post. No one from ****** identifed a potential problem given the location of the visible sprinkler valves nearby so I assumed there would be no problems. I must say that otherwise ****** did a good job on construction of the fence. I just wish someone would have called me to further discuss the damaged sprinkler pipes. Since I did not hear from them I assumed they would not offer to reimburse me for my costs of repair.

Desired Settlement: As I pointed out ****** did a good job in constructing the fence and I felt the contracted price was fair. As for the $240 repairs I had to pay for I believe both ****** and I have an equal responsibility for the repair costs. I would have been acceptable for slitting the costs equally between ****** and myself and I don't see why they chose not to discuss this further with me.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
****** Fence and Decks responded immediately to customer's issue and came to an agreement where ****** would split costs of the bill for repairs on the damaged property. Per our contract, ****** is not held responsible for damaged pipes/sprinklers, etc but out of good faith and pursuit for customer satisfaction, we agreed to take half of the responsibilty for the repair bill. The customer was satisfied at our agreement and agreed to bring this case to closure.