BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Arrow Fence Co.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Arrow Fence Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Arrow Fence Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Arrow Fence Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 31, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1978 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1978 Business incorporated: 09/21/1982 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 436008.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Alan Harris, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alan Harris, President
Business Category

Fence Contractors Gates

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 4025 Cincinnati Ave.

    Rocklin, CA 95765 (916) 626-3030

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 626-3030(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Arrow refused to provide repair service for a gate they installed. Arrow installed an electric powered gate several years ago (approximately 2004). We were satisfied with the job, allowed Arrow to photograph the gate and use it in their portfolio. We also recommended Arrow to several other clients, and showed our fence and its operation to prospective buyers, at Arrow's request. Around 2007, the gate stop operating and we contacted Arrow. They sent a repair person to our house, who informed us it would cost $165 for him to look at the problem. This was the first time we had been told that the visit would cost this much--which was particularly surprising because they expressly timed the visit to coincide with work on a job around the corner from our house. We expected to pay for the repair, but the amount to look at the issue was a surprise and it was the fist time the rate was explained to us. The repair person made a phone call to Arrow then said he would reduce the bill. There were no arguments, no issues. He offered and we accepted. I paid the bill he presented. No other communication occurred. Yesterday (2/8/13) I called Arrow because the fence will not open. The owner returned the call and told me that if we needed a repair, Arrow would not do it. His reason: "In 2007 you did not pay a bill you agreed to pay." I asked if he had the same customer file or if this was a mistake. I was polite, although surprised. He hung up on me.

Desired Settlement: Arrow is a specialty firm. They installed a gate, and it is operated with circuit boards and the like. I am now left with the task of trying to find someone outside of the company who has the knowledge to make this kind of repair. I have never disputed a bill in my life, and did not dispute this one. If I had been told the service charge was $165 for the first hour (which is far in excess of any service charge for an appliance, car repair or doctors visit), I would have at least made a fully informed decision. But I was not until the person making the repair was at my house. I would have paid the bill if he had not agreed to a lesser amount, but he agreed, so I paid the bill I was presented. This is bad faith on the part of Arrow. I have recommended them to several people in the past, but based on this rude and inappropriate action, will never again.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Company states (JLS): In November of 2002, Arrow Fence Company installed 24' of ornamental iron fencing which included one 9'-7" Swing Gate and automatic entry system. The total amount of the installation was $5,535.00. In December of 2006, ****** called and said his gate was opening a little at a time. Arrow Fence Company quoted the service charge fee of $165.00 which includes the first hour of labor and any additional hour is $75.00 plus materials. Arrow Fence Company has a policy to inform the customer over the phone of our service call fees and hourly rate before sending a tech out. You can see on the work order that the fees are circled indicating that Arrow Fence Co. informed the customer of the fees and the customer agreed to it. The invoice for this service was mailed to ****** on 12/29/2006. Payment is due on receipt. I made numerous calls to ****** regarding payment on this invoice - no response. I then had Buck (our salesman) call ****** on 2/1/2007 and at that time is when ****** stated that the bill was too high. ****** told Buck he would mail out a check for $80.00. I received the check on 2/6/2007 - over a month after the service was done. Seven years later on February 6, 2013, ****** calls the office and asked the someone call him to discuss problems he was currently having with his gate. I had ****** ****** call him and they had a conversation about the gate. ****** was thinking it was the battery. ****** stated that he may need to have us come out to service the gate. It was at that time that ****** informed him the Arrow Fence Company will not be coming out to service his gate. The reason being is that he disputed paying his last bill - that you took it upon yourself to discount the bill by $75.00. ******'s complaint here to the BBB is so inaccurate in that it states that he told our service tech at the site that the bill was too high. He states that the service tech called the office at Arrow Fence Company and was able to get the bill discounted. It wasn't until Buck talked with ****** once the invoice had been mailed that ****** started disputing payment on February 1, 2007. Arrow Fence Company has the right to refuse service to a customer especially to someone that has refused to pay their full invoice that they agreed to originally. I am not really sure what ****** is asking for here. What is the point of his complaint? It seems he feels guilty now that he didn't pay his bill and now is on a mission to slander our good name. Not only has he filed his complaint but he is posting false information about our company online - see attachment. I have also attached copies of the original paperwork for you.

Consumer's Final Response
Whether it was the "policy" of Arrow Fence to state its service charge in advance of sending a technician, in this instance they did not do it. Perhaps it was an oversight; these things happen. Arrow's statement about 'slander' is fantastic. I filed a complaint, based on facts. If my facts were wrong and Arrow found me to be a non-paying customer, then Arrow would not have continued servicing our gate. But they did, only a year after what they now claim is a disputed bill. They repaired my gate on July 10, 2008 (1 1/2 years after the 2006 repair), for a charge of $245, paid in full. Now, in 2013, 7 years after the 2006 repair, their file is telling them I did not pay a bill in 2006. Not true. I have never, in my life, not paid a bill. I have perfect credit and always have. I paid Arrow $80 in 2007 for a repair (if the bill was paid 40 days after it was presented to me as claimed, I apologize for a minor oversight). It was agreed to by ****, an employee of Arrow at the time and the person who represented Arrow to us. It was less than the original bill, which I felt was not fair for the reasons already stated. I was led to believe this was satisfactory to Arrow, as it was to me. Arrow's subsequent action, repairing my gate again the following year, suggests they were satisfied. If this was not agreed upon, I would have paid the entire bill presented to me, even if I had not agreed to its fairness. As to what I "want", I believe consumers should be aware of this as they make their purchase decisions for what is an expensive item, and that may require service. In my case, I can't and won't ask anything else of Arrow as they have already refused service. Instead, I had to find a different vendor who has satisfactorily made the repair.

10/8/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Both gate openers installed does not work;charged for service call when should be under warranty for a year;wants to charge more to fix stating pre-existing problem which was never stated prior to starting work;overcharged for installation of intercom since scope of work beyond their capability;had to bring in other contractors.

Desired Settlement: pay for services rendered to get the jof done correctly

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Arrow Fence Co. completed the installation of (2) gate operators on ****** ******'s existing gates January 4, 2012 - see contract # ****. Please note that the gates, posts, hinges and electrical were all existing. Arrow Fence Co. did not do the original installation of these gates, posts, hinges and electrical. Mrs. ****** had another company build the gates and install them. On June 4, 2012 Arrow Fence Co. went to the jobsite to check out one gate that was stuck closed. Arrow Fence Co.'s service tech found that the existing hinges were rusted and real tight which caused the gate to go in hard shut down. This is when the gate thinks it is hitting something because of extra force to move gate because of tight hinges. This is a factory safety feature. This was caused by existing hinges that Arrow Fence Co. did not install. The gate worked for six months. The hinges need to be replaced so gates swing freely and don't put unnecessary pressure on operators. The invoice for this service call is # XXXXX dated June 5, 2012 for $ 186.25. Mrs. ****** has not paid this invoice and after talking with her we didn't think she ever planned on it. Arrow Fence Co. provided Mrs. ****** with a quote to cut off existing hinges and weld on new in the amount of $ 670.00. Mrs. ****** declined to proceed. Arrow Fence Co. had a separate contract # **** for an intercom in the amount of $740.00 PLUS $ 165.00 for the first hour and $ 85.00 per hour after the first hour (Time and Materials) ADDITIONAL to pull wires and install exterior door station. The reason for hourly rates is that we are installing new exterior door station to existing interior station. Mrs. ****** had issues with interior station and wiring. Arrow Fence Co. does not do any interior wiring on houses of any kind. ****** (President of Arrow Fence Co) informed Mrs. ****** that there were issues with interior intercom and what was supplied to us at exterior of house would not work. Mrs. ****** would need to contact an electrician to supply Arrow Fence Co. with a working interior wiring stub to exterior of house. This should not be an unexpected expense because Arrow Fence Co. states T & M (Time & Materials) rates on contract to complete work. Please see attachments which include original contract for automatic entry system, contract for intercom and time & materials installation, service charge in June of 2012 and proposal to install new hinges on gate. Thank you, ****** ****** Vice President Arrow Fence Co.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It cost me $60 to fix the problem by another company; the back up batteries were dead and that is why the gates were no working; $30 per battery and 15 minutes to figure out and change; there were NO problems with the hinges; Arrow wanted to charge for a service call on an opener that was under warranty; they shouldn't charge for fixing their screwup; and for hinges that are fine;I'm glad I got a second opinion.

Business' Final Response
We are really not sure what ****** is asking for. Arrow Fence Co. will write off the last service call dated 6/5/2012 in the amount of $186.25. ****** ****** Arrow Fence Co.