Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Talbott Solar & Radiant Homes

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 731-4541 216 F St # 132, Davis, CA 95616 http://www.talbottsolar.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Talbott Solar & Radiant Homes meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • The business's BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Talbott Solar & Radiant Homes
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 2011 Business started: 01/01/1991 Business started locally: 01/01/1991 Business incorporated 03/25/2003 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 887274.

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00667908. On 4/2/2013 BBB confirmed that Talbott Solar & Radiant Homes had not obtained a necessary license from Contractor's State License Board.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dean T. Newberry, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dean T. Newberry, President
Business Category

Energy Conservation Products & Services Solar Energy Research & Development Solar Energy System Design & Installation Contractors - Solar Energy Solar Energy Products - Retail Contractor - Electrical Electricians Geothermal Heating & Cooling

Alternate Business Names
Talbott Solar and Radiant Homes, Inc.
Products & Services

Talbott Solar & Radiant Homes Inc, is a construction and consulting firm specializing in residential and commercial hydronic radiant ceiling heating and cooling systems.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 1611 2nd Street

    Davis, CA 95616

  • 216 F St # 132

    Davis, CA 95616 (800) 731-4541

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company installed an inverter for a solar PV system more than a year ago. Also installed was a wireless device that allows remote monitoring of the system and email notification when there is a problem with the system. The email notification has never worked because the product must be registered with its manufacturer and it never has been, nor was I informed at the time of installation that this was even an option (I stumbled upon this in trying to see if I could deal with the issue myself). I have made repeated attempts (literally dozens) over the past year to get this issue resolved and it has not been.

Desired Settlement: Fix the problem. Get the product registered and fully functioning or, if necessary, replace with another unit and get that unit registered and fully functioning.

Business Response: Company states: The energy making equipment is functioning properly. This feature not something that company typically recommends using nor supports it. The few times that we have tried have been failures. We are as equally frustrated that this feature is not working as hoped. We recommend monitoring the PG&E bill and that would be the primary way of monitoring your system. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:The company states that "The energy making equipment is functioning properly." This statement does not address my complaint, which had to do with the lack of functioning of the monitoring device the company installed, and the fact that the company has been unable to provide me with a serial number and  other information  required by the  manufacturer to register the device. The company states that "This feature [the monitoring device] is not something that company typically recommends using nor supports it." The company never advised me of this and  was more than happy to charge me the roughly $500 the device cost. The company states "The few times that we have tried have been failures." The device worked for a while, but, as noted above, required a serial number and other information in order to be registered and allow full functionality. The company states "We are as equally frustrated that this feature is not working as hoped. We recommend monitoring the PG&E bill and that would be the primary way of monitoring your system." This is completely unacceptable. Had I wanted to go this route, I would  never  have purchased the monitoring device. The company should be obligated to either get the device registered and functioning or refund what I paid for it. My sense of  it is that Mr. Newberry was not very familiar with these devices to begin with. If that's the case, he should find someone who is who can complete the job, register the device and see that it is functioning properly.

****** ***** 

Business Response: Company states: It appears that the consumer is experiencing issues with the monitoring device. I will reach out to him to rectify the situation.

Consumer Response: Consumer states: I did not receive a call from the company and so I contacted the manufacturer directly and they walked me through resolving the issue I was experiencing. 

2/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been leaving messages for Talbott Solar for the last ten days and have not received a response. They installed a tankless water heater in September 2010 and on January 16, 2014, it stopped working. I have turned to someone else for repairs and they tell me the gas line installed is not the correct size. This company has not gone out of business and it is inexcusable for them not to respond.

Desired Settlement: I would like to hear from Talbott and have them correct the improper installation.

Consumer Response: To Whom It May Concern:

I filled a complaint on January 27, 2014, ID******, about failure to hear from Talbott Solar & Radiant Homes. They have since contacted me; today they made a repair to the gas line on my tankless water heater.
my problem has been resolved.

8/19/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered and paid for a Sunpower Consumption Meter on 3/20/2013. It is now 6/24/2013 and I have not received the meter, or an ETA for delivery. I ordered and paid for a Sunpower Consumption Meter on 3/20/2013. It is now 6/24/2013 and I have not received the meter, or an ETA for delivery. After about a month, I started emailing and calling the project manager (**** **** and office staff ******** and both said the meter was on order. After about 2 months, they stopped replying and I learned that both had left the company. I then began calling the owner **** ******** at least once a week and he has not been able to provide an ETA, claiming there were communication issues with the supplier, or it was on its way, or he was too busy to investigate. Many times he has promised to investigate and call me back, but he never has. Also, I have left many messages on his voicemail or with his office asking him to return my call but he does not.

Desired Settlement: I would like the consumption meter delivered and installed asap, or at least a reasonable ETA for when it will arrive (1 month or less).

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Company states the delayed payment has been received, and the meter should arrive next Wednesday or Thursday at the latest. It is coming from somewhere in the Bay area.

Consumer's Final Response
Finally got the consumption meter up and running. **** was nice about it, but still a bit disappointed it took almost half a year from time of payment.

Business' Final Response
We deeply excuse ourselves for our client's frustration. We were going through an employee transitional period and unfortunately there was a great deal of miscommunication with this particular client's case. Talbott's owner, **** ******** has contacted this client to personally extend his apologies as well as ensure a timely shipment. The meter had indeed been ordered and the client will have Talbott's unfaltering support throughout installation.

11/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Talbott Solar has failed to provide service to provide a working water heater resulting in loss of customers,revenue & bad public reviews. Talbott Solar installed dpw-199 tankless water heater about a year ago. Since the 1st week of install, the water heater has had A6 and A8 error codes. Talbott has tried multiple times to repair the unit but the error code continues to appear. Over the last 3 months, Talbott has not responded to emails or phone calls. Customers have posted reviews of lack of hot water on public travel sites like Expedia, TripAdvisor, and others that significantly damages future business. On Wed. Oct. 31, we refunded $4,400 dollars to guests.

Desired Settlement: Settlement would be for Talbott Solar to provide a replacement unit (not Quietside), to heat the water ASAP.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We understand how important it is for our customers to have fully functioning and reliable water heating units, especially when the functionality of these units reflect the standing status of a client's company. Because we are unable to control the speed and efficiency in which the supplier will send over the replacement water heater, we have taken action by installing a low pressure regulator and have been monitoring it on a daily basis to ensure that our client's guests will have continuous and ample amounts of hot water. We have grasped the gravity of this situation along with the grief that this malfunctioning water heater has caused this particular client of ours, and we will continue to stay in close in contact with him and perform any necessary maintenance on the unit until this issue is solved.