BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fry's Electronics meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fry's Electronics include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 42 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

42 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 15 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 11
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 5
Problems with Product/Service 25
Total Closed Complaints 42

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fry's Electronics
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 13, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1997 Business started locally: 01/01/1997 Business incorporated: 03/18/1985 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronics and Appliance Repair
4244 South Market Court, Suite D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bearhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
Fax Number: (916) 921-7279
HomeProducts@dca.ca.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Ashby, Northgate Store Manager Mr. Robert Baum, Assistant Manager Mr. Brandon Hanna, Store Manager Mr. Arnold Johnson, Assistant Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Ashby, Northgate Store Manager
Business Category

Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers Home Theater Television & Radio - Dealers Computers - Service & Repair Television & Radio - Service & Repair Online Retailer Retail Stores Network Cabling Installation Computers - Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Fry's Electronics, Inc.
Products & Services

Fry's Electronics specializes in sales, service and repair of electronic equipment and supplies.


Additional Locations

  • 180 N Sunrise Ave

    Roseville, CA 95661 (916) 517-1500

  • 4100 Northgate Blvd

    Sacramento, CA 95834

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 517-1131 (Fax)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 1 at about 1250 AM I went to Fry's Electronics in Roseville, California because I need a copy of Windows 8. They were out of them so they suggested that I purchase a copy of Windows 8.1. I did that and went home to load the new operating system and it would not boot. I took it back to the store and they told me they could not do anything for me except give me another copy. I suggested that they try booting it but no one did, they just took my disc and gave me one to replace it with the same key. It works, however, I purchased a copy elsewhere and it works fine. To make a long story short, it wouldn't boot either. So, I went to another store and bought Windows 8 and it booted and everything works fine. These people stuck me with the defective software that cost $$99.99 plus Tax! I have spent Thousands of dollars at Fry's over the years, and I can say this, if this isn't resolved, I will never spend another penny at Fry's. I will put it on the net and let everyone know that at Fry's the customer seems to always be wrong and treated like a criminal. (I will not name the persons involved at this time on the internet, but without resolution, I will name everyone later!) Store policy says that no returns if opened. How in the world would I know it is a defective product if I don't open it and try it? This is unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: Refund for the defective product because I purchased another at a different business and everything works fine.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern.  We don't make the rules on software copy right laws.  Once software is opened the user accepts the software license agreement. The OS software is not defective, however as a customer service we did exchange the software for another copy.  It appears that there may be a conflict with the customer's motherboard and Windows 8.1.  In the interest of Customer Service, we can issue Mr. *********** an in store credit for the software.  I feel that this is a generous offer, as we will be destroying the software, per licence agreement.

Please come in and see ****** *******, Assistant Store Manager for a store credit of the purchased price plus tax.

Kindest Regards,

****** *******

Fry's Electronics Inc.

 

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Frys Newspaper ads and website contain the following statement: "We Will Match Any Competitive Price*." Before making a purchase from a Fry's Electronics store, if you see a lower current price at a local authorized competitor in-stock, or from an authorized Internet competitor ready to ship, Fry's will be happy to match the competition's delivered price." Apparently the the list of authorized dealers is so small that this advertising claim is bogus and fraudulent. I asked them to match prices for a Tmobile non-contract Nokia 521 with the Microsoft Internet Store. Microsoft also have a local Brick and Mortar Outlet. Microsoft is a reputable dealer selling products with full USA warranties. Frys refused to match prices as Microsoft is not on their unpublished list of authorized competing companies. This event occurred on 1/21/14 at the Roseville, Ca store.

Desired Settlement: Stop advertising this bogus and fraudulent claim. Frys internet price matching is misleading and fraudulent. It's the classic false advertising claim to get you in the door. Also, the list of companies they do match is not published and I would guess is very limited. If they do not match a huge internet company like Microsoft; then quit advertising that Frys will price match Internet companies. My next step is to file complaints at Placer County DA, Sacramento County DA and the California DOJ.

Business Response:

I apologize for the poor experience.  Based upon the information provided I do not know why we would have denied your request.  If you will be so kind as to bring a printout of the advertised item and price we will be happy to match the same model for you.  Should you encounter a situation like this in the future please ask for myself or for my Assistant Store Manager, Arnold Johnson, and we will assist you in the matter.

 

-- Brandon Hanna

Store Manager

#26 Roseville, CA

Business Response:

I apologize for the poor experience.  Based upon the information provided I do not know why we would have denied your request.  If you will be so kind as to bring a printout of the advertised item and price we will be happy to match the same model for you.  Should you encounter a situation like this in the future please ask for myself or for my Assistant Store Manager, Arnold Johnson, and we will assist you in the matter.

 

-- Brandon Hanna

Store Manager

#26 Roseville, CA

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I commend Frys for responding to my complaint. I appreciate the offer of resolution from the Store Manager. I hope that Frys Internet price matching policy will receive close scrutiny  by Frys management. Also, I would like to see Frys publish the list of price matching competitors. 


Sincerely,

****** ******

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I commend Frys for responding to my complaint. I appreciate the offer of resolution from the Store Manager. I hope that Frys Internet price matching policy will receive close scrutiny  by Frys management. Also, I would like to see Frys publish the list of price matching competitors. 


Sincerely,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 11/25/13 ******** ****** and I brought her 07 Honda accord to Fry's to have a stereo installed. We got her car back with damage puncture marks on dash On 11/25/13 I brought an 07 Honda accord in for installation of a Kenwood stereo and when I went to pick it up, the work was very poor quality, there were malfunctions with the pocket door not shutting, and puncture holes in the dash. We did not wish to keep the products because we were dissatisfied with the work. I spoke with a manager named **** and showed him all of the issues including the damage that was done. I asked **** to make a report and take pictures of the damage and he told me that he would help me file a claim for the damage when we came back for the uninstallation. A week later we went back to have the original stereo re installed and **** did as he said he would and help me file the claim. For the past few weeks I've been calling, emailing, and sending pictures to the claims department. This morning (12/18/13) I finally received a call from the claims department and they stated that they were denying my claim because "the damage looks small and we can't prove that we did it." The damage is very clear and it is obvious that they did it! The manager **** even told me that the damage was from them! I asked him why Fry's would supply their installation employees tools that cause damage to vehicles, **** said "Fry's does not supply their tools, they have to supply their own." The total cost was $830.97. They refunded me 100% but the dash is still damaged.

Desired Settlement: The settlement that we are seeking is that the dash be replaced to its original condition or a check for the cost of the damage.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
We have denied this customer's claim that the puncture marks were somehow made by our technicians. As the customer has stated we have refunded not only the cost of the product but also the cost of the labor as well, which is for services that were performed. We disagree with the customer's view of who caused puncture marks on a six, almost seven, year-old vehicle and will not be offering any further settlement.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This retailer uses a Bait and Switch process advertising an item at a low price and require in store pick-up. They do not have item. Initial date was 10/07/13. Item was Prokek Function Generator for $9.90. Called store and was told only item left was display model, and it was being discontinued. Asked to buy the display and was told it was broke and was being sent back to mfg. This same thing happened twice before within the last year. Once with a handheld CB radio and again with a projection clock. Same story same results. Today seen the same add for the function generator for $9.90. Went to store and was told item had been discontinued. Spoke to ******* ****** (said she was in charge). Just got a song and dance claiming she did not know why they did that. I told her I believed it was obvious bait and switch. She was courteous but provided no help.

Desired Settlement: I would like to buy the advertised item for the stated price or a comparable item for the same price. Note Function generators of this type usually start at $150.00 or more. Which makes the add price of $9.90 an obvious bait and switch, requiring in store pick-up only.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *******, Asst.Mgr. Contact Email: ***@i.frys.com I spoke to Mr. ***** today. I listened to his concerns and tried to explain how our website works. We will advertise final Clearance end of life products on our website to try to sell the last remaining inventory. We have 34 Stores and the item will most likely not be available in every market. These are not regular ad items. I'm sorry that we could not fulfill Mr. ******** last 3 attempts to purchase clearance items from our website for in store pick up. This is not bait and switch (by definition). We do not conduct business in that manner. The items that Mr. ***** requested are no longer available for me fill his request at this time.

Consumer Response
Am I satisfied with response? No I am not, since the only thing they did was to deny that they use Bait and Switch type of advertising which is exactly what they do. Am I surprised with their answer no. Following their response I looked up their corp. web site thinking to call them. After reading page after page of totally negative reviews regarding their customer service I decided it would be an exercise in futility. A couple of things that do surprise me are the fact that they are still in business and that the BBB rates them as A+. Additionally when I was told that the display was the last one and it was broke I offered to purchase the display. I have worked in electronics for many years and figured I could fix it myself. When I re-laid that to the man that called, he told me I should have contacted him. When I was in the store and asked to see the manager I was referred to a Woman, that when I asked if she was the manager she did not say she was but she did say "SHE WAS IN CHARGE" and offered no help. Something that would not surprise me would be to find out that they have employee training classes on the correct verbiage to use when dealing with a customer complaint to avoid any liability or responsibility for their Bait and switch type advertising. I think you should reconsider their A+ rating and Monitor their advertising for a while. Also I guess the manager did do something, the day after he spoke to me they deleted the item from the ad. Something else, I managed 4 retail stores for close to 20 years and it is very unlikely that when a vender gives a store an allowance large enough to allow the store to deplete stock on a $500.00 item for $10.00 that they would accept any returns on that item. Also it would be crazy for a store to take time and money to box up and return an item they are dumping for $10.00. If the display was actually broken they would just toss it in the dumpster. The whole system and stories at fry's is geared to get people into the store to sell them something other than the advertised item.

Business Response
To whom it may concern. This appears to be the same complaint I responded to and my position has not changed. I do not have the requested clearance product in my market. I am pretty sure the entire company has sold out of this power generator. Please close complaint. Thank you

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Online ad for $89 hard drive. Got to store and the employee claimed ad misprint, but could sell me a different brand hard drive for $159. Online advertisement was for Samsung 840 Pro 250GB SSD for $89. 9am-9pm, Sat 8/17/2013 only, Limit 1. (Did NOT say while supplies last.) When arrived at store and asked an employee about it, she stated that the ad was a misprint and that she could sell me a Corsair 250GB SSD for $159. Classic bait-and-switch. It was an ONLINE advertisement, not in the newspaper, if it was a misprint, why didn't Frys simply replace the online image with the correct price / brand.

Desired Settlement: I simply want Frys to honor their advertisement. I rescheduled my day around this FALSE bait-and-switch ad. Sure it may be legal in the US, but complete and utter poor service. What good is reading advertisements if they aren't going to be honored. I was a faithful customer up until now and would always check Frys ads EVERY DAY, until now.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Customer was contacted by the Electronic Components Department Manager and was offered a Samsung SSD drive at $159. Customer responded that he will call back if he decides to purchase it.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I drove an hour out of my way to go to the nearest Frys store to get the hard drive deal for $89. ******, the manager who called me to offer me the $159 deal for the Samsung drive said that the online ad was pulled as soon as they found out about the misprint. However, when I got home AFTER returning from the store, the image was still online. I even saved a copy of the image on my computer. The image has a created time / date from after I wasted gas, time, effort, and frustration traveling to Frys for the $89 deal. I changed my schedule for the day so I would be able to arrive at the store before opening. I understand that people make mistakes, however, I also feel that if you make a mistake, you should still take RESPONSIBILITY for your mistake. Being a small business owner myself, if I had made a mistake like that, I would honor the advertisement, because it got a customer into the building, which is what an advertisement is DESIGNED to do.

Final Business Response
We were able to come to a suitable resolution with the customer this afternoon. The customer was contacted with the offer which was accepted and the purchase transaction was completed.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Frys advertised rebates with purchases. I purchased two software with rebates offered, but never recd. them. It's been over 9 months since submission. Submitted $20 rebate paperwork for Berlitz Chinese purchased 11/28/12 to Nova Development on 12/7/12. Submitted $10 rebate for Berlitz French purchased 11/28/12 to Nova on 12/7/12. Followed-up w/Nova 10 wks. later. I was told they had no record of either submission (mailed in separate envelopes)and it was too late to resubmit. I started calling Frys and e-mailed all rebate paperwork to ******* on 4/11/13 per his request.When I never heard back from him, I called him on two subsequent days to no avail. On 4/18 I called again and spoke with a ********* I emailed the rebate paperwork again per his request. On 5/1 I called and spoke with ******* **** in the rebate dept in San Jose. I followed up with her again on 5/8. She sent paperwork to Nova and will email me with status. On 5/21 ******* said they (Frys) will handle the rebates with me and seek reimbursement from Nova. She further stated she sent the two rebates for "final processing", and it would take 2-4 wks to issue the checks since all rebate documents were in order. No checks recd as of 6/26/13, so I called ******* again. She said she will email me with status after she hears from "final processing". On 7/5,I recd an email from ******* stating two checks have been sent out, check nos. XXXXXXX for $20 and XXXXXXX for $10 (Nova Development checks, supposedly, not from Frys). No checks recd so I emailed ******* on 8/4/13. Never heard back from her. On 2 subsequent days,I was told she was "out to lunch", but I found out she was no longer working in that dept. I called on 8/28/13 and spoke with a ********** from Frys corporate, supposedly. She said they will be cutting the two checks and that I should receive them in 2-3 weeks. She said Nova told her they had no knowledge of my rebate problem. She asked them how they could "issue" the two checks stated earlier without having any knowledge of the rebate submissions... no answer. So, over 9 months later after submitting the two rebate requests (and not to mention the time involved in follow-up, I would appreciate your help in getting the two rebates owed me. P.S. We have since switched our business to **** *** and *** Electronics. Frys has lost out on over $600+. in purchases from us in the last 2 months alone (two Samsung Galaxy S4's and one $200+ router). This year,we've taken our European friend to **** *** and *** for his high dollar volume purchases). Two years ago, we took him to Frys. Shame on Frys for the $30.00 runaround and "tall tales". Also, I will never deal with Nova. Interestingly, a friend applied for a rebate two years earlier and was told they never received her paperwork! I have never, ever, had a problem with ********* rebates.

Desired Settlement: Two rebate checks in the amounts of $20.00 and $10.00 or one combined check in the amount of $30.00, exactly what I am owed according to the advertised rebate offers.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
We spoke with the customer this morning to find out invoice information to better assist the customer. The customer's concerns were for rebates on items purchased in the Downers Grove, IL store. A refund check in the requested amount was cut and sent out from the San Jose Home Office via UPS overnight as of 9/19/13. The tracking number for UPS was emailed to the customers listed email address.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Fry's Electronics and Nova Development had NO INTENTION of abiding by their advertised rebates. Only after I contacted the BBB and your speedy follow-up was I able to receive what was owed me ($30.00 in rebates). It took me 9 months of trying to resolve this problem (and getting nowhere), and you were able to do it in 3 days (I received my check by overnight mail). I will no longer purchase anything from Fry's or Nova Development as they are unethical. Thank you, BBB, for your efficient investigation. Your help is very much appreciated.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was unfairly subjected to a horribly dishonest sales system with no recourse. I dropped by your Roseville, CA store yesterday evening 9/05/2013 with the intention of buying a laptop in the $300 - $400 range after seeing your 2 day sale advertising. I went with an extremely proficient computer expert friend of mine. We went to the computer section of the store, and we were greeted promptly by multiple associates. They were very polite and professional in every way. We spent around 10 minutes browsing through the aisles and checked every computer on our own. Then I came across a deal that looked spectacular! It was an Asus Laptop, Intel I5 processor, 6gigs of ram, and a 750gig hard drive for only $390! It was a whopping $167 discount off the sale price! I called an associate over to help us. He was very helpful in the beginning! I was unable to get a card or spelling on a name at the end of this, but he was Middle Eastern I believe, and his name was something like "******". He explained that the discount was applied on this "specific" machine because it was an open box or returned item. We asked him in detail what this meant. His words verbatim were as follows: "The particular computer is an open box item, it has been fully inspected and certified to be resold, there is no damage (at which time we inspected the computer, and there was no visilble damage) and the only difference between this and a new machine is it does not include a warranty, because it does not come with any original packaging". I believe he stated that I would have 14 days to return the product as long as there was no physical damage inflicted, but after that I would have no coverage if something went wrong. When I expressed some hesitation at this he reassured me that they could put an extended warranty on the machine, and that he would "go talk to his manager to get me a discounted package deal". All of this sounded perfect to me! He left for about 5 - 10 minutes while I continued to browse and contemplate. He returned as I was looking at another machine and stated "good news! I can get you a discounted warranty for, (I do not remember the exact pricing here, but it is close) $129 for a 2 year or $139 for a 3 year! I just so happened to be standing in front of another machine at this point, and printed clearly on the sign were the EXACT same prices for the two warranties he had just offered me. I said "hey, that's not discounted, that is full retail man"! He stuttered, and then said "yes, I know, my manager is working on putting together that package deal for us right now, I will be right back". I didn't like the whole situation at this point, but seeing how the computer was discounted $169 and for $30 less I could double or triple my warranty it still made some sense. I told him ok, but I was running out of time as I had been there over 1/2 an hour then and that I was ready to buy on the spot if he could get me to $500 out the door. He stated that he was pretty sure he could get VERY close and then left for another 5 minutes and returned as I stood in front of the laptop in question with the sale price card in his hand and a charger cable. He flipped over the card in front of me and showed me a very small handwritten note on the back (I can not say 100% here, but I am ALMOST sure that it was not written there before) that stated "No Battery, No Charger". He said, "the reason this computer is discounted so much is because it does not have a battery and charger with it, each of these items is $100, so it is about $200 in accessories, the good news is I found a charger for you, and my manager is going to TRY (extremely emphasized word) to find a battery for you if we CAN (also emphasized)". I told him "that's funny, even though the computer is mysteriously powered off now, it was on when I first looked at it before you joined us". Again he stuttered as he was caught in another convenient mistake. He dramatically lifted up the computer and exclaimed "Oh wow! There is a battery in it, let me go check with my

Desired Settlement: manager!" He came back quickly and told me that management had already found a battery and installed it, but that they weren't going to charge me for the battery or the charger, lucky me! He reiterated that the 2 parts were $200, when I asked why I was looking at the same charger on Amazon for $11.67 and a battery for $49, he completely dismissed that. I had been there over 45 minutes at that point and told him again, "look I am out of time, I will do the $500 out the door if you say we can do that". He said that he thought they would be at $515-$520, but he would try one more time FOR ME...He returned after 5 minutes and stated that because they were giving me a battery and charger for free there was NO discount he could give me in any way. I asked to speak to the manager he kept talking to, he told me the manager was too busy. It took me 3 times asking and then demanding before he agreed to go get the manager. The director of the computer department then came out, I do not remember his name but he was a Hispanic gentleman, he was polite, but very passive aggressive in his words. He reiterated the salesman's statement that there would be no discount and that they were again giving me $200 worth of equipment. When I asked him about the Amazon pricing, he said that it was in no way the same product. I was under the impression that you price match with Amazon, so I would assume that the exact model number parts are comparable? I asked him why I had just spent almost an hour with his salesman representing that there would be a discount, he asked the salesman in front of me and "******" (sp) stated that he had NEVER discussed ANY pricing except the full retail out the door of $570 which is an undeniable LIE, which I did not hesitate to implicate. At this point he pulled out his best card. He took a step back and very dramatically stated that he was unsure about his safety and his salesman's safety, as I "seemed very flustered, and my lip was quivering, and was I ok?"... I asked to speak to his boss, he replied that he did not have one. I asked to speak with the general manager. He reluctantly agreed and proceeded to "escort me" to the front of the store. It was a very very rude and passive aggressive tone and manner to directly make me feel as if I was the aggressor and in the wrong here. We reached the front of the store and he told me to wait "right here", he went into an office and talked for 5 - 10 minutes and returned with a "******* *****, store manager" ******* came out, with the full story already relayed to him from his manager, every time I stated something, and granted I was fairly agitated at this point, he pointed out inconsistencies and repeatedly implied that I was outright lying. The Hispanic manager continued to stand by his side and shake his head negatively at my ABSOLUTELY TRUE statements. They both implied that they did not in any way doubt the salesman's statements and that I was completely in the wrong. That somehow I stood back there for 45 minutes negotiating with a man who consistently told me I would be paying what was on the tag. There would be no recourse for the things that were told to me as they were not accurate and furthermore, now that he (*******) was informed of the missing equipment, he would be raising the price of the laptop AS SOON as I refused the offer. I asked for a way to contact corporate, and was given a generic comment card along with the following statement, this is not verbatim, but is VERY close to the words he used, and definitely conveys the same message: "You can submit whatever you want, but I will deny it in my report and nothing will come of it". I cannot imagine that you would sell a laptop without ANY way of powering it. I cannot imagine that if you did do that, you would not note that in a place that the consumer could see, and / or notify your salespeople of the conditions.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The facts of this incident are as follows: - The customer saw a one-of-a-kind display unit with a large discount due to missing items. - The customer inquired about a further discount based upon his perceived value of those missing items. - We were able to find and complete the notebook with a battery and a power cord. - Though the price of the unit was based upon the missing items we were still willing to sell the item and include the accessories we had found to complete the unit. Fry's Electronics is not a flea market or a pawn shop. We do not barter. We priced a display unit at a fair price given its condition and, since we completed the unit, decided against a further discount. It should also be noted that a $167 discount on a $558 unit, or 30% off, is a much larger discount than our standard 10-15% off. The customer left without making a purchase but we have plenty of other display models for sale should the customer choose to visit us again.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) You have yet to make any apology or concession in regards to the lies and false representation that I was subject to for close to an hour. Is there anyone in this company that believes in a moral business practice? I will be moving my business, my families business, and the recommendations I make to hundreds of clients to your competitor. All of this because you couldn't train your employees to be honest and upfront with YOUR customers. I know this is a small matter to you, but it will continue this way if you do not make any changes to your business practices. I hope the chance of making an extra 60$ off of me was worth the loss of current and future business from me and everyone I talk to... Good Luck!

Business' Final Response
The unit had a 30% discount off the original price. Based upon the unit having the battery and that we found the AC power cord for the unit we felt that the 30% discount was more than reasonable. The customer declined to make the purchase and left. Should the customer inquire about another display item we will offer the same 30% discount towards the purchase of the display.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: July 7, 2013- My Sony Vio Labtop stopped working so I took it into Fry's in Roseville, North Sunrise Ave and spoke to **** ***************** July 17th I was in a bad accident where a car hit my bicycle on J street and I was in the hospital (UCD) until July 22nd. I call July 29th to find out what the status was on my lab top and spoke with ******** ****** who was the assigned technician. He told me the hard drive went out and window went out. They had to take the computer apart and were having problems taking the computer apart. I called back July 30, and they said "were working on it". I was put on hold and transfer to several different times. I would ask to speak with the manager and NEVER could get ahold of him!!

Desired Settlement: I want the computer fixed or give me a refund or tell me a specific date it will be fixed and available to be picked up- or at least a new lab top.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Mrs. ********'s unit has been sent off to the manufacturer for repair. We were able to locate the reason for the wifi failure but we are unable to order the part direct from Sony. A damaged ribbon cable will be replaced at Sony. We will attempt to have Sony expedite the repair of the unit but are unable to give the customer a definitive time of completion as we are bound by their response time. We certainly do not mean to inconvience our customers and that is why part of our performance service contract allows the customer to receive a loaner, at no charge, to use while their unit is being repaired. We simply require a valid credit card that would only be charged in the event the customer does not return our unit or damage has occured to it. Mrs. ******** denied this option but it is still open to her.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 6th, I took my Gateway Computer to Fry's Electronics which is located off Northgate. I saw an employee named ***** who waited on me. I specifically told ***** that my cursor or pointer was no longer working in my Hotmail e-mail account, and that my cursor was very slow and did a lot of spinning while I waited to get into my Juno and Yahoo e-mail accounts. I told ***** that I wanted him to go completely through my computer and remove whatever it is that has made my Hotmail e-mail account to stop working. I also told him that I wanted him to delete all programs/downloads on my computer that weren't necessary to my computer. After several days of leaving my computer there so that this could be done by Fry's Electronics computer repair staff, I was called to come and get my computer. I anxiously brought my computer home and I immediately went right into my Hotmail e-mail account. The problem(s) still existed and were not taken care of, and my Hotmail e-mail account was still in the same condition as when I brought it there to begin with. Also, I noticed that none of the programs that weren't necessary to make my computer run hadn't been removed. Over the course of a very short time, my other two e mail accounts were now also useless and could not be accessed. Whatever it was that had disable my Hotmail e-mail account had now infected my other two e-mail accounts, and I could no longer get into either one of them. I could not bring my computer back right away because of my business, I had to wait for free time in which to do this. On 1 July, I went back to Fry's Electronics Computer Repair Department. The technician on duty did a simple test to find out that I now had a full-blown virus on my computer that rendered my computer totally and completely useless.

Desired Settlement: I paid twice for something that should have been done right the first time, but wasn't! I will NEVER bring my computer back to Fry's Electronics for any reason. The repairman made sure that I got charged again, I am not happy about service that wasn't done right the first time, and all of my instructions were completely ignored by the computer repair department. I want to be refunded at least one of these repair bills because it wasn't done light the first time! What can I do about this to get refunded at least one of these repair costs that should not have happened the second time had it been done right file first time? How call I be charged twice for something that wasn't done the first time?

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Unclear as to why this is an issue as the unit was serviced for two different issues almost a month apart. The first was for complaints of speed on 6/4/13. A diagnostic was completed along with a system optimization. No hardware issues were found, found some virus threats and removed them. On July 1, 2013 the unit was returned, found the unit very infected with several Trojan viruses and over 60 adware and malware infections. The customer was not charged an additional system optimization since he paid for that the first time but was charged for the virus removal portion.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) While I took Fry's Electronics proposed deal to ONLY refund me $50 back; we're talking about my money,not theirs! The manager that contacted me admitted no wrong doing by any of his employees in NOT following my specific verbal instructions in what I described as problems that my PC was experiencing that took two visits to get corrected along with paying two times when it should have ONLY taken one time! I'd have to think about it twice if I ever needed to have my PC worked on again to Fry's Electronics! ******* ******** North Highlands, Ca.

Business' Final Response
We spoke with the customer on Thursday evening, 08/08/13 and were able to come to an agreement whereby we would refund $49.99 of the charges for the services rendered. We apologized for the misunderstanding with the service technician in regards to the customer's initial request for service, which necessitated the need for the customer to make a second trip to the store.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the 17th of June, I received an online advertisement from Fry's, which advertised a Lenovo laptop with an Intel i3 processor for $259 (see attached advertisement). I called Fry's with my credit card to order the laptop for pickup, but Fry's informed me that it was a misprint and that the actual laptop for that price was with an AMD E-1 processor, a far inferior product. I was also told after much complaining that if I was in the store they could have done something for me. I took the hit and gave Fry's the benefit of doubt. Today I encountered a similar incident, when I opened the newspaper this morning, I saw a Laptop that fitted my budget, I asked my mom to take me to the store. I was in the Northgate Branch in Sacramento store by 9:05 a.m. In the store I was informed that this advertisement, like the advertisement on June 17th was a misprint. The sales associate showed me the piece anyway, informing me the actual price $378 and rest assured it is still a very good price. After I informed him I wanted to spend $298 he showed me what was supposed to be the laptop on sale, a Gateway with an AMD E-1 processor, nothing comparable to an Intel i3 in performance and price. This time being in the store, I spoke with Computer Department Manager ***** ***** who told me that the Sacramento Bee made the mistake. Mr. **** was very rude with me and didn't allow me to speak to anyone else, claiming he was the highest level associate on duty at the time. When I specifically asked him for his email or the email of the store manager's, he gave me the email for reprint receipt requests. I instantly went to another department and asked for the store manager. **** *****, the store manager, was on duty, contrary to what Mr. ******* had informed me. **** ***** had no time for me and told me that the ad was a misprint that he would not be doing anything for me. Fry's frequently runs these ads with misprints, there is a clear pattern here, and in my opinion they are doing this on purpose, employing the illegal marketing practice of "bait and switch". Fry's main goal is to get you in the store, with their false or misprinted ads, and then sell you another, more expensive or inferior product. This false advertising has appeared twice within a month. The corporate office is aware of the scam, the managers are rude and are brazen about not correcting this issue. When shown them their error, instead of apologizing, they are insulting and condescending. It is apparent that they do this often and get away with it. I am a college student on a budget, Fry's is a company that is constantly abusing common consumers like myself. I understand that the Department of Justice likes higher profile cases with more media attention, but who is there to look after consumers like me. I would like to inform Better Business Bureau, but my experience with them has been that they depend on corporations for funding and therefore do not have the inclination or the teeth to help the consumer. I am hopping you will be able to get me some justice.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We found a solution for the customer and he came in on 7/14 and made the purchase.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Yes Fry's did take care of my issue, but I feel that Fry's is silencing the few who bark, in order to continue their pattern of illegal and under handed business practices. If the common man bites on their bait, they are subject to humiliation at the store and pushed into buying something they didn't come into the store for. My case is not an isolated issue, it is a pattern. I am not personally looking for anything out of this complaint, as I already have been taken care of, but I asking that no customer goes through what I went through, and these practices are policed, watched, and put an end to.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The item under the sale sign. The sale price not honored at the checkout. The store claims sold "OUT" the sale item. I went to the store 4 June 2013 to buy the "Monster" "4 ft Super Thin HDMI Cable" advertised for $7.95. I find the sign in the store, I find the a cable under the sign which seems to match the advertised item, 4ft Monster HDMI Cable. I go to the check out to pay and I am told the advertised 4 ft cable is sold out and the one I have brought to the check out is $49.95. This is not the first time I have this experience at Frys. Common practice to be "out" the sale item.

Desired Settlement: Frys choice: they can choose to do nothing if they do not care about their status in the community. I have all ready made one trip to the store for this item, I do not make a second. I suggest the store send me a 4 ft Super Thin HDMI Cable Monster brand via the carrier of their choice prepaid. I supply my credit card number to pay the $7.95 + tax. I do not believe I should be required to make a second trip back to the store.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We will be more than happy to provide the customer with a 4ft cable for the advertised price of &7.95. Unfortunately we have a strict policy concerning taking credit cards over the phone. The customer must be present and the card must be swiped through our card reader. Considering the customer does not want to make a second trip to the store for the cable we would like to offer a $10 gift card to him. Called the customer and stated that I was from the Sacramento store, customer then stated that the complaint was for the Roseville store not Sacramento. Customer explained his concern with the visit he had with the Roseville store. I apologized and told the customer that we will give him a free Monster HDMI cable for his trouble and have it shipped out as soon as we can. Customer was happy with the solution and thanked us for calling him. We processed the purchase of the cable and shipped it out to him on 06/13/13. We look forward to resolving this issue.

Consumer's Final Response
Very Satisfactory Resolution

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Overdue laplink $30 rebate mailed in January, never received. I purchased Laplink Diskimage (software) from Frys on 1/1/13 and mailed in all rebate materials on 1/9/13. The rebate terms say to allow 10 weeks to receive the rebate check. Offer number is FRYDIXXXXXX. In fact, I can't even check on the status of the rebate because the web site on the rebate form doesn't even exist: http://www.laplink.com/FRYDIXXXXXX It has been over 5 months and this rebate is long overdue. I have copies of all forms and materials if you need proof.

Desired Settlement: Immediate check issued for $30.00

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The rebate person for Frys.com sent the customer a email yesterday. Please see below. As soon as she gets the info and it is all correct we will process customers rebate refund. ******* **** wrote: Hello **** ****, We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced and thank you for giving us the opportunity to assist you with your rebate inquiry. It is our commitment to ensure our customer's rebates are fulfilled, when all rebate requirements have been met. To better assist you, we ask that you **** us a copy of the following rebate paperwork: 1. The completed rebate form and the date of which your rebate was postmarked 2. UPC barcode 3. Proof of Purchase/Invoice 4. If applicable, the Denial Letter, Post Card, or online status Please fax the above paperwork to the fax number X-XXX-XXX-XXXX to the attention of Lauryna. You may also attach the requested documents to your response and email us the information. Once we have received your rebate documents, we will contact the rebate center on your behalf. An e-mail with the most recent status of your rebate will be sent to you from our rebate department as soon as possible. Please let us know if we can be of further assistance. Thank you, ******* P. Frys.com CS/Rebate Inquiries XXX-XXX-XXXX PH XXX-XXX-XXXX FAX

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rebate Check Issues I bought a laptop in December 2012 and it came with a $100 rebate. I promptly filled out the forms and submitted. About 3 months later I got a rebate check but not in my name. I contacted Fry customer service and they told me they would resubmit the check request and should be a month to receive a new one. A month goes by and I did not receive the check and Fry customer service says wait another 2 weeks. 2 more weeks go by and I speak to a supervisor and she said it was not appropriately submitted and she says she submitted it. She told me I should get the check by 5/24. I did not and called into customer service to inquire. Customer service rep refused to provide a date I would receive my check and spoke with an attitude on the phone. I requested to escalate to the supervisors manager to which she responded there is no one her supervisor responds to. Left a voicemail on the supervisors phone but after 5 months this is getting ridiculous. The estimated timeframe to get a correct rebate check is listed at 8-12 weeks on the rebate forms. Please help!

Desired Settlement: I would like my rebate check, a clearly communicated date when I should expect it and an apology from their management in a letter and phone call.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We contacted Mr. *** and the rebate company. The rebate company has been talking to Mr. *** that they were in the process of sending him a replacement ck. Estimated time they gave was 6-25-13. By July 1st if customer has not gotten his $100 replacement ck we will pay him. Mr. ** please email ******* at ****@i.frys.com so she may assit you. Thanks you.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did not see any reference to an apology letter in the proposed solution which I feel is warranted after the various delays and mishandlings of this situation.

Business' Final Response
Mr. ***, We do apologize for the delay in your rebate. As soon as I found out about it Frys.com rebate person got on the phone asap. to the vendor of the rebate house. I promise you if you have not gotten a check in the loted time they said Frys will send you a check. We will let the BBB know the check number and tracking number. Our customers are most important to us. Please except our apology for the delay in the vendor not paying your refund in a timely manner.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a dishwasher. After 2 months several attempts to get it installed or my money back they have only refunded part of what I have paid. 3/20/13 I went into Fry's and purchased a dishwasher that was to be delivered later that week. I explained to the salesman that I thought it looked large compared to the one being replaced. The salesman said "If there is an existing unit there won't be any problems installing a new one." several times. The dishwasher was deliver ad was too tall to fit. 4/9/13 After I measured the existing dishwasher I went back to Fry's and picked out one that was 33.5" tall according to the manual specs. This new dishwasher was delivered, but not installed because the old one was hardwired. The installation person would not hard wire the new dishwasher in. I called a electrician and had a 110 plug installed and the old dishwasher was disconnected. Another appointment was set up to deliver the dishwasher. This time they said they could not install it because the space was too short again and the water line would not fit to my home's existing water line. This time they took my existing dishwasher with them, which I did not want them to do, but my girlfriend was here and they asked her to take it. I never authorized them to take it and it left a giant hole in my kitchen. My girlfriend is not the purchaser and had no authority from me to make that decision. I went to Fry's to get my money back. I spent $768.40. They wanted to refund me $99.52 less than I had paid. They said I did not return the installation kit. After nearly 2 hours they found the kit in the store. The service manager told me that he was going to charge me $60 for them coming out there since I didn't buy the dishwasher. Finally he agreed to have someone call me the net day to set up an appointment to come to my house and measure the opening so there would be no more issues. 2 weeks later a call came, 2 service men came in and measured the opening. They said they would call me with a solution. 2 weeks later after no call I called Fry's trying to get a resolution with no luck. This morning 5/28/13 I went back and told them to deliver the same dishwasher that I had already ordered. I would install it myself. I would write off living without a dishwasher for over a month and the installation charge. They would not credit my full amount back keeping $80, and even with the installation fee subtracted I would still have to pay more. I went to the front counter to get a refund to my credit card. They credited me $681.61 leaving a difference of $86.79, even more than they told me before.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $86.79 back and my old dishwasher back. They had no right to take it since I was the purchaser and never authorized anyone to take it. If they cannot give me one back then I want the money to replace the one they took.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
In the interest of customer service and due to the concerns our customer has about the return of the purchased product, Fry's is willing to refund the disputed amount of $86.79 that was withheld from the customer's refund in order to pay for the delivery fees.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Refused to honored contract to repair my camera. Frys refused to return back my camera to me. charging diagnosis fees to reconfirmed broken latch. On July 23, 2011, I bought Samsung ST95 silver camera for $159 and I bought a 3 yrs warranty on it. I only use this Camera sporadically because my IPhone camera is easily accessible and powerful as well. However, on 2/17/2013, I noticed that the cover no longer latch to keep the batteries and chip in place and noted that a piece was broken off the latch. I brought it to Frys main service department and told the employee there that the latch was broken and he took it from me and discussed it with his supervisor and told me that they will call me when they complete the repair. I did signed a paper with the understanding that if they discovered something else was wrong with the camera, that was not covered under the warranty, I will be be charged $59.99 for repair. Two weeks ago , I got a message that my camera was ready to be picked up. To my surprised, I was told when I got there that, my Camera was sent directly to Samsung for diagnoses and that they said the latch was broken and this is not a covered item under my warranty and I needed to pay $59.99 diagnostic fees and then pay additional money if I want the camera to be fixed. My issues are: First of all, I knew my camera latch was broken and Frys knew it when I brought it in to their service department that the latch was broken. and this is written in the receipt they gave me. Why will they ****** it to Samsung for diagnostic again to tell reconfirmed that the latch is broken just to incur additional charges. Why will I pay more money to diagnose a camera and fix it when I can buy a new one with same price. The camera has no physical damage on the body to show abuse or misuse and I am not sure why Frys will not honor my warranty to fix my camera or replaced it as stated in the contract. I wrote a letter to Frys 3/14/13 and equally spoke to the service ****** James to no avail. I would like my camera fix or replaced,

Desired Settlement: I would like frys to honored the contract and either repair my old camera or replace it for me.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The performance service contract does not cover cosmetic or physical damage to the unit. The unit was sent to the manufacturer because there are certain items that are not repaired in the store. The manufacturer made the determination that the latch being broken is not a defect of the unit but was caused by some type of damage or misuse of the unit. As such the repair is not covered. In the interest of customer service we will void the diagnostic fee but the unit will be returned as it was presented to us.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The camera has no physical damage on the body, I am not sure how the broken latch can be due to "some type of damage or misuse". I am talking about the latch to lock the battery and the sims in place inside the camera. How can it be due to physical damage when there are no visual physical damage to the camera. The camera still works if the latch/lock is taped in place. This is a defect or inadequate assembly that lead to the brakage of the latch. I am not a kid or teenager that plays or uses this camera frequently to incur wears and tears. I am 52 yrs old and I barely use this camera. I feel that Frys, should honor the contract and fix this camera. And I am pretty sure that this is a wide spread problem with Frys, they find ways to get out of a service contract and ripe off consumers. Frys has a service department in the store and they make consumers believes that when you buy service contract with them, all you do is bring in the device and it will be fix. This is definitely outrageous. I would like my camera to be fix per my service contract with them or refund me back the remaining money left on my contract term so I can go fix it somewhere else. Because , by returning the camera back to me, it means my services contract with Frys is noid and void and they get away with keeping my money (remaining balance of my contract) Thanks ****** ******

Business' Final Response
In addition to waiving the diagnostic fee of $59.99 we will also refund the remaining money left on the customer's contract term as they have requested. We will process this refund today as our system automatically calculates the pro-rated refund based on the age of the invoice. The camera will be ready for the customer to pick up whenever it is convenient for the customer.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They told me I have $500 credit, then they tell me I am not autherized to charge, and they can not tell me why I can not use the card. Mid December 2012 I called the Fries credit card. I asked what my credit card limit was, they told me about $500. I went to the Fryes store to do some Christmas shopping. I went to pay for the items with the fryes credit card. The checker told me that I am not allowed to use the card anymore. I asked the checker why can't I use the card? And I just called the card last week and they told me I had $500 credit limit. The checker told me that he dose not know why I was denied. The checker got his supervisor, and he called the credit card company, they told him they don't know why I was denied. This was on the weekend. I called the credit card company on Monday, and asked them why I was denied the use of the fries credit card. They told me they don't know. Tey said it might be because you made a late payment. I told them I had a late payment along time ago. I asked them since I can not use the card anymore, and you can not give me a reason why the card was denied, can I go on a payment plan with out interest and pay it off? The person said yes, just fax us the request. I received a call from fries about mid January. They told me we will not put you on a payment plan, you are late, you get a late charge, and pay us now. I told the person that some body from your company told me I could go on a payment plan. This person told me I don't qualify for the payment plan because I am late with the payment. He could nt tell me wy the card was denied. Fries has a problem with there people not being on the same page. I would like to pay off the card after the late charges are removed

Desired Settlement: Late charges removed, and a payment plan without interest

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The bank has contacted the customer and provided insight as to a resolution. Should the customer have any further inquiries he should contact the bank directly and ask for Brooke Davenport.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Last December I was told by fry's credit I had $500 credit. I went to Fries store, I was told I could not use the card. I asked The fries credit card bank why I was denied credit. The bank could not tell me why I was denied credit. I asked the Fries credit card bank if I could go on a payment plan without interest since I could I can not use the card anymore. They told me yes. They told me to just mail in the request. I mailed in the request. I got a call from fry's credit. They told me, now I don't qualify for a payment plan, but I did before. I was contacted by fries credit on 3/18. They said I do qualify for a payment plan again, but now I have to pay all late fee charges. I don't think I should have to pay late fee charges since December. I should have been on the payment plan beginning in December. I know fry's credit is a very dishonest company. They will never wave the late charges, just because they are such a dishonest company. I hope people will read this and think twice about getting fry's credit. I know the BBB will post this publicly.

Business' Final Response
The Collection ****** at the bank, ****** ********, stated they placed Mr. ********** on a work out program and he has made payments. Mr. ********** account is being paid as he promise.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 3/26/2013. invoice # XXXXXXXX. Return item but Fry's refused to issue a cash refund due to a sticker being removed. Went in looking for laptop RAM. Was given the recommendation to purchase an item which ended up not being compatible. I went back to return the item but was hassled for removing the stickers on the item but no where on the item was did it say not to remove the sticker. It was not disclosed on the package or the label. Nor did any associate bother to tell me that if I removed It would no longer be returnable. I was told "everyone knows that!". The assume that customer know their return policies. Even the policies that are not mentioned. The were able to match the serial numbers and offered me a refund of store credit. I accepted it out of pure exhaustion. I was tired of arguing and needed to fix my laptop. I believe that the employees as well as the company is in wrong for failing to disclose label removal information with me as well as to other customers. They made the assumption that customers are to know better and have decided not to state that removal of the sticker would void warranty. I feel have I been robbed of my money. The refund they have given is theirs because I am forced to spend the store credit with them.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the refund credited back to my credit card and not store credit. I don't want to be forced to spend any more of my money at this disingenuous place again.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
An exception was made for the customer even though he removed the serial number tag from the memory. Removal of a serial number is considered tapering and normally would be denied a return. The exception was made for a store credit. Customer has used a portion of that credit and was contacted by ***** *******, EC Department ****** and told the customer that he can bring in the gift card and return the remainder to his credit card.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/4/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: they broke my laptop during service and they told me it was them but refuse to repair it. they were rude and didnt repair it just broke it more. this all started october first. i sent them a email about my complait they have yet to awnser me back . this is what happend : i took my laptop to service at the roseville ca location for overheating problems. i went to go pickup my laptop because they called me to pick it up . i went to pick up the laptop and when i got home i checked it out and there was a crack on the bottom left screen of the laptop, so i gave them a called about it they told me that they droped it but didn't mention it to me when i picked it up and told me to take it to them that they would repair it . so i went and took it on a friday they told me they would order the part and repair it. so on Monday they gave me a call saying they couldn't order the part to come and pick up some cash for instead , so i went on tuesday to go pick up my laptop and cash they refused to and said they were going to repair it . so i said alright give me a call when its ready and i left . i gave them a call today and asked if they were able to repair it. once again i went to the store . so i went in there talked to the store ****** Shawn he was rude since the begining i told him about the problem and he refused to repair it or give me cash for it , he told me to order the part my self and fix it . i told him i couldn't he told me to "**** off" and he stood there looking at me waiting for me to leave . so i just left very unhappy since my laptop is still broken and nothing has been solved . i have bought lots of stuff from frys before and am very disappointed how the store ****** treated me and embarrassed me in front of costumers and employees.

Desired Settlement: i just want the laptop fixed or a refund or replaced.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I will reply again to the claim that I told the customer to "**** off" however. I would never, have never said such a thing to a customer. This statement is a flat out fabrication by this customer. Not unlike most of his complaint. Thank you, ***** ******

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) i will accept only if they also include a batery pack that the employ broke while i was there in front of me and super glued together . because you cant just super glue something and call it fix specially since the piece he broke already fell off . i would like to know the name of both parts so i can order them

Business' Final Response
At the time the customer was in the store and as well in my previous response, Frys does not have a means by which to purchase the part needed. In other words, Frys does not have a credit card or debit card to make a purchase from a website. Frys only works via open accounts with vendors which are a part of our part buying network. It is physically impossible for the store to purchase the needed part. I can not state this any clearer. Regardless of what this customer thinks Frys "should" do, it will not and can not happen. This customer will provide the part and we will reimburse him for it, as well as install it for free. If he is unwilling to do this then there is nothing more to be done. This is the final response from Frys in this matter. Thank you

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

2/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a Lenovo compter for Fry's electronics, that is defective. We purchased a Lenovo Compter from Fry's around mid December with a full three-warranty. When we purchased the warranty we were told that the warranty would cover evertying that is wrong with the computer for three years, and if they can't fix it, they will replace it with a brand new one. Lately the computer has been causing lots of problems. It's doesn't shut down properly and many times we have to do a hard shut down. It runns very slow too when we are typing . It also takes long time to start sometimes. We went to fry's to get it fixed and spoke to ****** the service ******, they said that our warranty doesn't cover any software issue, it only covers hardware issues and we aren't going to look at unless we are willing to pay for the disagnosis fee. We explainted about the warranty which they brused off. We asked them if we can exchange it, they said yes but they don't have any more in that store, I called Corporate office on monday 2/11 to file a complaint with them, *** stated that the store ****** will call me back in 48 hours. No one called me back. I called the corporate office yesterday, they said that the ****** will call me back, but no one has called me back yet. I am still with a defective product.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my computer exchanged for another a brand new computer with same or equivalent features.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
While we do not know what, if anything (hardware related), is defective with the unit we would like to invite the customer to bring the unit in when either ***** Chea, ****** ******, or ****** ****** are in the store for a second evaluation. If there is something wrong with the unit that is covered under the extended warranty then we will fix the problem. Should the issue with the unit be software related we will also look into the matter and do our best to resolve the customer's situation. At least one of the above three named individuals will be in the store during the following days and times. Wednesday - 8am - 6pm Thursday - 8am - 9pm Friday - 8am - 6pm Saturday - 9am - 7pm Sunday - 11am - 7pm We look forward to resolving their issue.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I don't have the time to bring the computer because I live far away and don't have access to a car. Can Fry's send a techinician to take a look at my computer and diagnose the problem.

Business' Final Response
While we do apologize for the supervisor's behavior and unwillingness to compromise on the customer's first visit we cannot guarantee a exchange on an item that is not in the store for a diagnosis. We will strive to resolve the issue for the customer, but it will depend upon the condition of the item when it is physically present in our store. Please refer to the first comment for the times when an appropriate member of our management staff will be available. We look forward to resolving the issue for the customer.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

2/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I originally sent in my computer for service on 12/27/12. It has not had completed service. They aren't resolving it, and am putting me off. I originally brought in my computer for service under a warrenty I bought from Fry's on 12/27/12. I was told I would here back in 48hrs, what my issue is and what they'd have to do to my computer. I went into Fry's 4 days later because I hadn't heard anything. The tech had no idea my computer was checked in and he was supposed to be working on it. I complained and they assigned a new tech. He couldn't duplicate my issue but told me I needed to replace the kaeyboard due to fluids in it. I came in to order the part, and the original issue happened right in front of the technician. I asked for supervisors and managers all who (if available) acted like it was no big deal, and offered no assistance in helping resolve the issue other than refunding (what was left $75.00) of my warrenty. The tech then ordered a part (not from HP, like I asked) and installed it and it was defective. Then told me he'd order a genuine HP part. Well. That was 10 days ago, and I have been told by 3 different people that it isn't in because the part is on "backorder" I called HP myself and they have the part ready, and now. So whats the deal?

Desired Settlement: I am seeking replacement of the part, and a full refund of the original warrenty I purchased.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I have already contacted this customer via email. I have given him proof of our ETA via HP. This is not a delay we are creating for the customer. We are waiting on the part the same way he is. As far as the defective part that was ordered. Those things happen. Parts get ordered and sometimes they are defective regardless if they are from a 3rd party vendor or the original manufacturer. This just happens to be the unfortunate nature of electronics sometimes and it is completely impossible for Fry's to know that the part they ordered will be defective when it arrives. Otherwise, I don't think anyone would disagree that we then would not order that part knowing it's defective. In any event, I have offered this customer to order and pay for this part himself through HP since apparently they can get the part to him much faster than they can get it to us. I can't tell you why that's the case, but according to this customers feedback, it is. If he does order the part himself and it comes in a timely manner as he describes, I am willing to reimburse him for the part he ordered. Again, this offer was part of my email communication with him. If that's not fair then I'm open to suggestion. However, the customers request for a replacement notebook is denied for any reason of a part order delay. Thank you, ***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought defective cartridges for my printer and Fry's refused to give me refund. Today 12/29/2012 at 12:45pm I bought an Epson printer ink cartridges # 77 all colors for $89.99+ tax and black ink for $16.99+tax. When I came home and installed these cartridges in my printer and it was showing that there is one of them out of ink, the other 2 is low on ink and the rest around half. I did take them out packed back and went back to store to return them. I came to the store same day 12/29/2012 around 3pm. I went to the costumer service and told them that I bought the cartridges for printer and they were defective, so I wanted to return the cartridges. They took cartridges in order to check them and when they came back with a ****** (***** ******) and later (****** ******) they told me the 3 cartridges are empty. They refused to give me refund because the cartridges were opened. He gave me list of numbers to call (408)XXX-XXXX, (800)XXX-XXXX, (800)XXX-XXXX, (310)XXX-XXXX. The ****** told me to call these numbers and ask if they can refund for those cartridges. I strongly disagree with this situation. I bought defective cartridges and i just wanted to return them back to the store. Why do I have to ask permission to return them? Its not my fault and i don't have to be penalized financially for this situation.

Desired Settlement: i dont need defective cartridges, I just want my money back.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Unfortunately Fry's will have to refer this customer to the manufacturer. The ink packages were never open and there was no indication they were purchased, opened or returned prior to this customer purchasing them. These were manufacturer sealed boxes for individual ink cartridges. There is no way to open these boxes without destroying them to do so. If the manufacturer made a mistake and did not fill an ink cartridge properly that is one thing, but to have multiple products all have the same issue (all on the same purchase) is simply not possible. We will not refund this customer. Thank you

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/5/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fry's advertised a $50 rebate on Norton software expiring on 9/30/12. They never mentioned the requirement to redeem with 30 days of purchase. On Aug. 3, 2012 I purchased Norton Internet Security 2012 software for $64.99 along with a new Fujitsu laptop computer etc., charging my Discover card for this invoice #XXXXXXXX totaling $670.63 . Fry's advertised the manufacturer's $50 rebate on the software with the rebate expiring 9/30/12. I never received any oral or written notice from Fry's about the requirement to submit the rebate within 30 days of purchase. I only learned of this additional requirement after downloading the necessary rebate form off the Norton website after 30 days of the purchase date. I sent in the rebate form and required info anyway. My rebate which Norton received on 9/28/12 was denied for an invalid postmark date. Upon receiving my denial I talked to several layers of management at the store, including the store ******, and received no satisfaction. The store ****** gave me the address of the company president. I wrote president Randy Fry a letter on October 3, 2012 and have not received any reply. I used to be a regular customer, #XXXXXXXX in their system.

Desired Settlement: I only want the promised $50 in cash, Visa prepaid card or store credit. I would also like an acknowledgement that their advertising was incomplete and should be addressed for future customers.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Given Mr. ******'s unsatisfactory resolution through Norton's rebate center we will be able to provide him with a store credit for $50.00 as he requested above. I would ask that Mr. ****** brings us the letter of denial from Norton for our records as to why a store credit was generated. In the event I am not in the store for Mr. ******'s next visit I would advise him to print out this communication to help expedite the process for the credit. -- ****** ****** Assistant Store ****** #14 Sacramento, CA

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is a ******* joke and doesn't care about the customer. At 12:07, 9/13/2012 my dad and I went to go buy a t.v. at Fry's. (he's 80) Live only a mile away, brought it home, my daughter and I took it out and it was broke. IT WAS THEIR WAREHOUSE THAT BROKE THE **** THING. The box had creases on the front. My daughter happened to notice it after we took it back. The first words out of this ***** ********* (who should be fired) were, "you signed an agreement that made us not responsible. I DIDN'T SIGN A **** THING...I PAID CASH!!!! In a nut shell,,,,,they tried to make it our fault,,,and they tried to ****** the television home with us. I will never ever shop there again. THEY OWE US $1,300!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Desired Settlement: At first, we were hoping for an exchange, but now I don't want to be anywhere near that **** company.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We are working with the manufacturer on this particular issue to resolve it with them as a go-between for the customer. These types of concealed damage claims are common with multiple manufacturers and each one has their own process to follow. We seek to resolve this amicably with the customer once we have ********* reply. Once we have that response, which we should have within a week's time, we will contact the purchaser of the TV and determine the solution at that time. We also apologize for the delay in our response but it appears that this complaint was sent to a store in Arizona and was forwarded to us just this morning.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It's been almost a month NOW!! They never contacted us! We are the ones who did the contacting! What if ******* doesn't approve this? The damage occured in a WAREHOUSE! This is the worst "policy" I've ever seen!! They made us feel like criminals. Interrigating us. Taking pictures. I pray they go out of business. I will never shop there again.

Business' Final Response
The owner (not the actual complainant) came in the store today by himself and requested an update on the situation. (We have been informed by our division that handles concealed damage claims that ******* is taking longer than expected to process these claims.) We decided to take care of the customer and provide the owner with a new TV. The customer then requested to have the new TV delivered at his expense which we have scheduled to be performed tomorrow. The owner of the TV is satisfied with the result.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/4/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product on website not available in any store Frys Electronics is continuing to advertise an LG 22" television for $79. I have emails from the company apologizing for this, I spoke to a supervisor 9/20/12 who assured me there were not any available, offered me a 32" for $300. That is not what I was looking for. I was also told they would remove it from the website. On 9/30/12, at 10:24 p.m. it is still be advertized for sale. Not a good business practice.

Desired Settlement: Remove it from website or sell me a 22' LG for $79.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The item has been removed form the website.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Defective television: store accusing us of damaging new television Purchase date: 8/11/12; plugged new television in after removal from carton; television screen blank; appears to have internal damage to screen. Returned television on 8/17/2012. ****** at first refused any exchange or refund, accusing us of damaging television. Under pressure from us, agreed to take pictures of television to send to Toshiba (television manufacturer) for their approval for credit return/exchange of defective product. ****** informed us that if Toshiba refuses to accept defective television, there is nothing they can do for us and we are left with a defective, new television and a $450. charge. At time of purchase, we were urged by salesman to purchase extended 2 yr. warranty which we were told by ****** does not apply to our situation because it is a "physical damage". Model number: 32CXXX XX" LCD HDTV. Product Code: XXXXXXXXXXXX Price: $299.00 Extended Warranty: FLT 2 yr. PSC Product Code: XXXXXXXXXXXX Price: $64.99 Sales Associate: ******* ****** Paid with Capital One Visa--Total amount: $447.27 (included cable to connect television to computer)

Desired Settlement: Because of the extremely poor customer service and accusation by the ****** that we are responsible for what appears to be an internal defect of the television, I request a full refund for the television and extended warranty. I will NEVER shop at a Fry's Electronics in the future; their return policy is despicable and treatment of customers is beyond reproach. My son, for whom I purchased the television, is a law student and I am a high school teacher: we are not dishonest individuals who would attempt to return a product we were responsible for damaging--this was a BRAND new television I had purchased for my son's apartment. He took the television out of the carton and plugged it in: that is ALL that was done to the television by us!

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
First of all, we apologize for any inconvenience this experience has caused the customer. Our intention is not to make the customer feel "accused" of anything. Fry's is obviously not in a position to make a judgment either way in these cases. All we can see are the facts. 1. The customer bought a TV etc from Fry's. 2. The customer is bringing it back damaged asking for a refund. 3. We do not accept damaged products back for refund or credit as outlined in the return privilege, which is printed on the customers' receipt. Also note that we are making an effort to assist the customer by being a liaison between them and the manufacturer. We understand and can see that as a customer that didn't do anything to cause the damage, as they have explained to us, this situation would seem very frustrating and ridiculous to them. However, that still does not put Fry's in a position to accept the product in it's damaged condition. Fry's does not assume "how" the damage was caused. Fry's only can see that there "is" damage. There have been other cases similar to this one, dealing specifically with TV's, where Fry's has been able to get the manufacturer to accept responsibility and issue a replacement. We feel confident that the outcome will be the same in this case. Unfortunately, what customers do not understand sometimes is that this replacement will only occur on behalf of the end user (the customer). The same privileges are NOT extended to the retailer. Fry's understands this is a huge inconvenience for the customer, but sadly it is our only coarse of action to assist customers dealing with these circumstances. If this customer would please be as patient as could be asked of them, as stated above, we believe we will have an outcome which results in a replacement TV. Again, unfortunately, this is the process which has to be followed in order for this to happen. At this time Fry's is still currently waiting for a response from the manufacturer regarding this customers TV. As soon as we have a result, we will contact them. We sincerely apologize again for the inconvenience this has caused the customer. Thank you, Store ****** Fry's Electronics - Roseville XXX-XXX-XXXX *****@i.frys.com

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) On 8/20/12 I spoke with a customer service representative at Toshiba, the manufacturer. I was told that they have no such policy of approval of pictures of a defective television as was told to me by Frys management. *****, the representative, informed me that normal procedure for a customer reported defective product is to immediately replace the product with a working unit; the vendor would then send the defective product to Toshiba for credit. He stated that Walmart or Best Buy would have replaced the defective product immediately, stating that Toshiba's philosophy is that the customer is always right. Case # XXXXXX-XXXXXX as reported by Toshiba

Business' Final Response
Customer was issued a full credit to their credit card on 08/24/12. Please close Thank you

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

7/23/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rebate form is returned. I purchase a HDMI switch from frys a month ago(invoice # 4224790). It comes with a ~$20 rebate. I mailed all rebate material one day after the purchase date and got it returned 3 weeks later. Now Frys asked me to resend it to another address which is not shown in the original rebate form. If I know there are so many problems with this rebate, I would never consider to buy it! I thought either Frys or the Bytecc or both of them is cheating on purpose. They proposed the wrong address to avoid customer's rebate request. I have wasted lots of my time to argue with the manufacture and Frys. And I WILL NOT re-send the rebate again!

Desired Settlement: Refund the rebate or refund in full.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response ******, Please bring in your receipt to Fry's and we will take care of the $20 rebate for you. Thank you, ***** ****** Store Manager Fry's Roseville

Business' Final Response
Qiang, Please bring in your receipt to Fry's and we will take care of the $20 rebate for you. Thank you, Shawn Vaughn Store Manager Fry's Roseville

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/27/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/27/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/10/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/13/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/4/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/15/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/9/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/11/2011 Problems with Product/Service
5/23/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/25/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1