Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

City Electronics

Phone: (209) 529-5070 Fax: (209) 529-5038 3000 McHenry Ave  Suite #5, Modesto, CA 95350

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for City Electronics include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on City Electronics
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 30, 1994 Business started: 03/01/1990 Business started locally: 03/01/1990
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronics and Appliance Repair
4244 South Market Court, Suite D, Sacramento CA 95834
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
Fax Number: (916) 921-7279
The number is 28721.

Business Management
Mr. Hawel Hawel, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Hawel Hawel, Partner
Business Category

Electronic Equipment & Suppliers - Service & Repair Television & Radio - Service & Repair

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

City Electronics has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    3000 McHenry AveSuite #5

    Modesto, CA 95350


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: One week repair has taken four months and they are asking for even more time. On Nov. 2,2012,City Electronics came to my home for an at home repair.I was told they could repair it but they needed to take it to their shop.It was estimated to repair it for $275.00 with $100.00 of the $275.00 dollars as a down payment.The $100.00 would then be applied to the balance due when repaired or refunded if not repaired.As of Feb.7,2013,City Electronics still has my TV,has told me three times three different fixes,which included sending it to Mitsubishi for repair.I was told that Mitsubishi could repair it for an extra $!00.00 and it could take up to 30 days.I agreed and gave them 30 days and waited for them to call me when it was ready.After two months,I HAD TO CALL THEM AGAIN only to find out a day later that they had gotten my TV back from Mitsubishi and didn't tell me but supposedly had to order another part and it was going to take another two weeks. My TV is a Mitsubishi WD-XXXXX/ serial # XXXXXX. The estimate and claim receipt # is XXXXXMV-0. The name of the contact I have been talking to is ****. Total cost of repair is $375.00 of which $100.00 has already been paid. Balance due is $275.00 upon completion of repair and delivery of TV back to my home.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my TV back INTACT and my $100.00 refunded

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
TV had multiple problems, it needed an optical engine which cost $350.00 + shipping and it was on back order from Mitsubishi. TV was repaired and returned to the customer in functional and satisfactory condition on 2-8-2013. The service was satisfactorily completed and signed by Mr. ****** ******.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) After keeping my tv for 4 months,I never received one phone call from City Electronics until after I contacted BBB.I called numerous times and got different excuses each time.Tech on vacation,my boss is unavailable,Mitsubishi has to repair this tv and it can take up to 30 days.I gave them 60 days,called them again and it had been sitting there.Supposedly Mitsubishi sent it back unrepaired. Again I received no phone call to inform me of this situation.Very frustrated, I filed a report with BBB.I then called City Electronics to just bring my tv back.I was told that they had to order a part that would make my tv like new.I gave them another 5 days to repair it or return it.On about the 6th day my tv was returned and working,however it did not have the bottom front cover that is about 10 in.x 48 in. long.They said they didn't take it with them when they first took the tv.I insisted they did.Then they called the shop and found out it was left at the shop.Had to wait over the weekend to get it back.I was told by the delivery person that they repair so many tv's that they just don't have enough time to call everybody.My response is that you shouldn't take on more than you can handle if it means that you're going to upset some or all of your customers.So far my tv is still working although it just shut off me twice. I just waited a few minutes and turned it back on.Even though the tv has been repaired, I would never go back to this repair shop.