Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

TNT Rain Gutters

Phone: (916) 454-9034 View Additional Phone Numbers 639 52nd St., Sacramento, CA 95819 http://www.tntgutters.com/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We Install Seamless and Standard stick Rain gutters and is a Certified "Gutter
Glove" Leaf guard Dealer and Installer, We are contracted to install new gutters and leaf
guards on private homes and commercial properties. We do repair on existing
gutters.  Customer service is first, we will go the extra mile, and do more than the customer
expects,   “TNT Rain Gutters” is committed to doing high
quality work at a fair price. We do not leave a job site until the work area is
clean and the customer is fully satisfied.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that TNT Rain Gutters meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for TNT Rain Gutters include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on TNT Rain Gutters
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 03, 2004 Business started: 06/01/2000 in CA Business started locally: 06/01/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 838143.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Thomas Tufts, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas Tufts, Owner
Business Category

Contractors - Gutters Gutters & Downspouts Gutter Cleaning

Products & Services

TNT Rain Gutters sells the following brand(s): Gutter Glove gutter guards, Last Time gutter products

Method(s) of Payment
Cash or check
Refund and Exchange Policy
If it is our fault we will fix it, no charge
Alternate Business Names
TNT Rain Gutters Inc.
Products & Services

TNT Rain gutters is a Rain gutter installation, repair, and Gutter Glove installation business contracted to install new gutters on private homes and commercial properties. We do repair on existing gutters and have a subcontractor who handles gutter cleaning.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/9/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired TNT Rain gutters to fabricate and install rain gutters on my 1200 square foot home. The owner and leader install, *** *****, went over the plan to put gutters on my house with no problems. After TNT measured and planned out where the gutters were to go they waited for 4 hours until the fabrication machine arrived. While they waited for the gutter machine to arrive they constructed all the downspouts for the house. After they constructed the downspouts they waited around for a couple hours. When the machine arrived TNT worked to approximately 1700 hours Day 1 and was not complete. They advised me they would return the following day around 0900 hours. The following day TNT arrived and worked till approximately 1700 hours when they advised me the work was complete, I did a brief walk around with *** ***** but it was getting dark and not able to give a full assessment of the work. I paid TNT Rain gutters $ 1,176.00 for the fabrication and installation of gutters and downspouts.Approximately 4 days later, after the glue had dried, I wanted to test the gutters to make sure they did not leak. I took a garden hose on low flow and placed it on my roof to simulate light rain conditions. After placing the hose around all areas where downspouts were located I saw that 5 out of the downspouts are leaking and 1 gutter seam was leaking.I advised *** ***** of the situation and took pictures of all leaks and send them to him via text message. I also called him and spoke with him about all the leaks. He advised me he would come out and repair the leaks.The following afternoon I got home and checked out the repair work of *** *****. I found some downspouts with gaps from the gutters, large glops of glue on the seams of downspouts, and obvious holes which would still cause leaks.I immediately called *** ***** and asked him to come by so I could show him my concern and what I was talking about.*** ***** arrived irritated and I showed him all my concerns of how it was very sloppy and they still leaked

Desired Settlement: *** ***** does not return phone calls, fix the gutters he installed 1 week ago, nor does he follow his own contract of a 2 year guarantee.I feel without a doubt I have given *** Tuft reasonable time and notice to correct the situation and he refuses. I would like to request a full refund in the amount of $1,176.00 since full service was not rendered nor did he follow his own contract.

Business Response: We were hired to install 129’ of 5 Inch OG style rain gutters on ***** Lawrence house. The roof and facia board where installed incorrectly however, we were able to do the job . When we were finished I ask the homeowner to do a walk around with me to verify the job was done the way he wanted it. He was happy with the job and wrote a check to pay for the services. Several days later the customer called. He was unhappy because he said all the downspouts and a corner where leaking and he wanted me to extend the length of one of the downspouts. I made an appointment to come to the house to fix what he was talking about. When I got to the house nobody was home but I understood what ***** wanted. I added an extension on the downspout he wanted made longer. Then I checked the downspouts for leaks I found one leak coming from an outlet nipple not a downspout. I fixed the leak and decided to put an extra layer of sealer over all the downspout joints to be sure they would not leaking. Then I looked at the corner he said was leaking. There was about ½” of water in the inside bottom of the corner I did not see any leakage. The dripping I did see was coming back side of the gutter. I determined the leak was coming from the roof where ***** earlier laid the garden hose and had nothing to do with the gutter installation. I continued to check the entire gutter system to make sure there were no problems and things were installed correctly. Several hours later I got a call from *****. He was upset that I put extra sealer on the downspout joints. He said the way the joints looked was unacceptable and he wanted his money back. I drove back to his house He insisted the downspouts where still leaking then he stuck a garden hose in the gutter, turned on the water and pointed to a corner on the downspout where he said it was leaking I could not see any leakage where I earlier resealed the joint.  He couldn’t show me where there was any leakage. Then he told me he wanted a refund and the new gutters removed or he was going to file a complaint with the BBB.. I figured he was trying to intimidate me into giving him a refund so I told him the “go ahead and file the complaint” and left. As I drove off he ran alongside my truck yelling “I am going to Sue you. See you in court.”

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: the gutters still leak at the corners of downspouts and he has a 2 year guarantee,  so he still needs to make sure they do not leak. He refused to fix it, so he can fix or go the route to get my money back due to the fact he doedema not follow is contract. I am more than happy to show him where the leaks are during more daylight hours. 

Business Response: *** *****

*** **** ** *********** ** ***** ** **** ***** ********* *********** **********

 

Better Business Bureau serving Northeast
California

3075 Beacon Blvd 

West Sacramento, CA 95691

 

Dear ***** ********,

This is a letter in response to *****
******* ******** complaint regarding the work TNT Rain Gutters Inc. did at **** **** ******* *********** ** ******

We were hired to install 129’
of 5 Inch OG style rain gutters on ***** ******** house. The roof and facia
board where installed incorrectly however, we were able to do the job . When we
were finished I ask the homeowner to do a walk around with me to verify the job
was done the way he wanted it. He was happy with the job and wrote a check to
pay for the services. Several days later the customer called. He was unhappy
because he said all the downspouts and a corner where leaking and he wanted me
to extend the length of one of the downspouts. I made an appointment to come to
the house to fix what he was talking about. When I got to the house nobody was
home but I understood what ***** wanted. I added an extension on the downspout he
wanted made longer. Then I checked the downspouts for leaks I found one leak
coming from an outlet nipple not a downspout. I fixed the leak and decided to
put an extra layer of sealer over all the downspout joints to be sure they
would not leaking. Then I looked at the corner he said was leaking. There was
about ½” of water in the inside bottom of the corner I did not see any leakage.
The dripping I did see was coming back side of the gutter. I determined the
leak was coming from the roof where ***** earlier laid the garden hose and had
nothing to do with the gutter installation. I continued to check the entire
gutter system to make sure there were no problems and things were installed
correctly. Several hours later I got a call from *****. He was upset that I put extra sealer on the downspout
joints. He said the way the joints looked was unacceptable and he wanted his
money back. I drove back to his house He insisted the downspouts where still
leaking then he stuck a garden hose in the gutter, turned on the water and
pointed to a corner on the downspout where he said it was leaking I could not
see any leakage where I earlier resealed the joint.  He couldn’t show me where there was any
leakage. Then he told me he wanted a refund and the new gutters removed or he
was going to file a complaint with the BBB.. I figured he was trying to intimidate
me into giving him a refund so I told him the “go ahead and file the complaint”
and left. As I drove off he ran alongside my truck yelling “I am going to Sue
you. See you in court.”

 

Sincerely,



*** *****

 

C.E.O. TNT
Rain Gutters Inc.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: the gutters leak and need to be fixed. I'm more than willing to show where all leaks are again. 

Business Response: Business states that they are willing to re-asses  the the work done and see if there are any issues that need to be taken care of. Business is only asking that they are treated with appropriate respect when at the residence. Business is currently busy and occupied  with other jobs. The next available time would in two weeks. Consumer may contact the business to make an appointment.

2/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Did not fix leaky gutter. Damaged my property. Did not refund to cover the cost of the damage. Tried to over charge. Hung up when complaint registered ***, proprietor of TNT Rain Gutters, Inc, gave me an estimate of $200 to stop a downspout leak on the patio and a gutter leak at the carport on the side of the house. We agreed to doing the job beginning at 8:00 AM on 10/14/13. He arrived more than 30 minutes late, began working but was continually interrupted by phone calls and conversations. He recommended a rain chain for the patio, something I can do myself. He worked on the carport and installed a downspout. He left the property for more than 3 hours, returned and spent a great deal of time on the phone. When he left for this interruption of work, he scraped and damaged my retaining wall. I gave him materials to repair it and said I would paint it. The damage was greater than what how showed me because it was hidden by his truck. At the end of the day, he presented me with a bill for $255. I said the estimate was for $200, and he did not spend much time working on my gutters. Angrily, he changed the bill to $200. The next day I still had a leak, and I discovered 3 broken bricks that are inlaid along the driveway where he parked. I called him, complaining about the bricks. He admitted doing the damage and offered to fix it. He added that I got "a heck of a deal". I told him he worked less than two hours, I still have the leak, and he damaged my property. He hung up on me. The next day I called and left him a message requesting a refund to cover damages and to fix my leak. He waited 2 weeks and cashed my check. He did not return my call or offer a refund.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund less the cost of materials, which was one new downspout and 4 straps (he used existing old and dirty connectors and angle pieces).

Business Response: To: BBB
From: *** ***** ******
Date: 11/17/2013
Re: Rebuttal a customer complaint
Rebuttal to customer complaint
Rebuttal to complaint from 6321 South Lark park drive, Sacramento
I arrived at the job site at 8:30. The customer instructed me to park the "TNT Rain gutters" truck in a narrow drive way were I scraped a stucco wall. The customer had repair material and I spent about an hour patching over the scrapes. Customer said he would paint it when it cures.
The customer wanted me to install three down spouts on two aluminum car ports that had the downspouts missing. We agreed to a price of 200.00 to create and install downspouts and outlets. When working I carry a cell phone to answer short business calls. I spent less than one hour total on the phone.
The customer said the gutter channels on the porch awnings where leaking. I discovered they were not leaking but were filled with debris, plugged up, and overflowing. I spent two hours cleaning out the gutter channels with a leaf blower then I cleaned off the back yard and sides of the house. Since cleaning the gutters and back yard was not in the original agreement I felt it would be fair to add 55.00 to the bill. When I examined the back yard awning I determined it was not feasible to install a new downspout on the awning post. I recommended a solution of installing an attractive Japanese Rain Chain. Customer said he wanted to buy and install it himself.
When I began work on the second awning I needed some materials. at 12:00 pm, I decided to leave for lunch and search for down spout material. I spent 2 hours driving to supply houses to find the correct part to do the installation properly. I spent about 3 hours installing the two down spouts.
When I finished the job I presented the customer with a bill for 255.00. The customer said we agreed he was to pay 200.00. It is not my policy to argue with the customer so I rewrote the bill and he gave me a check for 200.00.
A week passed and I received a call from the customer saying I cracked a brick in his driveway, where he instructed me to park the truck. I don't know if the brick was broken before or after I parked in the driveway, but I offered to take care of the damage. The customer declined. Even though was on his insistence that I park in his driveway in the first place. He wanted a full refund of the 200.00.But I refused because the customer's complaint had nothing to do with the work I did.

*** ***** ****
TNT Rain Gutters
639 52nd Street
Sacramento, CA. 95819
H: 916-454-9034
C: 916-202-2926

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I asked Mr. ***** to give me an estimate to fix 2 gutter leaks I was experiencing: one at the down spout at the edge of the patio, the other along the outer edge of the carport. We talked about cleaning the gutters in those areas, redirecting and strapping an existing downspout and installing a second downspout in the carport.

Mr. ***** disassembled the patio connector, determined the best fix would be a rain chain and blew the dry leaves from the gutter. His recommendation was well received and I have since installed a rain chain. He left the dry leaves on the patio for us to clean up. Further, we removed the partially decomposed leaves from the gutter after his departure. He spent less than 30 minutes on this project including his phone calls.

Since he knew what would be required for the carport fix, I was surprised he didn't come prepared with the required materials. Nevertheless, there are at least 3 retail shops within 5 miles who sell gutter materials, including Home Depot. He blew the gutter out as agreed, and left the dried leaves on the deck. There was no composted or thick debris. I told him to blow the leaves off the deck, which he did reluctantly. He blew them along side the fence rather than clean them up.

Unfortunately, he did not repair the leak. I will hire another person to install flashing to repair the roof/gutter.

When Mr. ***** arrived, I told him he could back into the driveway to make it easier on him. He said that would save him a lot of steps. I assumed he had the necessary expertise to drive his own truck, and could safely handle backing into a driveway that is 9 ft 3 inches wide at its narrowest. I was wrong because he scraped the retaining wall. I did not insist he park in the driveway. Why would I?

The maximum time he spent on the carport was 2 hours. His phone was ringing off the hook. I tried to talk to him one time and he cautioned me with an aside that he needed time to talk to this customer or he might loose a potential client. He was on the phone constantly.

After he left, I saw fresh breaks on 3 inlaid bricks in the driveway. I called him and told him not to cash the check because we needed to reconcile the damage he did. He admitted breaking them, offered to fix the bricks, but I declined not trusting his workmanship by then.

I would have agreed to pay for his expenditure for materials, but since we had to finish cleaning the gutters, his leak repair didn't work, I have to hire someone else to complete the job, and in light of the damage he inflicted on my property, I think it appropriate for him to rerun the full amount paid, $200.00.

Mr. ****** workmanship is questionable because he did not fix the leak. His business practices are questionable because he has not taken responsibility for the damage he did. Further, he hung up on me when I registered a complaint. Nor did he return a call to me.

Consumer Response: I have not received a response from this company. I have expended $125 additionally to fix the leak. I hereby request a full refund.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1. A third party confirmed the leaks were coming from dried caulking along the edge of the carport gutter. The caulking has since been removed and replaced, fixing the leaks. I have a disability and do not climb ladders. But I understand the problem was readily visible from where Mr. ***** was on his ladder.

2, 3. I concur with Mr. ***** that a rain chain is the best solution to the patio downspout. He spent 15 to 20 minutes on this project, including blowing the dry leaves onto the patio. He did not remove any decomposed material (my wife did that a week later) nor did he clean the leaves up in the entire back yard or on the side of the house. I had to ask him to blow the leaves off the patio and off the deck on the side of the house. He blew the patio leaves onto the pool cover, and the deck leaves against the fence. That was OK by me. I just wanted them moved so they wouldn't track into the house. He seemed irritated when I asked him to do this clean-up, even though it took him less than 10 minutes.

4. The required parts are ordinary and readily available. Most of them were already on the premises. I expected him to inventory the parts when he gave me an estimate, and bring missing parts with him when he came to do the job. He was gone for 3 hours. I should not be charged for his inefficiencies. His estimate was obviously without foundation.

5. The purpose of hiring Mr, ***** was to repair a gutter leak. He should have been the first one to call out the problem with the dried caulking and installing flashing as a solution. He is demonstrating a lack of knowledge or an oversight on his part. I should not pay for these faults.

5. (sic) If Mr. ***** did not feel comfortable backing his truck into my driveway, or does not have the skill to handle his truck in this situation, he should have declined my offer and parked on the street. If he were on the street and damaged public property because of his inability to properly drive his vehicle, he would be financially responsible. He is certainly financially responsible to me for the damage he did to my property.

6. The day after Mr. ***** left, I saw the broken bricks where his truck was. I was angry because they were where he couldn't help but see them. So I waited one day before I called him. I told him not to cash the check, that he owes me for damages, He hung up on me. About 3 weeks later he cashed the check, and I initiated this complaint.

7. Mr. ***** was on the phone and not working most of the time he was here, and he was gone for 3 hours in the middle of the day. He was engaged in gutter labor for a little over 1.5 hours. By his own admission he spent a good deal of time repairing my retaining wall that he hit. He also admitted on the phone with me that he broke the bricks in my driveway. After all was said and done, my gutter still leaked, my retaining wall needed painting, and my driveway was damaged. A full refund is in order.