Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

MyHouseRenovation is a full service home improvement company specializing in custom design & construction for your home remodeling projects. Our mission is to provide the best design & remodeling experience possible, building future relationships.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that My House Renovation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for My House Renovation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on My House Renovation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 2013 Business started: 03/03/1992 in CA Business incorporated 02/13/2013 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 993523.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Albert Klein, Owner Mr. Bjorn Metzger, Owner Mr. Chris Rhoades, RMO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Albert Klein, Owner
Principal: Mr. Bjorn Metzger, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Chris Rhoades, RMO
Business Category

Contractors - General Roofing Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Windows Concrete Contractors

Products & Services

My House Renovation offers the following product(s): Company offers construction services.

Service Area
Sacramento, CA 130 mile radius
Alternate Business Names
MyHouseRenovation, Inc.
Products & Services

MyHouseRenovation provides any home renovation project from replacement windows & doors, full bath & shower remodel, hydro-therapy walk-in tubs, roofing, kitchens, concrete, siding & AllWeatherCoating installed with unmatched quality & craftsmanship.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights

Additional Locations

  • 7301 32nd St

    N Highlands, CA 95660 (800) 311-7008 (916) 331-5800

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has been renovating our kitchen for approx. 9 months. From the get go we have had to have the work redone over and over. From the start the kitchen was installed incorrectly, cabinet doors need to have rubber stops so when opening them the won't rub or slam into each other. They had to retexture the ceiling 3 times with their crew and finally brought in a professional. The linoleum had to be redone 3 times. the first time there was a defect on the floor, so they sent out someone who they claimed was a floor specialist and he tried to match the pattern with paint. He stated that he doesn't do floors, he touched up and restored tubs and sinks. He was there as a favor for My House Renovations. 2nd time the floor had air pockets throughout the flooring. 3rd time they had to put 1/8" plywood because after ripping out the floor they took out some of the wood underneath. The 3rd time we had large air pockets under the linoleum. Finally they said they would replace the floor with tile at their cost and while they were putting the refrigerator back in place they hit our island granite and put a dent in it. We also had to replace our over range microwave because they put a dent on the back and went all the through on the inside of microwave. We have been going through this for about 9 months and it is still not done. Even though it is not in the contract the sales people told us after all the materials are ordered they guaranteed to be done in 5 to 10 days. Now we can't even get them to call us back after numerous attempts. that is the major things this company has done. Little stuff is installing shelving that didn't fit in the cabinets doors not shutting properly, drawers not closing right.

Desired Settlement: refund so we can get this job done right by another party and replace the refrigerator. They can take their band aided kitchen out. They have received 17,000.00+ so far as payment

Business Response:

I have been asked by my client: MY HOUSE RENOVATION, Inc. (“MHR”) to respond to the above-referenced complaint. The Complainants entered into a home improvement contract (“Agreement”) with MHR for the renovation of their kitchen at their home located at *** *********** **** ****** ***** **. There were a number of modifications and revisions to the original construction and layout plans (including but not limited to adding an electrical outlet in the island etc.) that were not part of the original Agreement and that these original plans were signed-off by the Complainants. Although they could have, MHR did not charge for these changes and modifications. It is also my understanding that the time that was anticipated it would take to complete this project was delayed both due to delays requested by the Complainants and due to construction difficulties that arose during the course of the project.

Imperfections in the original replacement linoleum flooring the Complainants had selected arose, and that in replacing it MHR encountered further impediments that delayed completion of the floor. In consideration of these difficulties and delays, MHR offered, and the Complainants accepted, an upgrading of the floor, a $3,000 improvement, from linoleum to tile, selected by them, on or about November 7, 2014. Additionally, MHR offered and the Complainants accepted to waive paying the remaining outstanding balance owed on the Agreement amounting to $7,881.40.

All work was completed and the Complainants signed a Completion Certificate (“Certificate”) (please see attachment #1 enclosed herein for your reference) on January 8, 2015. The Certificate states; “all work, materials, color selection [have] been completed to my satisfaction, final customer inspection / walk thru with Crew Chief complete.” This certificate also states that there was no damage to their property. This certificate is signed by both by the Complainants and MHR’s Crew Chief.

It is my understanding that the Complainants are now alleging that my Client dented the Complainants’ refrigerator, and that there are other adjustments to shelves and drawers that remain outstanding.

While my Client regrets the extended time it took to complete this renovation, some of the delays were beyond its control and due to requests by the Complainants. My Client offered, and the Complainants accepted as a settlement of any and all outstanding matters between them, a substantial upgrade to their flooring from linoleum to tile as well as waiving a substantial amount ($7,881.40) of the outstanding  financial obligation the Complainants owed.

It seems highly illogical and improbable that if there was a dent in their refrigerator caused by my Client or if there were other unresolved construction issues the Complainants would have signed off on the Certificate dated January 8, 2015 without at least denoting these matters No notations appear on the Certificate.

My Client entered into its Contract with the Complainants in good faith, and preformed the work to completion and their written satisfaction. My Client has gone above and beyond its obligations to the Complainants and has installed a significant upgrade and waiver of fees as a settlement of any outstanding issues that might have existed between them.

I am also enclosing a copy of a letter I have sent to the Complainants regarding this matter. I believe that in reviewing all the facts, you will agree, that this is a specious claim, and that my Client went above and beyond what any one might reasonably expect. I hope this information gives you an appreciation of the situation, should you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact me.

Consumer Response:

Yes I did receive a letter from Mr. ****  ** ********* and then call him and explain to him that I did not sign off on the kitchen that the paper he sent me a copy of was me signing off on the work of the tile floor as it was stated at the top of the paper kitchen tile floor not kitchen/tile floor or kitchen and tile floor just kitchen tile floor and that the permit has not even been signed off by the city or has it ever been posted at my house He explain that he read it wrong And he was not aware of the permit not being completed.
In response to the letter he has sent you I am answering it paragraph by paragraph back.
The only modification done to the kitchen that was not in the contract was an outlet to the island and that was after their worker said the kitchen probably wouldn't pass on the permit because you're supposed to have so many outlets per footage of cabinetry in the kitchen , so I called and asked ***** how much would it cost me to have them install an outlet he said it was no trouble at all and he would do it at no cost I told him are you sure I will pay for it he said no problem at all, The other modification that was done to the kitchen was removing the light box which I did pay for. Due to the fact that while we were at the warehouse to pick out my granite they did not have the sample of my cabinets to match it up with which made me have to pick out a different cabinet,that was not my doing that they forgot to bring in the sample that I had picked out. If they are stating that adding molding to cover up the 3 inch gap that they had between the ceiling and the cabinetry to be a modification that should not be on the account I was told the cabinets would go from the ceiling down not have a 3 inch gap, so that modification is on them because of their error of installation.
If they were to look at the plans they gave me for the kitchen I have cupboards  totally different than the picture that they gave me showing what the kitchen would look like. 
As far as the delays in the work of completion of this kitchen was due to the fact that every time their workers came to my house they messed something up and had to order the material to fix it the only delay that we cause was due to the fact we had planned a trip for my sons birthday In the anticipation that by the time my sons birthday came around they would've been done with the kitchen our plans were us to be out of town for two weeks it was the holiday season Thanksgiving and Christmas coming they had full reign of my house whether we were home or not they were able to let themselves in to do the work whether we were home or not. And three times that I can count of I had workers in my house at 7:30 at night so that the work could be completed interfering with my dinner time.
Now for the floor the first floor they put in had a flaw in it and their workers while moving the refrigerator back into its position Cut the floor. **** (the project manager) told us that they would send out a specialist of flooring to look at the defect and fix it if possible. the person that they sent out was in no means A floor specialist, he told my husband he wasn't A floor specialist and wasn't sure why they sent him because he fixes chips in sinks and bathtub and paints them, he touched up the floor with some sort of paint but that did not take care of the issue of the cut in the floor and the fact you could still see the imperfection of the flaw. **** told us that they would order another floor and have that installed which he did but after that installation the floor was filled with air pocket so I had bubbles throughout the floor,Then ***** got involved and we found out **** was fired and told us he would order another floor and have that installed. Once that was installed by the same workers who installed the second floor, had to lay down some sort of plywood over two layers of linoleum and then laid the new Linoleum after they left we saw the floor begin to rise by morning we had what one could say we're speed bump on the floor.
***** called and wanted to come out and see the floor we said that was fine (I had sent pictures to them ) ***** stated that they did not want to try and take the floor out and lay down linoleum again because of the last two would instead lay tile at their cost if that was okay with us I really like the pattern of the linoleum and told them I would like to get it in tile , ***** was with a gentleman named ***** they asked who I would go to the pick out the tile I said I wasn't sure **** mentioned that they work with ******* **** and I could go on their website and look up flooring that's when we told them we were going on a two-week vacation I would look at tile when we got back.after I got back I had picked out two pieces of tile from the Arizona company but let ***** know I want to see the piece before he ordered it to make sure it matched my kitchen which to me is understandable now with that cause a delay then I'm sorry I want to see the tile before it is ordered and put in. When they came out with the tile I did not like it and **** said that he had put tile in his house he thinks I would like That he would go home and look for a spare piece so I could see it I said that was fine unfortunately his title was discontinued so I went down to ****'s and pick out a tile and sent him a picture for them to order it.( So no means is the $3000 upgrade to the floor due to anything we did)I was also told that they would remove the island and lay the tile completely underneath the entire floor which they did not do they tilled around it.even the worker said it would've been easier for them to have laid the tile if they were to remove the island instead of tiling around it.
As for the remaining balance that we owed, The damaged microwave was not deducted from the total that they sated to you. Which **** original supervisor told us to go and purchase a microwave and they would deduct it from the total and to give *** the receipt which I did that microwave was not that old at the most it was a year. so the refrigerator was not the first time they had damaged anything I have pictures of the microwave with the damage done to it if they would like to see and the original receipts.
 while ***** and **** came to the house to discuss all the issues and the final payment ***** agreed that because of all the issues that we have gone through and the time It was taking to finish this kitchen that he would waive the final cost of the kitchen but would fix some of the outstanding issues because without ripping out the kitchen and starting over the other issues could not be fixed.
On January 8 The completion of the kitchen floor was done that is what I had signed off on the completion of the kitchen floor if you look at the copy he sent you it's states kitchen floor not kitchen and floor and on the second paper they did not send you a copy of asks about who is to seal the floor. I was still waiting on the workers to come finish the cabinetry work So why would I sing off on the kitchen.
As for the damage to the refrigerator I did not see that because we were standing at the island in the kitchen I did not think that I would have to go around checking all the appliances for damages I thought at this point after all that has happened these workers would've been more careful so after I let them out and came back in I was standing by the side of the refrigerator is when I saw the damage and call ***** right away since he was acting project manager since **** was out in Chicago he told me he would inform *****.( The refrigerator is bran new I cannot pull it out myself and why would I dent a brand-new refrigerator The refrigerator was not dented before they came to do the floor they pulled the refrigerator out to do the floor and they put it back in.)it's still has the plastic film on it to protect it from scratch as I left it on due to the fact the kitchen was not done.
As far as the saying there still work to be done yes the roll out drawer that they were to fix still does not function properly nor does the one drawer close all the way, As well as  other things I discussed with *****. While the workers were here I showed them that they were still to replace a piece of wood they stated to me that that one piece of wood that was there was not part of the cabinetry but was the missing part of the shelf that was cut off in the early work.
while the workers were here on 8 January I had a conversation with ***** stating the stuff  still was needing fix that their workers didn't have the material,  also about the refrigerator being dented. After he insulted my integrity I told him that I was going to hang up because I did not want to say something I might regret for him to have a nice evening which at that point I hung up but with in five minutes he called back and had a conversation with my husband. During the conversation  my husband with **** he asked would you accept this kitchen if it was yours he replied no he set up an appointment with my husband to come out on January 11 depending on my work schedule to meet with us. I text ***** my schedule but after I did that I called and left a message with ***** stating we did not want to meet with **** but would meet with him on Monday nobody showed up or called.
I truly believe that ***** regret the time it took to complete this renovation of my kitchen but whether it beyond their control no it wasn't if they had competent workers that started it to begin with and had right supervisor in place we would not be in this position now . **** the supervisor and the two workers that started my kitchen have been fired from the company.I have been working with five different people on this job just as supervisors not including the workers.
 I think that I am the one who has been more than willing to work with this company and been put out of place I have given up giving my grandson's there two birthday parties having Thanksgiving at my house having Christmas at my house and having a couple of dinner parties that we had planned due to the incompletion of this kitchen.
Once again I am stating I never signed off on this kitchen if you would please look at the paper it does not say I did it said I signed off on the floor.
 I did contact the supervisor ***** about the refrigerator after the workers left and I saw it.
We entered into the contract in good faith that they would be in and out of our house within 10 days which April stated at the signing of the contract and the sales person bill that came to our door that set up an appointment with April told my husband yes we complete the kitchens between seven and 10 days and onJanuary 8 in a conversation with **** he stated to my husband that they just finished a kitchen in seven days.
Since talking with the person that claims to be their attorney **** * ********* he has seen that I did not sign off on the kitchen and has attempted to contact me to set up an appointment with ***** who is part owner of the company but I will not meet with them without representation of my own.-so if I truly signed off on this kitchen I do not think that they would really be trying to meet with me.The letter that he had sent in response to you contacting him was before he and I talked .
So after reading my response back to you guys you will clearly see that my allegations are not bogus as stated in his comments he should've read the paperwork that I actually signed before making a comment and realized that the permit for the work was not even signed off by the city.
Wednesday, 4 January the contracting licensing board came to my house one of the comments that he made was he believes my kitchen with measured wrong and that's why I have problems with the doors hitting the other cabinets he did other issues with me about what's wrong with the kitchen but I chose not to disclose them at this time.
Thank you for your time on this issue if any more  questions feel free to contact me by email or phone.

Business Response:

My client has read the long response by Ms. ********.   It would be fool hearty, pointless, and counter-productive to continue to  write  equally long and detailed responses in a never-ending exchange.  On two occasions I, on behalf of my client MHR, have written to Mr. & Mrs. ******** offering to have a  principal from MHR; Mr. ***** *******, come to their home at a mutually convenient day and time to discuss the situation and hopefully come to an amicable resolution.  Other than making this offer to meet and try and set things right,  I and my client are at a loss as how to how this matter can be resolve