BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Legacy Energy Solutions Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Legacy Energy Solutions Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 08, 2011 Business started: 10/27/1994 Business started locally: 10/27/1994 Business incorporated: 10/27/1994 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
On 1/24/2014 BBB confirmed that Legacy Energy Solutions Inc. had not obtained a necessary license from Contractor's State License Board.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Justin Evans, President Mr. Richard Evans, V.P
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Justin Evans, President
Business Category

Contractors - General Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 8120 Brookhollow Ct

    Loomis, CA 95650 (916) 532-0133

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Permit pulled in the name of Cookie Cutter Pools Lic. #XXXXXX This company did not do the remodel as discussed. Time exceded by 100% and still not done. Permits pulled were insufficient. Abandoned project with wires hanging from ceiling & switch plate missing leaving electricity exposed. Acoustic ceiling removed without testing for asbestos after 1 expressed concern. Ceiling crumbs left in every room. Pile of ceiling scrapings left in closet. Sample from the pile tested positive for asbestos. Wall removed & ceiling beams removed before acoustic removed. Permits not left at property as required. Insurance information not provided. Many items had to be done twice because of failure to follow directions. Failure to pay subcontractor-mechanics lien on me. Let house open-left garage door opener in front for easy access.

Desired Settlement: Full payment to all subcontractors. Credit to me for expense of cleaning driveway because of oil leaks of sub's cars, credit for cleaning of asbestos abatement, credit for work not done.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
After you met with one of our representatives on 9/1/13 we drafted an agreement to address the issues you presented to us in during the meeting. We left voice mails on 9/9/13 (afternoon) and 9/11/13 (morning) to set up a time that we could come out and review the proposed agreement with you. When we did connect with you on 9/11/13 (approximately noon) you indicated that you had an asbestos abatement company come out and you were filing a claim against our insurance company because of information they provided to you. Our understanding from our conversation on 9/11/13 is that you are awaiting a written report from the asbestos abatement company so we tentatively set up a meeting for Friday 9/13/13 to meet with you and go over the agreement and the report. You indicated you would call us back to confirm the Friday meeting. Since we did not hear from you to confirm the meeting on 9/13/13 we are assuming that you will contact us once you receive that report so that we can come out and discuss your concerns related to this project and the asbestos report. AS we have indicated we are open to discussing your concerns with this project and will be happy to set up another meeting to discuss those concerns once you have received the asbestos report and contact us. Sincerely, ******* *****, President

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) While I believe the company response misstates some facts, it does reflect the majority of the outcome. I do think that Mr. ***** is trying to make it right and I did not speak to him personally prior to filing a complaint. On the other hand, I still have not had an inspection, though I was told it would be scheduled by today. I cannot say that I am happy with the outcome. However, I have agreed to a settlement offer. As agreed in the settlement, I am reporting a resolution of this matter.

Final Business Response
The following is a brief summary of the actions that took place regarding the above mention case. 1.I met with ******** **** on September 16, 2013 and agreed to pay for the asbestos clean-up and to forego any other monies stiff owing on her contract with Legacy Energy Solutions. She agreed to this and agreed that she would finish any work left on the project. 2. After the above mentioned meeting 1 received a "Demand for Payment" letter from ******** **** dated September 25, 2013 wherein she increased her request for payment to $27,550.00 (see attached). 3. In early October ******** called me and wanted to settle. She indicated she only wanted $7500 for the asbestos clean-up and $8050 to replace furniture and personal property.I informed her I would write up an agreement and bring it to her for signature. A meeting for Saturday October 12, 2013 at 11:30 was set up. ******** asked me to call and remind her the day of the meeting. 4.On Saturday, October 12, 2013, I called ******** to confirm the meeting and took the typed up agreement for her to sign. ******** wanted some changes to agreement that was previously agreed upon (see her handwritten changes in the attachment). I agreed to the changes and indicated I would have the document re-typed. We agreed to meet on Sunday, October 13, 2013 at 8:30am to sign the agreement. 5. I met with ******** **** on Sunday, October 13, 2013 at which time we both signed the agreement (see attached). At that time I gave her a check for $15,550.00 as per the agreement. While I have settled this issue with ******** **** I would like to share that Ms. **** never once called me to complain or express unhappiness with Legacy Energy Solution. The first indication that she was not happy with us was the receipt of the complaints from the Better Business Bureau, the Contractor's Licensing Board and the HCC Surety Bond claim. I value customer service and satisfaction and had f known she was not happy I would have worked with her to make it right before it went as far it did. After hearing of her dissatisfaction, I bent over backwards to make it right for her. Although it took some time, I believe we have reached an agreement that is fair to both parties. I consider this case resolved, but if you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This package of information is to provide you with what has transpired since I have contracted with Legacy Energy Solutions to install a new roof gutters and heating and air conditioning (HAVC) system in October 2012. Within this package is a detailed timeline beginning with the signing of the contract on October 22, 2012 through March 18, 2013. Please not that this is five months later for a project that should have taken no more than a couple of weeks to complete at most. In addition I have included the original contract along with copies of photos and PG&E billing statements. The statements are to show that since the installation of the roof and HVAC system my bill has more than doubled. The lack of customer service and communication that Legacy Energy Solutions has provided to me has been inappropriate and less than convenient. I do not appreciate workmen just showing up at my house for unscheduled visits without being provided proper notification in advance. I n addition I do not appreciate being called for payment tow months after the original payment was due when I was in fact calling for eight weeks prior to find out the billing address and my phone calls were never returned. This is not an adequate way to run a business nor is it acceptable to think that you clients will be available at a moments notice to have repair work done on their residence. The least Legacy Energy Solutions could have done was contact me through a phone call each time a workman was to be arriving at my home and the approximate time that they would be there. Neither of these services was provided.

Desired Settlement: As of 03/18/13 one payment of $250.00 has been made to Legacy Energy Solutions. There has been no inspection on the HVAC that was installed and no certification on the roof. This process has taken almost 5 months to complete on a project that i was told should only have taken about 2 weeks. In addition, since the new roof and HVAC have in installed in my house, my PG&E bill has increased more than two fold.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We are baffled by this complaint. There is no basis for the issues that this customer is complaining about. Specifically: 1. 5 months to complete a two week job - the roof was complete on 11/9/12, the gutters were installed on 11/12/12 and the HVAC system was installed on 11/17/12 (this according to her own timeline that was submitted with the complaint). The roof certification and HVAC inspection have been completed. There was a delay in obtaining both of these because the complainant was on vacation for 3 weeks and then getting a hold of her and finding a time both she and the others were available to schedule these items was challenging. 2. Since the installation of the roof and HVAC system PG&E costs have more than doubled - there are many factors that have an effect on utility costs, including individual usage. We have included a table that compares actual PG&E costs from 2 comparable homes in the area. The pattern/trend is similar, indicating that the increase in the complainant's bill is likely due to individual usage and time of year and does not have any correlation with the roof and HVAC installation. PG&E Cost Comparison- for reference only Date House1 House2 4/15-5/14 31.91 9.82 5/15-6/13 13.56 11.69 6/14-7/13 12.39 9.08 7/14-8/13 11.43 7.98 8/14-9/12 10.04 8.85 9/13-10/11 11.78 9.53 10/12-11/9 31.72 24.66 11/10-12/12 73.52 52.04 12/3-1/11 139.81 109.00 1/12-2/12 92.99 62.58 2/13-3/14 84.59 40.02 3. Lack of customer service and communication has been inappropriate and less than convenient - We thought that this issue was resolved. The customer informed us of her concerns and dissatisfaction with some of our work crew and as a way to express our apology for her dissatisfaction we offered to provide a concrete pad at no cost to her, a $1500 value. She accepted this, but now brings up her unhappiness in this area as primary concern in this complaint. We are not sure how to respond to this as we acted in good faith to address her concern the first time and she appeared to accept our response as a satisfactory resolution. 4. Inability to pay because she did not have the address to send payments to - The complainant provided a copy of the promissory note with the complaint. The address to send payments to as well as the monthly amounts and payment start date are in this document. She clearly had the information needed to make timely payments. This makes no sense. The complainant made one payment in March 2013 and still owes Jan, Feb and April 2013 payments. We frankly do not know what more this customer wants. She has received everything she paid for and additional concrete pad at no cost to her as well. We do not know if she is trying to get out of paying the financed portion of her project or if there is something else going on here. We do not experience many conflicts but when we do, we strive to resolve customer concerns before they escalate to this level. If we truly felt that there was something else we could do to make this customer happy, we would.

Consumer's Final Response
First and foremost I do concur that the roof AVAC and gutters were installed according to the dates that were outlined in both my timeline and the response provided by Legacy Energy Solutions (Legacy) However Legacy states that the roof certification and the HVAC inspection have been certified according to the appropriate ordinances If this is correct I would like a copy of each certification for the roof and HVAC sent to my home address the Better Business Bureau and the State Contractors Licensing Board for confirmation To my knowledge the only services that have been provided in this respect involve the duct testing that was provided by Valley Duct Testing a private and independent company At no time was I notified that the roof had been certified or that the appropriate inspection has been completed on the HVAC as stated by Legacy Regarding my three week vacation which began 12/17/12 and ended 1/7/13 Legacy was notified up front that I was going to be out of town This is why it was pertinent that all work and certifications be completed prior to my departure They were not Upon my return I contacted Dean Mac Millan on 1/8/13 and asked for three things 1) when the inspections ere going to be scheduled for the HVAC and roof 2) the address o where to send my payment and 3) the amount of the payment that was due It took approximately 8 phone calls and two months to have any response from Legacy in regard to either the payment address or the inspections that still needed to be completed At no time between 1/8/13 and 3/3/13 was any contact attempted by Legacy The first attempt by Legacy to contact me regarding my 1/8/13 phone call/text message was on 3/4/13 This discussion between ******* ***** and myself only pertained to my payment and had nothing to do with the inspections that still had to be finalized When I questioned ******* about the inspections not being completed he stated that he would contact me by the end of the week with appropriate dates for inspection I never received this phone call Rebuttal to item number two: Per ******** from ****** **** ******* the private and independent company there are numerous reasons why there could be an increase in my PG&E statement One of those reasons is that my newly installed HVAC is not operating at the efficiency that the old HVAC system was This made sense to me and now this is no longer an issue PLEASE NOTE: That while I was on vacation for three weeks my house sat empty and the heater was set at 68 degrees Upon receiving the bill in January I was baffled as to why it had more than double since a new system was just installed Had I known that the operating efficiencies are different between the two systems (something that was never discussed with me by Legacy) I would have adjusted the heating element accordingly so I would not be surprised upon opening my statement Again there was a lack of communication and customer service on Legacys part Rebuttal to item number three: In regards to the concrete pad I was never properly notified on when the work would commence The only notification that I received regarding this work came from my mother who informed me via telephone that there were workers trying to get into the back yard. I contacted **** *** ****** and asked if the concrete workers were coming to my house and he stated "Yes they should be there now" Again there was a severe lack of communication and customer service on Legacy's part seeing as how this was their "apology" After the concrete was poured the workers left with no identified return date To my knowledge Legacy would have contacted me as to when the workers would come back and clean up the side of the house and remove the wood framing THIS WAS NEVER DONE Three months later i late March my mother and I finally removed the wood framing with a crowbar and hammer except for the one large piece of wooed framing that is currently embodied both in the concrete slab and under the siding of the house Not to mention the hand prints of dirt that are net to the solidified concrete splatters on the siding This was Legacys "apology" for my dissatisfaction with the quality of their workers regard for private property (ie leaving trash and an old truck in my yard and driveway respectively) Photos were previously provided On 4/15/13 I received a text message from **** ********* stating that the workers would show up to finalize the duct testing of the HVAC at 10:00 ******** from ****** **** ******* arrived at 9:55 in the morning and was surprised that the Legacy Representative had not yet arrived After waiting a period of time she notified her office and they stated that Legacy would be contacted to ensure representation on this second visit since there was no representation on the first inspection Between 10:15 and 10:20 ******* ***** The Legacy representative finally arrived Upon his arrival he met with ******** and began drilling the holes that should have already been completed upon installation in November 2012 After talking with ******* he stated that he liked my t-shirt that I was wearing and offered to swap shirts in my garage as he was tugging on his as if to remove it I do not appreciate being sexually harassed in my own how During *******'s 15-20 min visit to my house there were several more instances of unprofessional conduct that occurred These include ******* telling me that the concrete his company pored was t be utilized as a dog run and not a place to house plants and that the belongings currently in my garage needed to be thrown away so that I could park my car I do not feel that this is adequate compensation for Legacy's lack of service on our contract and in my opinion the appropriate inspections have yet to be done Rebuttal to item number four: the reason the promissory note was provided with the complaint was that ******* ***** had set it to me on 3/4/13 per our phone discussion Prior to the 3/4/13 phone call I began trying to contact Legacy on 1/8/13 to identify the payment amount and address due to misplacement of my promissory note it took approximately 8 phone calls and two months before Legacy attempted to contact me It was only after the 3/4/13 phone call that ******* sent me a cop (with visible mistakes) to my home address January and February payments would have been made had Legacy bothered to return any one of my either phone messages which they had listed to per ******* ***** and choose not to respond April payment has already been sent If I was trying to get out of paying the financed portion of the contract with Legacy I would not have made the eight calls in two months trying to find our the payment amount and the location of where to mail it In addition I have been paying Admirals Bank the other financing company since December of 2012 even thought the certifications have not been completed It is Legacy's lack of customer service by returning phone calls that has delayed the payment for the months of January and February In my opinion Legacy has not abided by their part of the contract with regard to completing the appropriate certifications To make this customer happy legacy can complete the work as stated in the contract (including the certification) As stated previously i would like a copy of each certification for the roof and HVAC sent to my home address the Better Business Bureau and the State Contractor's Licensing Board for confirmation I am too polite to put in writing my true opinion of this company and how they conduct their business I will leave that to your imagination This customer wants the job to be completed with appropriate certification in hand I have yet to receive the final sign off and/or certifications for the installation of the roof and HVAC and the concrete pad that was to be "free" and an "apology" has destroyed the side of my house and part of my backyard

Business' Final Response
Company states: We have been attempting to resolve issues with Ms. ****** and have been encountering resistance. Most recently we attempted to have the final inspection done on the installed HVAC system and she prevented the inspection by placing a pad lock on her gate thereby denying entry by the inspector. We have written her a letter requesting her cooperation with the final inspection and are enclosing a copy of that letter for your files. We are interested in resolving the issues that Ms. ****** has set forth in her complaint, but am finding it to be quite a challenge.

BBB's Final Determination: Complaint was settled through BBB mediation

9/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Poor installation. Failure to provide repair and proper installation of several new windows. This company on several occasions has not responded to phone calls or followed up on they're completed work. Had to track down the owner who said he agreed that he needed to send out a better team to redo the window install. All the windows have very sub par caulking done. Anything from the caulking being an inch over the windows, thick and unsitely, to crooked windows with split caulking. There are 24 windows, the whole house. 1 painter sent to clean. But no repairs to the poor install. This has been going on since last fall 2011.

Desired Settlement: Fix as was promised or refund so we can hire someone else (contractor)to do the clean up and reinstall the windows correctly.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Noble Job: Scope of Work: Replacement Windows Contract Amount: $11,310 Financing Provided: Yes : $11,310 by Legacy Energy Solutions -We replaced the windows as per contract. -The Homeowner complained about the caulking. -Several Times we have re-caulked the windows, but the homeowner refuses to acknowledge satisfaction. -Homeowner called to tell us they do not want our subcontractor back on site. -Homeowner called and told us that if we reduced price by $5000, then they would be happy. -We told them we would reduce the price by $1000 and they said they would let us know. -Next response was to the BBB. -This is clearly an attempt to rip us off and not pay us the money owed.

Consumer's Final Response
Owner of company has responded and has given me his word that there will be repairs or a complete reinstall of windows if need be. This person doesn't have any other complaints that I'm aware of, so I hope he is a man of his word, and the job will get done correctly.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1