BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Look at your unique situation: Best use of energy currently supplied to your home or business. Then analyze the possibility of reducing and/or producing with the most ideal least-cost scenario that suits you and your situation.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Energy Resolutions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Energy Resolutions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Energy Resolutions include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Energy Resolutions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 22, 2010 Business started: 01/12/2010 in CA Business incorporated: 11/13/2009 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Newsom, President Mrs. Kay Kress, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Kay Kress, Operations Manager
Principal: Mr. Michael Newsom, President
Business Category

Contractors - General Glaziers Heating Contractors Contractor - Insulation Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Contractors - Solar Energy Landscape Contractors Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Contractors - Acoustical Ceiling

Products & Services

Energy Resolutions offers the following product(s): Company offers general construction services.

Service Area
Northern California
Alternate Business Names
Terra Aqua Builders, Inc.
Industry Tips
Building a Swimming Pool Tips Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Energy Resolutions has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/16/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This contractor has completely failed to provide any level of reasonable customer service, communication or ultimately a working finished product. We contracted for a new roof and solar system and 5 months after they began work we still do not have a working solar system . They took a month and a half to install the roof itself. Our communications go unanswered. The salesman misrepresented the rebate program. They have never provided a contractors warranty, manufacturers warranty, or a breakdown of the roof cost and the solar cost.

Desired Settlement: Fix the solar system so it functions. Provide contractors and manufacturers warranty on the roof and the solar system. Provide a reasonable reimbursement for an estimate of the offset for the electricity that would have been credited towards the electric bill since the date when we were told the system was working until its fixed.

Business Response:

We can certainly understand Ms. *******'s frustration however we responded immediately when we received her first call regarding her solar system on 7/1/14. Ms. ******* called and expressed concern as she had **** come out and they stated that the solar system was not operating. She was called back that same day, 7/1, by our solar technician whom did not reach her but left a message. Our Production Manager also called and left a message. Again on 7/2 the solar tech called Ms. ******* and again reached her voicemail and left another message. Ms,. ******* did return the call on 7/2 at which time the tech let her know he was working on a project out of town but would like to come by her home on that Fri, Sat or Sun 7/4, 7/5 or 7/6 and was told that those days were "unacceptable" and he could come to her house on Monday 7/7/14.

On 7/7/14 our solar technician arrived at Ms. *******’s home - he discovered that the solar system was working however the breaker appeared to be bad and may have tripped. The technician replaced the breaker, tested the system again and noted it was still fully functioning. Owner was not home so tech left a note for her. We have not heard from Ms. ******* since.

The initial roof installation was delayed due to rainy weather off and on in the beginning of the year. Again we understand the frustration however the weather was unpredictable and the roof contractor replaced the roof as quickly as possible given it was winter.

The solar system was inner-connected by PG&E on 6/10/14 and we don’t have any indication that it hasn’t been producing power since that point.

The utility rebates noted on the contract is guaranteed, by ERI, as well as a progress payment to Energy Resolutions-there haven't been any shorts and the solar rebate noted has been paid directly to ERI per the contract (see attached)

 

 

Business Response:

We have no problem compensating you for lost solar consumption from the time of inner-connection to when the faulty breaker was replaced. I see in our records that you received an in-person instruction on how to monitor your solar usage by our technician ****-if you have additional questions regarding this please call us and we will have him come out again. As you will see from the time of your call regarding your system to the time we were on-site we are always prompt in our response and address any warranty items.

We will contact the roofing company to request a written warranty for you as this should have been provided at the time they finished your roof installation.

We have your solar warranty packet waiting to be sent to you-this was not provided yet as company protocol we wait until we have all items in place:  post testing uploaded, loan payment for a final invoice & acceptance by utility company with inner-connection to your system so that all appropriate materials can be sent in your final packet.  I will forward this to you once I have reviewed your bill history and have a check for the time of lost usage for the faulty breaker.

 

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern.  We have received instruction on the solar equipment and appreciate Energy Resolutions agreement to compensate for the total time the equipment was not working.  It is good to hear that they are working with the roofing subcontractor to obtain roof warranties and are gathering information for the solar warranty packet.  We look forward to receiving that information as soon as it has been obtained by Energy Resolutions.  Once we receive all of the contracted for warranties, compensation and confirmation of resolved roof issues we should be able to bring this issue to a close.    

5/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Consumer states: Item #1 On or about 11/9/11, I signed a contract with Energy Resolution to install new heater and air conditioner system in my house and wrote them a check $500.00 as retainer. Item #2 On 1/10/12, a change was made to the original contract for they were going to replace my 3-ton air conditioner with a 2 1/2 ton unit. I wanted a 3-ton unit. This cost me $1200.00 more for the 3-ton unit. I signed this upgrade 1/12/12. A couple of weeks later while they were having the systems install which entailed replacing a complete new heating unit, new up to date ducting, more attic surface insulation and a new air conditioner. I started having troubles with the TV. It would turn itself off if someone turned on the kitchen garbage disposal or a light under the kitchen counter cabinets. My swimming pool pump and skimmer motors would not work. My newer electric close dryer would start to smoke if a full load of clothing were being dried. The hallway two way light switched would not work. Lights in the garage would not come on. I talked to a number of the fellows working on the heating and air conditioner units but they couldn't seem to fix the problems. I talked to the head guy on the job, name unknown, and told him that i thought they had done something up in the attic or when replacing the air compressor unit which was making all the problems. He said that they hadn't done anything wrong, there for it wasn't their problem. Item #3 I received a bill for the installation for $8096.00 which I paid. While the fellows were still here, I called Energy Resolution and told them I was unhappy and they had done something to cause all of these problems. They sent out Mr. ****** ******** who works for them and I am told also owns his own electrical business. The first thing he looked at was the two-way switch in the hall. He worked on the switch for about and hour and couldn't make them work properly. CAN YOU BELIEVE, he said that he knows what the problem is an that it was the wiring in the walls were illegal wiring and he would have to "RIP OUT THE WALLS" and replace all the wiring. I told him that I had lived in this house nearly 40 years and when I had the heating and air condition system replaced 25 years ago, they didn't have wiring problems. I said, "You are telling me that the walls must be ripped out to fix this". He said, "yes". I couldn't get this guy out of my house fast enough. I called SMUD, *** ***** ******** (***********@SMUD.ORG) and he said not to pay them any more until you are satisfied. Item #4 Being that I still had my electrical problems, I called ******** ******** Lic. #XXXXXX to fix it. They replaced my 50 amp panel with a 100 amp panel, got my halls lights working, no longer does my close dryer smoke, my TV stay on lie it should and the lights in the garage are working. I wrote Phillips Electric a check on 4/20/12 for $1050.00. ******** ******** wasn't familiar with pool pumps so I contacted a pool pump electrician and for $75.00 got them working. The pool pump electrician said the motors were fine but had to get power to them. Item #5 SMUD sent me a check for $6,756.46 PG&E sent me a check for $2,243.58 Item #6 On 8/25/12, I received a notice of mechanics lien from Energy Resolution that a lien will be recorded on 9/3/12 on my house if payment in full not received. At this writing I have paid $500.00 deposit, $8,096.00 close out and $1,050.00 to get my house electrical problems resolved and $75.00 for a pool pump electrician to fix the skimmer and pump motor for a total $9,721.00. There is no way that Energy Resolution, Inc. can ask me for an additional $1,562.89 leaving me holding the bag after they got their money and left. I feel that Energy Resolution has taken me and they should not be entitled to additional funds.

Business Response: Mr. ********* notes that he had a problem with his 100 AMP panel. Our company did not contract with Mr. ********* to look at, repair or change any part of his electrical panel. Out of courtesy we had out Production manager visit the homeowner and let him know we would be happy to put him in touch with an electrician so that he could make any changes or upgrades he felt necessary.
For Mr. ********* to say that our company should change out his electrical panel is much like asking a painting contractor to pay for new window coverings because they do not match the new paint color as this is not in our scope of work contracted for.
Mr. ********* signed a Project Certificate of Completion and Acceptance on 2/2/2012 and did not contact our company for any items or matters to be addressed.
Mr. ********* contracted with our company for a specific scope of work listed in the Home Performance Platinum Plan dated 11/8/2011. When he entered into this agreement he also agreed to pay our company any additional rebates, above and beyond those original anticipated. Our company did extra home work, while onsite, in consideration of this agreement sealing Mr. *********s house and we were able to achieve a higher test out number and therefore qualify for additional rebates. Mr. ********* notes that he did receive a total of $9000.04 in rebates, which is $1500.04 over the original amount of $7500.00 and due to Energy Resolutions. The monies have gone unpaid for more than 6 months and owner has ignored to all communications from us regarding payment.
Per the terms of our contractual agreement and Section 3082 of the Civil Code our company has the legal right to file a lien against Mr. *********'s property and attach & collect assets from that lien.

Business Response: I would like to upload the copy of the signed agreement Mr. ********* entered into to forward the extra rebate monies we achieved. He has been provided a copy more than 6 times, however I would like to do so again.

Consumer Response: Consumer states :
I called Energy Resolutions main office and they said their man would be coming to my house and fix the problem. When Mr. ****** ******** showed up he was asked to fix the problems that were created when they replaced the heating and air-conditioning system.
I didn't make up the problems that I mentioned in my first letter, for they were real and they didn't exist until after Energy Resolutions started their work on the house. I wasn't asking them to fix anything new, only to make the things work that were working when they started the job.
Mr. ****** ******** was explained and shown the problems and elected to work on the hall lights first. When he came out and said the wiring in the walls were illegal and the only way to fix it was to rip out the walls!!! And that was going to cost me sum bucks. When I said, "You mean rip out the wall, dry wall, etc.", he said "Yes". I could see right then that he was looking for new work, but it takes a lot of guts to tell someone that the problem is illegal wiring. I wasn't born yesterday and certainly wasn't going to hire him for anything. ****** McKenzie, or should I say Energy Resolutions left leaving me holding the bag.
Not being an electrician, I called a reputable electrical company Phillips Electric and these people were willing to help me. I cost me more money but that was better than burring the house down, for you remember my new electric dryer was smoking heavily if a full load was installed.
I did sign a contract with Energy Resolutions for specific work to be done, BUT I didn't expect them to create all of these other problems and leave me holding the bag.
Energy Resolutions was notified in good order the problems that I was having and completely ignored them with no intension of looking at the problems or trying to solve them.
I cannot fault Phillips Electric for doing their job, and that was to make the house safe.
My offer:
Rebates over original amount $1,500.04
Less Phillips Electric $1050.00
Less $75 Pool electric
Giving you a rebate $375.04

****** *********

Business Response: NO ONE from our company has been to Mr. *********'s house AT ALL in many months.

Mr. ********* seems to be confused by whome has been in his residence however it is absolutely no one from Energy Resolutiopns. His confusion does not cancel out the fact that there is a breach of contract, we have not been paid in full and a lien is being placed on Mr. *********'s house to secure all of the monies owed to our company.

Consumer Response: I registered a complaint with you last year regards to faulty work left undone to my house by Energy Resolution. I have not had any contact with them since my complaint was filed. I am still requesting assistance on the original issues.
Enclosed are all the records and correspondence in regards to this complaint. I want to get it resolved and if necessary take it to small claims court. If it has to go to small claims court, I would appreciate you letting me know how to go about it. (********- ********* Consumer 2nd Rebuttal.docx)

Business Response: This customer filed a BBB complaint on 9/24/12 which was dismissed.
Customer STILL owes our company $1500.04 to fulfill their contract entered into on 11/23/11.

Mr. *********'s demand that we pay for an item not included in our proposal or part of our scope of work (electrical panel) is not only unreasonable but not logical.

Mr. ********* has a Mechanics Lien on his property for the outstanding monies never paid and is simply lookig to deflect the issue.
I am happy to provide AGAIN all copies of contracts, agreements, signed completion cert and the prior BBB complaint and outcome.

Consumer Response: In the last response from Energy Resolutions they say that no one came to my door saying they were there to fix my light switch. That is un-true and the following day a lady called me on the phone to ask me exactly the problem. I told her the complete story and she said, "Oh, I will have to call you back". I knew full well that she would not call back but just to get me off the phone.
You notice, in their response, they don't mention that I made requests for them to check out the system and see what they had changed when they were replacing my heat and air conditioning and to find out why my TV would go off when I threw certain switches, my lights in garage were out as well as my pool pumps and mainly my new close dryer would start to smoke if a full load of close was in it. This last item really scared me for I was playing with fire and that means my house could burn down. They had overloaded something and were not willing to fix it. Again, when Mr. Virsil ******** came to my house to check the problems, the best he could say was the wiring in my house was all illegal and he would have to tear down the walls in my hall to fix it. You can read my last letters as to just what happened but to tell a person the wiring in his house walls is illegal is down right insulting. I am not an electrician but I am not stupid either and could think of know one that represents this company would make accusations like this and would still be working for the company. Again, I must irradiate that the insulation which they installed under my floor is falling off.
Mr. ***** ******** left me no choice, he wasn't gong to do anything to resolve my problems and all these problem only existed after they started replacing the systems and that included all the air ducting in the ceiling. I had nowhere to go but to contact an electrical company and told them to fix the problems, which they did. Hindsight, Energy Resolution says all the work electrical company did was not necessary. If this is the case why didn't they at least look at the problems after I showed them what was happening and either correct their mistakes or at least point the finger as to what caused these problems. Again, remember there were no problems with my electrical system before the started to work on the system.
I see from their comments that they do not want to negotiate a settlement so I guess the next course of business will be to take them to small claims court. I would appreciate you letting me know how to go about this and whom I should contact. (

Business Response: I have notified him, last year, that the amount was written off and I was waiving the lien.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

4/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I were out at the Home and Garden show when we were asked if we would like to sign up for a free inspection and spin the wheel to win a prize. We agreed. The wheel landed on cash and a my husband won 80.00. They then told us that the tech would bring the money when he came out to do the inspection. We said ok,no problem. Today the tech arrived and we asked about our prize money , he stated that you don't get that till someone comes back with the results from your inspection. We told him we weren't finding them to be an honest company and we prefer not to get involved in a scam. He left. The company then called my husband to tell him they are keeping the prize money. They do not tell you that you do not get a prize then and there till after you sign up and win. Just found this company to be very dishonest. After looking them up on yelp , I was glad to not have gotten into any kind of business deal with them.

Desired Settlement: I would like for other people to not get scammed by this company.

Business Response:

We are truly sorry that Mr. and Mrs. ***** misunderstood the homeshow promotion. Out of the more than 250 homeowners that participated in the promotion at the homeshow the only complaint we have received is from the *****.
 
Our company has honored all Home Show promotion winnings however when owners signed up each person was clearly instructed that the Energy Analyst would be providing them with these funds upon a follow up appt.
Unfortunately the ***** misunderstood and insisted on the testing BPI technician (whom carries no cash) hand over money before any home testing was even performed.
 
Mr. and Mrs. ***** were contacted on two separate occasions after they denied out technician from testing (as a log of the calls show in our system):
 
“I called and spoke with this Customer, told him all winners are paid upon results as technician simply test home at follow up date on test results is when he would receive $80.00 cash. He replied he was told at time of winning he would receive funds at time of testing, I apologized the miss communication  and offered to set another test and confirmed he already had a follow up date when he would have received the $80.00 he very gruffly declined. “ Lead Energy Analyst
 
Both calls offered to re-schedule the ***** for the $499 test at no cost to them AND when the test results were processed they would received their test report and all HomeShow winnings (in cash). The owners declined to participate in the process and only insisted that cash delivered to them.
 
It’s unfortunate that the ***** misunderstood the process and our attempt to further clarify it to them was met with belligerence and threats of “reporting you to the BBB” unless the money was received immediately.  
 
Our company has been licensed and serving Northern California since 2001. We are in good standing with all agencies we are licensed & accredited through (including SMUD and PG&E), have never been sued for misconduct or otherwise and are certainly not in the practice of “hoodwinking” anyone-our company reputation is worth far more than a simple $80.00 prize winning.

Consumer Response: This whole letter is a LIE . We don't want him to give us the money, we want him to be honest. We are good Christians and they told us when we won , we will give it to you when the tech comes to your house. I own 2 houses in Folsom , I do not need the 80.00 it was about Honesty !!

7/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told the work would include repairs to my air conditioning unit that were never done. I hired energy resolutions to do work on my house through the SMUD energy savings program. The original analysis report was given to me on 8/28/2011, the job number is XXXXX-M6. The analysis stated that the air conditioning unit was inoperable. I repeatedly told the contractors that we needed the air conditioner fixed. They assured me it would be done, but it never was. When I asked them about it, they said it was not part of the work order and if I wanted to get it done it would be another $3000 to replace our unit. I was not given a copy of the contract, and am currently waiting to receive one from the company as well as a copy of the permits to see if the air conditioning was part of the contract. However, even if it was not part of the contract, I feel they should be responsible for fixing it, as they knew going in that we needed the air conditioner fixed. I feel I was given the run around and made to look like I was at fault for the work I needed not getting done. Now I am living in an 80 degree house and summer has yet to start. I worry that my two dogs will get sick with heat exhaustion because our air conditioner was not fixed when the other work was done.

Desired Settlement: I would like my air conditioning unit to either be fixed or replaced at no cost to me. It should have been done as part of the original work order.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response What Ms. ****** wanting is outside the scope of work she purchased. Her unit is only a few years old and our company would have been remiss in selling her a brand new unit. Her best resolve would be to contact the original installer and/or manufacture for a warranty claim for her A/C unit. Ms. ****** signed two completion certificates noting that all work was completed in full at the end of her project. Ms. ****** was given a copy of her contract at the time of signing and all permits we're mailed directly to the customer when her project ended. We're always available to our clients that have questions however we have never been contacted by this owner, since her project completion, with any questions or concerns.

4/20/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/18/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/16/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues