Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Capitol City Contractors

Phone: (916) 285-5343 3429 Freedom Park Dr. #7, North Highlands, CA 95660 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Capitol City Contractors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Capitol City Contractors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 28, 2003 Business started: 12/26/2000 Business started locally: 12/26/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00802576.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Bill Huffman, Owner Christa Boss, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Christa Boss, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Bill Huffman, Owner
Business Category

Contractors - General Home Improvements - Additions Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Basement - Remodeling Handyman Services Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Service Area
Sacramento and Surrounding areas
Products & Services

Capitol City Contractors provides home improvement and repair services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights

Additional Locations


    3429 Freedom Park Dr. #7

    North Highlands, CA 95660


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted this company back in November 2014 to have them come out to a new store location we were opening. The items that they had to repair for us were simple things, paint, bathroom remodel, countertops for our repairs, a seperation wall and a utility sink. All these items were put in and we opened for business. Soon after that we noticed that the water pressure was low in the bathroom. We contacted our landlord to see if this was an issue that they could resolve. The landlords maintenance person came out and stated that this was a CONSTRUCTION issue and the plumbing that was put in (utitlity sink) and the cheap sink placed in the bathroom was the cause of this issue. We also had a water pressure issue which we thought was something internal, however the landlords maintence department has let us know that this is due to poor plumbing and bad materials (sinks, etc.) used by the contractor. Shortly after we discovered this we contacted Capitol City Contracors and advised that we had this issue and also discovered that the utility sink (which we haden't even used) was clogged. The sink in the bathroom and utility sink had connections as far as plumming goes. The water would flow between the two sinks and cause the drain to back up. Capitol City Contractors not only FAILED to answer texts and phone calls, but they didn't show up to TWO scheduled appointments to just look at this issue. After the third attempt they sent out an employee who also couldn't figure out what was going on and made a call to the owner (Bill Huffman) and Bill told him to just leave and not do anything. We ended up calling a plumber who came out and used a snake to unclog the drain. He told us that there was paint or caucking poored down the utility sink drain which caused the issue which was now 15 feet deep. So after all the attempts to have Capitol City Contractors resolve an issue that they caused we ended up paying the plumber to fix this issue. We are still left with a cheap sink.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have a refund for the plumber we called to unclog our sink. Also we would like to have our money back for the two sinks and all the plumbing placed in our store by capitol city contractors.

Business Response: The estimate provided by complainant is dated 10/28/14, the estimate was approved by the owner (which provides the item details and sku # of the utility sink & faucets, so that the owner would know what items were selected and at that time could request changes if wanted.) the work was completed and invoiced on 11/19/14 and paid see the copies of checks provided by complainant.   
not a single complaint till 2/13/15, almost 60 days later.  when CCC went out and checked the problem, we found a oily black liquid in the sink and after draining and dis-assembly of the drain it was obvious whatever thw oily substance is, it had caused a clog in the drain,  almost sixcty days later and the owner is looking for a way to have someone else pay for there own mistakes.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

CCC failed to show up to two appointment they sheduled to review this issue.  They not only failed to show up, but didn't call or advise that they could not come.  The utility sink which was clogged was not able to be used because there was a water pressure issue which our business thought had to do with something internal, therfore we were working with the landlord those three months to resolve the issue.  The utility sink was also not being used by us becuase at that time our business wasen't even in operation and we were not completing any repairs.  Once the landlord advised that this is an internal plumming issue and the pipes, pluming and fixtures used for the construction job caused the low pressure with the water, we attempted to let CCC know and have them come out to review the problem, however they failed to show up and then once they did show up took pictures and didn't care about taking care of the problem they caused with their poor construction job.  We had to call a plumber who came out to clear the clog, he advised that the substance in the sink which was causing the clog was down 15 feet and seemed to have been there for a while.  He also advised that it was a substance such as paint or caucking.  I have worked with CCC in the past and their employees poor paint in the lawn of the rehab homes.  I've seen this happen more than once.  Our complaint remains and we will continue to escalate until they pay for the damages and own up to what they have done and not done to resolve this problem.  We still have no water pressure and although we had to hire someone to fix a clog that CCC should have fixed we will pursue this until we can have ALL the items taken care of and have full use with regular water pressure in both sinks.

**** ****
Vacuum & Sewing World