Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Fanman

Phone: (916) 727-1085 View Additional Phone Numbers   http://www.fanman.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Whole House Fans

Request a Quote

Request a Quote from Fanman


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fanman meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fanman include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fanman
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 12, 1991 Business started: 05/01/1988 in CA Business started locally: 05/01/1988 Business incorporated 12/27/2002 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 826259.

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00529667.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tom Fields, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Fields, Owner
Business Category

Contractor - Electrical Electricians Heating & Air Conditioning Fans - Attic

Products & Services

Fanman sells the following brand(s): Delta Breeze Whole House Fans

Alternate Business Names
Fanman Inc.
Products & Services

Fanman provides full service house fans, ceiling fans, and traeger grills.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Additional Locations

  • 5910 Auburn Blvd  Suite 5

    Citrus Heights, CA 95621

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/16/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The address on my business card is **** ****** ** ***** ** ****** ******* **.I first purchased a Delta Breeze whole house fan from the Fanman around 2006. Included was a hard wired 12 hour with 2 speed switch which was installed. I moved and purchased a new home in Folsom and had Fanman install the same fan on 8-20-2012. Instead of a switch installed, Tom Fields suggested a remote control to operate the fan. He developed this remote himself. He told me if at a later date, I wanted a switch installed, he would do so. On June 4, 2015 my remote stopped working. I replaced the batteries which were the same as the old ones. I am unable to operate my whole house fan. I phoned the Fanman office, 916-727-1085 and spoke to "*****". I told her about my inoperable remote control. She stated the company just discovered Energizer batteries do not work in the remote. She said buy something different and the remote will work. I told ***** I want to make an appointment to have a switch put in. She told me her directions from the owner is that they were too busy with fan installs and I wouLd have to wait till the fall. I hung up. When I got home, I looked at my batteries and they are Kirkland. I called ***** back and told her Kirkland does not work and I expect an appointment to have a switch installed. She said she would have to talk to the owners. I told her if I do not get a call back with an appointment, I will file with the contractors license board and BBB. I told her the materials Tom gave me shows a 10 year warranty on parts and labor and I expect this problem to be fixed ASAP.

Desired Settlement: I want my fan to be hard wired and a new remote that works immediately with the next 2 weeks. I refuse to wait till the fall.

Business Response: At 9:32 am on June 4, 2015 ***** Noel left a voice mail stating that she was unhappy with her remote control system for her whole house fan that we had installed for her in 2012. She stated that she would like to pay for a hard wired wall control to be installed. I called ***** back and told her that I would have to speak to the owner in regards to her request and would get back to her later that afternoon or early the next morning. She agreed to wait for my response and at 2:30pm on June 4th I had called her and scheduled an appointment on June 18. She informed me that she had already filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. Unfortunately a remote control system and wall controls cannot both be installed on the whole house fan simultaneously so ***** will have to make a decision between the two.