BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

POSITIVE RATED REVIEWS General Contractor Northern California locations in Sacramento, San Jose, Redding, Concord, Hayward & Reno, Nevada. Quality First isn't just our name... it's our motto! We are proudly Diamond Certified for 6 consecutive years!!

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Quality First Home Improvement, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Quality First Home Improvement, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 34 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

34 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 15 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 24
Total Closed Complaints 34

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Quality First Home Improvement, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 05, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2004 Business started locally: 01/01/2004 Business incorporated: 12/19/2005 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gerald Anderson, CEO Mr. Scott Gabaree, VP of Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gerald Anderson, CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Scott Gabaree, VP of Operations
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Coatings - Protective Windows & Doors - Installation & Service Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Contractors - Solar Energy Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Concrete Contractors Contractors - General Contractor - Electrical Electricians Contractors - Gutters Contractor - Insulation Painting Contractors Patio Cover Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Stucco & Exterior Coating Contractors

Products & Services

Quality First Home Improvement, Inc. sells the following brand(s): CoolWall, Crane siding, GAF Roofing, GutterDome, James Hardie Siding, Plygem Windows, SolarWorld , Sun Earth, Tex-cote

Quality First Home Improvement, Inc. offers the following product(s): Bathroom, Concrete, Doors, Exterior Coating, Exterior Painting, Gutters, HVAC, Insulation, Kitchen , Patio Covers, Roofing, Siding, Skylights, Solar, Sunrooms, Windows

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Credit Cards and Financing available.
Products & Services

Quality First Home Improvement, Inc. offers exterior home improvement services. Solar Power, Windows, Concrete, Roofing, Patio Covers, Gutters, Insulation, Siding, HVAC, Kitchen / Bathroom Renovations, Ext. Coating / Painting, Fencing and Skylights!

Industry Tips
BBB Tips for Hiring a Contractor in California

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1170 Burnett Ave STE. R

    Concord, CA 94520

  • 2968 Churn Creek Rd

    Redding, CA 96002 (800) 859-7494 (916) 788-2921

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4840 Mill St. #1

    Reno, NV 89502

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    609 Price Avenue #207

    Redwood City, CA 94063

  • 6545 Sunrise Blvd Ste 202

    Citrus Heights, CA 95610

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (408) 370-0660(Phone)
  • (530) 221-8773(Phone)
  • (775) 562-4188(Phone)
  • (925) 304-1290(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/5/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought windows for my whole house in 2011, they came with a lifetime warranty. On February 17, 2014 I contacted Quality First for a crack in one of the windows. No call back. Called again on February 18 and was told *****, project manager in Reno, would call back. No call. Called again on March 3 and talked to ***** who sent a young man to measure the window. Was told it would be 2-3 weeks before window was made and could be installed. No word. Called them on April 2 and left a message that I was frustrated and wanted a call back. Called again on April 10 and left a message. ***** finally called, came and measured again. Gave me all kinds of excuses on why nothing had been done yet. I asked him to keep me informed on what was happening. No calls, no contact. I called ***** *******, the V.P. of Operations, on May 2 and left a message asking when my window would be replaced. No call back. Called again this morning and left ANOTHER message with *****. My patience is shot.

Desired Settlement: I want a window replaced per the lifetime warranty, which was the deciding factor for me to buy my windows from Quality First.

Business Response:

QF has responded to the customer that the manufacturer (*** ***) of the window does provide a lifetime warranty against any factory defects.  Specifically, acts   of God or man, are not warrantied.  It is so specified in the *** *** warranty, as well as again on the QF warranty.  QF would come out and replace the insulated     glass unit for the cost of labor and materials (about $211 plus a trip charge of $140).

 

Since then on May 17th, our VP of Operations came to an agreement with the customer’s son that we would replace the unit at no cost, in order to take care of a very dissatisfied customer.  That unit has been ordered from *** *** and we will schedule the installation with the son when the unit comes in.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/13/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired quality first to replace my driveway and porch. During the demolition phase I noticed and brought to the attention of the job foreman that I was not happy with the foundation work. He assured me it was the correct way to lay a foundation for a driveway. I stated sufficient gravel and base rock were needed for a proper foundation. He did not agree. I contacted the home office for a ruling. The job coordinator agreed with me on this issue. The next day the crew dug a hole and put down a foundation of base rock. However, they did not compact it correctly and there was no gravel laid down. They did not complete the demolition of the porch. The footer was demoed to ground level. I had requested that the footer be completely replaced. They scraped up a small amount of base rock from the driveway and used it for the porch foundation. They did not compact this either. They then poured concrete on top of the old footer and ground. When asked about this I was told the concrete was a special mix, it did not need foundation material. Within a few day's I started seeing small cracks at the stair joints and porch. I am now seeing a single crack forming on the main driveway. All cracks accept two are getting longer and/or slightly wider. I have contacted quality first a minimum of 5 times. I have had multiple visits from there representatives to discuss these issues. The outcome of these visits/conversations was: cracking is expected and they are only responsible for a crack when it's width exceeds the width of a quarter. I have since spoken with the president of the company. He assured me that we will work together to resolve this issue. He is sending his VP to investigate.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see the drive way and the porch re-done to my satisfaction. A foundation of gravel 4" thick compacted and a base rock of 3" thick compacted on top of the gravel. Then re-pour all of the concrete. This should keep the concrete from cracking.

Business Response: We have spoken with the customer.  Our VP of Operations is scheduling to meet with customer after the customer returns from vacation on May 8, 2014.  Complaint will be resolved upon meeting.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While shopping at the West 7th street Walmart I noticed a display booth of Quality First Home Improvement products. I was asked about what I might be interested in, I told them I needed a new entry door and storm door. They set up an appointment for 9/17/13 and gave me a coupon for $500.00 off. Mr. ***** ***** arrived at my residence, he looked at my existing doors, I pointed out I wanted a storm door like the one I had up (screen rolls up into the frame) He showed me doors, wrote up a contract and requested a down payment of $482.00. ***** *********** and ***** - Came by to take measurements which they would then send to Kentucky where the door would be made. I was told as soon as it arrived I would be contacted to have it installed. Oct 24,2013 two young men, *** ******* and "**" arrived to install the 2 doors. The new entry door had 2 small dents and the storm door was not what I had showed Mr. ***** I wanted. They cut the molding wrong and could not find any to match what was already installed. The storm door was not only the wrong style it was poorly constructed and was not installed to fit the opening tight. They told me they would return to finish the job as soon they could get the right molding but insisted they had to have a check from me for the balance of $4,414.00 before they left. I resisted due to the unfinished state of the job and I pointed out to them that Mr. ***** had failed to deduct the $500.00 coupon. They made a phone call to their office an told me it had been deducted form the cash price already. I wrote a check for $3914.00 the amount I felt was owed. They left promising to return to finish the job. Mr. ***** contacted me to set up an appointment to return to the house to discuss the contract and the doors. I asked Mr. ***** what the cost of the doors added up to. He told me the entry door was $4366. and the storm door was $1638.00. He looked over the job as I pointed out the poorly constructed storm door. I pointed out the 3rd dent on the inside of the entry door where it had been pushed into an old marble table, chipping it. His comment was "It's a dumb place to put a table" "**" returned to finish the molding, but the piece he had was broken. I told him to leave and that we would just wait to finish when they figured out what would be done regarding the doors. I went to Home Depot to see their storm Doors and found the one that was like what I had It was $297.00, made by Anderson doors and better constructed. I continued to make phone calls and eventually Mr. ******* returned my call, He made an offer to forgive the $500.00 He claimed I still owed, to pay me $400.00 for the dents, or reorder the entry door and to get the storm door $297.00 from Home Depot to replace their Paragon Storm door. I call him back and told him to reorder the entry door. This dragged on from Sept. 2013 to Jan 2014 the job unfinished, a dented entry door and the wrong storm door, poorly installed. Each time someone came by to see the job they would photograph the doors and promise to get back to me. ***** *********** left his card on my door to give me an update, and ******* did arrive to take off their storm door and replace it with the Home Depot door (which he drilled in the wrong spots) He also reset the entry door and fixed the molding. He told me as soon as the New entry door arrived he'd be back. He left taking the $1638.00 door with him saying he'd sell it at the flea market. I said you should send it back to the company that built it. ***** *********** contacted me saying the new door had arrived but was worse than mine. I continued making phone calls to Scot ******* leaving messages when he did not answer. I would then call ***** Bonincontri's cell phone that he always answered until recently and tell him of my complaints re:the door not arriving not to mention the difference in price of the two storm doors ($1638.00 V $297.00) Mr. Scot ******* finally returned my calls on 2/27/14 He said he'd like to come by my house to observe the job/doors himself and took more pictures. He canceled the 3-4-14 visit but did arrive on 3-7-14. (2nd) He offered to settle the problem paying me $1000.00 I came back with throw in a new deadbolt an you have a deal, the stress tears me up. I also said to cancel the entry door order. He said absolutely the deal was with the dented door. He promised the check would be in the mail by the next Friday 3/7/14 - 3/14/14 - 3/21/14 - 3/28-14 I waited the week and no check, no deadbolt, ***** *********** did come by Re: the deadbolt saying he'd be back in a few days. I called him and he laughed saying he'd gotten busy and forgot me. I told him Mr. ******* had not kept his promise either. He said he'd contact Scot and get back to me. Neither have returned my calls

Desired Settlement: I would like Mr. ******* to stand by his settlement offer of $1000.00 and to replace the deadbolt made on March 7, 2014 that we shook hands on.

Business Response: The refund was made on April 3, 2014, and confirmed with the customer.  The lockset is scheduled, with the customer, to be replaced 9-10 am on Wed., April 16, 2014.

Consumer Response:  RE: Quality First Home Improvement Lic #74998, File #30034435 W **** ******/Investigator-**** ***********/Investigations Supervisor 

On April 8, 2014 Mr. *********** returned my call regarding my compliant and this check. Due to health issues (High BP) I am going to accept the check and drop my part of the complaint.

Thank you for your prompt response to y complaint and phone calls, it was appreciated.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Salesman ****** ****** signed the contract with me on October 23. Took $490 deposit, no one ever contacted me to do the job after my calls & message The salesman came to my house on 10-24-13 and sold me an entry door and a bay window for the kitchen for the sum of $4,414 with the deposit of $490, which they took from the credit card. The contract says that the job completion is by November 18, 2013. They came to do the measurements but never came back with the final product. They don't return my messages and phone calls. Invoice# ***** and *****

Desired Settlement: i would like my deposit to be returned to my credit card

Business Response: The installation was to take place 11/18/13, +/- 20 days, depending upon product delivery from factory. THe door was received on 12/4/13. We have left voice messages attempting to set the installation since.

Business Response: The installation was to take place 11/18/13, +/- 20 days, depending upon product delivery from factory. THe door was received on 12/4/13. We have left voice messages attempting to set the installation since.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Unfortunately, the information provided by QF is false and inaccurate. I have a print out from my At$t bill from end of November till now, and there is exactly one call from QF which was made almost 3 weeks after the date of completion stated in the contract (i only have one phone number). From my end there were 5 calls made to them to inquire the status of my order, and 2 calls to a salesperson who provided the ill fated service. i also attempted to send an email to the address provided on their corporate site, but like everything they offer, the email address didn't work. i have a copy of a bounced emails as well. I haven't received as of now any registered mail what so ever, and it's surely doesn't take a week to get from Sacramento to San Jose.
QF is an unreliable, bordering with fraud type of business, who's practices need to be examined closely. I deeply regret the time i fall to their marketing phone call and in this trap. I would appreciate any assistance from BBB to get them out of my life.
Merry Christmas

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Unfortunately, the information provided by QF is false and inaccurate. I have a print out from my At$t bill from end of November till now, and there is exactly one call from QF which was made almost 3 weeks after the date of completion stated in the contract (i only have one phone number). From my end there were 5 calls made to them to inquire the status of my order, and 2 calls to a salesperson who provided the ill fated service. i also attempted to send an email to the address provided on their corporate site, but like everything they offer, the email address didn't work. i have a copy of a bounced emails as well. I haven't received as of now any registered mail what so ever, and it's surely doesn't take a week to get from Sacramento to San Jose.
QF is an unreliable, bordering with fraud type of business, who's practices need to be examined closely. I deeply regret the time i fall to their marketing phone call and in this trap. I would appreciate any assistance from BBB to get them out of my life.
Merry Christmas

Business Response: Customer called Dec. 26 and said she had received letter. Installation is scheduled for Sunday Jan. 5th. Customer was given a discount for her disatisfaction.

Business Response: Customer called Dec. 26 and said she had received letter. Installation is scheduled for Sunday Jan. 5th. Customer was given a discount for her disatisfaction.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The contract, No. 01-*****, said "Quality First to provide and install custom exterior coating system...Rear wall -- all sofit & facia 4 sides including front entrance." It was supposed to start the beginning of November and finish the beginning of December. Here it is the middle of January and I am still waiting for the sofit and facia work to be completed. The sofit and facia have been primed and for two weeks I've heard that the people doing the work were coming by to finish. But they never show up. Anything else I can do to get the job done?

Desired Settlement: Since the job is very close to being completed, I would like them to complete.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:
In reference to complaint ID *******, I find their resolution is satisfactory to me.
This issue has been resolved. i would like to close this complaint.

Sincerely,

***** ***

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Did not receive the quality and scope of service contracted for. Failed to replace existing walkway to same dimensions. Attempted to install concrete without dobe blocks Mr is a licensed civil engineer and discussed specifics of project in detail with salesman including dobe concrete pour delayed waiting for dobe blocks. Concrete laid up to existing landscape edging in some areas the concrete was allowed to pool told that the existing landscape were not permanent structures homeowner offered to remove landscape material in advance told not to. Homeowner opened garage door three or four feet to protect door concrete splashed on door causing damage to garage door. Used hose to clean out 5 gallon bucket waste concrete pooled and hardened in the planter against the brick wall causing damage to the wall. Concrete adhered to brick wall & front of house. Debris including buckets wood nails cigarettes cans & bottles left in planters bushes & lawn. No effort to collect nails as every few inches there are nails surrounding concrete in ditch where forms were & scattered across yard. Failed to protect wet edges of concrete from damage during forms removal resulting in chips to fresh concrete & spillover at edges where stress cuts were made. Demanded cash payment on completion contract did not specify cash arrangements had been made to pay by credit card. Insisted cash must be paid leaving homeowner with an angry contractor at home that would not accept a credit card had to return to work and was worried about leaving angry contractors on site paid by check $12,000. Previously transferred $12,000 from checking account to credit card account had to deplete checking account to cover check 90 days before credit card company will refund credit. Salesman & foreman said homeowner to wait 2 weeks to use driveway. **** called Mr at work day before wanting to come back to seal concrete & collect the balance of $525. Mrs called **** back, left her number and stated she wanted to discuss the defects to the concrete prior to any additional work, offered to meet **** at the site. ****** showed up next day while homeowner was at work. Mr called at 2:30 (message), a request was made for him to come to the property before they would seal it, as they required final payment, Mrs was not called. Mr arrived after the contractor had left finding the concrete had been pressure washed. There were areas on the concrete where the spray had caused chipping to the surface layer of concrete dust evident on the surface tire tracks evident in the concrete (dirty tracks from road). Mrs called **** left a message complaining about his failure to call repeated her earlier concerns and voiced new concerns over what appeared to be an incomplete pressure washing damaged surface & concrete dust on the surface. She specifically stated that she did not want anyone doing any future work at her property without speaking to her first. Later that evening ****** showed up at the house to apply the sealant ****** did not call or knock on the door. Mr & Mrs approached ****** explaining their concerns. ****** apologized and stated that the edges should have been coped the debris should have been cleaned up and the spillover should not have occurred. He could offer no suggestion to the missing concrete along the edge of the walkway he could not see how they made that mistake as it was obvious that what was laid did not match the footprint for what had been there previously. He offered to cut the spillover out clean the debris clean garage door finish the rough edges & pitted surfaces remove tire marks & clean brick all before he brushed & sealed the concrete the next day. Next day **** called Mr did not call Mrs. He stated that the tire marks were caused from driving on concrete too soon should have waited 3 weeks. Mr said that he thought water was added to mix while waiting on dobe to be laid mix was weakened causing the pitting & sandy surface to concrete. **** became enraged yelled "we are done" and hung up.

Desired Settlement: The contractor did address some of the issues on the day that **** hung up; some of the areas of spilled over concrete had been cut out, but not all of it. Homeowner wants the contractor to mitigate the damage to the surface of the concrete by resurfacing or some other agreeable measure. The areas where the rough edges remain should be sanded or ground down to create a smooth edge. The entire surface once repaired should be sealed. Garage door and brick surfaces should be cleaned. All nails should be removed from the site. The total price should be discounted to a cash price, as the credit card was not honored. The loss of homeowner's time should be compensated. The loss of use of $12,000 for a period of ninety days should be addressed in the same manner that the contractor would address a late payment of ninety days. The contractor should address the disrespect shown to Mrs. as he was given her number but refused to speak with her, my only assumption is that this was because of her gender.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
We've attempted to return to the home and schedule power washing and sealing of the concrete. We need the homeowners to be willing to work with us, and let us back on the job site. We'll have an update to the rest of the project soon.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The contractor has not attempted to contact me or my spouse. We have not received any phone calls to our home, cell or work phone numbers. We have not received any correspondence. No one has visited our home, or has left any messages for us at our home. Additionally, power washing and sealing the driveway will not fully resolve the issue, as the issues regarding damage to the garage and brick work, spillover, rough edges and concrete not poured to specifications will need to be addressed as well. We have not shown or even implied that we are not willing to work with the contractor. The last communication with the contractor was terminated by **** who hung up on me and stated "we are done". If the contractor wants to resolve the issue they should contact us. We are willing to accept a reasonable resolution that serves to correct the deficiencies and damages. It is our desire to receive the product that we contracted and paid for, nothing more and nothing less.

Business Response: We've attempted to return to the home and schedule power washing and sealing of the concrete. We need the homeowners to be willing to work with us, and let us back on the job site. We'll have an update to the rest of the project soon.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The contractor has not attempted to contact me or my spouse. We have not received any phone calls to our home, cell or work phone numbers. We have not received any correspondence. No one has visited our home, or has left any messages for us at our home. Additionally, power washing and sealing the driveway will not fully resolve the issue, as the issues regarding damage to the garage and brick work, spillover, rough edges and concrete not poured to specifications will need to be addressed as well. We have not shown or even implied that we are not willing to work with the contractor. The last communication with the contractor was terminated by Rick who hung up on me and stated "we are done". If the contractor wants to resolve the issue they should contact us. We are willing to accept a reasonable resolution that serves to correct the deficiencies and damages. It is our desire to receive the product that we contracted and paid for, nothing more and nothing less.

Consumer Response: We have not heard from the company. The company has made no attempt to contact us. The last conversation or interaction with the company was on the day that **** called and ended the conversation by hanging up with the remark "we are done." We are still willing to work with the company and would like them to finish the job.

Business Response: This letter is in response to ****** ********' s complaint. I was involved with this project after it's completion. Mr. ******** contract was for $13,525.00 dollars with a $1000.00 dollar down payment made at the time the contract was written. This down payment was made upon his Discover Card.
Contract states final payment upon completion for the sum of $12,525.00 it does not state cash or credit card payment, it simply states final payment due. I can not speak for how or why there were issues with the final payment and why Mr. ******** states that they demanded a check; we accept credit card pay by phone all the time.Mr. ******** with held $525.00 dollars from his payment to insure that we would return to pressure wash and seal his new concrete, which he was told was a courteous seal we provide.
However we have to wait several weeks and need to have good weather to do. This is why it Is a
courteous to the customer.
I contacted the ********s to schedule the pressure wash and seal I spoke with Mr. ******** we was
happy to have us come and get this done, At this time he informed me that there had been a mess left behind, I assured Mr. ******** that ****** would take care of his issue while he was there doing the pressure wash. I received a call the next day from ****** that the ********s where upset and that he was not to be there and that he were not to put the seat on. I instructed him to take care of the other issues and that I would Call Mr. ********, I contacted Mr. ******** at which time he informed me that there were still tire marks in the drive way and that's why he did not want ****** to seal. I told him I would send ****** back to pressure wash again, and then next day I received a call from ****** that the tire marks were not coming off. I drove to the site and confirmed that the tire marks were embedded in the concrete which tells me the home owner drove on the concrete before it had fully curried. I contacted Mr. ******** by cell phone while standing in his driveway with ****** standing there with me, to discuss the tire tracks. I tried to explain that the tire tracks were embedded and that I was unsure of how to address the issue, only that he should have waited longer before driving on it. Mr.******** became out raged. He stated that he would not allow my crew to pour concrete until dobe blocks we installed and made my crew go get them before the could pour, leaving a concrete truck sitting waiting, there fore they had to add water to the concrete. Mr. ******** stated that his son was an engineer and that between them, (his son and he) new more about doing concrete than my crew did. I have been in the construction industry for over 3Oyrs and we have not used dobe blocks for 2 decades. Mr. ******** while still very angry and yelling made the statement (so you are saying this is my entire fault and that your company is going to do nothing, Do I need to contact my lawyer) at which time I stated to Mr. ******** this conversation is over. I then instructed ****** to gather all of our tools and equipment and that we were done for the day. ****** ********* was present for this entire conversation.
I find these allegations to be false, I also would like to state that if the ********s were so un happy why did they sign a completion certificate which state all work and materials meets there satisfaction. As well as filling out a customer lobby review form, which the state the crew was great. Not to mention that they wrote a check for final payment.

Business Response: ***** ******* was able to make contact with Mr. ******** yesterday. They set a meeting for 5:00 pm on Monday, Dec. 16th, which fit Mr. ********'s schedule. It sounds as through Mr. ******** is happy with the pending meeting. I am sure that we will be able to resolve all issues with the ********s.

Business Response: I have forwarded you the email and Service Addendum that I wrote to the ********'s after my 2nd meeting with them at their home. We came to a resolution of the dispute that would leave them satisfied regarding their issues with the work performed. Quality First will honor our workmanship warranty and replace the driveway in the spring of 2014 as written in attached letter to the ********'s. Please close this complaint against Quality First and make active our A+ rating once reviewed.

Thank you,

***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 12/8/13 Sunday, 6" of snow & very cold. Young man in Santa hat w/ badge (of co.) & clipboard rang doorbell... trying to set appts. for home remodeling. I say: "No thank you, all I need is a garage" He shoved a "hanger" on door, ran down street to a waiting car, returned saying we do it all! I said "in the snow?" He replied yes, someone will be here tomorrow 10am, ok? to give estimate. I said ok just hang it on the door. That evening I had 5 calls from them - no messages just open line w/ kid screaming in background.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: The next morning, calls again - I finally answered & asked them not to call again, it continued thru the week & again on Sunday 2 men came. I consider this harassment.

Business Response: The appologies of Quality First to the customer. The individual invilved has been identified and summarily disciplined. The customer has been put on the Do Not Call list.

Business Response: The appologies of Quality First to the customer. The individual invilved has been identified and summarily disciplined. The customer has been put on the Do Not Call list.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The patio roof was very expensive - $9900.00. My question to the company has been very simple. Is it possible to have an additional downspout? I have called numerous times and had to leave messages. There is another phone # (209) 688-2713 **** ******* Nobody ever calls me back. The answer is yes or no and I can't see what the problem is. I would never recommend them to somebody else - this is soo very rude!! Absolutely not business sense!!

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) There is no money involved. Please answer my question.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response
Consumer called and stated that the company has completed the job and she is very satisfied. She stated that they did a nice job.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For the past 4 years persistent phone calls in spite of repeated requests not to call any more. Since last month EVERY single work day! About 4 years ago, my wife and I stopped by a Quality-First booth at the Santa Clara Home Improvement show, asking for a quote for window upgrades at our home. The quote came in quite high and we decided to go with another company (SKJ in San Jose). Since then we were receiving a phone call from Quality First at least once a month. We told the sales agent (a different person every time) that we had the job done already and asked to be removed from their call list. Every time the person said she or he would do it right away, but nothing happened. Since last month, however, we are getting calls EVER SINGLE DAY. So today I told the sales lady, who called herself a "manager" that I would file a complained with the California BBB, to which she responded: "Go right ahead!". That was the last straw. PLEASE, help us: our answering machine shows a different number every time, so we simply do not know who's calling, so we take the call. Tese people should be persecuted for abusing the First Amendment!

Desired Settlement: Just make them stop: Cease and Desist! I am sure we are not the only ones complaining.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
The customer has been put on the do not call list and the offender has been disciplined. There will be no more calls.

Final Consumer Response
Thank you very much for your help. Happy Thanksgiving!

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I got some new windows installed in my home. Was not happy with the poor work that was done. Calking coming off windows, getting mold. There's a hollow inch from the window to the frame, when pressed on edge of window it sinks in and calking comes apart. I've called numerous times. They came over once, took the window apart, left it like that and never came back to fix it. I've still been calling and only once spoke to me. Never have come then to fix the problem.

Desired Settlement: I would like my windows to be done the right way and get some kind of reimbursement and also fix any harm done to my home due to their poor workmanship.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Mr. ***** has had three service calls, with all problems being addressed. He continues to come up with new. We have an appointment to do another service call to address his trim on Wed. Nov. 13. We are also pulling a permit and will have an inspection.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Quality first did come to my house they took off the old sloopy trim and put a little more foam in the gal from the window to the frame. I asked if it was enough foam. They said it was i still felt like there should of been more foam but they said that was enough. The new trim looked way better, the kitchen window was not fully stripped from the old trim i was told it would be but it wasnt. The bathroom in my bedroom , after taking a better look i noticed that the top trip is not sticking all the way it looks loose but it took me two years to get them out here to fix the old problem so im guessing another two years to fix that one. Also in the kitchen window they riped off the silicone from the counter that was in between the window and the counter trim and didnt replace it even after asking them to do so. At this point im just tired of quality first, i signed the work order paper because some work was done not because i was satisfied.

Final Business Response
All work has been done for Mr. ***** and he has signed off on the service invoice as being satisfied with the work. The permit for the window installation has been pulled, but cannot be finaled until Mr. ***** completes the installation of his smoke dectectors and carbon monoxide alarm. As soon as he informs us that he has completed his installation, we will call for the final.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Have been following up since 04/12 to get them to put the dirt back and make the drains function as intended once cement finished drying from 01/12job If left as is, a permit would have been required since it changed the hillside water drainage. I've weeded dirt 11 times based on promises of hearing soon to schedule, including paying others since I'm disabled. Redirection of water as left has exposed tree roots risking it falling on my house. Only one of many, many phone calls did someone try to return and did not answer any questions I had asked.

Desired Settlement: work finished, debris taken away that was left and something new done to address tree problem. Also, without permission someone came and made one drain useless--fixing that problem also so intended draining can occur.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
All work has beren completed to the satisfactgion of Ms. ******.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Salesman using high pressure & bullying tactics to get a window replacement deal. Salesman called house 3 times & showed up twice. Two salesman from Quality First Home Improvement Inc. were walking through my neighborhood soliciting home improvement work. They contacted me to solicit home improvement window replacement. I told the salesman I was not interested. The salesman continued to ask me to let him do a demonstration the following day. I told this salesman "No". Several days later, on Monday, 07/29/13 I received a morning & an afternoon telephone call from the same aggressive salesman to come to my home to do a window demonstration. Each telephone call, I told the salesman "No" & I was not interested. I told him to stop bothering me. On Tuesday, 07/30/13 I received a telephone call from a female from Quality First Home Improvement Inc., who was trying to schedule a window replacement demonstration. I told the female that I was not interested & to remove my name from their solicitation list. I also told her I had told the salesman "No" multiple times & wanted this solicitation to stop. She apologized & said she would take care of it. The next day, on Wednesday, 07/31/13 at 6:15 pm, the same salesman showed up at my door unsolicited & explained he wanted to do an unsolicited window demonstration. I told this salesman that this had to stop & I had told him "No" multiple times. I asked the salesman why he refused to take "No" for an answer. He strongly told me he wanted do just do the demonstration as he pulled out his blue tooth device from his ear. The salesman was starting to get angry & frustrated, trying to intimidate me. I told him to leave my property & that I was calling the police. The salesman reluctantly left my property & drove off in a white van, clearly marked as belonging to Quality First Home Improvement Inc. I immediately called the Redding Police Department & filed a log report of harassment.

Desired Settlement: My family & I never want to be contacted by Quality First Home Improvement Inc. salesman or employees. The high pressure tactics are unprofessional & should not be part of an ethical business.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Both individuals involved have been disiplined and the customer has been put on our Do Not Call list and Do Not Knock list.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We are satisfied with the company's response to our BBB complaint by assuring we are not to be called or contacted at our home by company representatives in the future.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/9/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: TexCoat installed by Company has failed on my Patio Cover 3 yrs running and now they will not f/u for repairs promised by their representative Letter sent to: Mr. ***** ******** Quality First Home Improvement This letter will constitute my formal demand that Quality First Home Improvement(Company) honor its warranty for the TexCoat applied to my home & patio cover at **** ****** ****** *** ***** CA. Your CA Lic No is XXXXXX, and your registration no.XXXXXCA My home is located in the ****** ***** Country Club in *** ******** Therefore, the Architectural Committee is very strict in what product materials & colors can be used on our million dollar + homes. In this case, they required the Company to match the **** ******* on the walls and Soffits and to add a compatible color for the patio cover structures which had previously been a natural wood color. The project was completed in October 2009. Your contract numbers include XX-XXXXX and XX-XXXX. Since you and your staff are refusing to return a total of some 15 calls in the past 30 days,I am filing a formal complaint with the Better Business Bureau & the CA Contractor's License Board. It is unfortunate that you have forced me into this position. I had in in the past been very pleased with the overall job as far as the appearance and performance of the product, as well as the professionalism and courtesy of your staff. As you are aware, the problem has to do blistering and bubbling on the extensive patio cover structures that are attached to my home.You will note that the importance of sealing and protecting the wood patio cover from future maintenance was specifically called out in the contract under "Special Instructions" Your project on my home was completed in early October 2009.Within a few weeks, bubbles & blisters began to appear on multiple surfaces of the wood patio cover,including the main support beams, the double 2x8" rafters & the redwood lattice on the top. When I brought this to the attention of Quality First, by mutual agreement, we agreed that it would be wise to wait for dry weather to correct the problem. Therefore, in the summer of 2010, the ******* sent two members of the crew that did the original installation, ***, the supervisor and Gabe to scrape and repaint the patio cover. Unfortunately, the problem has re-occurred multiple times since. Both in the summer of 2011, and again in 2012, the Company sent *** & **** to correct the problem. The problem is again in evidence. When I reported that to the Company, they sent a rep to my home in May. Next, ***** came out to take photographs to document the problem. Then, ****** ***** met with me at the property on June 5 at which time he took additional photos and agreed that the problem must be corrected. He then sent ***** out to meet with me in the second week in June.Rather than just scraping & refinishing, ***** recommended that the main structural beams be faced with a ½" new wood overlay. While I was skeptical of this solution, I told both ****** & ***** that I would agree to the Company attempting that construction, so long as it did not affect my warranty. ***** stated to me that he would order both the wood & the coating materials immediately & the repairs would begin within two weeks. Since that time, I have left 12-15 VM's for ****** 3 messages for you. No one is returning my call. Hence, I have no choice but to file these formal complaints & if necessary proceed with having another contractor make the repairs and pursue your bond and/or reimbursement through litigation. You have absolutely no legal position to fail to honor the TexCoat warranty. Since the problem occurred within weeks after completion of the job and you have acknowledged that it is the Company's responsibility by having your crew attempt to correct the problem during three consecutive summers I will easily prevail.I have one additional problem that has appeared in the last few months. As ****** noted,it appears that rust is bleeding through the TexCoat on the stucco corners on at least three lower areas of my home

Desired Settlement: I want the company to honor their Lifetime Warranty and continue to repair the affected areas, both on the patio cover and the main structure of my home, that is now appearing to have rust problems leaking through the coating.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Company state the project was completed last week, and they have since received a complimentary letter from the consumer with gift cards for their staff.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: failed to complete installation of our solar panels and house fan in January 2012. Was done in June 2012. Remaining balance owed $2062.00 which is due Original contract signed in Dec 2011, install of solar panel and fan was supposed to be completed in January 2012. The company sent paperwork that we were supposed to fill out but we never received. A company rep, Deanna, had to come to our home to hand deliver paperwork which was signed and given back to her that same day. All work was not completed until June 2012 only after I called the City of Roseville to ask what was going on with my meter. I have no prior knowledge of how solar installs work or what it entails thus I chose Quality First because of their BBB and Diamond Certification status. At the original signing, they got me initial financing through ***** ***** ********* which was not cheap. I didn't know that I would be paying $477.00 a month for this card since I did not get a payment schedule when I signed the contract. A portion of the card was used for home improvement. The other remaining balance which was paid to Quality First. Quality First then offered to do in home financing for the remaining balance of $2062.00 SInce that initial offer wasn't returned they counter offered asking us to pay for the unpaid rebate .Company is asking us to pay for rebate money in the amount of $2691.00 they failed to secure from the City of Roseville for solar panel in this new offer. I have asked *** ***** to relay to ***** (President and COO) that any additional payments are a burden. I can not afford the new terms and asking me to pay for a non-paid rebate which they failed to get is not ok.

Desired Settlement: Quality First offered to do in house financing for the remaining balance of $ 2062. 00 mos.payments of $102.94. I Would like them to honor their first financing offer without including the rebate money they were supposed to get from the City of Roseville of $2691.00 . The City of Roseville has provided us with e-mails that they sent to the company requesting paperwork which was not provided to he City of Roseville to issue a rebate. Or Quality First can come and get the solar panels and issue a refund. Thank you.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The *****'s contracted with Quality First to install a solar system on Dec. 16, 2011. Upon receiving the permit for installation, the installation started on Feb,10 and completed on Feb. 13, 2012. The permit was finaled on Mar. 5, 2012. In that the City of Roseville requires an installation to be paid in full before the interconnection is made, the city did not interconnect. The *****'s had personally used $2,062.00 of their solar loan, and there was a partial payment made to Quality First. The *****'s then reversed the balance of the load with ***** ***** ***** June 11, 2012, Quality First supplied the City of Roseville with a new single-line drawing which the city requested. Somehow, the *****'s got the city to install their new meter and interconnect, without Quality First being paid. Quality First then gets the *****'s to authorize payment (partial due to previous use of account) with ***** ****** On Sept. 12, 2012, the city rebate of $2,691.00 expiresa as the contract is not paid in full. The rebate, at time of sale, was credited to the *****'s as part of their downpayment. In that the rebate no longer exists, they lost that part of their downpayment, now leaving a balance due to Quality First of $4,753.00. Quality First has offered to finance that balance in-house, but to date the *****'s have not responded. The next move by Quality First will have to be filing a lien to ensure payment of the debt.

Consumer's Final Response
The last e-mail that BBB sent was found in spam. I would like for BBB to re-open the case. I don not agree with Solar FIrst and would like the company to split the difference of the City of Roseville rebate. Due to Solar First: $2062.00

Business' Final Response
Unfortunately, the customer is misinformed on a couple issues; (1) down payment taken at time of sale cannot exceed 10% or $1,000, whichever is less, in this case, it was not taken at time of sale, rather, it was to be received as balance due at completion, and (2) the city of Roseville requires the customer to pay in full before they will issue the rebate, which the customer never did. The customer paid the balance they had left on their loan credit card, short $2,062.00 The unpaid rebate is $2,691.00. The customer is responsible to Quality First for the full amount of $4,753. If the customer believes the rebate is collectable, then he is more than welcome to collect from the city of Roseville. Somehow, the customer talked the city into installing the new meter, which the city does not do, unless the contract is paid in full. The city says it isn't, hence their refusal to issue the rebate to Quality First.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Quality First Home Improvement had installed wrong windows that failed city inspection. Failed to follow HOA guidelines. Quality First Home Improvement installed the windows on 12/28/12. The workers left behind unsealed windows which have to be covered by trims. The problem lies with the fact that they installed the wrong kind of windows without following the Homeowners Association's specific guidlines provided by us. The contractors left the job site unfinished and failed to communicate with us on the matter at hand. The company then proceeded to take the money from the bank without confirmation from us. The work failed to pass the city inspection as well as Home Owners Association inspection. We had attempted to contact the company many times but they would not respond. Purchase date: October 14, 2012 Sales Rep: Lee Mealer Payment Amount: $6,312.00 Payment Method: Bank Credit

Desired Settlement: We want the money ($6,311.00) returned to the Wells Fargo financial credit account that was used to pay the company. We would also like to have someone pick up their windows from the Home Owners Association's custody which is located in the complex (9005 Alcosta Blvd.; San Ramon, CA 94583). Contact Gerald Stated.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
CSLB, Mr. Khan and I resolved, to his satisfaction, his issues with Quality First. He paid us $2,700.00 out of his deposit and we refunded the balance.

Consumer's Final Response
In response to your mail, I would like to inform you that California Licensing Board Have negotiated the deal and I agreed for that, but still I have not received the amount they promise to return let them refund my money back then I will take back my complaint. I am paying interest of that amount and I wants to pay back as soon as possible. Thank you and I appreciate you to follow up my case. Faheem Khan

Business' Final Response
This situation has been addressed through the CSLB, and has been resolved to the satisfaction of Mr. Khan. A refund check in the amount of $2,700.00 was issued and mailed yesterday to Mr. Khan. Armida Cadena of the CSLB handled the case.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: False reference claim of major business backing. 6/1/2013 Afternoon. Solicitor (Quality First Home Improvement, Inc.) came to my door on foot claimed to be ****** ********* ****** ***** preferred contractor. My girlfriend gave them the information needed for someone to show up for an estimate. On 6/2/2013 after thinking through what had happened yesterday she called Costco to find out that they don't not advertize references through door to door solicitors. Please inform this company that their trickery is unacceptable business behavior.

Desired Settlement: Never will I use the company for any work. I will inform all I can about their unsavory business practices of using a major company as a reference.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Hopefully, this is a misunderstanding as the product, Tex-Cote, is a perferred product sold by ******* through designated contractors, of which Quality First is one of the few in CA and NV. The Quality First canvassers are being refreshed on proper terminology and proper referencing.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The sale person sold me gutter that were to have the same appearance of the existing gutter. When The gutters were installed the end cap have gaps. All effort to resolve the issue with Quality First have been unsuccessful. They say that is just the way alumium gutters are made. The fact that the quality looks bad and have gaps in the end is just the way it is. If the Sales person had told me that would be the case I would never have purchase aluminum gutters. The sales person also said they would do whatever necessary to make sure I was happy. They misrepresent the product, quality and the company.

Desired Settlement: I have spoken to one of the project managers and he said he would recommend installing the steel gutter to provide the quality I wanted and ensure I was happy. The customer service manager was not willing to authorize that. He is more interested in putting a lean on my home and taking me to small claims court. I only became aware of that decision after I followed up with them. He didn't have the professionalism to call me and let me know the status. That has been the experience I have had with this company the entire time. I need to call to have someone to the measure. I call to get the installation done, although I was told they would call. When the installation was done not one notified me the work was complete before they left or request payment. I notified them of the defect the same day and provide pictures as requested and didn't receive any response. I did receive any bill or correspondence until I received a Pre-Lien Notification.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The customer apparenatly misunderstood the sales rep as to style. The only gutter system that we sell is that which was installed. It is the one on her contract, and was installed and sealed on a manner that exceeds industry standards. She has refused to honor her contract, consequently she has received a pre-lien notice.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This statement is not accurate. I was told by the Program Manager sell steel gutters as well. I had steel gutters installed an was told it would look the same. The Program Manager sugguested to have the gutters changed to steel an would have the same look and feel. He was will to make this change but the Customer Service Manager is not willing to make the change. The contract states that workmanship is determine by a goverment agency but have done nothing to resolve this issue or to follow their own contract.

Business' Final Response
Quality First does not and has never installed a gutter system as the customer describes. The gutter installed is what was sold to the customer and at a minimum, meets all industry standards. Nevertheless, Quality First is willing to resolve the issue with the customer. Our Project Coordinator will again contact the customer.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Stamped Concrete patio done with no color in the mix On January 15,13 we contracted with *** *********** salesman from Quality First Home Improvement to do an aprox 307 sq ft stamped concrete patio with a color of quarry red to be added into the concrete mx and sealed for $5794.00. On February 21, 13 after pouring and stamping the concrete we came to find out that there was no color added to the mixed concrete as contracted to do so. We asked the worker why we didn't see the color after he finished pouring and stamping the concrete. He said his paper work didn't have anything about a color, so we showed him our contract paper work with the stated color that was suppose to have been added in the concrete mix. Somebody messed up!! He then called his boss and told him of this. His boss said well they would then half to stain it in 3 to 4 weeks. We then spoke to *** about this, who had no explanation of why or how this mistake had happened, but said they would stain it and that staining it would be better then if it had been done the correct way it was supposed to be done with the color mixed in the concrete. He assured is the stain would be strong, durable, and would penetrate through the concrete and not peel off, it was going to be the best stain, trust me he said better than anything else and guaranteed. On March 22, 13 a worker came to stain the concrete he put a thin one coat of stain and did not stain it right, not a good job at all, sloopy, there is mix matched coloring, its darker around the edges, lighter in other areas and inconsinties. We let *** know we were not pleased with how he had stained the concrete. Since then in addition to the lously stain job, the stain is chipping in some places, peeling up in some places and you see ugly grey concrete showing thru. This is totally unacceptable!! Today April 29, 13 someone from Quality First was suppose to come and restain the color again which didn't happen they never showed up. We are not satisified at all with this job. Staining is no remedy or substitute to cover for not adding the color in the concrete mix that was contracted to do so. What their trying to do to cover up for not adding the color in the concrete mix, staining the concrete is not working and we are not accepting it. This is no $5794.00 job. We have not got what we contracted for. We contracted for stamped concrete with color mixed in the concrete. We are not satisified at all. Again the stain fix their trying to substitute for does not work for us. The only to fix it is to do it right, to honor the contract.

Desired Settlement: Honor the contract with color mixed in the concrete or give me a balance of 2328.00 due.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
***** ******* talked to Mrs. ****** on Friday, May 3rd. Quality First will be back to the ******'s the end of the week of the 6th, follow the return of the ******'s. Their color situation will be taken care of at that time.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: No response after verbal and verbally left telephone messages. In Mid Feburary started having problems with solar system tripping it's own circuit breaker. Same month had noticed that the solar system monitoring system was not working properly. Contacted **** ********** and he verbally stated that he would have an electrician come out to repair a possible faulty circuit breaker, nobody ever showed up. Contacted **** again and he stated he would personally come out and take care of the problems, again nobody showed up.

Desired Settlement: The only settlement I am asking for is the solar system and all of it's components work as advertised, and if not be replaced.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Friday, May 3rd, **** ********** met with Mrs.*****. The service to replace the breaker + any other adjustments, is set for Wednesday, May 8th.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A sales person was rude, would not leave a card, and tried to get my social security number from my fiance to run my credit whith out my permission. On Saturday 01/19/13 at 10:00 a.m. a sales person came to my home to meet with my fiance while I was at work. The company had previously contacted us to talk about replacing out door and entryway. I had asked my fiance to get price ranges before meeting so that we knew if this would be a waste of time or not. They would not give prcing over the phone and insisted we meet. When the salesman meet with my wife they were pushy and rude. He wanted to make a sale right at that moment but my fiance told him she needed to wait for me. I continued to push her to make a commitment without me. He tried to get my social security number from her to run my credit for financing without my permission. When he realized a sale was not going to happen he became more rude as if we waited his time (when we tried to avoid this earlier by getting pricing over the phone). Turns out the pricing was way more than I intended to pay for this work anyway. She wanted his name again and asked for his card repeatedly and he would not give it to her. Had I been home I would have tossed him out in a heartbeat. I think this is rude and a pushy sales tactic to behave this way in someone's home and to go behind someone's back to run thier credit. My fiance and I are not even legally married and she would have no right to give him such information.

Desired Settlement: I want the company to know how their salesman acted. I hope this is not a reflection of the entire company culture but it probably is as sales is mostly comission based. I do not wish to be contacted by this comapny again. Don't call me or my fiance and stay away from my home.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Our appologies to Mr. ****** and his finance for any misunderstandings, for apparently there definitely was misunderstanding. Our rep did not ask for personal information, rather he did explain what would be required in the event of a purchase, which would involve personal information. The further misunderstanding was apparently about pricing, in that our rep would not give "ball park" estimates, rather, when we price a job, it is exact, and we rquire the proper information so that the pricing will be accurate. This was not made available to us, hence no pricing. Our rep has been counceled in proper presentation and explanation, and this situation will not occur agin.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/26/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: about the windows suspost to be at 150 to 155 and it is at 185. ok when **** ****** can out to my house the second time to make sure the job got done he said that the crage should get done also would only job the bill up like 20 to 30 dolers a month i was ok cool we can offerd that well it whent from a istmat of 150 to 185 dollers ok i can understand it was just a istmant but going up that much is not right at all then on top of that i been trying to call quality first more then one time to talk to them about it and no one welll cal me back i have tryed to call **** ****** back and i never get a retern phon calll from what i knoe so far i have been lied too and i dont like i i think i well never use quality first agin to me busnes should not be like that not off by 30 to 50 bucks when there geving a isteament thank have a nice day

Desired Settlement: i am seeking that my billl gos down to the 150 to 155 like i was told

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
For the past two weeks we have been attempting to contact Mr. ******. We have left many voice mails as well as Mr. ****** has personally been at the ****** residence. We have not received any return calls. It appears that Mr. ****** did tell Mr. ****** that his payments would go up approximately $20-30 (from $150) per month, so $185 is about right. We cannot help how a bank rates an individual's credit and the subsequent rate which is then charged.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) stop trying to say its my create its just fine ****** when my first set of windo was done the payment was about 135 he came out and said why dont we do the grage whendos also i ask him more then once how much it would go up he said only about 20 to 25 dollers a mouth i said ok be four i even agredd to do my grage i ask him agin how much would it go up he said 20 maybe 25 tops 135= 20=XXX XXX=25=160 not 180 i was lied to just for him to get the sell if the ppl that work for the windo copeny think it is ok to lie to the costermer i guess i welll start haveing to let every one o know about the compent i mite even go as far to post it on craglist to say what kinda frawed compeny it is i do not like be lied to the other day my coworker asked me where is a good place to get windos i coulded say this compeny cus of what they did then to say they came out to my house when the did not and called me when they did not grrr that relly makes me made i whant to talke to someone in person

Business' Final Response
We are sending our district manager out to work with Mr. ******. Again, we have no control over how a bank rates a customer, nor how the bank schedules a customer's payment plan. No where was there ever anything in writing from us promising a certain payment or interest rate. The reason for no payment is that the bank fully assumes that responsibility. Mr. ****** needs to work with the financing institution is he wishes to make different payment arrangements. No financial institution makes those arrangements with the merchant/contractor, only with the customer.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

9/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Quality first to reside and put new windows in our home I was called by Quality First and told they would start the remodel on June 14th 2012 they then did not show up until the following Monday the 18th. the crew of 2 men then tore the old siding off our house and threw it every where. The wind blew siding into a car parked in the street in front of the residence. Our new lawn was burned because they left siding lay on the lawn there clean up was non existent my husband and I did the clean up of our yard there was no reguard for existing plants they took every window out of my house when I was expecting one at a time we then had a wind storm in which my home was filled with dirt due to all the windows being taken out all at the same time they then put new ones in and put the siding up we have found poor workman ship thru out out entire home they were to come back on july 5th to finish but no one showed up and as of this date X-XX-XXXX and this time 9:45 a.m. no one has showed up to finish this job. We have exhausted phone calls and still no responce to our calls. We had french doors put in that will not stand open the put a hole in the top weather stripping the cracked my wall putting in a door that just truly did not fit correctly it was jammed in and the wall cracked during installation

Desired Settlement: We would like the job finished and the french doors replaced and the siding fixed where bad cuts were made

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
All corrections have been made except on the french doors. Parts have been ordered and are to be in by 7/25, after which the door coorections will be scheduled.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) we spent twenty one thousand dollars on windows and siding for our home, The french doors will not stay open when they tried to adjust the doors they punched holes in the top of the stripping we are still waiting for supplies, this is what we keep hearing the same man and another man came back filled in the windows and repaired some cuts the over all job is still shoddy as one of there own employees put it. Sixteen hundred dollars worth of french doors that have to be propped open just to use them I feel the engeneer on this project would have considered all the measurements of the space not just length and width as they now say the whole wall is tilted so the doors will never work unless we replace the whole outside wall. The issue still stands that they cracked my wall putting these french doors in why did that happen was it because the measurements were off to begin with? engineering problem? also I have outlets that just stick out of the outside wall I was told these were manufacturing problems???????? I would still like to have a walk through done by someone who can really make a decision and make it happen.

Business' Final Response
All necessary services have been completed, including completionof the cleanup. Quality First is supplying the Moores with siiding for their garage to compensate for their inconvenience.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were promised an approximate completion date of May 30, 2012 and the project was completed June 21. Also We were mislead about billing. They began work on my patio on May 23, 2012. They broke our pool tile and did not call to tell us, they just left and did not return. We called to see what the plan was, and it took them until June 3 to get someone here to look at the tile. We told them the project had to be done by June 8 and on 2 different occasions they promised it would be. (I was told this by Rick ****** on June 1, by ***** the salesman prior to signing the contract). On June 8 the project was at a standstill, and Angelina (unk last name, an assistant of Rick ******) promised it would be completed by June 15. No one came back to our house until June 11, and they did not begin working again until June 18. We had to call almost every day for updates on our project and our project coordinator, Rick ****** refused to return any of our calls. Upon completion of the project, June 21, 2012, they left piles of concrete in our yard which we had to break and remove (concrete removal was included in the contract). They left an open can of acetone in our yard where my kids and dogs play. They left garbage in and around our pool. They droped my watering can in the concrete, and instead of cleaning it they put it on my window shelf. Because they did not get the project done when it was supposed to finish, I had to move a party that was planned at our house and change plans at the last minute. It cost me extra because of the short notice which was a result of the June 1 conversation with Rick when he again promised it would be done in time. In addition to the problems above, when ***** (the salesman) presented the contract, he said Quality First would finance the project and we would pay $185/month for 10 years. When the first bill came, it is through Wells Fargo, and I am being charged $296 minimum payment. I have made numerous attempts to speak with the company about my problems but no one will speak with me. I talked with Mark in customer service and he promised to call me back 2 weeks ago, but that hasn't happened.

Desired Settlement: The lack of follow through that lead to my project being completed 21 days late cost me $2000.00 due to moving the party, replacing items they ruined, and having to re-fill my pool due to them breaking the tile. I would like my bill adjusted which **** (the customer service agent) said was reasonable given the poor service we received. The total of my contract for this project is $9694.00, I would like it adjusted to $8000.00.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The concern of the customer has been addressed and a refund issued to meet her satisfaction.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Patio done in the wrong color and water staining due to lack of drain under run off pipe when first laid in Jan '12. Asking to be fixed since Feb '12. Paid to have concrete patio and side walkway in Jan '12. Met with sales rep Dan in Dec '11 and came up with a rough sketch for what we wanted which was about $3000. The end of Dec, 1st week of Jan, **** came out to do measurements. After debating whether or not the initial patio sketch would fit our needs after getting a dog for the holidays, we decided to meet with Dan again to change the plan to make a larger patio. We called to set up an appointment one night the beginning of Jan. It was a now show and no call. A few days later he called, and set up another meeting the second week of Jan. We came up with a new sketch, got the measurements and the new total was $5000 and said they could start work in a few days. Workers came out to begin work the 19th to dig out where the concrete would be laid. They had the first plan we told them that was the old sketch and had a new one. They did not have a copy so we had to walk them through and explain what the plan was. Before laying the concrete, a worker said that we needed to pick a color for the border and would set up an appointment with their boss to come and select it with us on the 23rd. Told ***** the color we wanted for the border and said multiple times that we wanted everything to look like the driveway (color and finish) so it would match and only the patio border would be colored and have a salt finish. Workers laid the 24th and asked for payment. Explained that we have a card on file which we applied for with Dan and if their are payment issues they need to bring it up with him. 2 weeks later received a call about how we liked it, told them them they colored the whole thing and not just the border. Contacted **** the end of Feb about the workers coloring the whole patio instead of just the border and hard water stains started to appear because they did not install a drain under the house ac run off pipe. Replied back saying that someone would come out. We never heard back so we contacted him again multiple times by email and phone. ***** finally came out around March 20th to look at the problem. Said would be fixed in the next few days and to leave the gate unlocked. No one showed up or contacted us. Once again contacted **** by email and phone multiple times in April and May about the problem. Finally got a drain installed early May after sending a complaint letter with pictures of the problem. Contacted both **** about fixing the color. ***** came out again and said they would stain it. Said we would think about it. Contacted him a week later (may 24th) and but we said no because that is not what we originally wanted and would not work for us. He got upset and defensive stating that's what we wanted, yet went I tried explaining to him the paperwork says only border he kept acting like I was wrong. Said I no longer wish to speak to him and will talk to someone who would listen to me, it not we may end up in court. Feeling frustrated over how unprofessionally he talked to me treated me like I was a liar, I called **** right after explained what just happened over the phone with *****. Said that we just want torn out and redone the way we wanted it. Informed us of the possible future problems we could have if they tore it up. Said that it was fine, we just want it redone. Said he would contact the owners and get back to us. It's been a week and we have not heard anything from anyone once again. We are annoyed and fed up with contacting them and nothing is getting resolved and find it highly unprofessional to treat clients in this manner.

Desired Settlement: We honestly just want a refund to go to another contractor and have the patio re-done. We are tired of dealing with the staff here. We have been asking for months to have this resolved and they keep giving us the run-around and excuses about no shows and why we aren't being contacted in a timely manner. We want to move on and do not want to do anymore business with or have them to do any further work because we do not want them to retaliate in damaging my property or do a poor job correcting their mistake.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response The complete project was torn out and replaced, to her satisfaction. All corrections were accomplished. We continue to monitor the AC drain to make sure it is working properly.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/14/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/5/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/28/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1