Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Northwest Exteriors, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Northwest Exteriors, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Northwest Exteriors, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 21, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1986 Business started locally: 01/01/1986 Business incorporated 09/29/1999 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 710798.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tom Orr, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Orr, Owner
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/29/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kept putting me off & said would have (doors). Still no doors so I don't want them.

Desired Settlement: Cancel contract & stop billing.

Business Response: Mrs. ********** ordered double entry doors from us on 9/23/13(see attached contract). Upon receiving the doors from the manufacturer we set an install date of 1/8/14. When our install crew arrived she refused the doors stating that it should be a single door with 2 sidelights, clearly a mistake on her part according to the contract. She eventually conceded and agreed for another installation date a couple of weeks later.....same thing happened, she refused installation. We have made several attempts to install the doors she ordered, but she refuses. We have since given this matter to our attorney for collection.
?

Consumer Response: On 11/25/13 I told ***** if I didn't have the doors by Christmas I didn't want them. He told me there was no problem because completion was 12/2/13. I had not heard from them after they measured the doors and I was told I had to get 2 doors. 1 to cut in half for the lights but what do I know about the doors. It didn't sound right to me. They tried to get me after 12/18/13. I called and was told they were not started. That is all I know.

Business Response: This is the first time I've heard anything about wanting the door by X-mas, she denied the door on 12/18/2013 even though it was EXACTLY what she ordered so had she allowed us it would have been done by X-Mas. All you have to do is read the contract.

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

 

I told ***** befor I ordered them. I wanted them befo Christmas or not at all. No problem the completion date is 12-2-13, well none of these dates were met and I did not hear from any one. So I call to see what was going. I was told they had not started them so don’t start them. I don’t want them, even my son called and no satisfaction and told them not to do them. He also told them they could keep the $388.00 and forget. So after we know how many calls I have had 3 or four.
Sincerely,
***** ***********

 

Business Response: Business states that they did their best in trying to accommodate the customer. Unfortunately, the contract is binding, the door was custom made to consumer specifications, and the installation was denied twice by the consumer. At this point the business has exhausted all their alternatives in resolving the matter and must let the the court process handle the situation.

Consumer Response:

THE BUSINESS IS CORRECT, THE CONTRACT IS BINDING, (IN THEIR OWN WORDS) AND THEY DID NOT INSTALL THE DOORS BY THE DUE DATE DECEMBER 2.2013. THERE IS NOTHING ON THE CONTRACT THAT INDICATES THAT THE DOORS IN QUESTION WERE CUSTOM DOORS. IT SAYS DOUBLE DOORS, AND THEY WERE TO BE INSTALLED BY DECEMBER 2, 2013, WHICH THEY WERE NOT. THERE WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN A PROBLEM, IF THEY HAD INSTALLED THE DOORS AS STATED ON THE CONTRACT.

11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/14/2014, I was given a agreement to sign to install a retractable awning, with a total balance of $5360.00. I agreed and signed the agreement.I also have a sales slip that shows the total balance is $5360.00. It had an estimated start date of 7/20/2014, with a estimated completion date of 7/25/2014. On 7/15/2014 they showed up to take measurements and drilled holes for the installment of the awning. They presented me with another agreement with a total of $6650.00 so I gave them a check for $3000.00. (Ck #4436), which left a balance of $3650.00. I didn't have the first agreement handy so I just took it for granted that it was a copy of the first agreement. On 8/29/14, they showed up to install my awning just to find out that it was broken. They said they had to take it back and fix it. I told them I wanted a new awning, not a fixed one. At that time, I gave them a check for $3650.00 which was the balance due. I haven't heard from them since.Now I have exposed wood from them drilling the holes and it's almost rainy season. When I call, I get put on hold and no one ever comes back on.(Fresno office) One of my attorneys called *** ****** (Branch Manager)to inquire about all this and Mr. ****** was very rude to him.We got nowhere. I would like something ***e now. This company put my windows in and I've been very happy with them, but this is unacceptable. My daughter helped me with this complaint and I would like them to deal with her. I'm 79 years old and this is too confusing for me. She will decide after talking to someone weather I have them continue or get my money back. I'd appreciate an answer to this matter as soon as possible.

Desired Settlement: I would like this company to deal with my daughter, ****** *** ****. She is taking care of this matter for me. Her phone number and email address are listed above. I feel due to my age, I have been discriminated against and used. Please contact her instead of me. Thank you

Business Response: So far Mrs. ***** has only paid us $3,000, she did not pay her balance yet of $3,650. The awning we brought out was not broken, but was damaged during install due to a gust of wind at a point where the awning was fully extended for adjustments. We removed the awning and brought it back to our shop and are trying to work with the manufacturer to repair, under warranty, this awning back to new factory specifications. These awnings are custom built in Texas with the parent company being in Italy where some of their parts come from. Unfortunately it takes time for this process to happen, but we are working on it and hope to have it resolved soon.

Business Response: It will go out tomorrow.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

6/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The siding on our home was incorrectly installed 7 yrs ago. We'e trying to replace our windows and they can't be replaced due to the siding installati We are trying to replace our windows and they cannot be replaced due to the way the siding is installed. Northwest Exteriors (the siding installation company) is not able to provide a quote for the window replacement because of the incorrect siding installation. They have been unwilling to correct their error. We purchased our home in late July 2012 from the owners who originally paid $30,000 to have the siding replaced. After we moved in, we initiated window replacement work, and our window contact advised us to contact Northwest Exteriors to discuss the problems with the siding installation. In October 2012, a Northwest Exteriors employee visited our home and stated that the siding was incorrectly installed. After several attempts to contact the individual, he eventually instructed us to transfer the Northwest Exteriors warranty. In December 2012, we wrote a warranty transfer letter to Northwest Exteriors as instructed by the company employee. We received a confirmation of letter receipt by Northwest Exteriors. We were provided **** ******** name as our contact. From Jan - Feb 2013, we were in contact with **** ****** and we attempted to schedule an on-site visit with **** to inspect the work. **** ultimately informed us that, from photographs (no home visit), he thinks this is a "caulking and paint issue." We are not siding experts, so we trusted in his feedback at that time. In April 2013, we again initiated steps to replace our windows. We contacted Northwest Exteriors to request a quote to replace the windows. The Northwest Exteriors employee that assessed the windows remarked that there is a siding installation issue and the windows cannot be replaced until the siding installation is corrected. Northwest Exteriors has not been able to produce a bid to replace the windows to date because they know it cannot be done properly without fixing the incorrect siding installation. Three (3) licensed contractors evaluating our home for various work over the past several months have made unsolicited statements that the siding has been incorrectly installed. This totals 5 professional opinions - 2 from Northwest Exteriors - noting that the siding has been incorrectly installed, but Northwest Exteriors is not willing to fix their error. We cannot replace our windows unless the siding installed by Northwest Exteriors is completely re-done. We do not believe that we should have to pay to fix their error in home siding installation, and they should stand by their work and fix the home siding installation at no additional expense to us. Home siding installation should, if installed properly, endure several decades on a home. We started realizing problems with the installation after only 6 years. We have already witnessed water intrusion in some of the interior parts of the home, and we are concerned that the longer this issue continues, we will have more problems, costing more money and time to remedy. We also did a search on the individual that signed the paperwork for our home: Peter ********* We located that a Peter ******** was charged with solar installation scam in Sonoma County in 2011. ********************************************************* We are not certain that it is the same individual but it is very coincidental that they are in the same industry.

Desired Settlement: The siding installed by Northwest Exteriors was placed on top of the original siding, and this is potentially part of the problem. At no additional expense to us, Northwest Exteriors should remove the installed siding plus the original siding, repair any water intrusion or other damage that may exist from the incorrectly installed siding, re-install a moisture barrier, and properly install new siding. A new, revised warranty for the installation and materials should be issued to us.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
*** **** purchased her home in August of 2012 from ***** ******** Mr. ******* purchased siding for his house from us in 2006. We installed the siding per the manufacturers recommendations at that time. It was a primed siding that got painted. Now the house needs to be repainted due to normal weathering. *** thinks that this is somehow our responsibility and is now trying to claim that the siding was installed incorrectly. There is nothing wrong with the installation and it does not inhibit in any way the window replacement. We warranty our work for life to the original purchaser not any subsequent buyers. The siding is installed correctly and there is nothing we can do for her. As far as her getting her windows replaced, I'm sure there are plenty of window companies that will replace them for her, we do not want her business.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We have a meeting scheduled with the siding manufacturer (it has not occurred as of today) as well as an additional window installation company. The problems with the siding continue to remain unaddressed at this time.

6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sliding glass door that is worped changes shape with temperature. Several times I have contacted Northwest Exteriors XXXXX Trade Center Dr., Suite C Rancho Cordova, Ca. The contract states guaranteed for life. I have contacted them SEVERAL times about the caulking that kepts breaking when the weather changes the window moves back and forth depending on the temperature. Every time I contact them they send a guy to caulk it again they say just keep calling. I am SICK of calling these people I want a peramnent fix life time gaurantee but they wil not honor the agreement. Ask them how many times they have come back here to caulk this window. There definately is a defect in this window and needs replacing but they just keep caulking it up again and again they will not honor the agreement!

Desired Settlement: Replacement please as per contract and ****** ***** the sales person guaranteed over and over lifetime! I called ****** XXX-XXX-XXXX SEVERAL times abut this issue and it continues on and on I have had enough of this company it's time they do something so now I have been patient and given them SEVERAL attempts to make good of the guarantee but they refuse!

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@northwestexriors.com Mr. ****** purchased windows and a door and had them installed in 2003. In 2007 he called with a service and we came out and fixed it. In 2009 he called again and we came out and fixed it. We have not heard from him since. If there is a defective door it will be covered under the manufactureres lifetime warranty, but we must inspect it first. We will have someone contact him for inspection.

Consumer's Final Response
Look up ****** ****** on yelp.com you will see what the guy was like who worked for Northwest Exteriors maybe their x-employee can give you better picture of the kind of business they are running because I believe the same installers are working for ****** now because Northwest probably had to fire them because of poor workmanship! I've wasted enough time to get through to the BBB to help others I will pay for own new window this company has a bad track record check it out for yourself. I'm done and finished and I will use yelp.com for any reviews of companies because the BBB must be paid by thier companies to make them look good I know better now. THIS IS THE LAST AND FINAL TIME YOU WILL EVER HEAR FROM ME AGAIN! The BBB and Northwest will never see a complaint from me any where on the web don't worry enough others have taken care of that for me thanks but NO THANKS!

Business' Final Response
I'm not sure why Mr. ****** is calling us liars or saying we have done nothing. On 12/20/12 our serviceman *** ***** went to see Mr. ******. *** determined that the door was working fine with no signs of leaking. Mr. ****** then stated that in the summer time is when it doesn't work properly. *** said he would come back in the summer and see if there is in fact a problem. We don't replace doors unless we can find a problem. We will return in the summer to verify any problems. If there is a warranty issue we will replace or repair the door at no charge.