BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Northwest Exteriors, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Northwest Exteriors, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Northwest Exteriors, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 21, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1986 Business started locally: 01/01/1986 Business incorporated: 09/29/1999 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tom Orr, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Orr, Owner
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services


Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (559) 456-1632(Phone)
  • (800) 510-0007(Phone)
  • (800) 771-1630(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The siding on our home was incorrectly installed 7 yrs ago. We'e trying to replace our windows and they can't be replaced due to the siding installati We are trying to replace our windows and they cannot be replaced due to the way the siding is installed. Northwest Exteriors (the siding installation company) is not able to provide a quote for the window replacement because of the incorrect siding installation. They have been unwilling to correct their error. We purchased our home in late July 2012 from the owners who originally paid $30,000 to have the siding replaced. After we moved in, we initiated window replacement work, and our window contact advised us to contact Northwest Exteriors to discuss the problems with the siding installation. In October 2012, a Northwest Exteriors employee visited our home and stated that the siding was incorrectly installed. After several attempts to contact the individual, he eventually instructed us to transfer the Northwest Exteriors warranty. In December 2012, we wrote a warranty transfer letter to Northwest Exteriors as instructed by the company employee. We received a confirmation of letter receipt by Northwest Exteriors. We were provided **** ******** name as our contact. From Jan - Feb 2013, we were in contact with **** ****** and we attempted to schedule an on-site visit with **** to inspect the work. **** ultimately informed us that, from photographs (no home visit), he thinks this is a "caulking and paint issue." We are not siding experts, so we trusted in his feedback at that time. In April 2013, we again initiated steps to replace our windows. We contacted Northwest Exteriors to request a quote to replace the windows. The Northwest Exteriors employee that assessed the windows remarked that there is a siding installation issue and the windows cannot be replaced until the siding installation is corrected. Northwest Exteriors has not been able to produce a bid to replace the windows to date because they know it cannot be done properly without fixing the incorrect siding installation. Three (3) licensed contractors evaluating our home for various work over the past several months have made unsolicited statements that the siding has been incorrectly installed. This totals 5 professional opinions - 2 from Northwest Exteriors - noting that the siding has been incorrectly installed, but Northwest Exteriors is not willing to fix their error. We cannot replace our windows unless the siding installed by Northwest Exteriors is completely re-done. We do not believe that we should have to pay to fix their error in home siding installation, and they should stand by their work and fix the home siding installation at no additional expense to us. Home siding installation should, if installed properly, endure several decades on a home. We started realizing problems with the installation after only 6 years. We have already witnessed water intrusion in some of the interior parts of the home, and we are concerned that the longer this issue continues, we will have more problems, costing more money and time to remedy. We also did a search on the individual that signed the paperwork for our home: Peter ********* We located that a Peter ******** was charged with solar installation scam in Sonoma County in 2011. ********************************************************* We are not certain that it is the same individual but it is very coincidental that they are in the same industry.

Desired Settlement: The siding installed by Northwest Exteriors was placed on top of the original siding, and this is potentially part of the problem. At no additional expense to us, Northwest Exteriors should remove the installed siding plus the original siding, repair any water intrusion or other damage that may exist from the incorrectly installed siding, re-install a moisture barrier, and properly install new siding. A new, revised warranty for the installation and materials should be issued to us.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
*** **** purchased her home in August of 2012 from ***** ******** Mr. ******* purchased siding for his house from us in 2006. We installed the siding per the manufacturers recommendations at that time. It was a primed siding that got painted. Now the house needs to be repainted due to normal weathering. *** thinks that this is somehow our responsibility and is now trying to claim that the siding was installed incorrectly. There is nothing wrong with the installation and it does not inhibit in any way the window replacement. We warranty our work for life to the original purchaser not any subsequent buyers. The siding is installed correctly and there is nothing we can do for her. As far as her getting her windows replaced, I'm sure there are plenty of window companies that will replace them for her, we do not want her business.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We have a meeting scheduled with the siding manufacturer (it has not occurred as of today) as well as an additional window installation company. The problems with the siding continue to remain unaddressed at this time.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sliding glass door that is worped changes shape with temperature. Several times I have contacted Northwest Exteriors XXXXX Trade Center Dr., Suite C Rancho Cordova, Ca. The contract states guaranteed for life. I have contacted them SEVERAL times about the caulking that kepts breaking when the weather changes the window moves back and forth depending on the temperature. Every time I contact them they send a guy to caulk it again they say just keep calling. I am SICK of calling these people I want a peramnent fix life time gaurantee but they wil not honor the agreement. Ask them how many times they have come back here to caulk this window. There definately is a defect in this window and needs replacing but they just keep caulking it up again and again they will not honor the agreement!

Desired Settlement: Replacement please as per contract and ****** ***** the sales person guaranteed over and over lifetime! I called ****** XXX-XXX-XXXX SEVERAL times abut this issue and it continues on and on I have had enough of this company it's time they do something so now I have been patient and given them SEVERAL attempts to make good of the guarantee but they refuse!

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@northwestexriors.com Mr. ****** purchased windows and a door and had them installed in 2003. In 2007 he called with a service and we came out and fixed it. In 2009 he called again and we came out and fixed it. We have not heard from him since. If there is a defective door it will be covered under the manufactureres lifetime warranty, but we must inspect it first. We will have someone contact him for inspection.

Consumer's Final Response
Look up ****** ****** on yelp.com you will see what the guy was like who worked for Northwest Exteriors maybe their x-employee can give you better picture of the kind of business they are running because I believe the same installers are working for ****** now because Northwest probably had to fire them because of poor workmanship! I've wasted enough time to get through to the BBB to help others I will pay for own new window this company has a bad track record check it out for yourself. I'm done and finished and I will use yelp.com for any reviews of companies because the BBB must be paid by thier companies to make them look good I know better now. THIS IS THE LAST AND FINAL TIME YOU WILL EVER HEAR FROM ME AGAIN! The BBB and Northwest will never see a complaint from me any where on the web don't worry enough others have taken care of that for me thanks but NO THANKS!

Business' Final Response
I'm not sure why Mr. ****** is calling us liars or saying we have done nothing. On 12/20/12 our serviceman *** ***** went to see Mr. ******. *** determined that the door was working fine with no signs of leaking. Mr. ****** then stated that in the summer time is when it doesn't work properly. *** said he would come back in the summer and see if there is in fact a problem. We don't replace doors unless we can find a problem. We will return in the summer to verify any problems. If there is a warranty issue we will replace or repair the door at no charge.

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

10/11/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1