BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Custom Development Of California meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Custom Development Of California include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Custom Development Of California
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 16, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1987 Business started locally: 01/01/1987 Business incorporated: 11/17/1999 in NV
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dino Gilli, Chief Executive Officer Mr. Roberto D. Gilli, Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dino Gilli, Chief Executive Officer
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Windows

Products & Services

Custom Development of California/Procraft specializes in custom replacement windows, retrofit windows, vinyl siding, composite siding, fiber cement siding, woodsiding, and all other siding projects, including LIQUID SIDING.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 11230 Gold Express Dr # 332

    Gold River, CA 95670

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 233-1154(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Initial request 4/1/13 for replacement of French Sliding Glass Door in Master Bedroom due to defective quality within double glass pane. Problem Date: 4/01/2013 Company: Custom Development of California Sales Representative: *** ****** Purchased: Amerimax Windows w/ Ameriglass System - total of 10 windows Purchased Date: 7/06/2001 Warranty Certificate No: XXXXX Payment $13,700 for 10 windows Current Representative - **** ***** On 4/1/13 - Initial request for replacement of a French Slider glass door in master bedroom due to marks within the interior of the double pane glass. Replacement is covered under a Life Time Warranty and a Life Time Glass Breakage Warranty, per our initial purchase/contract with Custom Development of California, July, 2001. We been told verbally that there's been a change of window manufacturers, and this is causing the delay. On 6/25/13, I mailed a letter to **** ***** of Custom Development of CA requesting that he submit in writing the reason for such delay, as well as to the steps that are being taken in regards to replacement of our glass door. On 8/17/13, a service contractor, *** ****** came to replace the glass, however he was unable to replace as the glass did not fit the existing door frame. He left the glass panel in our garage. 8/22/13 - **** ***** left voice msg, checking to see if anyone has called us about the glass replacement. As I was out of town for a few days, I replied to **** ***** via text msg that "we have not heard from anyone". On 9/3/13, I emailed **** ***** (*********@aol.com), as well as two others from the company (*****@cdofcal.com; ***@cdofcal.com) the following msg: "We are now in our fifth month (April-Sept) with no resolution to the replacement of our glass sliding door. As of 8/17/13, we've been storing the glass in our garage. We are no longer comfortable with this arrangement. We agreed to storing the glass, thinking that it would only be a couple weeks at the most. This is to advise you that we will not be held liable should there be any damage. If no commitment received IN WRITING to resolve this problem by end this week, we then have no other choice than to take this issue to the Better Business Bureau." **** Gillo 9/3/13 to an email he sent to *** ****** at *** *** Windows (*******@plygemwindows.com) and cc'd me (**********@gmail.com) same day, "*** Please Please Please call Mrs ***** and resolve her door issue. the Glass was the wrong size and you told our service man *** that the factory would take care of the problem, and Mrs ***** has not heard from you. I am sending you a copy of her last email. Please handle this!!!!!!!!! **** ***** CDC" As of today, 9/12/13, we still have not received any response or resolution to the replacement of our sliding glass door; and the marks within the double pane glass continues to get worse.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of the glass sliding door (which is under Warranty per our original Contract with Custom Development of California) within the next 2 weeks.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
e-mail sent to *** *** *** Windows ***!!! I sent you this e-mail on 9-3-13 I nor Mrs ***** has had a replay. I am attaching a letter and a complaint she has sent to the BBB please respond to this problem???? Or ref it to the General Manager or the factory Manager or some one that will get this problem resolved for Mrs *****. Her phone # is XXX-XXX-XXXX address is **** ***** *************** CA. XXXXX and her e-mail is above as I have sent her a copy of this e-mail to mfg *** *** ******* Sent 9-3-2013 *** Please Please Please call Mrs ***** and resolve her door issue. the Glass was the wrong size and you told our service man *** that the factory would take care of the problem, and Mrs. ***** has not heard from you. I an sending you a copy of her last e-mail. Please handle this!!!!!!!!!! **** ***** CDC

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1