BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Aztec Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Aztec Construction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Aztec Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 19, 2011 Business started: 11/27/2006 Business started locally: 11/27/2006 Business incorporated: 12/18/2006 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Birondo, Owner Mr. Kelly Ashe, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Birondo, Owner
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Air Duct Cleaning Fire & Water Damage Restoration Fire & Smoke & Water Clean Up Upholstery & Carpet Cleaning Contractors - General Floor Removal, Resurfacing and Refinishing

Products & Services

Aztec Construction offers services for any type of restoration, mitigation, rebuild or remodel after a fire, water damage/flood, storm or other types of natural disaster.

Industry Tips
BBB Tips for Hiring a Contractor in California

Additional Locations

  • 1681 Zachi Way

    Redding, CA 96003 (530) 275-3327 (877) 529-8320

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (530) 275-3327(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had two contracts and Aztec was paid for both contracts! After the house was done he put a lean on the house and said I owed more! Tons of problems Unfortunately my house burnt down and I sign two contracts with Aztec. Both contracts had vaulted ceilings on them so charged me double! Then didn't add up all my credits right. I OVER paid him and paid the two contracts and Aztec put a lean on my house. The house has TONS of problems that is going to coast a lot of money to fix. Like warped floor, cheap carpet padding, didn't instal the fireplace mantle, Vaulted ceiling crease is not the even every 7 inch, both toilets were installed wrong And ALL the electrical was WRONG! Every time I would even turn on a blinder the breaker would trip. I OVER payed Aztec because I had to pay the two contracts that I signed and then Aztec puts a lean on my house.

Desired Settlement: The lean on my house needs to be takin off.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Response to: ***** ***** BBB - Case: # XXXXXXXX Nov 28,2012 a Work Authorization was signed by Ms. ***** to begin Emergency Mitigation for the fire damage. This work was completed to the satisfaction of Ms. *****, at which time it was Invoiced and Paid in Full on 1/3/2013. Dec 20, 2012- Ms. ***** signed our Home Improvement Contract to proceed with the repairs to Pre-Loss Condition of her house, per the Estimate which was provided by her insurance company that we agreed to work off. There were 2 Additional Supplemental Changes (which were due to open items in the Original contract, ie..exact cost of items unknown until it occurs, items needing repair not apparent until discovered after work is in progress, original estimate from Insurance Company error in cost entered for items, code upgrades not know until inspection) and 1 Change Order which was Requested and/or Authorized by Ms. ***** as follows: #1 11/29/12 Supplemental-1 (approved and paid in full by insurance company) #2 11/29/12 Supplemental-2 (approved and paid in full by insurance company) #3 7/8/2013 Change Order (Customer paid for these changes) Additional Upgrades were made to Ms. *****'s Master bathroom, per her request, at no additional expense to her. Progress payments were received from City Bank, Ms. ****** Mortgage Company, who sent us periodic payments as work was completed. Ms. ***** sent a personal check for the Change Order. Once all work was completed, we processed our final billing, on July 22, 2013, for the balance owed (which was due to the 2 Supplemental's of unknown costs, repairs, etc. as stated above) and was disclosed to Ms. *****. After the completion of the work, Ms ***** contacted her insurance adjuster and advised her they were not to release any further information to Aztec. While Aztec was doing the work , we communicated with Ms. ***** on a regular basis, during this period no issues were brought up as to her being unhappy with the repairs done on her home. After the completion of this job, Ms. ***** did not mention that she had any issues with our work, and items on the punch list that she provided to us were completed, we believed to be to her Satisfaction, as she did not say otherwise. When we went back to take photos and have her sign the Completion form she would not allow in her home. She refused to communicate with us after that point. After repeated attempts to Collect the Balance Due, via phone and email that went unanswered, we sent a 10 day demand letter on September 5, 2013 for payment to Ms. *****, via registered mail, which she declined to accept. Therefore, upon the Advice of our Attorney, on September 18, 2013 we place lien on the property in order to begin the legal proceedings to collect the unpaid balance due to Aztec.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When Aztec wanted me to sign the second contract (change order) I told him that this didn't seem right and it felt like it was a scam. All the numbers didn't add up right. I had to deal with days and days of no work being done one the house through out the time of the project. Aztec didn't even have the house done within the contracted time. Aztec put Vaulted ceilings $2000 on both contracts that I paid! Didn't add right on the change order. The house needs AT LEAST $35,000 of work to fix ALL of Aztec's poor work. (warped floor, vaulted ceiling crease needs to be re-done, toilets installed wrong, cheap carpet padding, Did not instal the fireplace mantle. I signed two contracts with Aztec and they were overpaid for both of them. I have NO IDEA what would be in this so called supplemental 1 and 2! I never once got a break down of this huge extra coast or signed it. Not only did I over pay Aztec but now I am paying to fix ALL of the problems with the house.

Final Business Response
December 3, 2013 2nd Response to: ***** ***** - BBB Complaint BBB - Case #XXXXXXXX As we stated previously: All work was Approved and Authorized by Ms. ***** and her Insurance Company, which we will gladly provide the documents to support this fact. We received progress payments directly from Ms. *****'s Insurance Company (which were approved by Ms. *****) as each phase of the work was completed. We never received any complaints from Ms. ***** regarding any of the work we did. It wasn't until after the work was completed, including the punch list Ms. ***** provided us, at which time we believe Ms. ***** received the final payment from her insurance company paid solely to her and therefore instructed her insurance company to no longer communicate with us and that is when she stopped communicating with us also.

Business Response: Response to: ***** *****
BBB - Case: # ********

Nov 28,2012 a Work Authorization was signed by Ms. ***** to begin Emergency Mitigation for the fire damage. This work was completed to the satisfaction of Ms. *****, at which time it was Invoiced and Paid in Full on 1/3/2013.

Dec 20, 2012- Ms. ***** signed our Home Improvement Contract to proceed with the repairs to Pre-Loss Condition of her house, per the Estimate which was provided by her insurance company that we agreed to work off.

There were 2 Additional Supplemental Changes (which were due to open items in the Original contract, ie..exact cost of items unknown until it occurs, items needing repair not apparent until discovered after work is in progress, original estimate from Insurance Company error in cost entered for items, code upgrades not know until inspection) and 1 Change Order which was Requested and/or Authorized by Ms. ***** as follows:

#1 11/29/12 Supplemental-1 (approved and paid in full by insurance company)
#2 11/29/12 Supplemental-2 (approved and paid in full by insurance company)
#3 7/8/2013 Change Order (Customer paid for these changes)

Additional Upgrades were made to Ms. *****'s Master bathroom, per her request, at no additional expense to her.

Progress payments were received from City Bank, Ms. *****s Mortgage Company, who sent us periodic payments as work was completed. Ms. ***** sent a personal check for the Change Order.

Once all work was completed, we processed our final billing, on July 22, 2013, for the balance owed (which was due to the 2 Supplemental's of unknown costs, repairs, etc. as stated above) and was disclosed to Ms. *****.

After the completion of the work, Ms ***** contacted her insurance adjuster and advised her they were not to release any further information to Aztec.

While Aztec was doing the work , we communicated with Ms. ***** on a regular basis, during this period no issues were brought up as to her being unhappy with the repairs done on her home.

After the completion of this job, Ms. ***** did not mention that she had any issues with our work, and items on the punch list that she provided to us were completed, we believed to be to her Satisfaction, as she did not say otherwise.

When we went back to take photos and have her sign the Completion form she would not allow in her home.

She refused to communicate with us after that point.

After repeated attempts to Collect the Balance Due, via phone and email that went unanswered, we sent a 10 day demand letter on September 5, 2013 for payment to Ms. *****, via registered mail, which she declined to accept.

Therefore, upon the Advice of our Attorney, on September 18, 2013 we place lien on the property in order to begin the legal proceedings to collect the unpaid balance due to Aztec.

Consumer Response: When Aztec wanted me to sign the second contract (change order) I told him that this didn't seem right and it felt like it was a scam. All the numbers didn't add up right. I had to deal with days and days of no work being done one the house through out the time of the project. Aztec didn't even have the house done within the contracted time. Aztec put Vaulted ceilings $2000 on both contracts that I paid! Didn't add right on the change order. The house needs AT LEAST $35,000 of work to fix ALL of Aztec's poor work. (warped floor, vaulted ceiling crease needs to be re-done, toilets installed wrong, cheap carpet padding, Did not instal the fireplace mantle. I signed two contracts with Aztec and they were overpaid for both of them. I have NO IDEA what would be in this so called supplemental 1 and 2! I never once got a break down of this huge extra coast or signed it. Not only did I over pay Aztec but now I am paying to fix ALL of the problems with the house.

Business Response: December 3, 2013
2nd Response to: April ***** - BBB Complaint
BBB - Case #********

As we stated previously:
All work was Approved and Authorized by Ms. ***** and her Insurance Company, which we will gladly provide the documents to support this fact.
We received progress payments directly from Ms. *****'s Insurance Company (which were approved by Ms. *****) as each phase of the work was completed.
We never received any complaints from Ms. ***** regarding any of the work we did.
It wasn't until after the work was completed, including the punch list Ms. ***** provided us, at which time we believe Ms. ***** received the final payment from her insurance company paid solely to her and therefore instructed her insurance company to no longer communicate with us and that is when she stopped communicating with us also.

Consumer Response: I never signed or knew anything about this so called supplement 1 and 2. I can't even think what could be on it! I NEVER got a break down of what this so called supplement 1 and 2 was or did I ever sign it or authorized it. I did sign two contracts that were wrote wrong and were not met on Aztec's part. I was charged twice for the vaulted ceilings, credits were added wrong and it took way to long to complete the project. I over paid both of the over priced contracts that I signed! I also am now having to pay for ALL the VERY POOR work that they did to be re done. To add to all the other problems in my prevues response my plumbing was not wrapped for the cold weather and my phone line has to be re done to the house. Bottom line is that I over paid on two contracts that I signed. I am having to fix ALL of the POOR work they did, It is costing me a lot of money to fix EVERYTHING! Then Aztec puts a lean on my house. WHY? Because I over paid on the two contracts that I signed?

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1