Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are You the Business Owner of Alco General Contractors?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This Business is not BBB accredited

Alco General Contractors

Phone: (800) 921-7730 View Additional Phone Numbers 2539 Mercantile Dr STE 3, Rancho Cordova, CA 95742 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.alcogc.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Alco General Contractors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Alco General Contractors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 03, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1990 Business started locally: 01/01/1990 Business incorporated: 09/14/2005 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 746049.

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 746049.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Hawkins, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Hawkins, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Jennifer Hearne, Office Manager
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Remodeling Services Doors Fence Contractors Windows Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Carports Concrete - Custom Patio & Deck Builders Siding Contractors

Products & Services

Alco Siding and Windows, Inc. provides home improvement & restoration services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2539 Mercantile Dr STE 3

    Rancho Cordova, CA 95742 (800) 921-7730

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had window replacements done, and the couple of the windows leaked during the winter rains. I called and notified them in Feb. I've called monthly since then also. I had the Manufacturer come check as well, and said it's nothing structural, but rather the caulking. SO, since I've not received a response from the installer, I've had to re-caulk them myself.I've left several messages with a very courteous receptionist, and she always tells me she'll put it on ******'s desk. I'm not so sure this ****** exists, because I haven't got a call back.

Desired Settlement: I want them to re-caulk the windows so they will not leak again this next winter.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Off Mngr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@alcohis.com Our customers windows were installed in September of 2006. The expected life span of caulking is approx. 2 years. Re-Caulking windows is not a warranty item. The customer complained about some standing water in track, however admits they have not been cleaned out since installation took place. I advised customer how to clean weep holes, how to pop the track out and clean it, as well as advised him to re caulk all of his windows to maintain a good tight weather proof home. Alco would be happy to re caulk and weatherproof his home, however this is a billable service that we provide, it is not a warranty issue.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When the windows were installed, I emailed the salesperson and indicated the "fit and finish" of the installation was sloppy. I did not hear from that person, nor his father. I was told that one of them would be on site to supervise the installation. Neither showed up. The windows in question have been examined by the manufacturer and concluded the leaks were not a product defect, but rather an installation issue. Also, my continued calls to the installer were not returned for months. The installer never mentioned they provided a, "billable service, for repairing an issue that was their fault in the first place. I would like to know the cost of the, billable issue", when it would take place and how long would it take. I have referred this company to family members and they have used their service. That appears to have been an error in judgement, on my part. In fact, this whole issue appears to have been a poor decision. If the company is refusing to, make things right, they should not be in business. My complaint stands until the company makes an effort to back up their business and reputation.