Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

A.G.S. Tile and Stone

Phone: (916) 452-2248 Fax: (916) 452-7655 8270 Belvedere Ave Ste 110, Sacramento, CA 95826 http://www.agstilestone.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A.G.S. Tile and Stone meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A.G.S. Tile and Stone include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A.G.S. Tile and Stone
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 02, 2001 Business started: 01/01/2002 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 789836.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Ryan Wagner, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ryan Wagner, Owner
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services

Alternate Business Names
Advanced Grout Specialists
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 8270 Belvedere Ave Ste 110

    Sacramento, CA 95826

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 11. Items of complaint: Set dates to show up and did not show up - no notice - no communication. laundry room was set uneven creating a tripping hazard entry stone was not sealed correctly - he didn't wipe off the black grout from the stone before he sealed - as a result the stone is blotchy. AGS didn't refund us for the replacement tile, didn't fix anything. the workers poured sealer on to the shower floor haparzardly when the y were sealing the walls.They didn't clean up and in fact sealed right over it.We requested that AGS fix it.We had to supply double the tile to do it over again.AGS didn't refund the cost of the tile. Poor workmanship on the glass mosaic and the shower niche. Uneven grout and joint lines. The pony wall - the tile was grossly set uneven.They reset it. master bathroom, they gouged the walls and the cabinet when they installed the marble surround.I requested thin set on the stone floor with stone base. They set it with 3/8" grout spacing and no stone base. The glass mosaic was set unevenly.They put grout on the joint where it met wood.When they did set the stone base they broke off one corner and inexplicably left it there. Kitchen island was cut wrong - they didn't read the sink template correctly.We had to buy another slab and send it over to AGS to have them recut it.AGS didn't refund the cost of the slab.The slabs were missed matched on the countertop, and the joints are crude - over 7/16" wide.AGS chipped the edges were you can visibly see them and they patched in with a darker color. Didn't finish the backsplash around windows. The fireplace was set sloppy - big gaps.One fourth had to be reset. Incorrectly set all the countertops. Didn't cut the plywood out for plumbing. Plumbers had to cut out afterwards to the risk of damaging the marble. 12. Remedy sought: We had stay on top of them, there was practically no over site in the field.***** wouldn't return calls, text or emails from us and our contractor in an expedient manner, or not at all. He took off for a week vacation at a critical point not updated the owner on the job.Even when **** became involved, there were countless unexplained delays. They set deadlines, and broke them without explanation. As a result we paid thousands more for hotel accommodations, and additional contractors fees because they had to come in afterwards and fix it, and the other contractors couldn't get in to do their job. We tried to talk it out with ***** and ****, we were very accommodating. We tried make a deal for a make good - they would set the kitchen backsplash for free (1400). But after hearing back from our other contractors on what a bad job AGS did, we didn't trust them to complete the job. We didn't request that paid for the extra tile (230) and slab(800), and we didn't request that they paid for extra three weeks in the hotel (3,360)l, and we didn't request that they paid the other contractors for their extra fees for having to do extra work because AGS shoddy workmanship (est 700). We stated that we would not pay 12% (2790) on the existing job, and they didn't have do the make good deal on setting the kitchen glass mosaic backsplash (1400).

Desired Settlement: We want to never cross paths with AGS again. We want consumers to know the truth about these folks.

Business Response:

********, I am very confused as to what this so called complaint is about ? The customers that sent this complaint  were un able to pay us the remainder of our bill as well as many other sub contractors on there project.  These customers decided to not use a full time General Contractor or designer to help guide there remodel and tried to order all there tile and other materials themselves. Because of this they had several delays in making decisions about the designs and came up short on several occasions with the necessary tile to finish parts of the job.  I have all of our correspondences via email documented and I can provide them to you and the BBB to show you that they are not telling the entire truth. Now we did have a couple mistakes that I personally got involved in and fixed right away for them. They mentioned that they had to buy another slab for there kitchen because we cut the prep sink in the wrong direction. Well we did cut the sink in the wrong direction but I have the email from the husband stating that "since we have the extra slab " can we remake the island piece right away ?  My answer of course was" yes"  and we had it out there in a couple days replaced at no cost to the home owner. We also had a couple tiles that needed to be replaced that were not up to my level of installation and we repaired those with no questions asked and the next day he requested. I also have the email from the home owner thanking me for the quick response. Even though he put in his complaint that we never got back to him. I have emails all most daily back and forth from myself to the customer. Because of some of the mistakes we had made and really just to try and make them happy. I told the home owner that I would set his tile back splash for free as what he called a "make good".  But when we got done with everything else but the back splash he tells me he ran out of money and that we are just making the Master bathroom work the " make good ". I said no that will not work.  And he said that he knows that he owes me 3K dollars but he is only going to pay me $900.00 and not to call him again or I can talk to his father in law the attorney. I said that was not going to be acceptable and that if he does not pay me the remainder on the work that was done I would lien his home. I waited two months then I filed a lien on the house. And the next week I get this complaint from BBB and he is some how trying to go after my contractors bond ???  Not sure how he thinks he can go after my bond or what for but that is what he is doing.  I find the email to the BBB and the claim on my bond to be very interesting since it happened  a week after I filed the lien. So that is what really happened !!! What really happened on this job is the home owner bit off more than they can chew and blamed all the issues on the contractors. When he ran out of money he told the sub contractors to take what he can pay or talk to his attorney father in law. Like I said I have all the emails to back up my statements. I also have the names and numbers of the other sub contractors . Please let me know how to get them to the necessary people. Thank you for your time. Sincerely,  **** ******