BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Tech 2 U?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tech 2 U meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tech 2 U include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tech 2 U
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 04, 2006 Business started: 09/21/2002 in CA Business started locally: 09/21/2002 Business incorporated: 04/28/2011 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronics and Appliance Repair
4244 South Market Court, Suite D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bearhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
Fax Number: (916) 921-7279
HomeProducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 87516.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ian Reeder, Operations Manager Mr. Todd Fiore, Owner Mr. Danny Hinkle, Custom Service Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Danny Hinkle, Custom Service Manager
Principal: Mr. Ian Reeder, Operations Manager
Business Category

Computers - Service & Repair

Products & Services

Tech 2 U specializes in all forms of computer repair.


Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 225-8324(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a virus on my computer. They sent a tech out to fix it and he couldn't so they took my computer to their shop. They had it for 10 days and it cost me over $300. They installed Google Chrome on my computer and everything was different. My printers, I have 2, have not worked properly since. They have done repair work by "remote viewing" and it still will not work properly. Before they "fixed" my computer I used to be able to click on print and it printed my document perfectly. Now the margins are messed up, half the time the printer doesn't print, my computer freezes up. They have just ruined my computer and it has cost me a lot of money for them to do it. I even took the computer into their office, no easy task for an old lady, and they told me to take it back home and they'd work on it by "remote". I am very, no extremely, dissatisfied with their work.

Desired Settlement: I want them to send a knowledgeable technician to my home at no additional cost to me and get my Brother printer working like it used to--with correct margins and text wrap. I've had this printer for years and it is a work horse and I want it fixed PROPERLY.

Business Response: CSM Spoke with customer on 7/16/14. Tech 2U Agreed to send a technician out as requested to resolve the issue. 

8/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am complaining about paying for service and not receiving any...

Desired Settlement: I think Tech@U should refund the $134.00 fee...

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** CS Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@ts2u.com I spoke with the customer personally and per the customers request we will be applying the rate from the previous service towards a new service. Complaint Resolved.

5/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took a 1tb hard drive that crashed to Tech 2 U. After months I was told by more than one employee they recovered almost a full tb of data. I was told I needed to purchase a new drive for the data to be transferred and it would have to be at least 1tb. They said to bring it to the store and they would do it there. I bought the new hard drive and had a 14 day window if it was defective or I wanted to return it from the place of purchase. I took the new drive to Tech 2 U where they informed me the actually had to send it to the lab in CA. I told them about the 14 day window. They assured me someone would rush it and they would call me on Monday (2 days later). No one called me as promised. I contacted them after a week wondering what the heck was going on. They said it would be arriving in a few days. I received a message that it was ready for pick up. The day I was going in to pick it up I received a call from **** who said they didn't use my provided drive, it was still sealed. They provided a drive as a courtesy to me because they were only able to recover 215g vs. the 1tb I was already told. Now I have a pricey hard drive I can't return (it went over 14 days). I didn't need to even purchase the drive let alone one that size. They led me to believe my entire drive was recovered which was not the case. I was sill charged the same amount. They have no interest in helping their customers and refused to do anything for me when I was expecting all my data and only received a portion of it. They called it a "miscommunitcation". They had my drive from December of 2012 until May of 2013. I was told the charge for 1tb was 1385. and I was charged the same amount for only 215g. Not all of my data was recovered as promised. I am still missing significant amounts of data.

Desired Settlement: I didn't have a problem paying that amount when I was told nearly 1tb was recovered. I feel for the problems this company caused I am entitled to a partial refund. The employee I spoke with yesterday was on the phone with the owner who insisted that no refund of any type would be given. I think a minimum of $300 would be fair refund. After all the broken promises and false information I think that is the least they could do. I was charged $1385 and I only received less than 1/3 of the promised data.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I personally spoke with ****** and I refunded her $120 back to her credit card and I also mailed her a Tech 2U Gift Card of $159. Please let me know if there is anything else you need from me. Thanks again!

2/26/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is the failure to answer calls, change in price, promises not fulfilled. The product to repair is my iPad III. It was picked up on 2/13/13. The screen had to be replaced. The iPad was sent to Sacramento for repair. In spite of the many promises I received from the San Diego store to have the iPad repaired and ready for delivery to my house as promised I have not yet the iPad delivered to my house. Today is 2/22/13.

Desired Settlement: Have the iPad delivered to my house for a payment of $199 as stated the day after it was delivered. The payment was changed to $229, and as I said my iPad is not at home yet.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Per the customers request, the iPad is being dropped off today (2/26/13) at the quoted rate of $199. Prior to receiving this complaint from the customer (complaint received on 2/25/13), it was agreed that Tech 2U would be performing the repair at $199. Delivery via UPS to customers home was declined as a faster option, customer opted for personal delivery by Tech 2U technician.

2/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Jan X XXXX we contracted with Tech 2 U to install a new computer at my storage office, and to just transfer files over. Computer is not operating. On Jan 5th 2013, I contracted with Tech 2 u to do a file transfer to a brand new computer at my storage location. They have done this in the past with no problem at another site and I was happy with the result. The charge for that was $209. Over the past 3 weeks, they have failed to show up for scheduled service calls 4 times and they have showed up and billed me on 5 additional dates. Totaling $1300. I am actually the one whom had to call and get the gate and storage software installed myself seperately which is why we contracted them. They then told me I needed an internal component adapter for the gate software, I have always had external adapters in the past that work just fine (in fact this is the case at the other site they did this to in april 2012). After installing the adapter the brand new computer freezes, shuts down, and fails to reboot daily... I have tried to get them to come out and remove the adapter and test the external one to see if it is merely their hardware failing... They refuse and instead said they were too busy. I was able to get things temporarily (only for 30 minutes communicating properly) this morning but then when they remoted in rather than coming out as they had promised, they messed with the port configuration and now the storage software does not communicate with falcon (the gate software) at all... all entries have to be manually input. The store is at a stand still as we cannot lock deliquient units, we cannot unlock customers who paid, and we can not rent to new units and give them gate codes. I have done all of the work that resulted in any success and yet keep getting billed, I have paid many different checks and we are still not where we should be. All I want is this to be fixed correctly. What I recommended is to come out and remove the internal component they installed and then try our external one. If this works then they can order a new adapter since it would be a hardware failure, and if not then we know that there is probably damage that was done when they installed it... I know this can be done because again, we had Stephen do it at our other location, same software etc in april 2012 also I managed to get it to work temporarily this morning but the adapter they installed is clearly failing and freezes, and shuts down. At this point I would like it fixed correctly and I feel that we are due a refund due to the lofty overpayment based on the actual cost having should have been $209 as before and all work that was actually done correctly was done by myself IE: installing gate operator software and Storage software. Thank you for your time, ****** ****** President/Owner Elite SSM, LLC on behalf of 1st American Self Storage XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement: I feel that we should either have someone come out and get it fixed, or they should contact someone that can fix it. Additionally we should be entitled to a refund amount because we have been overcharged for unnecessary time when I have done all of the legwork that has resulted in anything working.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@ts2u.com This complaint is being resolved with the owner of Tech 2U. No further action required from the BBB at this time.

Business' Final Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@Tech2u.com Per customer request service is being performed to repair ongoing computer repairs at no charge to customer for the related work.

2/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern, I contacted Tech2U on January 15 about a problem I was having with my computer. I told the gentlemen on the phone that while trying to submit a college form the following message kept coming up, Fatal people code has occurred check system log. On January 16 at 6:15 a ***** arrived at my home, he asked me what was the problem. I brought the page up tried to submit with the same message. so he said let me work on it. About 20 minutes called me into the bedroom and asked me to try and submit page using Internet Explorer. Still did not work. He then called his manger who told him that it was the school's computer. I told him when he got here what the problem was and showed him the page. After the phone call he tells me that I owe 90.00 for diagnostic. What diagnostic? I told him the problem he was suppose to fix it. They advetise that they fix HP computers. He told me, stated on receipt that he would come back using the 90.00 and needing more money to fix the problem that he knew only the school could fix. Looking on the back of the receipt enclosed if not satisfied with serivce they would work to remedy the problem. The next day I called the number stated XXX-XXX-XXXX and talked to a technician named ****. I informed him that I was unsatisfied with the service. **** stated that he could save me money if I pay a 30.00 additional to the 90.00 already given to fix the problem already knowing only the school could fix the problem. He then said let me have a manager call. I am still waiting on the call. So I fell to much was taken and nothing was done 90.00 for 20 moniutes worth of work money is not that easy to get I seen no equiopment to fix the computer he seemed to be unprepared and had to call management to helo him.

Desired Settlement: I feel I was overcharged for something that I told him and person who took the call in advance. I think that I deserve 45.00 back of my money.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** - General MGR Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@Tech2u.com We attempted to contact this customer on 1/31/13 at 10:35AM Regarding the BBB complaint. We are more than happy to refund this customer the requested $45.00 if there is a dissatisfaction with service of any kind. In order to process that refund we will need to speak to the customer. I am available from 8AM to 5PM Monday - Friday to speak to. My name is ****** ****** and I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

11/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had my laptop repaired for the screen going black.It was first diagnosed a video card problem at my home.But when brought in to shop they said it was the hard drive.I paid them 341.70 for the repair. Symptom persisted sent computer back to them by mail.They did some revamping to mother board.Symptom persisted. Said they had to test mother board to see if they could do it again.There was a danger of burning motherboard up.I said I want a new motherboard then.They put in a new motherboard and charged me 219.00 dollars.The symptom of screen blackout was still there.Now they say its the video card and want to charge me another 399.00 dollars for the part alone.I said forget it give me my money back.They agreed but want to charge me another 95.00 dollars for a flash drive to put the data on my hard drive on.And they're going to take the hard drive out and the motherboard out put the old motherboard back in but my old hard drive is disposed of.So I would be getting back a broken computer without a hard drive.I wound up telling them leave the motherboard in and hard drive and will pay for motherboard now i'm into this repair for 560.70 and i still need a video card.On the back of there receipt they clearly state they warranty there work for the repair of the sympton. Had they repaired the video card originally this would have been fixed.Tech 2 u continually has misdiagnosed the problem and I get stuck paying as we go while they learn about computer repair.THIS IS UNEXCEPTABLE .

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like them to replace the video card since this was the problem all along leave the hard drive in since I no longer have the old hard drive and leave the new motherboard in since they probably damaged the old one doing these pressure tests.Lastly I'd like a refund for the motherboard of 219.00 dollars.I think the 341.70 they were all ready paid is fair for the repair since they misdiagnosed the problem repeatedly .

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We called the customer on 10/25/12 and spoke at appx 5pm. We agreed that no refund is required and that his computer will be sent back to him right away. No further action required.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all we didn't agree no refund was required.What was said was that tech 2 u never touched my motherboard and that I just asked them to put a new motherboard in for no reason.I was told I must have misunderstood the tech who worked on my lap top he never did anything to the motherboard.This is insulting at the very least!At 57 years old I have mastered the english language.Further more I have a recording of their tech Mike telling me he was doing a reflow on the motherboard.All of this was followed up by a lot of fast car salesman type talk about computers and how the systems work together and they would gladly do all these other repairs to get it up and running for more money.Well the bottom line is the computer was still having the same blackout problem which they stated on receipt to fix.So the bottom line is I never agreed to no refund or send it back as is .I had no choice they would give me nothing more than their sympathy.So I said reluctantly give me my computer back.Now the latest update is I've recieved my computer back and after 550.00 so far in repair it doen't even turn on.All I was going to do was have someone else finish the repair.The computer is now worse off than when I started! I am now looking into legal action against tech2u!

Business' Final Response
After speaking with Mr. ******, he has approved a full refund which will be processed as soon as his computer is received in our office and we can remove the parts that were installed into it. We will be shipping the computer back to him when we're done removing them.

9/10/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In Aug I hired Tech2U to clear 2 virus. They deleted OS and reinstalled costing me over $1,000 in lost software. Then the second virus wasn't fixed. In August 2012 I hired Tech2U in Sacramento to remove two viruses from one of my PC's. I had evidence that I had Zero Access and FBI viruses. I was quoted $99 for the home repair. The technician (Kevin) removed the machine, kept it overnight and then charged $159 to remove the viruses. When I tried to use the PC the FBI virus was still present and caused the machine to crash irreparably. In addition to the lost PC I also lost much of the software formerly installed on the PC. It cost me approximately $1,000 to replace the lost applications. The reason for the lost applications is that, without telling me before hand, Tech2U reinstalled the operating system thus removing all software. The anti-virus software that they reinstalled did not remove the FBI virus nor did it prevent reinfection. McAfee, the manufacturer of the anti-virus software, confirmed on September 4, that had Tech2U reinstalled the version of the software I owned, it would have prevented the FBI virus. Including the lost PC, lost software and lost time, the one quick fix service call has cost me in excess of $2,500 AND Tech2U will not honor their warranty - 30 days as stated on website and in store. Clearly they did not remove the viruses. If they had, and had they reinstalled my anti-virus software properly, it would have prevented reinfection (if that was the case) and it would have detected and removed the virus (if that was the case). But Tech2U inflated their fees, performed service without checking with me and did not reinstall the lost applications that they removed when reinstalling the operating system.

Desired Settlement: Just refund the money they overcharged since they did not do the work. And I will just learn a painful and expensive lesson that I cannot rely upon Tech2U.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** - Owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@tech2u.com ****** ****** spoke with Mr. ****** on 9/5/12 at approximately 5pm regarding his complaint before we were aware of a filed BBB complaint. We've already resolved the concerns with Mr. ****** during our phone call yesterday. No further action is required, the complaint has been resolved.

7/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service