BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

This Business is not BBB accredited

Chim Chimney Professional Chimney Services, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (916) 387-5000 Fax: (916) 366-7230 View Additional Phone Numbers 4537 Harlin Dr, Sacramento, CA 95826 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.chimchimney.net View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chim Chimney Professional Chimney Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Chim Chimney Professional Chimney Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 10, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1980 Business started locally: 01/01/1980 Business incorporated: 07/11/2000 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Karla Swanson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Karla Swanson, President
Business Category

Chimney Cleaning Chimney Sweeper Dryer Vent Cleaning Gutter Cleaning Stoves - Wood, Coal

Alternate Business Names
Aardvark Dryer Vent & Rain Gutter Cleaning
Products & Services

Chim Chimney Profession Chimney Services Inc provides chimney, dryer vent, and gutter cleaning services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4537 Harlin Dr

    Sacramento, CA 95826 (209) 334-5488

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 277345

    Sacramento, CA 95827

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (209) 334-5488(Phone)
  • (530) 756-1000(Phone)
  • (916) 725-5000(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.aardvarkdryervent.com
  • http://www.facebook.com/ChimChimneyCa
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have no hot water as the flue for the hot water tank, which needs to be replaced, is not up to code. The plumber cannot install the new heater. Invoice # XXXXXX Inspection form # XXXXXX Chim Chimney inspected my exhaust flue for the hot water heater that is in the basement. The hot water heater needs to be replaced. The plumber cannot risk installing a new hot water tank knowing the flue up not up to code. His plumbing license is at stake. Chim Chimney came out on October 18, 2013. An inspection and evaluation was performed. The technician said he would take the results back to the office and have an estimate to meet code regulations prepared. The estimate was in fact sent. The amount is $952.58. There was a service fee for the inspection. The company preference is that the customer pay on the spot. I paid the fee to the technician of $79.50. I expected the repairs to be started right away. Was told they could not come out to do the work until October 31, 2013. I received a telephone call from Chim Chimney on October 30th saying they would not be out the following day as the parts needed did not arrive. Could not understand that as most of the nomenclature is pretty much standard. Was called on Oct. 31st verifying Chim Chimney did have the required parts Advised at that point the next available appointment date would be November 9, 2013. The invoice indicated 2 employees would be dispatched and the approximate service time would be 2 1/2 hours of labor. Was later told by an office employee it was an all day job. The 9th of November falls on a Saturday. Many plumbers are not willing to work on weekends. If so, there is a very high service fee to pay. All total, I have had NO hot water for 3 weeks. All showers are COLD. Having a family, they are extremely unhappy and look at me to correct the issue. Am between a rock and a hard place. I am stuck. Cannot go to another company as I have already paid them an inspection fee. Chim Chimney has me where they want me. I feel as though I've been pushed to the side so they can accept larger jobs. I am forced to wait at their convenience. In this day and age, the service is completely unacceptable. The USA is not a third world country where labor/parts are an issue. Given the variables of the time of year; month; and temperatures, this type of service lacks compassion, urgency, and priority. I am not asking for special treatment; rather, reasonable treatment. In addition, I'm a senior citizen, along with being 100% disabled USMC Veteran. Am completely disgusted and discouraged with Chim Chimney. Would NEVER recommend them to anyone. No follow through.

Desired Settlement: I want to speak with the CEO/President, or whomever is in the top position with Chim Chimney. A sincere and genuine apology is in order, however, that is not quite enough The person in power needs to be informed and involved in what is going on with line staff and technicians. Unless otherwise, he/she will not know. A response from the top person in charge is requested. It could be by phone, however, my preference is face-to-face. Also, at their discretion, a fee adjustment is definitely a reasonable settlement consideration. I really don't think the staff would be willing to take cold showers for as long as we have; neither would their families. Fair would be fair.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
I spoke to Mr. ****** at length this week and we are fine. We had an unavoidable delay in getting the custom pipe in for his job due to the time of year, etc. We scheduled the work asap for a Saturday without charging weekend rates. Also, some pipe was to be moved by his plumber which didn't get moved so we spent an extra 1.5 hours working around the pipe on the Saturday to get the job completed. Mr. ****** understands that there was no room on the price to discount because we had already "adjusted" the price by not charging the weekend rates or for the extra time.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company is the only distributor in No. Calif. for FMI products; thereby forced to use them. Was charged double the retail price. We originally received a quote from Chimn Chimney for refractory panels and a grate on February 16, 2011. The price I was quoted back then was: * Part Number XXXXX - $ 70.04 (left panel) * Part Number XXXXX - $ 70.04 (right panel) * Part Number XXXXX - $ 64.35 (bottom front panel) * Part Number XXXXX - $64.35 (bottom rear panel) * Part Number XXXXX - $36.77 (grate) *The total cost to purchase was $410.66. We decided to hold off on ordering the parts at that time. My husband ordered these parts on December 10, 2012, through Chim Chimney. The total price charged to our credit card was $457.30. My husband didn't question the price of the parts as we expected they would have gone up a bit in price, so the $457.30 appeared appropriate. We received our parts; however, we were missing a side panel. I contacted Chim Chimney and spoke to ******** about the missing side panel. She stated she didn't know what had happened, so she said she'd look into it and get back to me. I never received a call back; I had to call her 4 times before she had an answer for me. ******** stated that she failed to order the second side panel. Given the price we paid, I surly expected to hear that she failed to give us all the boxes. This prompted my questioning ******** on the price of the parts. I didn't get an answer from her regarding the price for a few more days. She stated she had to talk with her manager (*****), as she had the invoice. I found this very hard to believe as I had just ordered the parts. On December 27, 2012 ******** quoted the following price: * Part Number XXXXX - $ 135.99 (left panel) * Part Number XXXXX - $ 135.99 (right panel) * Part Number XXXXX - $ 124.95 (bottom front panel) * Part Number XXXXX - $ 124.95 (bottom rear panel) * Part Number XXXXX - $ 74.24 (grate) There is absolutely no way these prices could have doubled in a little over a year. I asked ******** to confirm that the prices she quoted are correct. I advised her that I have the original 2011 estimate in my hand. and that there clearly had to be a problem. ******** stated that the prices she quoted are correct, and asked me if I wanted her to order the other side panel. I told her the fireplace in inoperable without the side panel and to go ahead and order it. I asked ******** the price for the additional panel and she stated she'd give it to me for "their" cost of $ 74.24, and stated "they'd eat the cost of shipping". After my conversation with ******** at Chim Chimney, I immediately contacted FMI directly. I spoke with a woman named *****. I explained my dilemma to ***** and asked her to provide me with the prices for the parts I ordered through Chim Chimney. I provided ***** the part numbers and was quoted the following retail prices: * Part Number XXXXX - $ 74.24 (left panel) * Part Number XXXXX - $ 74.24 (right panel) * Part Number XXXXX - $ 68.41 (bottom front panel) * Part Number XXXXX - $ 68.41 (bottom rear panel) * Part Number XXXXX - $ 38.98 (grate) ***** stated that this is the retail price that Chim Chimney should have charged me for these parts. ***** also confirmed the 2011 prices quoted were exactly correct at that time.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be charged the appropraiate (retail)amount for the parts orderd. In addition, I want to ensure Chim Chimney does not take advantage of other consumers that are forced to purchase through them!

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
When our office requested price information from the manufacturer - we were not given our cost information as requested, we were given suggested retail. Our office applied the normal multiplier and added sales tax, etc. and quoted pricing. Because the cost of the parts looked correct in comparison to other manufacturers - the error was not caught. Mr and Mrs ****** never contacted our office to inquire about the pricing, instead chose to file a complaint. It would have been easier if they would have just called the office. This was not some type of price gouging effort - it was a simple mistake.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It's a shame that Chim Chimney is unwilling to accept responsibility for "their" mistake. Instead they continue to want to blame this issue on "Mr. and Mrs. ******", as it was said to me by the office manager, at which I did not appreciate! I did contact them several times to discuss the price of the parts as I knew there "was" a mistake. I contacted Chim Chimney on at least 3 occasions to question the price. The response they've provided you is simply a lie. I was assured there was no mistake. In conducting my own research I was able to prove there was a mistake, and I don't work for Chim Chimney or FMI. Why is it that Chim Chimney was unable to determine the correct price?? I received a telephone call from the office manager Thursday, January 17th regarding this issue, at which she refused to accept responsibility, instead blamed the issue on miscommunication between my husband and I, and also the fact she received wrong pricing information from FMI. As I explained to the office manager she simply needs to own up to her/their mistake and ensure it doesn't happen to others. I am 100% convinced this "error" was intentional! I'm sorry, I failed to include in my earlier response that I've yet to receive a pricing invoice from Chim Chimning. I have asked ****** (office manager) to provide me an itimized price list and have yet to receive it. We received a copy of our Master Card payment receipt only. In addition to requesting a refund for being over charged for the parts, I am requesting an itimized price listing too. Thank you! ****** ******

Business' Final Response
I did speak to Mrs. ****** on 1/17. I did not and do not, nor was it ever stated that we "blamed" Mr. and Mrs. ******. There was a miscommunication with the manufacturer regarding pricing. We have resolved that issue on our end. I apologized over the phone to Mrs. ****** on 1/17 for the mistake and have emailed them on 1/23 with the charges and what their refund will be - roughly 13% of what they paid. At this point, there is nothing else we can do. We did not "intentionally" overcharge them. Unfortunately, is seems - some people just like to believe the worst.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.